Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2013, 08:34 PM   #1
badcrc32
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Synology slow for data transfer

I am transfering data to my Synology and it is really slow, less than a TB of data is taking more than 5 days....Did I mess something up. My synology is connected to my router via ethernet cable, and my mac is coping data from a USB external hard drive....Let me know if anyone has any ideas.

Could something be wrong on the setup?
badcrc32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 09:00 PM   #2
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
That sounds unusually slow.

Router brand is a? What are you copying from / to? WiFi? GigE?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 09:59 PM   #3
badcrc32
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
That sounds unusually slow.

Router brand is a? What are you copying from / to? WiFi? GigE?
The router brand is my 2WIRE UVERSE.

This seems to be moving faster now. Power died in my house so I needed to restart the data transfer. I switched the PC to Gbe and then switched the drive to firewire 800. Stuff is faster now. I will tell you that when i browse shares its coming up slow, however I think that is due to the 7 data transfers. The whole cpu is pegged on this. Rethinking the ds212 decision might have been worth the plus.

Thanks,
badcrc32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 10:18 PM   #4
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Your router is the likely bottleneck. I can find no specs on it and assume it's the bog standard AT&T supplied device.

If it's a Homeportal 3000 then it's old & slow. 10/100 Ethernet, 802.11g both ancient.

Your DS212 has GigE Ethernet, your router probably doesn't. Any recent Mac will have GigE and 802.11n

If you can set your 2Wire Uverse to bridge mode and buy a modern router you'll see a large increase in throughput.

I have a DS212j (economy) and it's not slow at all.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 05:07 PM   #5
freejazz-man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
it's not the router - it's the switch in the back of the router

you can improve the cables, but it might not really be those either

I have two synologies with LAG interfaces in a gigabit switch and I don't get more than 60 MB/S

you can get a small/cheaper switch, you don't need to replace your router. just
freejazz-man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 03:56 PM   #6
Non-Euclidean
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Houston, TX
I have a 2Wire 3801GHV or something router (AT&T Uverse), and a Synology NAS (212J ((Yeah, I should have gotten more bays ))). The $#!@$@#$ router is only 10/100, not Gigabyte. As a result, I rarely see transfer rates exceed 11 MB/sec, either from my Mac Mini or my W7 PC.

I have been researching, and been told that if I plug in a Gigabyte switch I can get higher transfer rates. Either that, or I need a new router.

I think all that is involved is Gigabyte switch into back of router, then all the devices that were (hard) wired into the router get moved to the Switch, then they can play with each other at higher speeds.

Oh, and the right cables also, you won't see really high speeds without the correct cables, but others know more that me about that.
Non-Euclidean is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 06:39 PM   #7
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
A GigE switch will only improve your wired speeds. Your WiFi speeds will still suck. An AEBS would improve the works.
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 09:03 PM   #8
flipnap
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
actually i believe the bottle neck is the hard drive themselves. no giga router or switch or cat 6 wires are going to go any faster.
__________________
rMBP 2.6/16/512 and loving every second of it
flipnap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 09:06 PM   #9
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
GigE and that Synology should peak around 60-80mbs, the HDD isn't going to be the bottleneck. 11mbs is good for 10/100 Ethernet.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 09:39 AM   #10
freejazz-man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
exactly
freejazz-man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 06:03 PM   #11
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit Area
Is it your initial data transfer that's slow? If the unit is still doing its initial parity check after volume creation, that would make it quite sluggish. That said, I also have a uVerse modem/router and found the local speeds unbearable. I'm using an Airport Extreme has the connection that my entire internal network uses. Gigabit speeds rock..my DS411+II is getting up to 125MB read speeds
__________________
Late 2013 15" Retina MBP; iPhone 5S; iPad Air
blevins321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 09:40 PM   #12
badcrc32
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by blevins321 View Post
Is it your initial data transfer that's slow? If the unit is still doing its initial parity check after volume creation, that would make it quite sluggish. That said, I also have a uVerse modem/router and found the local speeds unbearable. I'm using an Airport Extreme has the connection that my entire internal network uses. Gigabit speeds rock..my DS411+II is getting up to 125MB read speeds
Yeah guys I am thinking switching to Airport Extreme. Thanks for advise. Too bad it doesnt have USB3
badcrc32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 01:43 AM   #13
jimthing
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by badcrc32 View Post
Yeah guys I am thinking switching to Airport Extreme. Thanks for advise. Too bad it doesnt have USB3
Erm, the Airport devices don't have USB3 for good reason...you wouldn't be able to use the speed USB3 does...

• USB 3: 5 Gigbit/s max (ie. ~5000 Mbit/s, or ~500 MByte/s, or ~0.5 GByte/s).

• GigEthernet: 1 Gigabit max (ie. ~1000 Mbit/s, or ~100 MByte/s, or ~0.1 GByte/s).
That's via a wired Cat.5 cabled GigEthernet (ie. not Wifi) connection to your Mac, and you normally see only around 60-80% of the "max" speeds in reality, due to overhead.

Hence, GigEthernet connection is just one-fifth (20%) of the USB3 speed, at best.

Until we see "10GigEthernet" connections on our Macs (using Cat.6 ethernet cables), then USB3 (or Thunderbolt for that matter!) is likely not gonna happen in the Apple Airport devices, or most others.

When that's gonna happen, is anyone's guess?
__________________
MBP 17" 2.93GHz C2D/10.9.x Mav/8GB RAM/256GB SSD Mac Mini 2.6GHz i7 QC/10.9.x Mav/16GB RAM/256GB SSD T.Caps 5th gen/3TB ATV 3
iP5S 64GB/gold/7.x iPad Mini 2 128GB/grey/WiFi+4G/7.x

wiki:Apple.

Last edited by jimthing; Mar 1, 2013 at 01:50 AM.
jimthing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 09:04 AM   #14
chambord
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimthing View Post
Until we see "10GigEthernet" connections on our Macs (using Cat.6 ethernet cables), then USB3 (or Thunderbolt for that matter!) is likely not gonna happen in the Apple Airport devices, or most others.

When that's gonna happen, is anyone's guess?
I don't know, but advice to anyone getting their house wired: pay the premium and get cat6 cable put in, not cat5e! Ub 10 years you don't want to have to pay for this **** all over again!
chambord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 09:40 AM   #15
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
I would guess fiber would be the next step, not copper.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 12:18 PM   #16
r0k
macrumors 68040
 
r0k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit
I have the DS 212J and the 112J. They both work fine and I don't see any problems with transfer speed. My ethernet is all gigabit. My wireless is handled by 2 d-link access points at opposite corners of the house. My router is an AEBS (older generation). I have an Apple TC (first gen) but I use it exclusively for TM backups and I never rely on it as my only backup.

The up side of the DS212 is low power consumption. The down side is its ARM processor and (relatively) slow speed (compared to Synology's much more expensive Intel based units). It's a more than fast enough NAS drive when used with gigabit ethernet.

hope this helps...
__________________
-r0k
Macbook Pro (late 2011) iPad mini iPhone5
Got a scan to ftp scanner? Enable ftpd in Mavericks!
r0k is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 02:34 PM   #17
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by badcrc32 View Post
I am transfering data to my Synology and it is really slow, less than a TB of data is taking more than 5 days....Did I mess something up. My synology is connected to my router via ethernet cable, and my mac is coping data from a USB external hard drive....Let me know if anyone has any ideas.

Could something be wrong on the setup?
Which Synology NAS do you have exactly? Connected via ethernet cable and a Gigabit Ethernet router, or switch, you should be able to easily achieve around 60 - 90 MB/s. But if you're copying from a USB 2 external drive, then you're only reading at around 35-40 MB/s max, depending on whether you have lots of small files or a few large files (lots of small files will be slower). If your router only supports 100 Mbps, then you will only transfer files at around 10 MB/s. You do not mention whether the Mac is connected to the router via an Ethernet cable as well or if you're connecting via Wifi (I hope not)
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2013, 08:07 AM   #18
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit Area
Synology released a new version of their OS today that includes huge performance improvements. Their mirrors seem to be down under heavy auto download load at the moment haha, but try installing later and you should notice a good improvement. If not, something is affecting your network.
__________________
Late 2013 15" Retina MBP; iPhone 5S; iPad Air
blevins321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Synology DS212j Slow Transfer Speed GimmeSlack12 Mac Peripherals 5 Nov 7, 2013 09:34 PM
iPhone: How can i transfer an active data stream from mobile data to 3g without disconnection bigears Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jun 7, 2013 01:27 PM
Painfully slow data transfer to USB 3 devices on 2012 MacBook Air Narial Taster MacBook Air 9 Aug 20, 2012 08:32 AM
Slow wireless data transfer to/from external HD claytop MacBook Air 4 Jul 27, 2012 09:01 AM
2012 MBA data transfer slow with USB2? Richard Peters MacBook Air 6 Jun 26, 2012 04:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC