Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:33 PM   #51
greenmeanie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
According to POSTERS here.
Isolated incident.
Suck it up and buy a new one LOL.
greenmeanie is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:35 PM   #52
teknikal90
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Gah!!! this problem follows me!
First got a MBP 2008 with the 8600M GT
now this!!!!
__________________
Logic Pro and Mainstage 3 User. I use iOS a lot.
teknikal90 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:36 PM   #53
ctrlshft
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
MBP 8,3 Early 2011 17"...my Menu Bar will sometimes just be black, reboot fixes it. Started about 3 months ago.
ctrlshft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:36 PM   #54
StuLax18
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
I get a similar issue every now and then with my rMBP if Chrome crashes for example, and it switches from discrete to integrated. Screen starts glitching and stuff, but switching to discrete via gfxcardstatus stops it, or reopening Chrome and if it switches back to discrete.
__________________
rMBP 2.3/16/256
MacBook 2.2 C2D/4GB/320GB
iPhone 5 32GB black, iPhone 4 16GB
StuLax18 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:37 PM   #55
shurcooL
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Oh man. 15" Late 2011 MBP here with 6770M. It's been perfect so far, I hope it stays this way. I'm playing League of Legends at 60+ fps on it every week with no issues.
shurcooL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:37 PM   #56
Kevsta26
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
I have an Early 11 MacBook Pro 15" AMD 6750M/8 GB RAM and I haven't experienced any graphical issues but I did have to have my entire logic board replaced cause it just wouldn't turn on any more one day, which I think may have been caused from a power surge in the charger :/ now I have had a replacement for about 4 months and all is good except for the fact that they scratched up the lid bad when they were fixing it it use to be in pristine condition, but there's nothing I can do about it now
Kevsta26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:38 PM   #57
brdeveloper
macrumors 68000
 
brdeveloper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brasil
If it's attached to the screen through BGA soldering, it was tragedy foretold. BGA+AMD GPU is a disaster doesn't matter the laptop brand.
__________________
15" rMBP Early-2013, 2.4GHz. After 3 display replacements, I'm still seeing uniformity problems.
2009 Unibody White MacBook, 250GB 840 EVO SSD, 8GB
Mid-2010 MacMini, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD, 16GB
brdeveloper is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:41 PM   #58
Vodka
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Had this problem. Changed logic board. Now bought cooling pad/stand for my 17" and everything seems fine.
Vodka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:43 PM   #59
avanpelt
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Thankfully, my early-2011 with the AMD 6750 (1 GB) GPU hasn't started acting up. I'm disheartened to read about this issue, though. My MacBook Pro before this one was an early-2008 which had to have the logic board replaced in 2010 due to the issues with the Nvidia 8600 GT graphics card. Apple has to get these GPU issues straightened out.
avanpelt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:46 PM   #60
Boston007
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmeanie View Post
According to POSTERS here.
Isolated incident.
Suck it up and buy a new one LOL.
YES typical fanboy responses.

After just yesterday these boards were plastered with people complaining that all of Samsung products are garbage and fail.

Because, well, you know, Apple products never have issues!
__________________
MacPro 3,1 2-2.8GHz Quad-Core/16GB; iPad Air WiFi+4G 32GB; iPhone 6 64GB; iPod Shuffle 1GB (2nd Generation)
Boston007 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:47 PM   #61
sfwalter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4God View Post
Does this happen in clamshell mode too? (using an external monitor)
How timely this article is. The past year I had my 2011 MBP in clamshell mode and never seen a problem. Yesterday I took it out of clamshell mode for the first time in a year and started to see weird artifacts on my screen. A reboot would fix the issue but it would come back a few minutes later.

I then put my MBP back into clamshell mode and everything is working fine again. So long story short I don't see the problem in clamshell mode.
sfwalter is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:48 PM   #62
generationyasky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
I have an early 2011 MBP - 15in with 1GB Graphics card and the high res display. I have experienced the exact problem mentioned in this article, which has rendered the computer almost unusable. It sometimes requires 10 attempts to boot up without failing (in the form of glitchy gray lines). The issue seems to be "rectified" when using gfxCardStatus to force the computer to use integrated graphics only. I'm out of warranty, unfortunately. The Genius Bar offered to replace the logic board, but after reading through the thread mentioned in the article about so many users with the same exact problem, I have been hesitant to go forward with this. You will see, if you look through that Apple Support Communities thread, that many other uses have had this problem recur - if not immediately, then down the road - even after the logic board replacement... and even after multiple replacements.
generationyasky is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:51 PM   #63
jenwalsh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
NOT getting taken care of

To those saying this is an isolated incident and that Apple is taking care of it - that is NOT true! There are many people suffering with this issue. Sure Apple is replacing logic boards at the CUSTOMER'S expense, Apple should be replacing them for free.

To those that say we should get Apple Care - why should I need an extended warranty to get a quality product? I have never bought Apple Care because I take excellent care of my Macs and in 20+ years have never had an issue that Apple has not taken care of. Like the battery recall on my last laptop. That laptop is now almost 10 years old and still powers up like a champ every day.

I love Apple and I love my 15" MBP but please stop saying this is isolated and they are taking care of it. Taking care of it would be a replacement program for the logic board.
jenwalsh is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:51 PM   #64
RoastingPig
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
is this due to mavericks because i was getting screen glitches in my 2011 15' with the 6750m and i downgraded to 10.8.5 and the problem goes away
__________________
Mac Pro 6 Core D700*, Retina 13 256gb/8gb 5000
RoastingPig is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:51 PM   #65
advancewarsbest
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by teknikal90 View Post
Gah!!! this problem follows me!
First got a MBP 2008 with the 8600M GT
now this!!!!
That's terrible, my friend had the 8600M GT issue, I have the 2011 pro I hope mine does not also poop out. Especially if Apple isn't going to cover it, if it was in fact their fault. Its terrible when they know the issue and it costs them nothing to replace* them but they won't.

*During the court room case of 8600M GT, it came to the attention t hat it would have cost nothing to apple to replace the bad chips because Nvidia was responsible for covering the replacement.
advancewarsbest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:56 PM   #66
nazaar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
No surprise here. My 2011 iMac screen started crapping out after the first year.
nazaar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:57 PM   #67
CausticPuppy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by magbarn View Post
2008 MBP Nvidia'gate' redux
I wonder if it's from 'lead-free solder'...
I don't know if you're referring to the "blinking screen" problem with the nVidia 9400m chipset, but Apple actually issued a fix for that one-- a firmware update-- nearly 3 years later! I almost tossed my early 2009 MBP until that fix came out, now it's a usable machine again.

The issue affecting the 2011 models is clearly a hardware problem; I guess the only workaround (aside from motherboard replacement) is to force it to use the iGPU all the time, which is only an HD3000. Bummer.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 16 GB RAM, 256GB Crucial M4 SSD, 500GB HDD + 3TB NAS
Haswell rMBP 13" - i7/512GB
Mac Mini 1.83GHz Core2Duo, 3GB RAM, 60GB SSD
iPad Air/iPhone5S
CausticPuppy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 12:58 PM   #68
G51989
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC NY/Pittsburgh PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by And1ss View Post
Yep, this happened to me a month ago. Luckily it was under Applecare so I was able to get the display and logic board replaced for free. Otherwise, it would have been a $1000 repair.

Apple QA seems to have gone down in recent years....
I think the 8600 thing with an Nivida problem, it happened to pretty much every laptop model across the PC makers to, they all had the same problem.

The other issues like failed logic boards, or this new GPU issue I think might be due to Apples obsession with quietness, most Apple laptops I've encountered ( My newest Apple Laptop is a G4 Powerbook, am considered a rMBP at some point. Maybe. My new Macs are desktops ), but whenever I use one, they seem to run REALLY hot on the default fan settings, and as we know, Heat kills electronics. Have any PC laptop models with these same chipsets been having issues?
G51989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 01:00 PM   #69
rishey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Send a message via AIM to rishey
Me too

I had this problem with my 17" early 2011 MBP.
I had to get it repaired twice. The first time it spent two weeks at my local apple store in Lincoln Park who did a phenomenally bad job and gave me a replacement motherboard with a bad RAM slot. Next I sent it by mail to the applecare and had it back fixed within 2 days.

I have Applecare, but let's be real: A product that costs this much should have a 3 year warranty included with purchase. Add it in to the price of the computer, but it should be included.

I one year warranty is insufficient for an Apple laptop. I have owned several of them and I don't think a single one of them did not require some repair after the warranty was over.
rishey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 01:03 PM   #70
krye
macrumors 68000
 
krye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
I took my sister-in-law's 2011 17" MBP into the Apple Store last week after I couldn't fix her problems. It locks up after simple things like launching iPhoto. It also randomly shows bars on the screen at startup, or just hangs at boot.

I installed all the updates, fixed disk permissions, upgraded OS X, ran all the hardware tests, reset the PSU. Everything. I concluded it must be the GPU. I took it to the Apple Store and the Genius put it through a battery of tests. He also concluded it must be a logicboard/GPU failure.

He said I'd have to send it to their repair center and pay $311 to have it fixed. It's most certainly a design flaw, and yet we have to pay to have it fixed. Sounds like a recall. You'd think a $3000 computer would last longer than 2 years of light usage. It's almost like they only give you a 1 year warranty in order to force you to pay extra for AppleCare.
krye is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 01:04 PM   #71
neuropsychguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I had it on my late 2011 MacBook Pro. It wasn't much of an issue until last year. I had the logic board replaced (out of warranty) and I've not had the problem since.
neuropsychguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 01:04 PM   #72
magbarn
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by CausticPuppy View Post
I don't know if you're referring to the "blinking screen" problem with the nVidia 9400m chipset, but Apple actually issued a fix for that one-- a firmware update-- nearly 3 years later! I almost tossed my early 2009 MBP until that fix came out, now it's a usable machine again.

The issue affecting the 2011 models is clearly a hardware problem; I guess the only workaround (aside from motherboard replacement) is to force it to use the iGPU all the time, which is only an HD3000. Bummer.
Nope the 2007-2008 pre-unibody MBP had defective Nvidia GPU's. Something to do with the transition to lead free solder.

These GPU fiasco's are probably why Apple can't wait to dump dGPU's...
__________________
13" 2012 rMBP i5/8/512
15" 2012 rMBP 2.6/8/512
magbarn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 01:07 PM   #73
heisenberg123
macrumors 603
 
heisenberg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
I have this model no issues yet, luckily I have applecare still,
__________________
15" i7 Quad Core MBP (Early 2011) 2.0GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB HD, AMD Radeon HD 6490M(Intel HD Graphics 3000) OSX 10.9
16GB Samsung Galaxy SIII with 32GB microSD
heisenberg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 01:08 PM   #74
MattMJB0188
macrumors 65816
 
MattMJB0188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Nothing to see here guys. I don't think anyone uses a 2011 MBP with ATI graphics anymore anyway? IF they do, its time to upgrade.
MattMJB0188 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2014, 01:10 PM   #75
cinder
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle
I had this issue with my iMac before the fix came through from AMD.
Had the Video card replaced, then the logicboard AND video card.
And then finally, after the replacement plan was implemented, AMD had shipped cards with the flaw fixed and I got one of those. The problem was fixed.

The only thing that would prevent the crashes was SMC Fan Control.
As soon as I turned it off - it would invariably go back to crashing.
This might work as a temporary solution until Apple/AMD issue a fix for the cards.
cinder is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is anyone else running Mavericks on a 4,1 Mac Pro experiencing frequent app crashes? Mac Pro 2009 Mac Pro 2 Mar 10, 2014 07:59 PM
MacBook pro 2011, graphical Glitches DevionNL OS X 8 Jan 12, 2014 06:18 AM
Can 2011 Macbook Pros output 4K? Hydro150 MacBook Pro 3 Nov 25, 2013 01:13 PM
ML on 2011 MacBook Pros?? iOrbit MacBook Pro 2 Sep 25, 2012 05:41 AM
iPhone: Am I the only one experiencing BITESMS crashes? (6.3 beta 14) tkwolf Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Sep 15, 2012 12:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps