Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacRumors News Discussion (archive)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 6, 2003, 07:49 AM   #1
Latino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Smile New eMac!

well, rumours have been confirmed. We have a new eMac.

More importantly, at least in the UK, now the basic eMac is just £649 for the 800Mhz version. That is not a bad deal.

Now, since these new eMacs have the ATI 7500, I would be interested in knowing if the dual monitor hack for the ibooks with 7500 radeon cards also works in the emac. Would be kind of neat to hook a 1Ghz eMac to my 19" CRT and have dual desktop!

In the meantime, I'm still saving up to get that new ibook. Damn student debts!
Latino is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 07:53 AM   #2
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
wow they were very quiet about this, they look good, 799 is great.

iJon
iJon is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 07:54 AM   #3
KingArthur
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Marion, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to KingArthur
Darn! You got to the site to post before me.

[edit] I still don't see how they are putting a mere 128MB of RAM in the MID-range model! I might be able to understand in the low $799 model, but not anything else. Heck, OS X requires a MINIMUM of 128MB of RAM! Come on Apple! Why should any of your products be "just enough to get by"?
__________________
Remember: Bugs fly through open Windows.

PM6500, 128MB, 40GB, Zip, CD, Ext CD-RW, 3.5in floppy, OS9.1, No Complaints!

P4Mobile, 256DDR, 20GB, CD-RW, WinXP, Lots of Problems ;-)

Last edited by KingArthur; May 6, 2003 at 07:58 AM.
KingArthur is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 07:57 AM   #4
Bengt77
macrumors 68000
 
Bengt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Europe
Question Weird?!...

Apple's front page hasn't been updated, even the eMac page itself hasn't been updated. I only saw the release story on MacCentral just yet. How do we know for sure it's been released? Any other sources?

Ah, now I see: Apple's PR site HAS been updated with the press release. Okay, so it IS true...


Bengt77 is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 08:00 AM   #5
Latino
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Re: Weird?!...

Quote:
Originally posted by Bengt77
Apple's front page hasn't been updated, even the eMac page itself hasn't been updated. I only saw the release story on MacCentral just yet. How do we know for sure it's been released? Any other sources?

Ah, now I see: Apple's PR site HAS been updated with the press release. Okay, so it IS true...


I just went to www.apple.com and was greeted with a great big message saying "The New eMac", so I went to the UK Apple Store and there it was!
Latino is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 08:04 AM   #6
KingArthur
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Marion, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to KingArthur
Re: Weird?!...

Quote:
Originally posted by Bengt77
Apple's front page hasn't been updated, even the eMac page itself hasn't been updated. I only saw the release story on MacCentral just yet. How do we know for sure it's been released? Any other sources?

Ah, now I see: Apple's PR site HAS been updated with the press release. Okay, so it IS true...


lol. I just check the most obvious place to look: the Apple online store. lol. And if you click on the link for it in the store, it still says under Features and options, "700 or 800MHz PowerPC G4 processor." . looks like they didn't really have this update slated to be anything big or they would have taken the store down for a minute and made sure to update it all.
__________________
Remember: Bugs fly through open Windows.

PM6500, 128MB, 40GB, Zip, CD, Ext CD-RW, 3.5in floppy, OS9.1, No Complaints!

P4Mobile, 256DDR, 20GB, CD-RW, WinXP, Lots of Problems ;-)
KingArthur is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 08:05 AM   #7
Latino
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally posted by KingArthur
Darn! You got to the site to post before me.
It was pure chance. I checked this morning (9am BST) and there was nothing. Then I remembered that these things are not updated until about 13:00, when the US site is updated. So I checked now to see what was on and there it was. I don't do it again, promise. Leave me your email and I'll warn you next time. :P

Quote:
[i][edit] I still don't see how they are putting a mere 128MB of RAM in the MID-range model! I might be able to understand in the low $799 model, but not anything else. Heck, OS X requires a MINIMUM of 128MB of RAM! Come on Apple! Why should any of your products be "just enough to get by"? [/B]
I prefer it this way. I can get RAM cheaper elsewhere, other than Apple. Anyway, low ram is an Apple feature. I personnally don't think 256Mb is enough for the pro line, but that is what comes as default. It should be 512. But I still prefer it that way, so that I can get my own ram cheaper elsewhere
Latino is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 08:12 AM   #8
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Sort of dissapointing...

$1,698.00
1 GHz PowerPC G4
1GB SDRAM
80GB Ultra ATA drive
SuperDrive
AirPort Extreme built-in

Seems like they may moved AirPort Extreme onto the PCI bus.

Q: What PCI bus...
A: Well if it still has SDRAM, then they probably didn't change the chipset. And the old chipset was the SDRAM PowerMac's chipset -- which does have a PCI bus.

---

The good news is that even if the rest of the OS 9 legacy lineup gets EOLd, the iBook and the eMac may still be OS 9 bootable for a while longer.

Of course it's all wait and see, to have people check OS 9 booting and the new tech documents at Apple when they show up to see what chipset they use.
__________________
On the seat back in front of you, you will find a “Panic Button”
If you press this button, we will ignore you, and work on saving the passengers who can calmly follow directions.

Last edited by Sun Baked; May 6, 2003 at 06:32 PM.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 08:15 AM   #9
chazmox
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Apple hasn't even finished updating their pages. The front page of the store still says "eMac's from $999" and even on the order page the top say "700 or 800 MHz" eMac's. Only the bottom of the order page is correct...
__________________
We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.

T.S. Elliot
chazmox is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 08:35 AM   #10
tazo
Guest
 
tazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pacific Northwest, Seattle, WA actually
Send a message via ICQ to tazo Send a message via AIM to tazo Send a message via Yahoo to tazo
Quote:
Originally posted by chazmox
Apple hasn't even finished updating their pages. The front page of the store still says "eMac's from $999" and even on the order page the top say "700 or 800 MHz" eMac's. Only the bottom of the order page is correct...

umm are you at the US or UK website?
tazo is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 08:47 AM   #11
RBMaraman
macrumors 65816
 
RBMaraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Prospect, KY
Concerning new eMac OS 9 booting

I just noticed this line on the eMac's technical specs page. It's about OS 9 booting:

Startup in Mac OS 9 is available only with CD-ROM and Combo drive configurations. All configurations can run Mac OS 9 applications in Mac OS X Classic mode.

So, the SuperDrive eMac is not able to boot into OS 9. Nice move, Apple! One step at a time...
RBMaraman is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 08:56 AM   #12
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Re: Concerning new eMac OS 9 booting

Quote:
Originally posted by RBMaraman
I just noticed this line on the eMac's technical specs page. It's about OS 9 booting:

Startup in Mac OS 9 is available only with CD-ROM and Combo drive configurations. All configurations can run Mac OS 9 applications in Mac OS X Classic mode.

So, the SuperDrive eMac is not able to boot into OS 9. Nice move, Apple! One step at a time...
Well that answers that question, looks like they may not include the full OS 9 disk in that configuration.

The HW should be the same across the line, and the iBook still lists OS 9.

So the iBook and eMac may be the two machines that survive to keep OS 9 booting alive for a bit longer than Steve's delayed cutoff date.
__________________
On the seat back in front of you, you will find a “Panic Button”
If you press this button, we will ignore you, and work on saving the passengers who can calmly follow directions.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:17 AM   #13
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
New eMacs Arrive

As per the recent rumors, today Apple released speed-bumped eMacs:

$799: 800MHz G4, 128MB SDRAM, 40GB HD, CD-ROM
$999: 1GHz G4, 128MB SDRAM, 60GB HD, Combo drive
$1299: 1GHz G4, 256MB SDRAM, 80GB HD, SuperDrive

Head to Apple's eMac page and have a look.

Last edited by Rower_CPU; May 6, 2003 at 09:57 AM.
MacRumors is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:18 AM   #14
codemother
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
new Emacs

Well at least they have airport extreme
codemother is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:20 AM   #15
brandon6684
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
A 1GHz eMac with 256MB RAM, 60GB HD. a 17" screen, and a combo drive for $1049. That's not bad at all.
brandon6684 is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:22 AM   #16
Postal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Send a message via AIM to Postal Send a message via Yahoo to Postal
The eMac is a considerably better deal now, but... still only 128 MB of RAM minimum? I can't possibly imagine how it would be too expensive to include 256, even if it's just through another 128 MB stick. Of course, this might be a technique to drive people towards the iMac...
Postal is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:23 AM   #17
pretentious
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: "Reality"
Can anyone give me the Education Prices on these?
pretentious is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:25 AM   #18
noel4r
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles
good move apple... this should drive sales up.... now, they should definitely update the iMac to differentiate it from the eMac

Last edited by noel4r; May 6, 2003 at 09:27 AM.
noel4r is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:25 AM   #19
straphound
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ohio
MORE RAM

It would have been nice to see more ram in the base machine...
__________________
1 GHz 12" Powerbook
Superdrive
768 MB RAM
straphound is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:26 AM   #20
ianimate3d
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Keep em coming! 970 powermac next?
ianimate3d is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:26 AM   #21
mactastic
macrumors 68040
 
mactastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colly-fornia
Interesting that these ship AEX ready, and the ibooks did not.
__________________
I salute you Sean [Hannity]. I salute you for bravely standing by a man whose only crime, was breaking federal law.
- Stephen Colbert
mactastic is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:26 AM   #22
Steamboatwillie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Pricing error

Hey,

Just went to the website and they at the top of the stores page the starting price is $799 but further down the page it is $999

Guess they haven't updated it yet

I snapped a screen cap of it and it's posted here:

http://www.spymac.com/gallery/showph...t=1&thecat=500
__________________
15" PowerBook 1.25gHz/512MB/80GB/Superdrive

Just remember, I am not your average idiot.
Steamboatwillie is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:27 AM   #23
evilfunkgenius
Guest
 
and nothing yet about the keyboard, hmmm....
  0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:30 AM   #24
caveman_uk
Guest
 
caveman_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hitchin, Herts, UK
The base machine should have more RAM. I suppose it's aiming at a price point. To be honest if I was short of cash I'd still go for the midrange one - £150 more but it has an extra 200MHz and a combo drive. It too needs more RAM. For OS X the base should be 256MB. What's the difference of a 256MB stick vs. 128MB? $20??
caveman_uk is offline   0
Old May 6, 2003, 09:34 AM   #25
GitarDood
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to GitarDood
Silly Typo

Oops... the rumor says "speed bumped imacs" DOH

-J
GitarDood is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacRumors News Discussion (archive)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Dozen eMacs Southern Dad PowerPC Macs 31 May 25, 2014 10:16 AM
eMacs text editor in 10.9? viperGTS OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Oct 27, 2013 02:11 PM
Terminal tabs (emacs) become corrupted after time jlobe Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 19, 2012 01:00 PM
Lag in terminal (& emacs) on ML dougutphy Mac Programming 3 Sep 19, 2012 01:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC