Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 8, 2009, 02:21 PM   #1
.mark.
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jersey, C.I.
Continuing using time machine after restore?

My HD crashed and I lost all the data on it but thankfully I use time machine. I successfully restored my system from it and everything is fine. The only problem is that now when my system tries to backup to TM it complains that there is not enough disk space as there is only 20gb free.

TM is not continuing my incremental backups from before the crash - is there a way I can tell it to continue backing up from where it left off? Or do I need to delete the old backups and start fresh? I would rather be able to use my previous incremental backups and they are all there on the TM drive.
__________________
rMBP i7, Macbook Air, iPhone 5s
5DIII | 16-35LII | 24LII | 50L | 85 1.8 | 135L | 100-400L | 430EX2 | 580EX2
flickr | twitter
.mark. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2009, 03:06 PM   #2
sickmacdoc
macrumors 68020
 
sickmacdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Well the problem is that since you restored your entire hard drive, TM is seeing all files on it as being new/changed (as all files have been freshly written to that disk so it is thinking they are all changed from previous versions) so it is wanting to do a complete new backup, just as it did when you first started up Time Machine.

To see the size of the backup it is wanting to do, open the TM preferences and then tell it to "back up now" from the menubar icon. You will see that is huge.

Unless someone else has another idea, I do not believe you will be able to continue incremental backups to that drive because of that, and you will have no choice but to remove the "Backup.backupsdm" (or similar) folder from the TM drive and start off a fresh backup.

BTW- If the backup drive had been big enough, the incremental backups would have continued- as TM would just consider the new huge backup an incremental not that that is helpful.
sickmacdoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 03:35 AM   #3
Chase R
macrumors 65816
 
Chase R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PDX
Open up Disk Utility and format (erase) your Time Machine drive. Then start doing backups through Time Machine again... Basically like starting fresh.
__________________
iOS 7: iPhone 5, 16GB
OS X 10.9: MacBook, Aluminium, 2.4GHz C2D, 9400M, 8GB, SSD
Linux 13.10: HP SFF, 2.4GHz C2D, GeForce 210, 5GB
Windows 8.1: Mid, i3-3225, HD4000, 8GB, 10TB Mirrored, SSD
Chase R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 06:12 AM   #4
admwright
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Scotland
Hmmm, that is a big limitation. So you are unfortunate to have to restore from time machine and then have to dump your backup to start again.

What happens next week when you realise that you actually need that file you deleted before the crash? Oops it went when you had to trash the incremental backup.

Time machine should be smarter than this.
admwright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 07:59 AM   #5
KettyKrueger
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
If you're really concerned that you may need the ancient back-ups, why not get another HDD and use that for Time Machine?

Okay, it's not exactly the best idea, but if you need the back up that bad...
__________________
MBA5,2 with 480GB Transcend SSD | Time Capsule (current gen) | TV (3rd Gen) | iPhone 5 16GB
KettyKrueger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2010, 10:55 PM   #6
turk1077
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by admwright View Post
Hmmm, that is a big limitation. So you are unfortunate to have to restore from time machine and then have to dump your backup to start again.

What happens next week when you realise that you actually need that file you deleted before the crash? Oops it went when you had to trash the incremental backup.

Time machine should be smarter than this.
100% agree. Was really surprised when I ran into this. Is there really no answer?
turk1077 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2010, 06:07 AM   #7
newdeal
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
...

when I restored after installing an ssd time machine continued backing up to my time capsule as normal. I ended up deleting the sparsebundle anyway because I figured if it was going to write all the data again anyway I may as well start fresh, nothing I would miss on there anyway, but it did continue the incremental backup (of course I also had enough space on my time capsule that it wasn't an issue backing up the full drive again)
newdeal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2010, 07:21 PM   #8
RedTomato
macrumors 68040
 
RedTomato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: .. London ..
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but after having this happen to me, I did some deeper digging.

It's not because the files are 'new' after a restore. The restore also preserves the original file creation and modification dates (well, it has to!).

It's because the new drive has a different UUID (universally unique identifier) so Time Machine sees it as a new drive.

See http://hints.macworld.com/article.ph...90213071015789 for more details.

It's possible to copy over the UUID, but after seeing the steps needed, I decided not to, and just roll with having a complete new backup done.
__________________
This is a signature.
RedTomato is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:06 AM   #9
Littleodie914
macrumors 68000
 
Littleodie914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedTomato View Post
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but after having this happen to me, I did some deeper digging.

It's not because the files are 'new' after a restore. The restore also preserves the original file creation and modification dates (well, it has to!).

It's because the new drive has a different UUID (universally unique identifier) so Time Machine sees it as a new drive.

See http://hints.macworld.com/article.ph...90213071015789 for more details.

It's possible to copy over the UUID, but after seeing the steps needed, I decided not to, and just roll with having a complete new backup done.
I just encountered this same situation. After a partitioning failure and Time Machine restore, my first backup is the full size of my hard drive.

And while the backup is being stored in the same Backups.backupsdb subdirectory, my new drive does have a different UUID.
Littleodie914 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restore to new machine from Time Machine ajo Mac Basics and Help 0 Jan 24, 2014 08:47 AM
Time Machine - can't restore puzzlemuse Mac Basics and Help 0 Aug 24, 2013 09:45 AM
Time Machine Restore thuchu1 OS X 7 Nov 18, 2012 09:38 PM
Continuing Time Machine Backups harrisonw1998 MacBook Pro 1 Aug 30, 2012 03:04 PM
Time Machine Restore for ML? MagicThief83 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Jul 11, 2012 06:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC