Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 12, 2012, 02:19 PM   #1
TableSyrup
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Velocity Solo - Disk Shows as Removable Drive. Way to change??

Ok.... haven't had a chance to extensively test yet, but here's the situation:

I installed a SSD in the Velocity Solo Mac Edition
The drive shows as Removable Storage

This was not in their documentation... and I wasn't aware, or I would have researched more first.

My concern is that Pro Tools and Final Cut Pro X may not play as friendly with this????
I kinda doubt there will be any performance difference, but I also don't like the eject feature being there, and the drive on the desktop

Is there a way to change the way Lion sees the drive? Make it non-removable???

Thanx
TableSyrup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 03:32 PM   #2
hazza
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Hi TableSyrup - did you find a way to fix this? In the same boat myself!

Thanks
hazza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 12:59 PM   #3
InuNacho
macrumors 65816
 
InuNacho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In that one place
All my internal drives except for the boot one are Removable, doesn't seem to affect anything.
InuNacho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 01:04 PM   #4
brentsg
macrumors 68030
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Also, under Finder Preferences..

Show these items on the desktop:

Check External disks only, don't select Hard disks.

This won't show the PCI-E based drives, only things like USB sticks or Firewire drives.
brentsg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 08:03 PM   #5
Scuba-EMT
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Solomons Island, MD
I have a pair and they do the same thing. Does anyone know a way to change the icon to that of a hard drive?
__________________
MacPro (Dual 2.66 GHz, 2x512 GB SSD, 4x4 TB HD, 64GB Ram, Dual 27" ACD), IMac 27" I7, rMPB (2.7 GHz, 16GB, 768GB SSD), MBA 13" Ultimate, AT&T IPad Air 128GB, AT&T IPhone 6 128GB, IPod Touch and Nano.
Scuba-EMT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 03:18 AM   #6
VirtualRain
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba-EMT View Post
I have a pair and they do the same thing. Does anyone know a way to change the icon to that of a hard drive?
This is cosmetic only... http://support.apple.com/kb/ht2493 (under "Additional Information" at the bottom)
__________________
tools: nMP for photography, rMBP for working, iPad for surfing, iPhone for communicating, Mac Mini for entertaining
Canon tools: 5D Mark III 24-105L/70-300L/35L/50L/85L for capturing
VirtualRain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 08:39 AM   #7
hazza
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Thanks guys
hazza is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Velocity Solo X2 Now Available letscopro Mac Pro 198 Sep 29, 2014 02:45 PM
Velocity Solo x2 w/SSD + Optical Drive CrazyNurse Mac Pro 3 Feb 27, 2014 09:38 AM
Resolved: Velocity Solo x1 and BootCamp NOTNlCE Mac Pro 31 Jan 4, 2014 03:52 AM
AHCI bootcamp with Velocity solo x2 Gav Mack Mac Pro 52 Dec 23, 2013 07:45 AM
Velocity Solo X2 - Two SSD's costabunny Mac Pro 22 Nov 22, 2013 07:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC