Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2013, 12:35 PM   #26
PaulKemp
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhall1 View Post
Did you read the articles quoted above? All you need is an adapter to fool the Mini into thinking it's connected to a monitor.
Did you read my posts above?

I read the articles, but they use a VGA adapter to fix this. The 2011 version ships with a HDMI-DVI adapter. And that particular adapter does not have the analog signals used in the VGA adapter to fool the mini into thinking it has a monitor connected.

In my case it was way easier to just connect it to a monitor in a 2nd bedroom. And the performance is way better now that it has a head! Way way better.
__________________
iMac i7 3.4 GHz, 24 GB Ram, 256 SSD | MBA 2011 i5 1.7 GHz, 4 GB Ram | Mini i7 2.0 GHz, 4 GB Ram, RAID 0 | iPad 2 16 GB | iPhone 5 16 GB | ATV 3
Remember to quote orignal post.
PaulKemp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 01:15 PM   #27
palebluedot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulKemp View Post
Did you read my posts above?

I read the articles, but they use a VGA adapter to fix this. The 2011 version ships with a HDMI-DVI adapter. And that particular adapter does not have the analog signals used in the VGA adapter to fool the mini into thinking it has a monitor connected.

In my case it was way easier to just connect it to a monitor in a 2nd bedroom. And the performance is way better now that it has a head! Way way better.
FWIW OS X has become TERRIBLE with remote sharing (VNC), esp. on headless machines. There are tons of threads about the problems, from Lion and ML, with it on MacBook Airs and Pros as well.

Which IMHO is ridiculous. Windows can go headless without a second thought. It really isn't complicated, it's just a restriction implemented by Apple either by choice or through negligence.
palebluedot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 10:52 AM   #28
PaulKemp
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by palebluedot View Post
Which IMHO is ridiculous. Windows can go headless without a second thought. It really isn't complicated, it's just a restriction implemented by Apple either by choice or through negligence.
Agree. The fact that the GPU is nerfed when using VNC is just ridiculous. Especially with these minis, they are perfect for beeing headless!

Anyway, the problem is solved for me (its now connected to a monitor) and I've learned about this!
__________________
iMac i7 3.4 GHz, 24 GB Ram, 256 SSD | MBA 2011 i5 1.7 GHz, 4 GB Ram | Mini i7 2.0 GHz, 4 GB Ram, RAID 0 | iPad 2 16 GB | iPhone 5 16 GB | ATV 3
Remember to quote orignal post.
PaulKemp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 12:25 PM   #29
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Acceleration is disabled when no monitor is detected. There is a way to fix this in software; I don't get the black screens and huge lag any more.

Unfortunately there are many steps and I'm not in front of my mac, so they are a bit vague:

Get xcode from the app store.
Open xcode and there is a place to get additional packages.
Get quartz debug.
At some point you'll be taken to the Apple website and you'll have to register as a Mac developer (free) in order to download quartz debug.
Start Quartz Debug.
Enable Quartz Extreme and Force Quartz GL.

Restart your screen sharing session.

Granted, this problem for me was intermittent. But I've been going a solid 5 days now with no black screens or splotches, and only very slight lag similar to Windows screen sharing.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:50 PM   #30
philoouu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Acceleration is disabled when no monitor is detected. There is a way to fix this in software; I don't get the black screens and huge lag any more.

Unfortunately there are many steps and I'm not in front of my mac, so they are a bit vague:

Get xcode from the app store.
Open xcode and there is a place to get additional packages.
Get quartz debug.
At some point you'll be taken to the Apple website and you'll have to register as a Mac developer (free) in order to download quartz debug.
Start Quartz Debug.
Enable Quartz Extreme and Force Quartz GL.

Restart your screen sharing session.

Granted, this problem for me was intermittent. But I've been going a solid 5 days now with no black screens or splotches, and only very slight lag similar to Windows screen sharing.
Hello

Can you give us more details about it once you are in front of your Mac ?
I never heard about such a thing in any other forums before and it looks a very clean solution.
If this works this is definitely the best solution !!!
Thanks for your help
philoouu
philoouu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:45 PM   #31
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by philoouu View Post
Hello

Can you give us more details about it once you are in front of your Mac ?
I never heard about such a thing in any other forums before and it looks a very clean solution.
If this works this is definitely the best solution !!!
Thanks for your help
philoouu
Which step did you have trouble with?
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 11:06 PM   #32
philoouu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Which step did you have trouble with?
I installed everything as you said. It does not solve my issue. I have one application that is not working properly when a screen is not connected physically !
Running the debug for me is not tricking the Mini Mac even after a restarting Share Screen.
Well let us hope it is not Apple decision to keep it like that.
Thanks
philoouu
philoouu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:03 AM   #33
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by philoouu View Post
I installed everything as you said. It does not solve my issue. I have one application that is not working properly when a screen is not connected physically !
Running the debug for me is not tricking the Mini Mac even after a restarting Share Screen.
Well let us hope it is not Apple decision to keep it like that.
Thanks
philoouu
You can try an EDID emulator. That worked for someone else in a different thread. I don't know if it will fix the specific issue you are having with that one application.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 04:51 PM   #34
philoouu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
You can try an EDID emulator. That worked for someone else in a different thread. I don't know if it will fix the specific issue you are having with that one application.
Thanks. I will probably wait for some kind of fix.
Do you have any idea why Apple would not let people using properly Share Screen on headless Mac Mini. Is that on purpose or a bug ? For me it looks more like a bug so it should get fixed at some point. One of the main selling point of the Mac Mini is its headless use.
philoouu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 06:02 PM   #35
Darby67
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: the corner of Fire and Brimstone
Quote:
Originally Posted by philoouu View Post
Thanks. I will probably wait for some kind of fix.
Do you have any idea why Apple would not let people using properly Share Screen on headless Mac Mini. Is that on purpose or a bug ? For me it looks more like a bug so it should get fixed at some point. One of the main selling point of the Mac Mini is its headless use.
I wouldn't hold my breath, it's been a normal, albeit bothersome, thing for several years. I would tend it disagree with you on the main selling point supposition. Although many of us, myself included, have a mini that is headless, I have yet to see any Apple marketing material that lists that as a selling point.
__________________
15" 2.3 GHz QC i7 MBP
2.6 GHz QC i7 Mini
2.0 GHz QC i7 Mini
Darby67 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 05:15 PM   #36
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
I also went through the random black screens on a 2010, 11 and '12 Mac Mini when screen sharing.

I remembered that I had Apple's "Remote Desktop" app from years ago, I just never used it much because screen sharing worked for the most part.

So I installed the Remote Desktop app on my iMac and then the Remote Desktop client on my Mac Mini and I haven't experienced a black screen event in a few months.

Hopefully this can help some other folks where this issue was getting annoying.
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA, Yosemite
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 6+ Gold 128GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2013, 01:15 PM   #37
T'hain Esh Kelch
macrumors 65816
 
T'hain Esh Kelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denmark
Send a message via ICQ to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via AIM to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via MSN to T'hain Esh Kelch
Thread necromancy!

Have any of you have trouble waking your Mac mini properly, and have had it remedied, by using this resistor/adapter trick? Especially using the Apple remote.
__________________
"There's no bigot like a religious bigot and there's no religion more fanatical than that espoused by Macintosh zealots." ~Martin Veitch, IT Week [31-01-2003]
T'hain Esh Kelch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2013, 02:15 PM   #38
TitouDoc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
The MiniDP-VGA dummy dungle work fine on my MacPro !
To the one who make one, what resistor do you use ? I use a 85 ohms.
The MacPro find a 800x600 VGA screen by default, I have to set upper resolution manually. Will resistor value change anything ?
TitouDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 04:45 PM   #39
willgreene99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DFW
With aTB display connected, remote performance was good. I disconnected the Tb display and tried the Apple Remote Desktop but that too also left me with the screen not refreshing. I'll try the quartz method to see if that works.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Acceleration is disabled when no monitor is detected. There is a way to fix this in software; I don't get the black screens and huge lag any more.

Unfortunately there are many steps and I'm not in front of my mac, so they are a bit vague:

Get xcode from the app store.
Open xcode and there is a place to get additional packages.
Get quartz debug.
At some point you'll be taken to the Apple website and you'll have to register as a Mac developer (free) in order to download quartz debug.
Start Quartz Debug.
Enable Quartz Extreme and Force Quartz GL.

Restart your screen sharing session.

Granted, this problem for me was intermittent. But I've been going a solid 5 days now with no black screens or splotches, and only very slight lag similar to Windows screen sharing.
I assume that you are doing this on the Mini?
__________________

MacBook Air 6,1 - 11"-1.7Ghz-8G-512G
willgreene99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 05:28 PM   #40
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by willgreene99 View Post
With aTB display connected, remote performance was good. I disconnected the Tb display and tried the Apple Remote Desktop but that too also left me with the screen not refreshing. I'll try the quartz method to see if that works.

----------



I assume that you are doing this on the Mini?
Yes, this is on a Mini. But I have to take back my early report of success. I do experience intermittent black screens. The longer it has been since my last session the more likely it is to occur. I did not experience this earlier because I was using the Mini so often during setup and configuration of the software and services I needed.

Even if there is an improvement, the quartz method is a hassle anyway because you have to activate it each time after logout/login or reboot, although that could probably be automated.

I do have another idea but I haven't had the time to try it yet. The hardware dongle method is just spoofing an EDID for a monitor that doesn't exist, and this is reported to work just as well as having a monitor hooked up. The thing is, there's also a software method for forcing an EDID when no EDID is detectable, and since that is free, I'm going to give it a try some day.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 04:11 PM   #41
Owdee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
mac mini headless black screen

Hi.
first post here... :-)

Jus wanted to share that I have beeen struggelign for a while with setting up a headless mac mini running snow leopard 10.6.8 and accenssing it from my mbp running mountain lion.
Screen in macīs own screensharing app woks fine but when the mini goes to sleep, sceensjhring cant wake the screen up. just stays black with a cursor. file and everything are accessible with finder but no screen.... tryed everything and I mean everything

so I came across "team viewer" http://www.teamviewer.com

works!!! free for personal use!!!! absolutely amazing and easy to set up and use!!!

/hep! :-)
Owdee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2013, 11:40 AM   #42
j-beda
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
maybe a VGA dongle is useful

I came across this posting: http://blog.macminicolo.net/post/338...dless-mac-mini

"A dummy dongle mimics a monitor being attached to a Mac. It will force a Mac to load the video driver and take full advantage of the GPU. "

Is there any way to trick the computer into using the GPU even without hardware attached? Yes there seems to be one I just found a post at https://discussions.apple.com/thread...rt=15&tstart=0 which references a display driver used as part of Avatron Software's "Air Sharing"/"Air Display" display sharing system.

The free part that runs on the mac that you want to "extend" the display of is available as the "host software" at http://getairdisplay.com/

After I installed and rebooted and adjusted the installed System Preference panel (detailed directions and screenshots are part way down about "ON THE PRIMARY COMPUTER" at http://avatron.com/forums/read.php?47,15501 ) and then rebooted again, things are better on my headless MacMini ML Server, but not completely resolved. Any idea what settings need to be set?




Install a third party display driver (for example from http://getairdisplay.com) and it works!

Last edited by j-beda; Aug 5, 2013 at 12:28 PM. Reason: found software solution
j-beda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 05:58 AM   #43
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
Good find indeed on the macminicolo site Did you happen to read post 20 in this thread?

The rest of your info is good though...
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 09:38 AM   #44
mayuka
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-beda View Post
I noticed that I need 3 resistors (85 Ohm) instead of just one. Putting them into the RGB ports (1-6, 2-7, 3-8) works on my 2005 Mac mini G4 and on my 2007 Mac mini C2D.
__________________
Mac Mini i5 16GB (Mid 2011) + Cinema Display 23" (Late 2005)
MacBook Air 11" i5 8GB (Mid 2013)
Powerbook G4 1.5 1.5GB + Mac mini G4 1.5 1GB
iPhone 4S, iPod 4G + Mini
mayuka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 08:24 AM   #45
j-beda
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
spoke too soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by j-beda View Post
After I installed and rebooted and adjusted the installed System Preference panel (detailed directions and screenshots are part way down about "ON THE PRIMARY COMPUTER" at http://avatron.com/forums/read.php?47,15501 ) and then rebooted again, things are better on my headless MacMini ML Server, but not completely resolved. Any idea what settings need to be set?
I may have spoken too soon. After doing some screen sharing with a locally connected MacBook, the comparison shows the MacMini is still terrible, even with the Avatron software. Maybe the improvements thought I saw were just wishful thinking.

This discussion might also be of interest: https://discussions.apple.com/message/22657346#22657346

It gives a link to showing how to make a dongle with the 3 resistors mentioned above: http://www.geeks3d.com/20091230/vga-...ga-dummy-plug/
j-beda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2013, 02:10 PM   #46
idlememe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Sorry to bring this up again, but has anyone tried this with one of the Mavericks developer previews? Does anyone know if the issue has been resolved?
idlememe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 09:22 PM   #47
clie2k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
This appears to be fixed for me after upgrading my headless Mac mini to Mavericks.

I can do screen sharing via my MacBook Air and no longer get screen refresh issues or black box issues.

Can anyone else confirm?

After I upgraded the Mini, I tested screen sharing via the MBA before (Mountain Lion) and after upgrading the MBA itself to Mavericks, and it worked in both scenarios.

It appears if you just upgrade the Mini to Mavericks, any OS X variant can screen share with out the cursor/black box issues.
clie2k is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 10:27 AM   #48
krom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Maverick

It's only partially fixed. Yes, the black blocks are gone but there's still a horrible refresh rate. It's really annoying that there's no patch for this.
krom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2014, 02:55 PM   #49
justanole
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
The dongle solution works great

Quote:
Originally Posted by bumper314 View Post
It seems that when you don't have a monitor connected, the GPU doesn't give you full performance. You can hack a dongle to make the mini think you have a monitor connected.

Image

Here's a full writeup by MacStadium on how to maximize video performance for a headless mac mini.
And cheap. The 100 ohm resistors are $1.49 a five pack from the Shack. The after market Mac adapter was $8 from Amazon. All in all a very easy and affordable fix.
justanole is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2014, 04:28 AM   #50
808?
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-beda View Post
It gives a link to showing how to make a dongle with the 3 resistors mentioned above: http://www.geeks3d.com/20091230/vga-...ga-dummy-plug/
I made one of these today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justanole View Post
And cheap. The 100 ohm resistors are $1.49 a five pack from the Shack. The after market Mac adapter was $8 from Amazon. All in all a very easy and affordable fix.
Indeed, very cheap and cheerful.




808? is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headless Macmini - black screen and cursor tonty Mac mini 20 Oct 29, 2013 11:08 AM
Mac mini and screen sharing Rapsuperhase Mac mini 4 Jun 10, 2013 07:06 AM
Screen sharing, headless mini probs. Maybe RAM? shorn OS X 5 Nov 24, 2012 07:02 PM
Imac with mac mini screen sharing blackrose83 iMac 5 Aug 16, 2012 11:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps