Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:40 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Mac Pro CPU Upgradeability Confirmed With Processor Swap




Following the release of the Mac Pro, a quick teardown by Other World Computing (OWC) revealed that the tower's Intel Xeon E5 processor was socketed and removable, theoretically allowing for future upgrades. All CPUs in the Mac Pro were found to use the same LGA 2011 socket standardized on the Mac Pro's motherboard.

Today OWC confirmed that the Mac Pro's processor is indeed upgradeable, successfully replacing the default Intel E5-1650 V2 6-core 3.50Ghz processor with an Intel E5-2667 V2 8-core 3.30GHz processor with 25MB of L3 cache, an option not offered by Apple. The upgraded processor gave OWC's machine a 30 percent multi-processor performance boost, outperforming Apple's standard 8-core option with a Geekbench score of 27004 vs. 24429.

With a replaceable CPU, customers can purchase more affordable lower-configuration Mac Pros that can be updated in the future as processor prices drop. Prices for multi-core processors today remain high, with the CPU OWC used from Intel priced at $2000. Apple's own CPU upgrade options range in price from $500 to $3500. Based on the 3.7Ghz quad-core Intel Xeon E5 with 10MB of L3 cache, pricing from Apple is as follows:

- 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 with 12MB of L3 cache: +$500
- 3.0GHz 8-core Intel Xeon E5 with 25MB of L3 cache: +$2000
- 2.7GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5 with 30MB of L3 cache: +$3500

The upgradeable CPU in the Mac Pro is a deviation from standard practice for Apple, with most consumer-oriented Macs featuring soldered processors. Along with a removable CPU, Mac Pro buyers are also able to upgrade memory and other components. In a recent teardown, iFixit gave the Mac Pro a repairability score of 8 out of 10, highlighting the easily accessible internal components and the non-proprietary screws.

Apple's Mac Pro is currently available exclusively through the online Apple Store. Due to low supply and high demand, new orders are not expected to ship until February or later, but customers who placed orders*shortly after the computer went on sale have begun receiving units.

Article Link: Mac Pro CPU Upgradeability Confirmed With Processor Swap
MacRumors is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:41 PM   #2
xNYMetsx
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Cool
xNYMetsx is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:42 PM   #3
jmthigpen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
awesome news
jmthigpen is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:43 PM   #4
Lesser Evets
macrumors 68030
 
Lesser Evets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
That ruins some doubters' rainy day parades. That new Pro isn't bad, from the reports coming out.
__________________
2x1.86 BSEL Pro 1,1; 5770; 16GB RAM
Lesser Evets is offline   22 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:44 PM   #5
sransari
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
NOWWW we're talkin...I understand that maybe Apple doesn't want to advertise after-market upgrades, but these types of simple, inexpensive, and effective upgrades is what makes Pro towers so valuable and desirable.
__________________
2008 MacPro 8-core, 2.8 GHz, 32 GB RAM, 250 GB SSD
2011 Macbook Air 1.2 GHz i5
2012 Macbook Pro Retina 2.3 GHz i7
iPad 4th Gen Retina, iFone 5S
sransari is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:45 PM   #6
MacHumors
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: A Kind of Alaska
I'm blown away. But why did it take so long to figure this out?
MacHumors is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:48 PM   #7
esposimi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lititz, PA
Send a message via AIM to esposimi
How about with a 4960X?
__________________
iPod Touch 4G, Lenovo Y410p (i7-4700MQ, GT755M, 8GB, 1TB)
esposimi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:48 PM   #8
Redbeard25
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHumors View Post
I'm blown away. But why did it take so long to figure this out?
Because no one had one?

So next questions - what procs will the MB accept? all LGA 2011s?
__________________
MacBookPro9,1(work), MacBookAir4,2, iPhone 4 S⃣ 16GB, iMac7,1, iPad 3,1, iPod 80GB, iPod4,1 (8G) TV3,1 x 2, PBK 165c, 512K Mac
Redbeard25 is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:48 PM   #9
ckelley
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Future upgradability will be limited as when Intel moves their Xeons to Haswell, they're not going to use LGA 2011 anymore, so this generation of chips is all that you will be able to upgrade to.
ckelley is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:49 PM   #10
Freyqq
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Wow, I had no idea Xeon processors that that much L3 cache. 30 MB!
Freyqq is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:53 PM   #11
cal6n
macrumors 68000
 
cal6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
The upgradeable CPU in the Mac Pro is a deviation from standard practice for Apple, with most consumer-oriented Macs featuring soldered processors.

*snip*
Eh?

Although I agree that most consumer-oriented Macs have featured soldered processors for some time, the Pro line has employed socketed processors exclusively as a matter of course as far back as I can recall. Certainly as far back as the G3 PowerMacs and most likely even before that.
__________________
Is your internet experience tainted by trolls, shills, bigots & fools?
Select "User CP" > "Edit Ignore List" > Add [username] to Your Ignore List > Save List
Every little helps.
cal6n is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:55 PM   #12
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
I'd buy the new Mac Pro if I could some how shoehorn my Titans in place of the firepros

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by esposimi View Post
How about with a 4960X?
That'd be worth knowing since the 970-990x i7s worked on the previous gen Mac Pro.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:55 PM   #13
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by sransari View Post
NOWWW we're talkin...I understand that maybe Apple doesn't want to advertise after-market upgrades, but these types of simple, inexpensive, and effective upgrades is what makes Pro towers so valuable and desirable.
Not sure I'd use "simple", but then I've never swapped a CPU. (I did successfully replace the HD in a 2006 Core 2 iMac, which certainly wasn't simple ).
LPZ is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 03:59 PM   #14
Chicane-UK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
The sceptic in me can't help but wonder if Apple will alter the system firmware to only work with and boot up with certain CPU's installed. I'd love to believe that they won't, but it somehow seems inevitable.
__________________
2013 Macbook Air 11" - i7/8GB/512GB | 23" Cinema Display | iPhone 4 32GB
Chicane-UK is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:04 PM   #15
iBug2
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chicane-UK View Post
The sceptic in me can't help but wonder if Apple will alter the system firmware to only work with and boot up with certain CPU's installed. I'd love to believe that they won't, but it somehow seems inevitable.
Why would they? If the TDP is within the limits, it should boot with any processor you throw at it.
__________________
MP Hex D700 32GB-1TB, rMBP 2.7 15" 16GB, ATD, iPhone 4S, iPad Air
iBug2 is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:08 PM   #16
macchiato2009
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
soon OWC will also offer SSD upgrades
macchiato2009 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:08 PM   #17
tanousjm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
This is awesome and a nice surprise. Although, to the article's point about soldered CPUs, some iMacs to this day feature socketed CPUs, as I learned during a recent project. (But they are indeed a heck of a lot more difficult to replace than on the Mac Pro )

I thought socketed CPUs in iMacs ended around the 2007-era, but many folks pointed my attention to the teardown of the 2013 iMac.
tanousjm is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:10 PM   #18
Rogifan
macrumors G3
 
Rogifan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Looks like iFixit did an additional tear down on the nMP fan.

http://ifixit.org/blog/6179/mac-pro-...ardown-harder/



Quote:
Tucked beneath one of the few plastic parts in this marvel of machined computing, we found the AirPort card and its custom adapter board nestled within a gold antenna array.
__________________
"I have a very optimistic view of individuals. As individuals, people are inherently good. I have a somewhat more pessimistic view of people in groups." -- Steve Jobs , Wired interview
Rogifan is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:11 PM   #19
jm001
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
"The upgradeable CPU in the Mac Pro is a deviation from standard practice for Apple, with most consumer-oriented Macs featuring soldered processors."

It really isn't a deviation from the standard of the desktop pro line. With the powermac towers one was able to easily swap the processors with even 3rd party CPUs. I'm glad to see Apple going back to upgradeable models.
jm001 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:14 PM   #20
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
Not sure I'd use "simple", but then I've never swapped a CPU. (I did successfully replace the HD in a 2006 Core 2 iMac, which certainly wasn't simple ).
If you can replace a hard drive in an '06 iMac than swapping out a CPU is bread & butter. Those iMacs are feckin' nightmares to work on.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:16 PM   #21
rodrigoluizb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Campinas, SP, Brazil
They replace a 6 cores processor for a 8 core processor. That means i can have 16 cores with dual 8 cores Xeons?
rodrigoluizb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:20 PM   #22
Stephent
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodrigoluizb View Post
They replace a 6 cores processor for a 8 core processor. That means i can have 16 cores with dual 8 cores Xeons?
No there is only one processor in the nMP
Stephent is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:20 PM   #23
MagnusVonMagnum
macrumors 68040
 
MagnusVonMagnum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Too bad you can't order the new Mac Pro without any CPUs in it. The problem with ordering a lower model and then upgrading to a higher CPU model is that you're still stuck with the original CPU. I suppose you can try to sell it, but you're not going to get what you paid for it (relative to the cost of the machine) back. Unfortunately, Apple won't sell bare-bones machines and let users upgrade it themselves because they make all their BILLIONS by bending the customer over and shoving the parts in themselves at 200-600% markup.
__________________
Mac Mini Server 2012 (2.3GHz Quad i7, 8GB, 2x1TB RAID 0) ; External 12x Memorex Blu-Ray USB3, External WD 3x3TB,1x2TB HD USB3)
15" Matte MBP 2.4GHz, 4GB/500GB, NVidia 8600M GT; 3 ATV; 2 iPod Touch
MagnusVonMagnum is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:23 PM   #24
proline
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesser Evets View Post
That ruins some doubters' rainy day parades. That new Pro isn't bad, from the reports coming out.
Don't worry, the whiners will move on to their next perceived issue or just go back to the garbage about lack of internal storage.
proline is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 04:25 PM   #25
broadscotch
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
missing the banana boat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogifan View Post
Looks like iFixit did an additional tear down on the nMP fan.

http://ifixit.org/blog/6179/mac-pro-...ardown-harder/

Image
iFixit really missed the boat not using a banana for scale...
broadscotch is offline   4 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Mac Pro Confirmed to Have Removable CPU MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 322 Jan 4, 2014 12:22 PM
Mac pro 1,1 cpu swap impressions x5365 from 5160 Wolf1982 Mac Pro 38 Dec 3, 2013 01:02 PM
Upgradeability of New Macbook Pro 2013 Meister MacBook Pro 5 Oct 10, 2013 01:00 PM
Does Mac Pro 2009 Dual CPU heatsinks fit on Mac Pro 2010 Dual CPU board ? Spacedust Mac Pro 2 Sep 9, 2012 02:45 PM
4.1 Dual socket cpu-tray in single cpu Mac Pro? Zurec Mac Pro 1 Jul 17, 2012 06:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC