Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2013, 07:21 PM   #1
djblog
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Syncing 2 Propellerhead Reasons together via Ethernet

Hey people,

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this but I wondered if anyone here has managed to sync Prollerheads Reason to another Mac via LAN? I'm not talking about simply midi over lan I mean Midi Machine Control & Clock too. (in fact that's all I really want!)

Anyone who's done this please let me know how it's possible. Thanks.
djblog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:27 PM   #2
Johbremat
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Haven't tried for the lack of a need.

But if you can find some sort of software to host on one machine and slave the other to it...

Do some searches for 'SMPTE clock <app|software|tool>' and see how far that gets you. Good luck.
Johbremat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 04:17 AM   #3
cheekypaul
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by djblog View Post
Hey people,

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this but I wondered if anyone here has managed to sync Prollerheads Reason to another Mac via LAN? I'm not talking about simply midi over lan I mean Midi Machine Control & Clock too. (in fact that's all I really want!)

Anyone who's done this please let me know how it's possible. Thanks.

i am sure its possible, but havent had to do it in a loooong time. be following this thread. let us know how you get on. meanwhile, although not reason, does this help...?

http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/audio/ableton-live/29306

or this...?

http://www.musiclab.com/products/midioverlan/info.html
cheekypaul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 05:22 AM   #4
djblog
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I tried Midi Over Lan - it works ok with just sending MIDI note on / off data, but no clock or MMC. I actually managed to link it to a PC via the LAN using this.

Ableton live is a great bit of software - I've not really had chance to play with it properly yet though.

I'll keep this updated when I find the answer - thanks for your suggestions so far.
djblog is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I force Mac to use Ethernet connection when both WiFi and Ethernet are active? petrucci666 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Oct 28, 2013 09:54 PM
Powermac ethernet says its on but not connecting to known working ethernet? Lil Chillbil PowerPC Macs 13 Jul 21, 2013 07:38 PM
Propellerhead Software's 'Figure' Makes the Jump to iPad MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 12 Dec 1, 2012 03:48 PM
Reasons why upgrading to the 5 aren't worth the hassle (and reasons why I should). Big.Mac.Daddy iPhone 9 Sep 20, 2012 09:33 AM
MBP Ethernet vs Apple Thunderbolt 27" Ethernet Performance Disparity appletechpro MacBook Pro 15 Jun 28, 2012 10:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC