Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPhone and iPod touch Apps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2013, 12:14 PM   #1
Big Stevie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Having the same app twice?

Is it possible to have the same app installed twice on my iPhone5?

I have the iPlanner app which contains all my work shift rotas, but I'd like to install a 2nd copy of the same app so I could have other info such as holidays.

Does the iPhone allow me to install the same app twice?
__________________
2012 MacBook Pro - iPhone 5 - iPad Air
Big Stevie is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 12:16 PM   #2
bjm2660
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia
Cross your eyes; it will appear.
bjm2660 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 03:28 PM   #3
Tyler23
macrumors 601
 
Tyler23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Stevie View Post
Is it possible to have the same app installed twice on my iPhone5?

I have the iPlanner app which contains all my work shift rotas, but I'd like to install a 2nd copy of the same app so I could have other info such as holidays.

Does the iPhone allow me to install the same app twice?
Nope, not possible.

Does that app not allow for multiple Planners/lists?
Tyler23 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 08:34 PM   #4
Big Stevie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Well, it does allow that, but Id prefer a 2nd app. Guess I'll have to look at a workaround.

Thanks anyway
__________________
2012 MacBook Pro - iPhone 5 - iPad Air
Big Stevie is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 12:16 AM   #5
rak007
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Stevie View Post
Well, it does allow that, but Id prefer a 2nd app. Guess I'll have to look at a workaround.

Thanks anyway
Yes it is possible if you have a jailbroken iPhone. I have done this. Installed same app 8 times (8 copies of same app i mean), yes 8 times but that was for a reason i would not like to mention here.
Each of them had a separate setting so they do not conflict.
I am sure you will need the Mobile Terminal

I am pretty sure there is a cydia app or something you need to download along with the mobile terminal to make this work. Need to run some basic commands and yes you will need root access on your iPhone and default password is "Alpine"

Let me see if i get the tread which has the detailed info.
rak007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPhone and iPod touch Apps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Facebook Expands Mobile App Portfolio with 'Moves' Fitness App Acquisition MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 31 May 7, 2014 06:03 AM
Mac App Store refund... App disappears from Purchased list, but app still installable WolfSnap Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jan 7, 2014 05:19 PM
Apple Pulls App Discovery App 'AppGratis' From App Store [Updated] MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 36 Apr 13, 2013 09:11 PM
iPhone: Flex App: The app that creates in-app tweaks drizzysteve Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Mar 12, 2013 08:39 AM
500px's Photo Sharing App Pulled From App Store Over Nude Photos MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 232 Jan 24, 2013 05:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC