Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:45 AM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Alleged Schematic Shows iPhone 6 Coming with 1GB of RAM [Updated]




Apple's forthcoming iPhone 6 may sport 1 GB of RAM, according to a leaked schematic shared by Chinese Apple repair firm GeekBar (Google Translate, via G for Games). The chart is said to come from an internal supply chain source, however it is unknown if the schematic is intended for the 4.7-inch or 5.5-inch iPhone 6.
If the chart is indeed legitimate, the iPhone 6 would join the iPhone 5, iPhone 5s, and iPhone 5c in sporting 1 GB of RAM. That amount of RAM would also be below competitors such as the Samsung Galaxy S5 and HTC One M8, which both feature 2 GB of RAM. It is important to note that Apple has never emphasized the amount of RAM in the iPhone, instead choosing to focus on optimizing the user experience through tight software and hardware integration.

Apple is expected to announce the iPhone 6 at an event on September 9, with a launch for the 4.7-inch version likely coming around a week later. It is possible that the 5.5-inch version may also be launched at the same time, however reported production issues with the larger device may cause Apple to delay its launch until later this year or early next year. Both models of the iPhone 6 are expected to feature a thinner, curved design and come with a faster A8 chip, a new camera with stabilization, and iOS 8.

Update 7:19 AM: As noted in our forums, the schematic's references DDR and NAND suggests that it more likely refers to some aspect of the device's flash memory rather than DRAM included within the A8 chip.

Article Link: Alleged Schematic Shows iPhone 6 Coming with 1GB of RAM [Updated]
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:46 AM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Can't say that I'm surprised, though disappointed.

What good is a 64 bit processor and OS when the ram is so limited
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   53 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:47 AM   #3
dannys1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Irrelevant but cue people going crazy over it.
__________________
Retina iMac i7 4ghz 32gb ram 3tb Fusion | Retina MBP 2.8ghz i7 16gb ram | Mac mini 2014
iPad Air 2 64gb | iPhone 6 Grey 64gb

Last edited by OllyW; Aug 18, 2014 at 06:09 AM. Reason: circumventing the profanity filter
dannys1 is offline   20 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:47 AM   #4
SMIDG3T
macrumors 65816
 
SMIDG3T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: England
I thought it was about time we moved up to 2GB of RAM. Let's trust Apple on this if it's true.
__________________
iPhone 6 | 64GB | Space Grey | iOS 8.1

MacBook Pro w/ Retina display | Late 2013 Model | OS X Yosemite 10.10
SMIDG3T is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:47 AM   #5
borgqueenx
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I agree on that software/hardware is great and works great. But more ram is what we need as well. Just try to hold open some safari tabs....or multiple apps....they will just close.
borgqueenx is offline   32 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:48 AM   #6
DavidBlack
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
I was hoping for at least 2GB but, iOS 8 should have better software optimizations. Because A7 devices with iOS 7 safari kept crashing.
__________________
21.5"iMac late 2012, 2.7 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 1TB HD; 11.6" Macbook Air Mid 2011, 1.6 GHz, 2 GB RAM; iPhone 5 White 32GB; iPod Touch 5th gen, White, 32GB
DavidBlack is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:48 AM   #7
jhead95
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane, Australia
As Gruber said, adding more RAM to iPhones now would help when they decide to release a more RAM intensive OS in future years. Wish they would.
jhead95 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:48 AM   #8
0xyMoron
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California
This is bad for jailbreakers, casual users shouldn't care, Apple targets those people not jailbreakers.
__________________
Twitter
0xyMoron is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:49 AM   #9
GuitarDTO
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Well this should keep MacRumors complaining for a few days. Overall though I could care less, as long as the user experience remains smooth like it always has been.
GuitarDTO is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:49 AM   #10
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 603
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
When you can't have more than one app running at full speed, I see little need for more than 1 GB.

Just curious: can the iPhone use virtual memory? (With or without jail breaking?)
__________________
Don't tell me Macs don't last: 2007 iMac, 2007 Mac Mini, 2008 MacBook Air, all Vintage.
(iMac obsoletion: April 28, 2015, MBA: October 14, 2015, Mac Mini: March 9, 2016)
ArtOfWarfare is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:50 AM   #11
SilianRail
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
3 years of the same RAM and with a price increase, ouch. Keep the sharp objects away from MacRumors.
SilianRail is offline   32 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:50 AM   #12
Broph
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Zealand
I'm happy as long as the iPad gets a RAM upgrade. Seriously, can't look at different tabs without it reloading.
__________________
iPhone 4 S⃣ | iPad Mini | MBP '11
Broph is offline   19 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:50 AM   #13
evansls
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Leesburg, VA
Don't worry. There's always iPhone 6S next year!
evansls is offline   19 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:52 AM   #14
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtOfWarfare View Post
Just curious: can the iPhone use virtual memory? (With or without jail breaking?)
iOS comes from OS X, so I'd say yes, iOS can and does use virtual memory
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:52 AM   #15
iHack13
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: city of octoberfest
Send a message via MSN to iHack13
Great. I own an iPad Air and the RAM is just insufficient.
Apps keep reloading while multitasking . I often lose progress and need to retype stuff, like for instance I was searching tyres on ebay and set all the parameters for my car .
I switched to safari to look up something. Switched back to ebay and it relaunched the ebay app and I had to do all the search again.

That's just two (!) apps ....

But I guess its ok for the iSheep. Clearly I am using the device wrong. And 1 GB of RAM is more than enough.
But if apple releases an iphone 6s with 2 GB RAM. Then we will praise them to heaven... The competition will have at least 3GB RAM by the time, but you know... 2GB will be more than enough right? ....
iHack13 is offline   51 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:53 AM   #16
mavis
macrumors 68040
 
mavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Send a message via AIM to mavis Send a message via MSN to mavis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broph View Post
I'm happy as long as the iPad gets a RAM upgrade. Seriously, can't look at different tabs without it reloading.
This.

I'm so sick of tabs reloading when I only have two or three open ...
mavis is offline   26 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:55 AM   #17
adamw
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
2GB would be nice!
__________________
Free Christian Books
adamw is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:56 AM   #18
Sven11
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Many people hoped for 2GB of RAM, but many still expected only 1GB of RAM. So 1.5GB seemed realistic. That's disappointing.
__________________
27" iMac | 15" MacBook Pro Retina | 13" MacBook Pro Retina | iPad mini Retina | iPhone 5S
Sven11 is online now   5 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:57 AM   #19
recklesslife85
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Price increase for 1gb ram and a small battery again.. Amazing so far.
recklesslife85 is offline   14 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:58 AM   #20
nikaru
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
More RAM = more cached apps

Safari can get a good use of this increase, as well as Mail.

If Apple dont increase the RAM, ill be sad.
nikaru is offline   17 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:58 AM   #21
GroundLoop
macrumors 68000
 
GroundLoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
If true, I will have to take a wait and see attitude with the next iPhone. May need to wait it out for the iPhone 6LS as my Lumia Icon still does everything that I need.

GL
GroundLoop is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:59 AM   #22
roadbloc
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
1GB? Welcome to 2009... no wonder browsing and multitasking on an iPhone is horrible.
__________________
roadbloc is offline   19 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:59 AM   #23
nando87
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Safari shouldn't crash if they just use a proper pagefile emulating ram from the ssd (flash memory or whatever type), improving the ssd's transfer rate should be enough
nando87 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:59 AM   #24
iHack13
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: city of octoberfest
Send a message via MSN to iHack13
Quote:
Originally Posted by recklesslife85 View Post
Price increase for 1gb ram and a small battery again.. Amazing so far.
But hey! It's going to be thinner !!! ......
iHack13 is offline   34 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 05:59 AM   #25
DavidBlack
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
iOS comes from OS X, so I'd say yes, iOS can and does use virtual memory
Oh really? Does it have a swapfile like OS X?
__________________
21.5"iMac late 2012, 2.7 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 1TB HD; 11.6" Macbook Air Mid 2011, 1.6 GHz, 2 GB RAM; iPhone 5 White 32GB; iPod Touch 5th gen, White, 32GB
DavidBlack is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC