Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:07 PM   #26
Djreversal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkatz View Post
So, it looks like everything is a card or on a card of some sort. In theory couldn't apple just upgrade the CPU daughter card when a new chipset comes out and thus making upgrading this machine with future CPU's a lot more cost effective?

Same with the GPU's, looks like they just plug into the central board. Apple (or a 3rd party) could probably just build replacement card with newer GPU's on them.

Since pretty much everything else is external, this could, in theory, be the most upgradable Mac yet. Of course, thats assuming Apple either comes out with the upgrades or releases specifics on how the hardware works. (one can always hope)



thats exactly what they would do.. all the future chip designs will take on this shape I'm sure... this device will be around for at least another 5 years i would guess.. so the next few generations of CPU / GPU I'm sure apple will offer. which makes it even nicer that you can probably upgrade this thing endlessly for the most part, or until apple changes its design. That is if the PCI bus remains the same that connects all the cars... but i still think with this form factor you could probably just upgrade anything
Djreversal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:07 PM   #27
wigby
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiesenlooser View Post
What about RAM, SSD and GPU?
RAM has always been user replaceable. SSD and GPU are factory upgradeable (at least upon purchase) so choose wisely.
wigby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:08 PM   #28
macuser1232
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
So CPU is removable/upgradable, RAM is upgradable, SSDs are upgradable, and GPUs have the possibility of being upgradable. What was that about the Mac Pro being useless because it can't be upgraded and thus will quickly be obsolete?
__________________
Early 2011 13" MacBook Pro, i5 2.3 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD ; 2 Gen 8 GB iPod Touch
macuser1232 is offline   18 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:08 PM   #29
Freida
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
excellent!

Does this mean that I can put this one there and save $800?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116925
Freida is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:10 PM   #30
wiz329
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyp1996 View Post
Hopefully it supports a standard PC Haswell Xeon CPU when these are available!
Doubtful. LGA 2011 has already been around for two gens.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiesenlooser View Post
What about RAM, SSD and GPU?
Already confirmed.
wiz329 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:11 PM   #31
Djreversal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freida View Post
excellent!

Does this mean that I can put this one there and save $800?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116925

yup thats what it seems like.
Djreversal is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:13 PM   #32
wiz329
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkatz View Post
So, it looks like everything is a card or on a card of some sort. In theory couldn't apple just upgrade the CPU daughter card when a new chipset comes out and thus making upgrading this machine with future CPU's a lot more cost effective?

Same with the GPU's, looks like they just plug into the central board. Apple (or a 3rd party) could probably just build replacement card with newer GPU's on them.

Since pretty much everything else is external, this could, in theory, be the most upgradable Mac yet. Of course, thats assuming Apple either comes out with the upgrades or releases specifics on how the hardware works. (one can always hope)

Apple probably wouldn't want to waste resources engineering a NEW daughterboard to fit with an EXISTING system and everything that is going to connect with it, particularly since they would be losing profit.
wiz329 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:15 PM   #33
fixmymac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ormiston, East Lothian, Scotland
Send a message via AIM to fixmymac Send a message via MSN to fixmymac
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djreversal View Post
thats exactly what they would do.. all the future chip designs will take on this shape I'm sure... this device will be around for at least another 5 years i would guess.. so the next few generations of CPU / GPU I'm sure apple will offer. which makes it even nicer that you can probably upgrade this thing endlessly for the most part, or until apple changes its design. That is if the PCI bus remains the same that connects all the cars... but i still think with this form factor you could probably just upgrade anything
Not a massive deal.....

The Audio Jacks are also on a separate, replaceable board! Handy if you ever manage to snap a jack in there.
fixmymac is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:18 PM   #34
Gudi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Berlin
So everything in this none user upgradeable Mac Pro is removable? Nothing is soldered on the board? RAM and CPU are standard components you can get later for cheaper? Interesting.

Still, I want my sata port, my optical drive and my floppy drive back.
Gudi is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:19 PM   #35
coolfactor
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC CANADA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mums View Post
I'm sold - I want one! But it needs new big monitors.
Needs or wants? It will drive any existing monitor that can hook up to it.
coolfactor is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:20 PM   #36
BarryLegg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesk702 View Post
So does this mean if we buy a single quad core we can load it with the 6, 8, or even 12 at our own dispense?
$64,000 question - right here.

If any enterprising Mac journal worth its salt is reading this - it will be planning a way to find out if you can buy the baseline model and upgrade it to the 12 core and if it works, compare performance between the factory 12 core and the user-upgraded machine.
BarryLegg is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:21 PM   #37
rGiskard
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Nice to get confirmation, although the upgradable CPU was expected.

Those GPUs are still a problem.

For those incllined (Apple prices are for upgrading from base CPU), and assuming motherboard or firmware differences aren't blocking the upgrade:

3.0 GHz 8-core Xeon E5-1680 v2:
Apple: $2000
Retail: $1850

Aftermarket value of replaced stock CPU from Mac Pro
3.7 GHz 4-core Xeon E5-1620 V2:
ebay: $350

$1850 - $350 = $1500

So a DIY upgrade to 8 cores saves $500.

How about a 12 core upgrade?

2.7 GHz 12 Core Xeon E5-2697 V2:

Retail: $2800
Apple: $3500

Aftermarket value of replaced stock CPU from Mac Pro
3.7 GHz 4-core Xeon E5-1620 V2:
ebay: $350

$2800 - $350 = $2450

DIY upgrade to 12 cores saves $1050!

It's probably wise to keep the old CPU so it can be swapped back in if warranty work is required. In that case, only the 12-core upgrade is worth doing for a nice $700. Not enough to add the four HDD bays missing from the nMP, but a start.
__________________
Mac Pro • 3.46 GHz Hexa-Core W3690, 24 GB RAM, GeForce GTX 680, 6G PCIe SSD RAID
rGiskard is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:22 PM   #38
pgiguere1
macrumors 68000
 
pgiguere1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoelJuun View Post
I'm more interested in the removability of the GPU's and plug in new ones…
Apparently the GPUs are replaceable but use a proprietary connector. So technically you could buy some kind of upgrade kit from Apple/OWC like with SSD but not buy some standard PC graphics card and just plug it in.

http://www.mac4ever.com/actu/84534_e...-prise-en-main
pgiguere1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:23 PM   #39
mdelvecchio
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Nice, though any replacement will be pricey
pricing is entirely relative to time.
mdelvecchio is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:24 PM   #40
rGiskard
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gudi View Post
So everything in this none user upgradeable Mac Pro is removable? Nothing is soldered on the board? RAM and CPU are standard components you can get later for cheaper? Interesting.

Still, I want my sata port, my optical drive and my floppy drive back.
RAM and CPU, yes. GPUs? You can remove the old ones, but good luck finding a new one to drop in.
__________________
Mac Pro • 3.46 GHz Hexa-Core W3690, 24 GB RAM, GeForce GTX 680, 6G PCIe SSD RAID
rGiskard is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:25 PM   #41
tkatz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gudi View Post
Still, I want my sata port, my optical drive and my floppy drive back.
Good riddance to the lot of 'em… I have the USB optical drive for my rMBP and think I've used it all of one time. Can't recall the last time I used the optical drive on my mac pro.

I can't wait to finally be rid of my esata/usb3 expansion card which mostly works but sometimes likes to drop connection to the esata enclosures or panic if I plug a usb3 card reader in that it doesn't like.

Got my Pegasus2 R4 sitting here waiting to be connected to the new Mac Pro that should arrive sometime (hopefully) in January
tkatz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:25 PM   #42
Nugget
macrumors Demi-God
 
Nugget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston Texas USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by wigby View Post
RAM has always been user replaceable. SSD and GPU are factory upgradeable (at least upon purchase) so choose wisely.
SSD is also user replaceable. (ref)
__________________
I'm a geek. I have a bunch of Macs. I drank the Kool-Aid. I like cars, airplanes, music, and Unix.
Nugget is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:26 PM   #43
mdelvecchio
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djreversal View Post
I'm sure people will be happy to hear this... Apple seems to be keeping the professionals in mind as far as upgradability goes..
pro workstations are not purchased w/ CPU updatability in mind, i assure you. we buy workstations, we use them for a number of years, and then we retire them. we are not sitting here dorking around w/ DIY CPU upgrades...thats an activity for enthusiasts.
mdelvecchio is offline   26 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:27 PM   #44
KindredMAC
macrumors 6502a
 
KindredMAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
This is awesome news! In two to three years after your Apple Care runs out, just upgrade your processor and it'll be like you have a brand new machine again!

This just seriously changed my mind about what to get. Knowing that I can upgrade the processor down the road I think I will be picking up the low end Mac Pro instead of the high end iMac and then be set for a great many years!
__________________
Mac mini HDMI / MacBookPro 15" Late 2008 / iPhone 5 / iPad 4 / TV3 / Airport Extreme
"We want to let go of this notion that for Apple to win, Microsoft has to lose." - Steve Jobs
KindredMAC is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:28 PM   #45
proline
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
To the haters who jumped to the conclusion that the CPUs would not be upgradeable, feel free to post your apologies here. A little claim chowder is good for the soul.
proline is offline   16 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:30 PM   #46
kwikdeth
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tempe, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordVic View Post
LG Socket 2011 though will be depreciated once Haswell based xeon's are released too wont they? i'm not versed that well in intel's roadmap, but isn't it sort of late to this particular socket iteration?

though, the fact it's a standard CPU socket without any customization which allows for you to put your own CPU in there is absolutely an awesome inclusion.

now...

how bout those GPU cards
so far the e5 haswells (46xx series) have all been LGA2011, but there's no guarantee that wont change.
kwikdeth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:30 PM   #47
tkatz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by proline View Post
To the haters who jumped to the conclusion that the CPUs would not be upgradeable, feel free to post your apologies here. A little claim chowder is good for the soul.
While people were wondering about the CPU, I believe the biggest issue are the GPU's. While it looks like they can be removed relatively easy, it still remains to be known if anything resembling an upgraded version will ever be made available (by either Apple, AMD, or whoever)
tkatz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:30 PM   #48
Djreversal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdelvecchio View Post
pro workstations are not purchased w/ CPU updatability in mind, i assure you. we buy workstations, we use them for a number of years, and then we retire them. we are not sitting here dorking around w/ DIY CPU upgrades...thats an activity for enthusiasts.


yea that makes sense... I'm not a business or office.. so for me to get the 6 core loaded up now make my money to pay my self back for it, then purchase the 12 core at that time which could be 6 months later.. who knows.. its just a side hobby for me, not to mention an educational tool. This year is learning maya, houdini and vray as well as working with 4k Raw camera. Never done it.. see how it goes
Djreversal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:31 PM   #49
nexusrule
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordVic View Post
LG Socket 2011 though will be depreciated once Haswell based xeon's are released too wont they? i'm not versed that well in intel's roadmap, but isn't it sort of late to this particular socket iteration
This is true of any computer ever made. You can't use a socket that still doesn't exists to host the CPU.
nexusrule is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2013, 02:31 PM   #50
auero
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyp1996 View Post
Hopefully it supports a standard PC Haswell Xeon CPU when these are available!
Nope. E3 chip.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haswell...oarchitecture))
auero is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC