Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Wasteland

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:17 PM   #1
freelancer27
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Crysis 3 on MBP Retina

Hi guys,

just was wondering if someone has an idea if the game can be played at acceptable settings.

I played the demo online and it was kinda laggy...

Thanks for your response.
freelancer27 is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 01:49 PM   #2
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Define "acceptable". I wouldn't hold out hope for anything higher than medium/ med-high based on the online demo.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:37 PM   #3
cirus
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by freelancer27 View Post
Hi guys,

just was wondering if someone has an idea if the game can be played at acceptable settings.

I played the demo online and it was kinda laggy...

Thanks for your response.
Well the 650m is about on par with the 450 so probably playable on low.
cirus is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:45 PM   #4
A7ibaba
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
i would say ultra low with 20 fps on native resolution
__________________
MacBook pro late 2011 2.2Ghz,OWC 2 x 8GB 1600 Mhz DDR3L,OWC Data Doubler + Intel 520 240 GB +
27" Thunderbolt display
A7ibaba is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:01 PM   #5
njtransit215
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I just got Crysis 3 installed and everything, and honestly? It runs atrociously at 1280x800 with medium settings. The most lag I've had in a game in awhile. I'm fiddling around with settings to see if it's one in particular, but for now, I'm going to give it a 3/10 in tech rating on a i7, 2.7ghz, 16GBram, GT650M Retina Macbook Pro.
njtransit215 is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:04 PM   #6
cirus
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by njtransit215 View Post
I just got Crysis 3 installed and everything, and honestly? It runs atrociously at 1280x800 with medium settings. The most lag I've had in a game in awhile. I'm fiddling around with settings to see if it's one in particular, but for now, I'm going to give it a 3/10 in tech rating on a i7, 2.7ghz, 16GBram, GT650M Retina Macbook Pro.
What drivers?
cirus is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:06 PM   #7
njtransit215
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
The latest NVIDIA GeForce 314.07 drivers through NVIDIA Experiance. I originally "optimized" the game, but have since lowered the settings.
njtransit215 is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:18 PM   #8
Ricanlegend
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bronx,Ny
Who knew a non gaming laptop would strugle to play crysis lol
Ricanlegend is offline   1
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:19 PM   #9
njtransit215
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
It plays Far Cry 3 perfectly, as well as all other games, so...
njtransit215 is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 06:21 PM   #10
thejadedmonkey
macrumors 604
 
thejadedmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pa
Send a message via AIM to thejadedmonkey
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricanlegend View Post
Who knew a non gaming laptop would strugle to play crysis lol
Probably someone who mistook it for a $3000 powerhouse.
__________________
MacBook 17" MacBook Pro iPod Nano Apple TV
PS4 Custom Windows 8.1 Desktop WP8.1
"Good judgment comes from experience,
experience comes from bad judgment."
- Mulla Nasrudin
thejadedmonkey is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 07:03 PM   #11
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejadedmonkey View Post
Probably someone who mistook it for a $3000 powerhouse.
Funny as Razer sell slower kit as a "gaming" laptop. A GTX660 is clocked slower than retina's OC'd GT650. And their CPU is slower as well. At 1280x800 it should do alright. Maybe early bugs as well. It ran OK on my 5870 Mac Pro. OK being medium-med high.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:05 PM   #12
Asuriyan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by njtransit215 View Post
I just got Crysis 3 installed and everything, and honestly? It runs atrociously at 1280x800 with medium settings. The most lag I've had in a game in awhile. I'm fiddling around with settings to see if it's one in particular, but for now, I'm going to give it a 3/10 in tech rating on a i7, 2.7ghz, 16GBram, GT650M Retina Macbook Pro.
Tried an SMC reset lately?
Asuriyan is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:08 PM   #13
dma550
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: CT
Generally, crysis is the benchmark for full on gaming machines, my other machine is an alienware M17x 940XM with dual o/c 5870 cards. It struggled with Crysis II on mid-high settings. If it does, I can't imagine how 3 would play on the MBP!
dma550 is offline   0
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:37 AM   #14
njtransit215
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
SMC reset did it. I can now run it quite well, in fact. Makes me smile to see my purchase was, in fact, NOT in vain for a decent portable gaming machine.
njtransit215 is offline   0
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:04 PM   #15
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dma550 View Post
Generally, crysis is the benchmark for full on gaming machines, my other machine is an alienware M17x 940XM with dual o/c 5870 cards. It struggled with Crysis II on mid-high settings. If it does, I can't imagine how 3 would play on the MBP!
Crysis 1 was. Crysis 2 was a console port with PC extras icing it and a high res optional texture pack. My single 5870 ripped through it on high everything except only 2-4x AA. No longer a benchmark. Try Metro 2033 for that. Of course Crysis 2 was also a boring and predictable game. I have heard that 3 may be back to the roots of pushing PC HW sales.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   1
Old Feb 20, 2013, 01:16 PM   #16
dma550
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: CT
cool, thanks, good to know. I didn't try II after seeing how hard I pulled my gaming PC to it's knees!

Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
Crysis 1 was. Crysis 2 was a console port with PC extras icing it and a high res optional texture pack. My single 5870 ripped through it on high everything except only 2-4x AA. No longer a benchmark. Try Metro 2033 for that. Of course Crysis 2 was also a boring and predictable game. I have heard that 3 may be back to the roots of pushing PC HW sales.
dma550 is offline   0
Old May 14, 2013, 10:49 AM   #17
Persian-apple
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Exclamation Huh

Does SMC reset solve my problem with PES 2013 !and inversion. Game play. And low frame rates..... If you have problems TELL ME I WILL POST PRAM RESET. IT WORKS IF SMC DOESN'T !(pram is nvram). Gaming problems...... Of course Mac book is made for Mac it is Mac -OS based. For example bman ARKHAMCIty. After 30seconds at the star of the game... Game crashes out it was the first game I installed and tested it scared me but a beta driver helped

----------

I SOLVE MANY PROBLEMS. WITH MBPR. 1 heat issue buy a laptop cooler or. Use SMC fan control. And set the speed to maximum. 2crash issue. Nvidia beta drivers..... They are fantastic. 3track pad doesn't work! I spilled a cop of coffee on my track pad! At first. It didn't work but BY PRESSING. THE TOP-CORNERS. THE PROBLEM SOLVES! 4LOW FRAME RATES AFTER SOME TIME.... PRAM RESET OR SMC RESET. SMC IS GOOD BUT PRAM(nvram) RESET IS FANTASTIC TRY IT! IT WORKS. HOPE YOU'RE PROBLEM IS LISTED. AND I CAN SOLVE IT JUST REPLY THE POST AND I SOLVE YOUR PROBLEM! HAVE FUN!

----------

WHO SAYS MACBOOK PRO RETINA IS BAD FOR GAMING IT IS A GOOD MACHINE FOR PEOPLE WHO LIKE TO BE CHALLANGED. YOU SHOULD DO. A LOT OF CHANGES IN SETTING BUT.... AT ALL. I PLAYED ALL THE GAMES I LIKED! IT IS JUST FANTASTIC. I SOLVED ALL IT'S PROBLEMS. JUST BUY A LAPTOP COOLER INSTAL A FAN CONTROL PROGRAM DO SMC AND PRAM RESET. THEN. ...MBPR. YOUR GAMING LAPTOP IS READY...... ANY PROBLEMS WITH GAMING? Just post a reply. AND I SOLVE Them!
Persian-apple is offline   0
Old May 14, 2013, 10:52 AM   #18
cirus
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
Funny as Razer sell slower kit as a "gaming" laptop. A GTX660 is clocked slower than retina's OC'd GT650. And their CPU is slower as well. At 1280x800 it should do alright. Maybe early bugs as well. It ran OK on my 5870 Mac Pro. OK being medium-med high.
It has a boost function to run at 950/1250 mhz or faster than the rmbp (boost is almost always active).
cirus is offline   0
Old May 15, 2013, 04:16 AM   #19
Zeov
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Odense
Quote:
Originally Posted by A7ibaba View Post
i would say ultra low with 20 fps on native resolution
native.............................
__________________
iMac 27 Basemodel MacBook Air "13 Ultimate Macbook Pro "13 iPad iPhone 4
Zeov is offline   0
Old May 15, 2013, 05:36 AM   #20
w00t951
macrumors 68000
 
w00t951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 116th & Broadway
For reference, my friend's gaming desktop has an i7-2600K @ 4.5GHz and 2X AMD HD 6970's and it can only get 30-40FPS at 1080p at maxed settings.

At 720p, maybe this machine can push medium w/some high? Definitely turn off anti-aliasing and turn down shadows.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" Retina, iPhone 6 Plus, Nugget of Power (i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, GTX 980 @ 1500/3505MHz)
w00t951 is offline   0
Old May 15, 2013, 09:06 AM   #21
Persian-apple
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Huh

HI GUYS. JUST YOU SHOULD KNOW THATMBPR IS NOT A GAMING LAPTOP. BUT. You can make it and use it as a gaming laptop FOR EXAMPLE BATMAN ARKHAM CITY a famous game it crashes just at first of the game. But you should test beta drivers. They work! Or.. Hit man absolution. Just you should change the speaker setting to stereo. U WANT A GAMING LAPTOP? Mbpr can be just do these steps. 1.buy a laptop cooler 2. Download SMC fan control and set the fan speed as high as you can. 3. If you have low frame rates first. RESET SMC. These steps below. SMS reset.*Intel-based Macs: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC)
Summary
In some situations, you may need to reset your computer's SMC. *Learn how to identify these conditions and reset the SMC.

Products Affected
Mac desktops, Mac notebooks

Note: It is possible that the SMC could encounter an issue that may cause unusual system behavior typically related to the symptoms described below. In some cases, resetting the SMC may be the only correct method to resolve the issue, however, an SMC reset should only be attempted after all other standard troubleshooting has been performed.

Before Resetting the SMC
Try each of the following steps in this order before you reset the SMC. *Test the issue after completing each troubleshooting step to determine if the issue still occurs.

Press Command + Option + Escape to force quit any application that is not responding.
Put your Mac to sleep by choosing the Apple () menu from the upper-left menu bar and then choosing Sleep. Wake the computer after it has gone to sleep.
Restart your Mac by choosing the Apple () menu from the upper-left menu bar and then choosing Restart.
Shut down your Mac by choosing the Apple () menu from the upper-left menu bar and then choosing Shut Down.
If your Mac appears to be running normally but isn't responding, force the computer to shut down by pressing and holding the power button for 10 seconds. Note: You will lose any unsaved work in any open applications.

For Mac portables experiencing issues related to the MagSafe power adapter and/or battery, try:

Unplug the MagSafe power adapter from the Mac and the wall power socket for several seconds.
Shutdown the Mac. Physically remove and re-insert the battery (if it's removable) and startup the Mac.
If the issue is still not resolved after following the troubleshooting items above, an SMC reset may be necessary.

After performing normal troubleshooting, these symptoms may indicate that an SMC reset may be necessary:

Fans
The computer's fans run at high speed although the computer is not experiencing heavy usage and is properly ventilated.

Lights
The keyboard backlight appears to behave incorrectly (on Mac computers that have this feature).
The Status Indicator Light (SIL) appears to behave incorrectly (on Mac computers that have an SIL).
Battery indicator lights, if present, appear to behave incorrectly (on portables that use non-removable batteries).
The display backlight doesn't respond correctly to ambient light changes on Mac computers that have this feature.

Power
The computer doesn't respond to the power button when pressed.
A portable Mac doesn't appear to respond properly when you close or open the lid.
The computer sleeps or shuts down unexpectedly.
The battery does not appear to be charging properly.
The MagSafe power adaptor LED doesn't appear to indicate the correct activity.

System Performance
The computer is running unusually slowly although it is not experiencing abnormally high CPU utilization.
Application icons may "bounce" in the Dock for an extended amount of time when launched.
Applications may not function correctly or may stop responding after being opened.

Video
A computer that supports target display mode does not switch into or out of target display mode as expected.
A computer that supports target display mode switches into or out of target display mode at unexpected times.

Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC)
Resetting the SMC on Mac portables with a battery you can. 4.SMC didn't. Work? PRAM RESET WORKS FANTASTIC! Follow the directions! https://discussions.apple.com/message/19880198#19880198
*
Norw my rMBP has silky smooth graphics again!
*
The directions in that post are a little hard to understand so I cleaned them up here:
*
Step 1: Delete system windowserver preferences
In the Finder, from the menu bar, select "Go -> Go to Folder..."
Enter: /Library/Preferences/
Delete the file called com.apple.windowserver.plist
*
Step 2: Delete user windowserver preferences
In the Finder, from the menu bar, select "Go -> Go to Folder..."
Enter: ~/Library/Preferences/ByHost/
Delete all files that start with com.apple.windowserver * (On my rMBP, there was one file called com.apple.windowserver.12AFB147-95D6-5C70-8F62-C1E4F2BE81BE)
*
Step 3: Reset the PRAM
** *(These instructions are from http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379)
Shut down your Mac.
Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command (⌘), Option, P, and R. You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step 4.
Turn on the computer.
Press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys before the gray screen appears.
Hold the keys down until the computer restarts and you hear the startup sound for the second time.
Release the keys.
*
Hopefully this helps others with bad graphics performance on retina MacBook Pros.
*
For anyone that wants to check out the problematic plists from my rMBP, here are the files:
http://jherrman.com/slow-rmbp-2012/c...owserver.plist
http://jherrman.com/slow-rmbp-2012/c...-95D6-5C70-8F6 2-C1E4F2BE81BE.plist. 5.your mbpr is a complete gaming laptop!

----------

Try resets first SMC. And do these steps any problems tell me?
Persian-apple is offline   0
Old Jun 9, 2013, 12:04 AM   #22
Persian-apple
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Cry engine 3

I CAN PLAY CRYSIS 3 ON HIGH EVERY THING HIGH I MEAN just lower your resouloution BEST RESOLUTION: 1366X768 I PLAY IT WITH OUT A PROBLEM! BUT I RECOMMEND YOU TO TAKE A 15MIN BREAK AFTER 30 MIN IT IS GOOD FOR YOUR HEALTH AND OF COURSE THE HEALTH OF THE LAPTOP!
Persian-apple is offline   0
Old Jun 9, 2013, 05:27 AM   #23
Philuk84
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Lots of shouty people. On high with a resolution that makes it look like low? What's the point?

You should be able to get around 30 fps with that system spec on low/medium but I fear the processor isn't fast enough too. These aren't gaming machines.

Please don't confuse low fps with lag. They're two different things.
Philuk84 is offline   0
Old Jun 9, 2013, 05:29 AM   #24
Ricanlegend
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bronx,Ny
Quote:
Originally Posted by Persian-apple View Post
I CAN PLAY CRYSIS 3 ON HIGH EVERY THING HIGH I MEAN just lower your resouloution BEST RESOLUTION: 1366X768 I PLAY IT WITH OUT A PROBLEM! BUT I RECOMMEND YOU TO TAKE A 15MIN BREAK AFTER 30 MIN IT IS GOOD FOR YOUR HEALTH AND OF COURSE THE HEALTH OF THE LAPTOP!
I think your cap lock is broken go to the apple store asap
Ricanlegend is offline   1
Old Jun 9, 2013, 05:53 AM   #25
Philuk84
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricanlegend View Post
I think your cap lock is broken go to the apple store asap
Maybe a 'genius' can help you. I expect they'll keep the machine for a week.
Philuk84 is offline   0


Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Wasteland

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Retina MBP output Retina-caliber graphics to external monitor? marekkurlmann MacBook Pro 5 Nov 6, 2013 08:51 PM
Retina MBP v Non Retina - Retina Luxury or Necessity? Checklist smoking monkey MacBook Pro 23 Jun 11, 2013 07:23 PM
Buy now or wait? retina MBP pricing in next cycle? retina/ssd worthwhile now? Baya87 Buying Tips and Advice 10 Nov 14, 2012 11:39 PM
Basic model retina mbp or highend non retina 15"mbp or rays09 Buying Tips and Advice 5 Jun 16, 2012 11:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC