Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2013, 01:51 PM   #1
ja12n
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
iMac 27 Zoll Mid 2011 behaving very odd

Hello,

a week ago my iMac 27 Zoll started to behave odd At first some finder windows frozed and I couldn't close them. A few days ago it stoped working at all (and so did spotlight etc.). So I repaired the volume and the rights and my iMac worked a bit better and finder was availbe again. Now I am expierencing bluescreens with my Win7 on bootcamp (at the startup). This time I started the Win7 repair system and everything was fine again.

Do you have a Idea what could cause all this? I really don't want to repair the volume every 2 days


Thanks for reading and I appologise for my bad english

Ja12n
ja12n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 02:30 PM   #2
Swiss-G
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ja12n View Post
Hello,

a week ago my iMac 27 Zoll started to behave odd At first some finder windows frozed and I couldn't close them. A few days ago it stoped working at all (and so did spotlight etc.). So I repaired the volume and the rights and my iMac worked a bit better and finder was availbe again. Now I am expierencing bluescreens with my Win7 on bootcamp (at the startup). This time I started the Win7 repair system and everything was fine again.

Do you have a Idea what could cause all this? I really don't want to repair the volume every 2 days


Thanks for reading and I appologise for my bad english

Ja12n

It could be a hard drive failure. I would run a hardware test.

1. Shutdown the iMac
2. Press the power button to turn on your computer
3. Press and hold the D key before the gray startup screen appears

Full instructions are available here

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1509
Swiss-G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:13 AM   #3
ja12n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thanks for the tip, I just ran the hardware test. It told me that there are no problems with my hardware (even when I did ran the longer test).
Today my mac showed me a progress bar during the start. Nothing worked (no Spotlight, no autorun Apps, even Chrome failed at displaying websites). I restarted my mac and everything seems to be fine again.
I really have no idea what could cause all this.


Ja12n


Edit: I had a bluescreen again on my Win7 Bootcamp :/
What can be so evil to destroy my Win7 and osX ?

Last edited by ja12n; Feb 19, 2013 at 01:33 PM.
ja12n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:41 PM   #4
Swiss-G
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ja12n View Post
Thanks for the tip, I just ran the hardware test. It told me that there are no problems with my hardware (even when I did ran the longer test).
Today my mac showed me a progress bar during the start. Nothing worked (no Spotlight, no autorun Apps, even Chrome failed at displaying websites). I restarted my mac and everything seems to be fine again.
I really have no idea what could cause all this.


Ja12n


Edit: I had a bluescreen again on my Win7 Bootcamp :/ Image
What can be so evil to destroy my Win7 and osX ?
That all points to a hardware problem. Do you have any devices connected to your iMac?
Swiss-G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 07:08 AM   #5
ja12n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiss-G View Post
That all points to a hardware problem. Do you have any devices connected to your iMac?
My iMac is connected with
  • an USB 2.0 external harddrive
  • an USB Hub
  • an epson printer/scaner
  • an USB Stick which is needed for a wireless Logitech Headset
  • A wireless Apple Keyboard
  • A Logitech USB mouse
ja12n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 07:27 AM   #6
Swiss-G
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ja12n View Post
My iMac is connected with
  • an USB 2.0 external harddrive
  • an USB Hub
  • an epson printer/scaner
  • an USB Stick which is needed for a wireless Logitech Headset
  • A wireless Apple Keyboard
  • A Logitech USB mouse
Have you added any of these devices recently?
Swiss-G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 07:44 AM   #7
ja12n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiss-G View Post
Have you added any of these devices recently?
No, I haven't changed a thing since 2 months or so
ja12n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 08:21 AM   #8
Swiss-G
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ja12n View Post
No, I haven't changed a thing since 2 months or so
Ok.

The fact that you have problems with both OSX and Windows points to a hardware problem most likely HDD.

If it's a 1TB drive it may be captured by Apples iMac 1TB Seagate Hard Drive Replacement Program.

http://www.apple.com/uk/support/imac-harddrive/

Type your serial number into the box on the above page to check if you are covered.

Last edited by Swiss-G; Feb 20, 2013 at 08:26 AM.
Swiss-G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 11:02 AM   #9
ja12n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiss-G View Post
Ok.

The fact that you have problems with both OSX and Windows points to a hardware problem most likely HDD.

If it's a 1TB drive it may be captured by Apples iMac 1TB Seagate Hard Drive Replacement Program.

http://www.apple.com/uk/support/imac-harddrive/

Type your serial number into the box on the above page to check if you are covered.
My iMac has a WDC WD1001FALS-403AA0 Harddrive, so I assume it is from Western Digital :/ Furthermore my iMac "is not eligible for this program" offered by Apple.
Is there another way to check if my Harddrive is damaged? Expect "Check Volume" and the Hardware check?

Last edited by ja12n; Feb 20, 2013 at 11:10 AM.
ja12n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 11:48 AM   #10
Swiss-G
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ja12n View Post
My iMac has a WDC WD1001FALS-403AA0 Harddrive, so I assume it is from Western Digital :/ Furthermore my iMac "is not eligible for this program" offered by Apple.
Is there another way to check if my Harddrive is damaged? Expect "Check Volume" and the Hardware check?
Do you have Apple Care on the iMac?
Swiss-G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 11:55 AM   #11
ja12n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiss-G View Post
Do you have Apple Care on the iMac?
No, I hate myself for this fold :/ I should have bought it. So now I have no guarantee left and have to search for the source of the problems. (O, I think I haven't mentioned that it is a refurbished iMac, but that should not make any difference, should it?)
ja12n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:29 PM   #12
Swiss-G
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ja12n View Post
No, I hate myself for this fold :/ I should have bought it. So now I have no guarantee left and have to search for the source of the problems. (O, I think I haven't mentioned that it is a refurbished iMac, but that should not make any difference, should it?)
If you haven't already I would ensure that all your data is backed up in both OSX and Windows just in case of failure.
Swiss-G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 01:19 PM   #13
ja12n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiss-G View Post
If you haven't already I would ensure that all your data is backed up in both OSX and Windows just in case of failure.
I already started with creating backups, it just makes me feel nervous because I have no idea what is happening with my iMac. Today he works completly fine, but tomorrow ...
Anyway, thanks for the help and I hope that there will be a solution for me
ja12n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 03:24 PM   #14
inscrewtable
macrumors 6502a
 
inscrewtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ja12n View Post
I already started with creating backups, it just makes me feel nervous because I have no idea what is happening with my iMac. Today he works completly fine, but tomorrow ...
Anyway, thanks for the help and I hope that there will be a solution for me
You can test your HD by making a bootable clone with SuperDuper, that not only gives you a backup but if it boots from it and the problem is gone then that would indicate that it is the internal HD, converseley if it boots from the external and the problem persists then it's either software related that has been copied to the clone or you still rule out the internal drive.

To do an intital clone with super duper is free, you only pay for the app if you want to use the smart update feature later.
inscrewtable is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to run a mid-2011 iMac with a mid-2013 gaming PC laptop in dual monitor mode? Matty Quinn iMac 1 Feb 18, 2014 11:23 PM
Mid-2012 MBP Ram into Mid-2011 iMac csjo00 Mac Basics and Help 2 Oct 23, 2013 10:19 AM
MacBook Pro 15,4 Zoll mid 2009 2,66 GHZ stripes on the Screen Mark83 MacBook Pro 1 Oct 4, 2013 06:29 PM
iMac mid 2010 vs mid 2011 Dr. McKay iMac 21 Mar 29, 2013 03:58 PM
odd freeze problem, couldn't shut down behaving strange Breasts MacBook Pro 1 Sep 7, 2012 04:16 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC