Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aaronlclark

macrumors newbie
May 22, 2014
6
0
Read this thread again ,Everything is here.

Regards

okay so the latest is that I've been able to get ZH to run...but launching via terminal instead of having a 'Zero Hour_bin' and 'Zero Hour' launcher.

i'll keep cracking away at the code to see if I can resolve the issue I'm having.
 

Salty76

macrumors newbie
Jun 3, 2014
2
0
Installing C&C Generals Deluxe Edition

Hi There

I have never installed C&C before on my Mac.

After installation it says that PowerPC applications are no longer supported.

I have read all the other forums but nothing seems to match my specific problem.

Seeing as this is the first time C&C is installed on my Mac (running Mavericks 10.9.3) is there a way I can get this to run and work???

Thanks in advance.
 

aaronlclark

macrumors newbie
May 22, 2014
6
0
Hi Salty.

This message is appearing because the game was developed before the switchover to Intel chips.

Quite simply, all you have to do is search for a patch for C&C Generals and Zero Hour. It's a all-in-one updated and will update Generals to 1.04 and Zero Hour to 1.02.


Hope this helps,
Aaron
 

Salty76

macrumors newbie
Jun 3, 2014
2
0
Cheers Aaron

I have searched for patches but it is a bit overwhelming.

Is there one you can recommend that will work???

Cheers

----------

Cheers Aaron

I have searched for patches but it is a bit overwhelming.

Is there one you can recommend that will work???

Cheers
 

AaoIi

macrumors newbie
May 16, 2014
8
0
Hello guys , I've found another way to get Zero Hour work . i used "Crossover app" and install the windows version . it works great over Mavericks ... this patch didn't work for me , regards .
 

aaronlclark

macrumors newbie
May 22, 2014
6
0
Cheers Aaron

I have searched for patches but it is a bit overwhelming.

Is there one you can recommend that will work???

Cheers

----------

http://commandandconquer.filefront....tYWMxLjAuNF9lbi5kbWd8fHwwMjA5MzQ3MzM1ODg2MTQ=

----------

Hello guys , I've found another way to get Zero Hour work . i used "Crossover app" and install the windows version . it works great over Mavericks ... this patch didn't work for me , regards .

Crossover should work, but there will be performance drawbacks due to it not being native.
 

johnathonjohn

macrumors newbie
May 16, 2014
5
0
Anyone know if the game still works after updating to OS X Yosemite? (Even if it's just the beta that is out right now)
 

levanid

macrumors newbie
Nov 14, 2013
19
4
I want to personally say thank you very much shafez

I confirm, everything works great with your help on Mac OS 10.9.4
 
Last edited:

collegitdept

macrumors regular
Nov 17, 2009
109
39
Hi,

My Mac Mini cannot load or start Zero Hour:

It's an Core i5 with Mac OS X 10.9.4 installed.

I've always had the Intel patch installed and Zero Hour is version 1.0.2
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2014-07-13 at 1.06.01 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2014-07-13 at 1.06.01 AM.png
    238.3 KB · Views: 473

AxoNeuron

macrumors 65816
Apr 22, 2012
1,251
855
The Left Coast
I have such fond memories of this game. I played the Windows version back in high school. Even better were all of the incredible mods available for it. Loved it!
 

mammal

macrumors newbie
Jul 24, 2002
7
4
Norway, Oslo
THANKS TO TPG!

OK HERE IS THE SOLUTION, i wrote it down for beginners:

1) Copy the file "OpenTransport", that you can find it in the folder "/System/Library/PrivateFrameWork/OpenTransport.framework/Versions/A/", of a previous OS X version (e.g. Lion, Mountain Lion) into "Zero Hour.app/contents/MacOs/".

2) Rename the file "Zero Hour" that you find in "Zero Hour.app/contents/MacOs/" in "Zero Hour_bin"

3) Open TexEdit, create a new txt-File, copy this Code in it and save it as "Zero Hour" (no file extension)

#!/usr/bin/env python

def main():
import os
path = os.path.dirname(os.path.realpath(__file__))
command='DYLD_FORCE_FLAT_NAMESPACE=1 DYLD_INSERT_LIBRARIES="{0}/OpenTransport" "{0}/Zero Hour_bin"'.format(path)
import subprocess
subprocess.call(command, shell=True)

if __name__ == '__main__':
main()

4) Make the file "Zero Hour" you just saved an executable by going to terminal and typing "chmod +x Zero\ Hour)"

5) Copy the executable file "Zero Hour" into "Zero Hour.app/contents/MacOs/"

6) Now just double-click on the file "Zero Hour.app" an the game starts.

Thanks again to TPG!

Just correcting for some spelling errors:
Adding a "s" to framework
1) /System/Library/PrivateFrameWorks/OpenTransport.framework/Versions/A/

and taking away a ")" from the chmod command.

4) Make the file "Zero Hour" you just saved an executable by going to terminal and typing "chmod +x Zero\ Hour"

Still, I get an error in the script, looking like this:

import os
^
IndentationError: expected an indented block
logout
 

imrodmartin

macrumors newbie
Feb 28, 2014
8
0
Still works on Yosemite

Just thought I'd update in case anyone is wondering.

If you got it working on Mavericks, it will still work on Yosemite.
:)
 

Guardian667

macrumors newbie
Oct 20, 2014
2
0
How to make executable

Maybe this issue sounds a bit stupid (none had troubles like me before):

I followed the instructions and created a new file using TextEdit with the title "Zero Hour". It is actually a RTF file. I placed it on my desktop. When I open terminal and paste the command "chmod +x Zero\ Hour" into it and hit return, it replies "no such file or directory".
I tried several ways to solve this issue (e.g. using the "cd Desktop" command or Renaming the file into a 1-word name), but the rest was always the same.

Do you have any hints for me how to get finally executable?

Thanks
 

Guardian667

macrumors newbie
Oct 20, 2014
2
0
Fixed one problem, another one occurred

OK, I found out that the issue I had was because of the wrong file format (rtf) and the file suffix. Since changed both it is no problem wo create the executable file.
But I still don't get it working. I renamed the origin Zero Hour file in the package (as suggested) and I copied the framework and the new created executable into the package. When I try to run the app by double clicking its icon, the error -10810 occurred. When I try to run the executable file directly (as suggested), terminal is opened and says the following:

.../Applications/Spiele/Command\ \&\ Conquer\ Generäle/Stunde\ Null/Stunde\ Null.app/Contents/MacOS/Zero\ Hour ; exit;
logout

I thought that it could be a result of my German version, so I renamed all English names (Zero Hour, Zero Hour_bin...) into the German names. I also changed this in the script. The result was similar: When double licking the icon nothing happened (no error report) and when running the script terminal told me the following:

.../Applications/Spiele/Command\ \&\ Conquer\ Generäle/Stunde\ Null/Stunde\ Null.app/Contents/MacOS/Stunde\ Null ; exit;
/Applications/Spiele/Command & Conquer Generäle/Stunde Null/Stunde Null.app/Contents/MacOS/Stunde Null: line 1: /Users/timopassler/Documents/Zero: No such file or directory
logout

Do you have any idea why could be the reason for that?

Thanks for your help!
 

Armin9

macrumors newbie
Oct 29, 2014
1
0
I (regretfully) upgraded to Yosemite

Hello,

I upgraded to Yosemite and now ZH nor GameRanger no longer work. All I want to do is play ZH!

I have been reading the threads you guys have posted and see that there are some solutions, however, I am not Mac savvy and do not know how to do change files around to get ZH working again. If someone can give me simple step by step details I would greatly appreciate it!

Thank you!
 

imrodmartin

macrumors newbie
Feb 28, 2014
8
0
Broken again

With the latest Yosemite update, I'm getting the following:

dyld: lazy symbol binding failed: Symbol not found: _gliCreateContextWithShared
Referenced from: /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework/Resources/GLEngine.bundle/GLEngine
Expected in: flat namespace

dyld: Symbol not found: _gliCreateContextWithShared
Referenced from: /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework/Resources/GLEngine.bundle/GLEngine
Expected in: flat namespace

Trace/BPT trap: 5


I have replaced the OpenTransport file in the Zero Hour package (contents/MacOS/) and deleted all the .ini files in the user data.

anyone get it to work lately?
 

Aspyr-Blair

macrumors 6502
Aug 20, 2012
319
35
Austin Tx
Our team is playing a LAN battle right now :)

I'm proud to say that this thread was a major motivator for us re-acquiring the rights to C&C and doing the work to bring it back to the Mac.

Looks pretty awesome on 5K as well :apple:
 

Dirtyharry50

macrumors 68000
May 17, 2012
1,769
183
Our team is playing a LAN battle right now :)

I'm proud to say that this thread was a major motivator for us re-acquiring the rights to C&C and doing the work to bring it back to the Mac.

Looks pretty awesome on 5K as well :apple:

Thank you Blair and everyone at Aspyr! I was so excited when I got an email about this today. Yay! If there is any chance we can get more C&C goodness that would be awesome, like C&C 3 and a real port of Red Alert 3. Heck, do C&C 2 and Red Alert 2 also!

I know, I am a wee bit demanding but i demand nicely! :D
 

Aspyr-Blair

macrumors 6502
Aug 20, 2012
319
35
Austin Tx
Thank you Blair and everyone at Aspyr! I was so excited when I got an email about this today. Yay! If there is any chance we can get more C&C goodness that would be awesome, like C&C 3 and a real port of Red Alert 3. Heck, do C&C 2 and Red Alert 2 also!

I know, I am a wee bit demanding but i demand nicely! :D

You always do Dirty, and your support is most welcome. You guys are the best. :apple:
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.