Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:02 AM   #26
mirco15
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Good !!

i keep my new iphone5s galaxygrey 32 GB
iPhone 6 is for to lure androidian guy.
mirco15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:02 AM   #27
Eithanius
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Can't say that I'm surprised, though disappointed.

What good is a 64 bit processor and OS when the ram is so limited
So that Apple has a reason to force you to upgrade when iOS XI (read iOS 11) slows to a crawl... Just like how it started when iPhone 4 with a puny half gig RAM slows to a crawl on iOS 7...
__________________
2010 MacBook Pro 15" 2.66GHz Core i7, 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD
iPhone 4 32GB - Black, on iOS 6 - To Hell with Jonny Ive..!
Eithanius is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:02 AM   #28
sulpfiction
macrumors 68020
 
sulpfiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
As long as the 6 benchmarks as good as, if not better then the competition, who cares about 1 or 2 gig of RAM. Apple knows what they are doing, and how big of a launch this is for them. The iPhone 6 won't disappoint.
sulpfiction is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:02 AM   #29
Getafe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
That is not a good thing at all, I notice the refreshing of apps and tabs in Safari too!

Even 1.5GB's would see a huge improvement for the device (That is only 512MB's Apple, not much!), and that is what I was hoping for, as Apple don't seem to like making huge leaps at one go.

So I hope this is wrong, because the device needs a minimum of 1.5GB of RAM to run smooth enough.
__________________
Mac Mini (Late 2012), 2.6GHz Quad-Core i7 CPU, 8GB RAM, Intel 4000 HD Graphics, 1TB Hard Drive iPad Air, 128GB Samsung Galaxy Note 2 iPhone 4, 32GB
Getafe is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:03 AM   #30
PFKMan23
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Not surprised at all.
PFKMan23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:04 AM   #31
MH01
macrumors 68030
 
MH01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
owww Apple, are you that concerned about profit?
MH01 is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:04 AM   #32
Shaun, UK
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Production issues have not stopped them launching products in the past, just look at the Mac Pro. Just means we all might have to wait a while to get one. I can't see them announcing the 4.7" model in Sept then announcing a 5.5" model a few months later. I'm certain they will stick to the policy of one annual iPhone media event and launch both models together.
Shaun, UK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:06 AM   #33
4jasontv
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavis View Post
This.

I'm so sick of tabs reloading when I only have two or three open ...
How many would you like? What I mean is, how many tabs open do you expect in technology of this generation? My MacBook with 4 GB has issues opening more than 9 at a time, and while I can get more, it's not very smooth.

How many tabs should an iPad handle?
4jasontv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:07 AM   #34
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidBlack View Post
Oh really? Does it have a swapfile like OS X?
It has too if it has virtual memory.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:07 AM   #35
bobob
macrumors 65816
 
bobob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Do people believe Apple is holding back the RAM size because of the cost ($10.45) or because Apple is a control freak?

It couldn't ever be the result of a carefully calculated engineering decision based on optimizing the entire device - because that is so un-Apple, right?
bobob is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:07 AM   #36
reallynotnick
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Yikes we have low RAM, a small battery, next you are going to tell me 16GB is still the base model and it'll cost $100 to upgrade to 32GB. I was really looking forward to the new iPhone, but now I'm not sure what the point will be in upgrading.
__________________
13in MBP, 2.26GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB WD Scorpio Blue HDD
reallynotnick is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:07 AM   #37
Rogifan
macrumors G3
 
Rogifan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Just give me 2GB in the new iPad and I'll be happy.
__________________
"I have a very optimistic view of individuals. As individuals, people are inherently good. I have a somewhat more pessimistic view of people in groups." -- Steve Jobs , Wired interview
Rogifan is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:08 AM   #38
bushido
macrumors 601
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
may the social media bashing by the news outlets begin ...

also seriously? 2GB certainly wouldnt hurt and costs nothing in this day of age

next up: base model still being 16 GB in 2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4jasontv View Post
How many would you like? What I mean is, how many tabs open do you expect in technology of this generation? My MacBook with 4 GB has issues opening more than 9 at a time, and while I can get more, it's not very smooth.

How many tabs should an iPad handle?
i know people with more than 100 tabs open at a time on their work space
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD
bushido is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:10 AM   #39
Getafe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4jasontv View Post
How many would you like? What I mean is, how many tabs open do you expect in technology of this generation? My MacBook with 4 GB has issues opening more than 9 at a time, and while I can get more, it's not very smooth.

How many tabs should an iPad handle?
That is kinda true. About 10/11 tabs is the max my Mac Mini (Late 2012) can take before I notice some lag to be honest. I'd like the iPad and iPhone to cope ok with 5 or 6 (minimum) personally otherwise what is the point in having tabs?

(This was when my Mac only had 4GB of RAM, it now has 8GB and I can open quite a few more tabs now)
__________________
Mac Mini (Late 2012), 2.6GHz Quad-Core i7 CPU, 8GB RAM, Intel 4000 HD Graphics, 1TB Hard Drive iPad Air, 128GB Samsung Galaxy Note 2 iPhone 4, 32GB

Last edited by Getafe; Aug 18, 2014 at 06:15 AM.
Getafe is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:11 AM   #40
Sven11
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
This somehow reminds me of the 128MB iPhone 3G. It was OK when it shipped with iPhone OS 2, but when iOS 4 came out everyone noticed that the RAM on the device was terribly low.

So an iPhone 6 with 1GB of RAM would run OK with iOS 8, but it will most likely perform terrible after the launch of iOS 10.

History repeating itself.
__________________
27" iMac | 15" MacBook Pro Retina | 13" MacBook Pro Retina | iPad mini Retina | iPhone 5S
Sven11 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:12 AM   #41
jdawgnoonan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kaiserslautern, Germany
For the most part the devices seem fine with 1 GB of RAM, but I do question if the low amount of RAM is the reason why my iPad Air cannot keep two browser tabs loaded without having to refresh. For that reason alone I was hoping for more RAM. In general, mobile Safari under performs when compared to Chrome on my Nexus 5 (tabs do not stay loaded on Safari, and it is rare to use Safari without frequent crashes).
jdawgnoonan is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:12 AM   #42
Pegamush
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
i wonder how many people aren't going to buy this, given the 1gb ram, the huge display who can't be used one hand, the lack of 128gb size, the only 1800mAh battery, the camera bulge, the ugly plastic bezels, and so on...
LoL
Pegamush is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:12 AM   #43
keysofanxiety
macrumors 65816
 
keysofanxiety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a house that defies physics by being colder than absolute zero.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannys1 View Post
Irrelevant but cue people going crazy over it.
Very relevant -- as others have mentioned with Safari/apps crashing, and the system logs show RAM being full as causing the crashes.

So unless Apple really improve how iOS addresses RAM, 1GB isn't enough.
__________________
- "How can anyone do a spoken word version of a rap song?"
- "He found a way ... he found a way."
keysofanxiety is offline   14 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:12 AM   #44
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sven11 View Post
So an iPhone 6 with 1GB of RAM would run OK with iOS 8, but it will most likely perform terrible after the launch of iOS 10.

History repeating itself.
People are complaining now about the lack of ram and how it impacts performance. I'd say iOS8 and/or iPhone 6 does not alter that.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:13 AM   #45
GroundLoop
macrumors 65816
 
GroundLoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
may the social media bashing by the news outlets begin ...

also seriously? 2GB certainly wouldnt hurt and costs nothing in this day of age

next up: base model still being 16 GB in 2014



i know people with more than 100 tabs open at a time on their work space
My guess...the miniscule amount of heat that the extra RAM would generate would have caused the iPhone 6 to be .1mm thicker...and we certainly couldn't let that happen could we?

GL
GroundLoop is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:14 AM   #46
keysofanxiety
macrumors 65816
 
keysofanxiety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In a house that defies physics by being colder than absolute zero.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4jasontv View Post
How many would you like? What I mean is, how many tabs open do you expect in technology of this generation? My MacBook with 4 GB has issues opening more than 9 at a time, and while I can get more, it's not very smooth.

How many tabs should an iPad handle?
It should be able to handle a lot more considering all the stuff Apple claim about 'only building products we'd use ourselves', 'we make the best possible user experience', etc.

Especially when the issues have been documented to be due to RAM, there's absolutely no point in keeping it at 1GB.
__________________
- "How can anyone do a spoken word version of a rap song?"
- "He found a way ... he found a way."

Last edited by keysofanxiety; Aug 18, 2014 at 06:15 AM. Reason: grammar
keysofanxiety is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:15 AM   #47
josetheonly1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Unbelievable
josetheonly1 is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:15 AM   #48
karstas
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
For one reason I will upgrade my iPad air and iPhone 5S to next generation- more RAM if they won't increase especially iPad air, will skip upgrading. 1GB RAM was ok with 32bit OS and iOS6. IOS 7 and iOS 8 have a lot of new features which also consumes more RAM, not even talking about 64bit OS... Knowing Apple they could still announce 6 with 1GB RAM and 6S will come with 2GB RAM..
karstas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:16 AM   #49
canesalato
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
It has too if it has virtual memory.
it doesn't have a swap file, it doesn't have virtual memory.
When memory is low the app is closed/crashes.
If it's the browser you get tab reloading
__________________
And the afternoon, the evening, sleeps so peacefully! Smoothed by long fingers,
Asleep... tired... or it malingers,
Stretched on the floor, here beside you and me.
canesalato is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 06:16 AM   #50
SarcasticJoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Can't say that I'm surprised, though disappointed.

What good is a 64 bit processor and OS when the ram is so limited
If you think that's the only benefit of an ARM v8 processor then you really don't know what you're talking about.

We've had chips that can support more than 4GB of RAM trough various methods over a decade before 64 bit chips came out. In regular x86 chips this technique is called PAE (Physical Address Extension) and it showed up in the Pentium Pro way back in 1995. Mainframes did something similar as early as the 80's.

The actual reason why the A8 is such a great chip is not that the instruction set is now 64 bit, but eveything else about it. Not only can you do a lot of jobs that previously took several instructions in a single instruction, you've got a whole bunch of completely new instructions and the general purpose registers are now both twice the size and twice as many. In doubling of the number of general purpose registers is genuinely big step forward when it comes to IPC (Instructions Per Clock) figures.

What a lot of people bring up when you mention these upgrades is benchmarks from when 64 bit x86 came out. However the problem with those is that compilers generally didn't utilize the additional general purpose registers and instructions.
SarcasticJoe is offline   4 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC