Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:48 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
New Mac Pro Confirmed to Have Removable CPU




With the first new Mac Pro units having made their way to reviewers and even some early online orders arriving in the closing days of 2013, more details on the new machines are continuing to surface.

Other World Computing (OWC) has performed a quick teardown on one of the new machines, and while documentation currently consists of only a small set of photos, the company has confirmed that the Intel Xeon E5 processor found in the Mac Pro is indeed removable, allowing for future upgrades. All four available CPUs for the new Mac Pro use the same LGA 2011 socket standardized on the Mac Pro's motherboard.

The main processor is one of the most significant variables in the cost of the new Mac Pro, with the four available CPU options spanning $3500 in upgrade charges. Pricing relative to the stock 3.7GHz quad-core Intel Xeon E5 with 10MB of L3 cache is as follows:

- 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 with 12MB of L3 cache: +$500
- 3.0GHz 8-core Intel Xeon E5 with 25MB of L3 cache: +$2000
- 2.7GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5 with 30MB of L3 cache: +$3500

Using a removable socketed processor rather than the soldered processors found in most of Apple's Macs means that users may be able to upgrade their machines in the future as their needs change and/or chip prices decline.

Earlier this week, OWC also shared a photo showing the new Mac Pro driving a total of six 27-inch displays, each with a horizontal resolution of at least 2500 pixels. The new Mac Pro offers six Thunderbolt 2 ports for connectivity, allowing for a number of combinations of displays and other peripherals.

Article Link: New Mac Pro Confirmed to Have Removable CPU
MacRumors is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:48 PM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Nice, though any replacement will be pricey
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:50 PM   #3
LordVic
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
LG Socket 2011 though will be depreciated once Haswell based xeon's are released too wont they? i'm not versed that well in intel's roadmap, but isn't it sort of late to this particular socket iteration?

though, the fact it's a standard CPU socket without any customization which allows for you to put your own CPU in there is absolutely an awesome inclusion.

now...

how bout those GPU cards
__________________
“We can't win against obsession. They care, we don't. They win.”
― Douglas Adams, Life, the Universe and Everything
LordVic is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:50 PM   #4
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
that bottom picture gave me chills. its crazy how that small little box can house that much power :0
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:50 PM   #5
Mums
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I'm sold - I want one! But it needs new big monitors.
Mums is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:51 PM   #6
ouimetnick
macrumors 68020
 
ouimetnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, Massachusetts
Send a message via AIM to ouimetnick Send a message via Yahoo to ouimetnick Send a message via Skype™ to ouimetnick
Sure replacements might be pricy, but the price will come down in years to come. I can put two quad core Xeons (X5365) for $100-$200. A few years ago it was over $1000 just for ONE X5365 CPU. Simply put you can buy more time down the road.
__________________
ACMT
MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2010) 2.4GHz C2D, 4GB RAM, 750GB HD; Mac Pro Mid 2007; various MacBooks; Power Mac G5; iPhone 4s; iPhone 5s
ouimetnick is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:51 PM   #7
Steve.P.JobsFan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bowling Green, OH
Great find.
__________________
Mobile | Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337 AT&T) | 16GB | White
iPad Air | Black | 32GB Wi-Fi + LTE
iMac | Core i5 2.7 GHz | 12GB RAM |Radeon 6770 (512MB VRAM)
Apple TV | 3rd Generation
Steve.P.JobsFan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:51 PM   #8
Djreversal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I'm sure people will be happy to hear this... Apple seems to be keeping the professionals in mind as far as upgradability goes.. They aren't locking in the unit to just once specific ordered platform and thats it... i know people are upset without the PCI upgradability but, i think the external thunderbolt connectivity will eventually pan out to be something people really like.

I would probably think the video cards will be an area that maybe nvidia will shoot to develop something for.. I am a big nvidia fan, although apple seems to be going to work on the Firepro drivers and it seems to be laying out some impressive results.
Djreversal is offline   14 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:51 PM   #9
RoelJuun
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
I'm more interested in the removability of the GPU's and plug in new ones…
RoelJuun is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:51 PM   #10
dannyp1996
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Nice, though any replacement will be pricey
Hopefully it supports a standard PC Haswell Xeon CPU when these are available!
__________________
2013 13" MacBook Air, i7, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD - 2010 13" MacBook Pro, 256GB Crucial M4, 8GB RAM - iPad 2 32GB (Wi-Fi only) - iPhone 5 16GB Black - Apple TV 3 - 2013 Airport Extreme
dannyp1996 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:53 PM   #11
leo.andres.21
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Attention
Send a message via MSN to leo.andres.21 Send a message via Yahoo to leo.andres.21 Send a message via Skype™ to leo.andres.21
the new Mac Pro looks so tempting, it's like a marvel piece of innovation, cramming all the technological punch inside a shell so small, when developers finally utilise it, it will be a beast of a machine.
hope I could one day make one of it my own, linking 3 4K monitors.
__________________
MBP 15" Core i7 2820QM, 8GB 1333MHz RAM, 1GB AMD 6750HD, 750GB HDD
iPhone 4S(teve), 32GB, White *Stolen*
Alienware Aurora i7-2600K, 8GB 1333MHz RAM, 1GB AMD 6870HD, 256GB Samsung 470
leo.andres.21 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:54 PM   #12
fun173
macrumors Demi-God
 
fun173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
That picture of it driving the 6 screens is great!
fun173 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:54 PM   #13
Wiesenlooser
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
What about RAM, SSD and GPU?
Wiesenlooser is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:54 PM   #14
wesk702
macrumors 65816
 
wesk702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The hood
So does this mean if we buy a single quad core we can load it with the 6, 8, or even 12 at our own dispense?
wesk702 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:54 PM   #15
yeah
macrumors 6502a
 
yeah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Late Christmas gift time.
__________________
Steve Jobs (1955-2011).
Toshiba PC.
iPhone 5S 16 GB Gold.
iPad 2 with iOS 7.1.
yeah is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:55 PM   #16
Djreversal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
i plan on running 3 Dell ultrasharp 27" monitors at 2660x1440 resolution. I can't imagine the real-estate having 3 32" 4k displays going... i honestly wouldn't want to demand that much GPU usage for the displays alone, i'd be happy with 2 4k's but i am waiting on 4k monitors to fall in price.. 1 more year they should 1/2 them selves again in retail cost.
Djreversal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:55 PM   #17
sigmadog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA - Upper Left
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiesenlooser View Post
What about RAM, SSD and GPU?
Yes, Yes, and I don't know, but I think so.
__________________
My Mac is just a tool. People don't look at my art and congratulate me for having a great computer.
sigmadog.com
sigmadog is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:55 PM   #18
iomar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to iomar
Wow, this is a good thing to know. I will get the lower end one and later upgraded to a faster processor!
__________________
Visit BJJ Products - For High Quality BJJ Gears and Apparels:

http://www.bjjproducts.com
iomar is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:56 PM   #19
LordVic
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Stouffville, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiesenlooser View Post
What about RAM, SSD and GPU?
if you're asking about upgradability?

its already confirmed that the RAM and SSD are user replaceable by apple.

though, the SSD hasn't been confirmed if it's proprietary socket or some form of existing socket (maybe same one from the rMBP?)
__________________
“We can't win against obsession. They care, we don't. They win.”
― Douglas Adams, Life, the Universe and Everything
LordVic is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:56 PM   #20
iMikeT
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
Awesome, glad to know that a customer can buy the base-model then upgrade from there.
iMikeT is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:57 PM   #21
ksnell
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Awesome. If only they would go this route with the rMBP's, if only for at least the RAM.
ksnell is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 01:57 PM   #22
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Happy to hear this! Hopefully the GPUs will be upgradeable too.
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:04 PM   #23
wiz329
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
FINALLY we can lay this to rest.

You CAN replace the CPU, GPU, and internal storage. While non-proprietary connectors would be nice ... its Apple, what did you expect?
wiz329 is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:05 PM   #24
tkatz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
So, it looks like everything is a card or on a card of some sort. In theory couldn't apple just upgrade the CPU daughter card when a new chipset comes out and thus making upgrading this machine with future CPU's a lot more cost effective?

Same with the GPU's, looks like they just plug into the central board. Apple (or a 3rd party) could probably just build replacement card with newer GPU's on them.

Since pretty much everything else is external, this could, in theory, be the most upgradable Mac yet. Of course, thats assuming Apple either comes out with the upgrades or releases specifics on how the hardware works. (one can always hope)
tkatz is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:05 PM   #25
fixmymac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ormiston, East Lothian, Scotland
Send a message via AIM to fixmymac Send a message via MSN to fixmymac
The Service Manual confirms that the CPU can, and will be, replaced separately should an issue arise. The process has 13 steps and ends with running a Cooling System Diagnostic A list of new special tools is given in the manual for doing so. The list includes;

A Core Cradle
CPU Riser Spring Press
CPU Grease Stencil (Which applies the paste in a 6x5 grid pattern)
CPU Riser Cover
Access Card Tool (Same thing used to open original 17" intel iMacs)
T8 Torque driver set to 0.85Nm
fixmymac is offline   15 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC