Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 23, 2013, 03:07 PM   #1
M Powered
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Laggy 15" rMBP Performance!

I don't know what happened, about 2 weeks ago my MBP got noticeably slower using Lightroom 4, it would take twice as long to render 1:1 preview, and moving images around would be really choppy.

I didn't change anything or updated any setting.

I even reformated and reinstalled OSX Mountain Lion and the problem is still there.

I compared the performance to my friends same spec rMBP and his is much faster.

Ideas? I did a pram reset also, Is there a hardware issue? The boot times and shut down is still fast, I'm guessing it maybe the graphics card? Ram issue?

My system spec is 2.3 Ghz, 8gb of ram, base 15" rmbp model.

Very frustrating.
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 03:43 PM   #2
xShane
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
I don't know what happened, about 2 weeks ago my MBP got noticeably slower using Lightroom 4, it would take twice as long to render 1:1 preview, and moving images around would be really choppy.

I didn't change anything or updated any setting.

I even reformated and reinstalled OSX Mountain Lion and the problem is still there.

I compared the performance to my friends same spec rMBP and his is much faster.

Ideas? I did a pram reset also, Is there a hardware issue? The boot times and shut down is still fast, I'm guessing it maybe the graphics card? Ram issue?

My system spec is 2.3 Ghz, 8gb of ram, base 15" rmbp model.

Very frustrating.
Check the program in Activity Monitor and see how much memory yours uses vs. how much your friend's uses.

Also, what other processes are you running at the same time (if any)?
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
24" Asus display


"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 03:55 PM   #3
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by xShane View Post
Check the program in Activity Monitor and see how much memory yours uses vs. how much your friend's uses.

Also, what other processes are you running at the same time (if any)?
On a fresh install mine is running less programs. He's using safari I'm using Firefox, that's pretty much the only difference.
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 04:26 PM   #4
xShane
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
On a fresh install mine is running less programs. He's using safari I'm using Firefox, that's pretty much the only difference.
Okay, and what about Activity Monitor stats? Post a screenshot of his Activity Monitor and yours when running Lightroom.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
24" Asus display


"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 04:30 PM   #5
No-Me
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Rotterdam
I have it with typing, Every couple of days my rMBP lags while typing. A reboot is the only thing that can fix it. Anyone experienced the same?

Activity monitor doesn't show anything out of the ordinary.
No-Me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 04:34 PM   #6
xShane
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by No-Me View Post
I have it with typing, Every couple of days my rMBP lags while typing. A reboot is the only thing that can fix it. Anyone experienced the same?

Activity monitor doesn't show anything out of the ordinary.
Please post a new thread instead of asking a question inside of another thread.

But to answer your question, it could possibly be a SMC issue.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
24" Asus display


"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 04:54 PM   #7
leman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
You should do a SMC reset.
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 05:03 PM   #8
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I'll reset the smc when I'm home later. Thanks xshane.

Any other suggestions? Any benchmark? Or hardware tests I should do?
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 01:02 AM   #9
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Did an SMC reset, no change! Uggg...frustrating...

Any one else have any idea?
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 01:14 AM   #10
johnnnw
macrumors 65816
 
johnnnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
Did an SMC reset, no change! Uggg...frustrating...

Any one else have any idea?
Well as requested you haven't posted a screenshot of the activity monitor. Do that. A CPU and Memory tab screen shot.

edit: Sorry that sounded bitchy, I'm just saying you should post it. Don't mean it to be like that.
johnnnw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 01:33 AM   #11
dastinger
macrumors 6502a
 
dastinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Did you reset the SMC more than once? Just do it three or four times just to make sure you've done it right. And, if your battery isn't fully charged, the magsafe light will turn green for some seconds when you do it right. Your issue screams SMC reset.
dastinger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 02:05 AM   #12
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
If you have issues after an reinstall, I think you should take your computer to the store to have it looked at. Perhaps it's a hardware issue and it's best to have it checked over.
__________________
Mac Pro | Mac mini | 15" MacBook Pro | iPad Air | iPhone 6
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 05:02 AM   #13
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
May we see your Activity monitor results?
Listing both by CPU and RAM?
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
Sony Xperia Z1 (Purple) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:46 AM   #14
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Heres my current activity monitor.

2202 Lightroom keslertran 0.2 23 2.62 GB Intel (64 bit)
546 Photoshop keslertran 1.0 45 1.52 GB Intel (64 bit)
158 Firefox keslertran 3.3 34 393.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
161 Mail keslertran 0.0 10 55.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
359 Firefox Plugin Process (Shockwave Flash) keslertran 0.6 13 39.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
2446 CVMCompiler keslertran 0.0 2 20.0 MB Intel (64 bit)
2268 mdworker keslertran 0.0 4 17.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
2444 Activity Monitor keslertran 5.6 4 17.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
2439 CalendarAgent keslertran 0.0 3 13.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
164 Dock keslertran 0.0 4 11.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
166 Finder keslertran 0.0 5 11.3 MB Intel (64 bit)
2435 mdworker keslertran 0.0 3 7.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
2144 MagicPrefsPlugins keslertran 0.0 4 7.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
165 SystemUIServer keslertran 0.0 3 6.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
1742 storeagent keslertran 0.0 4 6.3 MB Intel (64 bit)
200 Notification Center keslertran 0.0 3 6.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
2352 Quick Look Helper keslertran 0.0 4 6.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
258 MagicPrefs keslertran 1.3 6 5.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
2205 Image Capture Extension keslertran 0.0 3 5.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
261 i1ProfilerTray keslertran 0.0 4 4.9 MB Intel
2204 AdobeCrashDaemon keslertran 0.2 1 4.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
256 WacomTabletDriver keslertran 0.0 3 3.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
548 AdobeCrashDaemon keslertran 0.2 1 3.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
61 loginwindow keslertran 0.3 5 3.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
1745 maspushagent keslertran 0.0 2 3.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
148 UserEventAgent keslertran 0.0 3 2.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
149 distnoted keslertran 0.0 2 2.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
196 usernoted keslertran 0.0 2 2.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
201 com.apple.dock.extra keslertran 0.0 2 2.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
2404 cfprefsd keslertran 0.0 4 2.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
263 WacomTouchDriver keslertran 0.0 3 2.0 MB Intel (64 bit)
2441 tccd keslertran 0.0 2 1.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
186 fontd keslertran 0.0 2 1.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
203 imagent keslertran 0.0 4 1.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
290 AppleSpell.service keslertran 0.0 3 1.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
163 talagent keslertran 0.0 2 1.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
175 NetworkBrowserAgent keslertran 0.0 3 1.3 MB Intel (64 bit)
558 CS6ServiceManager keslertran 0.0 5 1.3 MB Intel
265 TabletDriver keslertran 0.0 2 1.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
145 launchd keslertran 0.0 2 936 KB Intel (64 bit)
260 iTunes Helper keslertran 0.0 3 920 KB Intel (64 bit)
251 helpd keslertran 0.0 2 308 KB Intel (64 bit)
207 lsboxd keslertran 0.0 2 200 KB Intel (64 bit)
156 pboard keslertran 0.0 1 36 KB Intel (64 bit)
489 WebKitPluginAgent keslertran 0.0 2 12 KB Intel (64 bit)

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by dastinger View Post
Did you reset the SMC more than once? Just do it three or four times just to make sure you've done it right. And, if your battery isn't fully charged, the magsafe light will turn green for some seconds when you do it right. Your issue screams SMC reset.
Yes, I did SMC reset about 3-4 times.

All of which , option, cmd, shift and power button, release. and power on. my magsafe is green the entire time, battery fully charged.
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:48 AM   #15
Nismo73
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Have you compared it with Firefox running and not running?
Nismo73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 12:00 PM   #16
ppone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Can you open up "Activity Monitor" and take a screenshot. Make sure it is set to "All Processes" in the drop down. Click on the "Real Memory" Column to sort it in a descending manner, with the highest memory process on top.


Here is how to take a screenshot if you don't know.

http://guides.macrumors.com/Taking_S...ts_in_Mac_OS_X


Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
Heres my current activity monitor.

2202 Lightroom keslertran 0.2 23 2.62 GB Intel (64 bit)
546 Photoshop keslertran 1.0 45 1.52 GB Intel (64 bit)
158 Firefox keslertran 3.3 34 393.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
161 Mail keslertran 0.0 10 55.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
359 Firefox Plugin Process (Shockwave Flash) keslertran 0.6 13 39.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
2446 CVMCompiler keslertran 0.0 2 20.0 MB Intel (64 bit)
2268 mdworker keslertran 0.0 4 17.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
2444 Activity Monitor keslertran 5.6 4 17.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
2439 CalendarAgent keslertran 0.0 3 13.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
164 Dock keslertran 0.0 4 11.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
166 Finder keslertran 0.0 5 11.3 MB Intel (64 bit)
2435 mdworker keslertran 0.0 3 7.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
2144 MagicPrefsPlugins keslertran 0.0 4 7.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
165 SystemUIServer keslertran 0.0 3 6.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
1742 storeagent keslertran 0.0 4 6.3 MB Intel (64 bit)
200 Notification Center keslertran 0.0 3 6.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
2352 Quick Look Helper keslertran 0.0 4 6.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
258 MagicPrefs keslertran 1.3 6 5.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
2205 Image Capture Extension keslertran 0.0 3 5.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
261 i1ProfilerTray keslertran 0.0 4 4.9 MB Intel
2204 AdobeCrashDaemon keslertran 0.2 1 4.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
256 WacomTabletDriver keslertran 0.0 3 3.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
548 AdobeCrashDaemon keslertran 0.2 1 3.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
61 loginwindow keslertran 0.3 5 3.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
1745 maspushagent keslertran 0.0 2 3.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
148 UserEventAgent keslertran 0.0 3 2.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
149 distnoted keslertran 0.0 2 2.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
196 usernoted keslertran 0.0 2 2.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
201 com.apple.dock.extra keslertran 0.0 2 2.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
2404 cfprefsd keslertran 0.0 4 2.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
263 WacomTouchDriver keslertran 0.0 3 2.0 MB Intel (64 bit)
2441 tccd keslertran 0.0 2 1.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
186 fontd keslertran 0.0 2 1.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
203 imagent keslertran 0.0 4 1.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
290 AppleSpell.service keslertran 0.0 3 1.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
163 talagent keslertran 0.0 2 1.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
175 NetworkBrowserAgent keslertran 0.0 3 1.3 MB Intel (64 bit)
558 CS6ServiceManager keslertran 0.0 5 1.3 MB Intel
265 TabletDriver keslertran 0.0 2 1.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
145 launchd keslertran 0.0 2 936 KB Intel (64 bit)
260 iTunes Helper keslertran 0.0 3 920 KB Intel (64 bit)
251 helpd keslertran 0.0 2 308 KB Intel (64 bit)
207 lsboxd keslertran 0.0 2 200 KB Intel (64 bit)
156 pboard keslertran 0.0 1 36 KB Intel (64 bit)
489 WebKitPluginAgent keslertran 0.0 2 12 KB Intel (64 bit)

----------



Yes, I did SMC reset about 3-4 times.

All of which , option, cmd, shift and power button, release. and power on. my magsafe is green the entire time, battery fully charged.
ppone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 06:44 PM   #17
dastinger
macrumors 6502a
 
dastinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
Yes, I did SMC reset about 3-4 times.

All of which , option, cmd, shift and power button, release. and power on. my magsafe is green the entire time, battery fully charged.
If you did it that way, then you did it wrong. It's not CMD + Option + Shift + Power but CTRL + Option + Shift + Power. Hold it simultaneously for a few seconds and then release. Do that 3/4 times.
dastinger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 07:27 PM   #18
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
Heres my current activity monitor.

2202 Lightroom keslertran 0.2 23 2.62 GB Intel (64 bit)
546 Photoshop keslertran 1.0 45 1.52 GB Intel (64 bit)
158 Firefox keslertran 3.3 34 393.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
161 Mail keslertran 0.0 10 55.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
359 Firefox Plugin Process (Shockwave Flash) keslertran 0.6 13 39.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
2446 CVMCompiler keslertran 0.0 2 20.0 MB Intel (64 bit)
2268 mdworker keslertran 0.0 4 17.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
2444 Activity Monitor keslertran 5.6 4 17.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
2439 CalendarAgent keslertran 0.0 3 13.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
164 Dock keslertran 0.0 4 11.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
166 Finder keslertran 0.0 5 11.3 MB Intel (64 bit)
2435 mdworker keslertran 0.0 3 7.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
2144 MagicPrefsPlugins keslertran 0.0 4 7.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
165 SystemUIServer keslertran 0.0 3 6.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
1742 storeagent keslertran 0.0 4 6.3 MB Intel (64 bit)
200 Notification Center keslertran 0.0 3 6.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
2352 Quick Look Helper keslertran 0.0 4 6.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
258 MagicPrefs keslertran 1.3 6 5.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
2205 Image Capture Extension keslertran 0.0 3 5.2 MB Intel (64 bit)
261 i1ProfilerTray keslertran 0.0 4 4.9 MB Intel
2204 AdobeCrashDaemon keslertran 0.2 1 4.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
256 WacomTabletDriver keslertran 0.0 3 3.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
548 AdobeCrashDaemon keslertran 0.2 1 3.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
61 loginwindow keslertran 0.3 5 3.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
1745 maspushagent keslertran 0.0 2 3.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
148 UserEventAgent keslertran 0.0 3 2.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
149 distnoted keslertran 0.0 2 2.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
196 usernoted keslertran 0.0 2 2.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
201 com.apple.dock.extra keslertran 0.0 2 2.4 MB Intel (64 bit)
2404 cfprefsd keslertran 0.0 4 2.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
263 WacomTouchDriver keslertran 0.0 3 2.0 MB Intel (64 bit)
2441 tccd keslertran 0.0 2 1.9 MB Intel (64 bit)
186 fontd keslertran 0.0 2 1.8 MB Intel (64 bit)
203 imagent keslertran 0.0 4 1.7 MB Intel (64 bit)
290 AppleSpell.service keslertran 0.0 3 1.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
163 talagent keslertran 0.0 2 1.6 MB Intel (64 bit)
175 NetworkBrowserAgent keslertran 0.0 3 1.3 MB Intel (64 bit)
558 CS6ServiceManager keslertran 0.0 5 1.3 MB Intel
265 TabletDriver keslertran 0.0 2 1.1 MB Intel (64 bit)
145 launchd keslertran 0.0 2 936 KB Intel (64 bit)
260 iTunes Helper keslertran 0.0 3 920 KB Intel (64 bit)
251 helpd keslertran 0.0 2 308 KB Intel (64 bit)
207 lsboxd keslertran 0.0 2 200 KB Intel (64 bit)
156 pboard keslertran 0.0 1 36 KB Intel (64 bit)
489 WebKitPluginAgent keslertran 0.0 2 12 KB Intel (64 bit)

----------



Yes, I did SMC reset about 3-4 times.

All of which , option, cmd, shift and power button, release. and power on. my magsafe is green the entire time, battery fully charged.
Can we see a screenshot instead?
Try holding down Shift+Command+4 and just highlight the activity window.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
Sony Xperia Z1 (Purple) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 07:58 PM   #19
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Here is the screen shot.

http://keslertran.com/clients/screenshot.jpg

Thanks!
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 08:37 PM   #20
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
Here is the screen shot.

http://keslertran.com/clients/screenshot.jpg

Thanks!
Can you also take a screenshot with System Memory clicked on the bottom?
Sorry for asking so much but those are some important infos.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
Sony Xperia Z1 (Purple) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 09:32 PM   #21
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by yusukeaoki View Post
Can you also take a screenshot with System Memory clicked on the bottom?
Sorry for asking so much but those are some important infos.
By all means, ask as many questions as you want!

Here ya go.

http://keslertran.com/clients/screenshot2.jpg
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 09:50 PM   #22
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Powered View Post
By all means, ask as many questions as you want!

Here ya go.

http://keslertran.com/clients/screenshot2.jpg
Hmm looking at your AM, seems like no processor is overtaking your CPU or RAM.
The worst case can be a computer defect.
Have you ran hardware tests?
If you have and still laggy, try taking it to Apple Store.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
Sony Xperia Z1 (Purple) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:53 PM   #23
M Powered
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by yusukeaoki View Post
Hmm looking at your AM, seems like no processor is overtaking your CPU or RAM.
The worst case can be a computer defect.
Have you ran hardware tests?
If you have and still laggy, try taking it to Apple Store.
Yeah, everything was idle when I took the screen shot.

I ran cinebench, and got about 36fps on their car demo or what ever it was, the comparison I saw looked normal.

I ran geek bench, 32bit mode got 10,866 Which is about right for stock 2.3Ghz
__________________
www.keslertran.com
M Powered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 12:47 AM   #24
swerve147
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dastinger View Post
If you did it that way, then you did it wrong. It's not CMD + Option + Shift + Power but CTRL + Option + Shift + Power. Hold it simultaneously for a few seconds and then release. Do that 3/4 times.
If your battery if fully charged the SMC reset will not change the battery light.

If you want to be 100% sure the SMC reset went through let the battery run down 5-10%, then reset the SMC. The light will change from orange, to green temporarily after you release the buttons, then back to orange if it is successful.
__________________
15 in. MacBook Pro with Retina display mid 2012 (2.6/16/512) | OnePlus One
swerve147 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:51 AM   #25
dastinger
macrumors 6502a
 
dastinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by swerve147 View Post
If your battery if fully charged the SMC reset will not change the battery light.

If you want to be 100% sure the SMC reset went through let the battery run down 5-10%, then reset the SMC. The light will change from orange, to green temporarily after you release the buttons, then back to orange if it is successful.
I pointed that out in my first post ITT but the issue is that the OP did the key combination wrong.
dastinger is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laggy 4K Video Streaming on rMBP 13" CheesyTators MacBook Pro 20 Oct 29, 2014 09:28 AM
rMBP 15" Performance palpatine MacBook Pro 17 Apr 23, 2014 12:40 PM
Real world performance 13" rMBP vs 15" rMBP applied2 MacBook Pro 5 Nov 21, 2013 12:32 PM
performance MBP 15" late 2011 vs rMBP 15" 2013 pina MacBook Pro 1 Nov 9, 2013 07:55 AM
Does the 13" rMBP run hot and laggy? washburn MacBook Pro 2 Dec 19, 2012 11:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC