Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 5, 2012, 01:14 PM   #26
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Yeah this is not well executed by Apple at all, IMO. Time Machine does not backup the Recovery HD. So you actually need to reinstall the OS and then use Time Machine in the Migration Assistant window. Only through a reinstall of Mac OS X is Recovery HD restored. Recovery HD is nice to have, not critical, but is required if you ever want to use FileVault 2 for whole disk encryption of the boot volume.

Skip step 1.
Step 2, 3 are good.
Next, without rebooting, install Mountain Lion.

Next, after it reboots a couple times, you'll have a whole new clean Mountain Lion system, and one of the windows you get to will be a migration assistant that will give you the option of using a Time Machine backup for restoring. Use that.

Next, use Boot Camp Assistant to create a boot camp partition. Note that the size doesn't really matter much because Winclone can do a resize later, based on your Winclone clone image, or any other size you wish. You will need a Windows 7 install DVD or image in order for BCA to proceed to the step where it creates the new partition for Windows.

Next, you should boot from the Windows install DVD, go to the advanced menu like is shown in the Boot Camp User Guide, choose this new BOOTCAMP partition and format it NTFS. Before you do this, BOOTCAMP is a FAT32 volume and Winclone can't manage them. It needs to be NTFS first.

After you've done this, you do not need to actually install Windows, you can reboot to Mac OS X, and use Winclone to restore the clone image.
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2012, 09:06 PM   #27
ptesone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphychris View Post
There is. It requires patience and a steady hand. Please post the results from the following (ready-only) commands. In the forum message window, highlight the pasted text, click on the # button in the toolbar to add code tags so the results format correctly.

Code:
sudo gpt -r -vv show disk0
sudo fdisk /dev/disk0
I'm having the same problem as PNayo92 with my bootcamp after upgrading to Mountain Lion.

My above code reports:
Code:
gpt show: disk0: mediasize=500107862016; sectorsize=512; blocks=976773168
gpt show: disk0: Suspicious MBR at sector 0
gpt show: disk0: Pri GPT at sector 1
gpt show: disk0: Sec GPT at sector 976773167
      start       size  index  contents
          0          1         MBR
          1          1         Pri GPT header
          2         32         Pri GPT table
         34          6         
         40     409600      1  GPT part - C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B
     409640  817352880      2  GPT part - 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
  817762520    1269544      3  GPT part - 426F6F74-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
  819032064  157741056      4  GPT part - EBD0A0A2-B9E5-4433-87C0-68B6B72699C7
  976773120         15         
  976773135         32         Sec GPT table
  976773167          1         Sec GPT header
(myname)s-iMac:~ (myname)$ sudo fdisk /dev/disk0
Disk: /dev/disk0	geometry: 60801/255/63 [976773168 sectors]
Signature: 0xAA55
         Starting       Ending
 #: id  cyl  hd sec -  cyl  hd sec [     start -       size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 1: EE 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [         1 -     409639] <Unknown ID>
 2: AF 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [    409640 -  817352880] HFS+        
 3: AB 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [ 817762520 -    1269544] Darwin Boot 
*4: 07 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [ 819032064 -  157741056] HPFS/QNX/AUX
Bootcamp made an 80gig partition for Windows off my 500gig HD

should I try the same thing he did?

Last edited by ptesone; Aug 25, 2012 at 09:15 PM.
ptesone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 12:22 AM   #28
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptesone View Post
I'm having the same problem as PNayo92
I don't see how. Your GPT does not contain two Apple Boot partitions (used for Recovery HD volumes), like PNayo92. Your GPT has four partitions: EFI, Mac OS, Recovery, Windows. Totally normal. The hybrid MBR is also properly formed.

What problem are you having exactly?
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 12:59 PM   #29
ptesone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
thanx for the quick reply

I don't get the Bootcamp (windows) option in Start Up nor do I get boot icons when holding the option key @ boot up, but I can still see my BOOTCAMP partition mounted as a drive on my mac desktop which has all the windows files.

Edit: I fixed it by booting up my XP cd, while holding the C key, and I did a repair. After the 1st boot my option key now suddenly works. I think what's happening is since Mountain Lion is no longer supporting XP and Vista, they've put something in EFI bootloader to ignore those installations, but it will still let me boot my XP CD, because now when I goto Mac, my Windows StartUp still drive refuses to show up. Oh well, least I can boot it from the CD and then get my drives back!

Last edited by ptesone; Aug 26, 2012 at 04:06 PM.
ptesone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 05:31 PM   #30
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptesone View Post
Edit: I fixed it by booting up my XP cd, while holding the C key, and I did a repair. After the 1st boot my option key now suddenly works. I think what's happening is since Mountain Lion is no longer supporting XP and Vista, they've put something in EFI bootloader to ignore those installations,
Unlikely. Apple hardware doesn't use EFI bootloaders for Windows, it uses a CSM-BIOS (legacy BIOS) which uses the conventional Windows bootloaders just like any PC does. That a repair form the Windows XP CD fixed this problem implies several explanations, but all of them are disturbing. I'd really like to know why this is happening to some people.
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 06:27 PM   #31
ptesone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphychris View Post
Unlikely. Apple hardware doesn't use EFI bootloaders for Windows, it uses a CSM-BIOS (legacy BIOS) which uses the conventional Windows bootloaders just like any PC does. That a repair form the Windows XP CD fixed this problem implies several explanations, but all of them are disturbing. I'd really like to know why this is happening to some people.
well if there's anything you can think of that I should try let me know, I'd be happy to help.
ptesone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 07:17 PM   #32
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
We need people with Lion to post their GPT and MBR before they do the upgrade, and then find out what the before and after's look like when there's a problem. Then see if it's a reproducible problem.
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 10:41 AM   #33
ptesone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
here's some interesting reading on the subject:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...rt=45&tstart=0
ptesone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 01:02 AM   #34
sr1200
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Im having a similar issue after upgrading to 10.8.2. I was able to boot to the bootcamp partition, then all of a sudden, windows shut itself down and rebooted into OSX. When i rebooted again, held opt down, no windows option. But like the others the bootcamp partitoned drive shows up on the desktop. The only difference I seem to have is that my bootcamp partition is on its own drive. I have a 1TB drive that i split 50/50 bootcamp and a "swap" fat area that i can use to transfer files back and forth without needing the NTFS "option" for osx. My machine has 4 drives total main OSX drive (240gb ssd), work drive (1tb) backup drive (2tb) and the win/swap (1tb)
Code:
/dev/disk0
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:     FDisk_partition_scheme                        *1.0 TB     disk0
   1:               Windows_NTFS BOOTCAMP                501.2 GB   disk0s2
   2:               Windows_NTFS Swap1                   499.0 GB   disk0s3
/dev/disk1
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *1.0 TB     disk1
   1:                        EFI                         209.7 MB   disk1s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS Studio                  999.9 GB   disk1s2
/dev/disk2
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *2.0 TB     disk2
   1:                        EFI                         209.7 MB   disk2s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS Backup                  2.0 TB     disk2s2
/dev/disk3
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *240.1 GB   disk3
   1:                        EFI                         209.7 MB   disk3s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS Macintosh HD            239.2 GB   disk3s2
   3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk3s3
And heres where things get all funny business...
Code:
gpt show: disk0: mediasize=1000204886016; sectorsize=512; blocks=1953525168
gpt show: disk0: MBR at sector 0
       start        size  index  contents
           0           1         MBR
           1          62         
          63   978960770      2  MBR part 7
   978960833        1599         
   978962432   974559232      3  MBR part 7
  1953521664        3504
Which is the output of the gpt show for disk0

im going to try and see if i can fix it using my Win7 disk, but has anyone figured out why this is happening, (of fixed it and not had the issue again?)

EDIT: just noticed that its seeing my swap1 as NTFS... it isn't its FAT, hmmm odd...

Last edited by sr1200; Feb 22, 2013 at 01:06 AM. Reason: noticed something odd
sr1200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:56 AM   #35
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr1200 View Post
Im having a similar issue after upgrading to 10.8.2.
Chances are you can use Windows Startup Repair and it will find and fix the problem. If not you'll need to go through this support document, which has some hidden information that you have to click on to reveal.
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2014, 11:05 AM   #36
xXVito
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
similar problem

Sorry guys, i've got a similar problem so instead of creating a new thread,
i just want to ask you here.

I've got a macbook pro version 10.7.5 with bootcamp installed (windows 7)
i created four partitions ( Mac os x, Linux, Linux swap, Bootcamp)

unfortunately i had to reinstall Mac os X after trying to install Ubuntu (linux).

Anyway although i can still see the four partitions that i had created in disk utility
and but cannot boot windows 7 anymore. (appears as a folder "Bootcamp Windows" in Startup Disk, next to "mac os x 10.7.5 HDD)

Do i need to reinstall windows 7 or bootcamp assistant or anything else?

Your help would be hugely appreciated

thank
xXVito is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Tags
bootcamp, lion, mountain, partition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootcamp Windows Partition Won't Boot After Accidentally Changing Boot-up Partition JordanSimps Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Aug 13, 2013 11:00 AM
My Bootcamp partition will not boot. It doesn't mount and is grey in disk utility. bechardj MacBook Pro 0 Aug 5, 2013 07:37 PM
After resizing Mac HFS partition for BootCamp, unable to boot upsguy27 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jun 24, 2013 06:26 PM
Missing partition in win7 bootcamp after update to ML.!! Phea01 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Sep 3, 2012 05:59 AM
Cant access bootcamp partition Since Update to ML Prime85 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jul 1, 2012 03:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC