Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 26, 2008, 03:58 PM   #1
hodgjy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Leopard Security Patch 2008-002-1.1 now out

Another update.

http://www.apple.com/support/downloa...11leopard.html
hodgjy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 04:11 PM   #2
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Still not showing up in SU for me.
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 04:12 PM   #3
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopticalcube View Post
Still not showing up in SU for me.
I'm already on the other side of the update. Waiting for apple to release the list of what was actually at risk as it isn't appearing in the usual place, I assume that is the same as the first update but with some extra things fixed.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 04:23 PM   #4
Amdahl
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
This update won't show if you already have installed v1.0. v1.1 just means they have corrected some problems with installing the update, but if you already have it installed, you don't need to worry.
Amdahl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 04:26 PM   #5
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amdahl View Post
This update won't show if you already have installed v1.0. v1.1 just means they have corrected some problems with installing the update, but if you already have it installed, you don't need to worry.
I had previously installed 1.0 and it showed up in software update for me and it says

Quote:
Originally Posted by About Security Update 2008-002 v1.1 (Leopard)
Security Update 2008-002 is recommended for all users and improves the security of Mac OS X. Previous security updates have been incorporated into this security update.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	28
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	109484
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 04:30 PM   #6
elpasi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Amdahl: I have already installed the 1.0 version and received the 1.1 update.



As you can see from the image, I am in the process of downloading (albeit slowly) the 1.1 version and you can see my update logs behind showing the v1.0 installed.

I wish they'd release the description of what it's for at the same time as releasing the download (although being vague if major and exploitable)
elpasi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 04:42 PM   #7
stuppy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I have 1.0 installed and this aint showing up on SU for me either? Should I just manually download it?
stuppy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 04:46 PM   #8
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Security Update 2008-002 v1.1



Apple posted a minor update to their 2008-002 Security update.
Quote:
Security Update 2008-002 is recommended for all users and improves the security of Mac OS X. Previous security updates have been incorporated into this security update.
According to MacObserver the update "addresses reliability issues with the 'Printer Settings...' button in Aperture 2.0 on systems running Mac OS X v10.5.2. No applications other than Aperture 2.0 are affected".

Article Link
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 04:48 PM   #9
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
According to arn, only those with Aperture are affected.
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 05:09 PM   #10
elpasi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I just looked at my localhost and saw my PHP version has gone up to 5.2.5 - has it been at this for a while (I know PHP was 5.2.4 for leopard and in the v1 of the update they updated tigers php up the 4.4 series...) or is this another thing within the update?

X11, Preview, Podcast Capture and Help Viewer all appeared in my 'used today' at the very top after installing this update, too.

@ #9 (floptical) A 50mB update to fix one small thing? I would rather they either fixed EVERYONE'S (so that new Aperture installes dont get flawed by this (because they wont have the update), or gave it as an APERTURE update, not flagging it as a Security Update.

Last edited by elpasi; Mar 26, 2008 at 05:54 PM.
elpasi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 06:45 PM   #11
Amdahl
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by xUKHCx View Post
I had previously installed 1.0 and it showed up in software update for me and it says
It's not showing for me, so perhaps it is only showing if you have Aperture 2.0?
Amdahl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2008, 06:52 PM   #12
SimonTheSoundMa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Birmingham, UK
Still four of my Mac's running Leopard do not show any settings for printing in any app.
SimonTheSoundMa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2008, 03:41 PM   #13
overcast
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by elpasi View Post
I just looked at my localhost and saw my PHP version has gone up to 5.2.5 - has it been at this for a while (I know PHP was 5.2.4 for leopard and in the v1 of the update they updated tigers php up the 4.4 series...) or is this another thing within the update?

X11, Preview, Podcast Capture and Help Viewer all appeared in my 'used today' at the very top after installing this update, too.

@ #9 (floptical) A 50mB update to fix one small thing? I would rather they either fixed EVERYONE'S (so that new Aperture installes dont get flawed by this (because they wont have the update), or gave it as an APERTURE update, not flagging it as a Security Update.
Yeh , might as well install updates for the things we don't have. Makes total logical sense.
overcast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2008, 04:02 PM   #14
RichardI
macrumors 6502a
 
RichardI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
I'm not installing it. If it doesn't show up in Software Update it doesn't get installed.

Rich
__________________
iMac 27", i7, 8 Gb. ram, HD5750/1Gb, 1TB. Hard Drive, OSX 10.9.X Logitech wireless mouse, wired keyboard, iPod Shuffle (2nd G) 1 Gb.
RichardI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2008, 11:55 AM   #15
hob
macrumors 68020
 
hob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, UK
It shows up in my list, but won't install. Not even in the terminal. Just gets stuck at 0%
__________________
see robmac.net for my work
hob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 02:57 PM   #16
liquidous
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
mine stuck at 0% too

Quote:
Originally Posted by hob View Post
It shows up in my list, but won't install. Not even in the terminal. Just gets stuck at 0%
mine is stuck at 0% too. my SU listed a bunch of updates i applied them all, all succeeded except the security update. this is brand new mbp 1 day ago.

the update shows in the list, but when i click to restart and the system goes to apply the update it stops after a few seconds. i can hear the hard drive going then it stops too. i have to force quit (command Q) it to get out of it and return back to OSX.

funny thing is in my update list i don't even see 1.0
liquidous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 03:43 PM   #17
Eraserhead
macrumors G4
 
Eraserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
You shouldn't see 1.0 this is the "better" version, I'd download it from Apple.com if I were you.
__________________
If they have to tell you every day they are fair you can bet they arent, if they tell you they are balanced then you should know they are not - Don't Hurt me
Eraserhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 04:02 PM   #18
liquidous
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
wow. 50meg download, and is gonna take up 139megs of space "on my computer" ????


no wonder they keep increasing drive space, in 2 years a friggin sec update is going to be 2 gigs.

now to see if it fuggs up my already stable system.


good luck folks.
liquidous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 06:56 PM   #19
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
so basically, if i don't have Aperture, i won't get this in software update?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 07:08 PM   #20
liquidous
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
so basically, if i don't have Aperture, i won't get this in software update?
i don't have aperture. and the SU tried to auto install it for me but failed. i downloaded from apple and all is fine now. time will tell
liquidous is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3,1 KP after the 10.9.2 Security Update? NOTNlCE Mac Pro 3 Apr 28, 2014 11:59 AM
Apple Security Update 2014-002 and Nvidia Web Driver flowrider Mac Pro 21 Apr 27, 2014 05:19 AM
Resolved: Security Update 2014-002 (Mavericks) BDM STUDIOS NL OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Apr 27, 2014 03:57 AM
Any browser sloooow after 2013-002 update. Why? Racineur Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Jun 11, 2013 11:19 PM
Microsoft Issues Security Updates for Office for Mac 2008 and 2011 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 27 Mar 19, 2013 03:12 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC