Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 13, 2008, 10:02 PM   #1
theman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
PLEASE help me with folding

this is my first time using FAH on a mac, and so far it's been a headache. first, i install the graphical client. but after 3 days i check my status through fahlog.txt and it's still at 0%, even though my CPU has been going 100% the entire time. so i delete the entire program (the application, and the Folding@home folder). and now i'm trying to use the console version, but I can't figure out how to install it. i have the Folding@home folder installed into /User/name/Library and it contains fah6 and mpiexec files. in Terminal, when i try to do

./fah6 -smp -confligonly

it just gives me this message:

Note: Please read the license agreement (fah6 -license). Further
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

Folding@Home encourages the use of SMP clients for OSX/Intel machines. We currently do not have any non-SMP cores available for the Intel architecture. Please re-run with the -smp option

Folding@Home Client Shutdown.


so i do ./fah6 -license

and the license agreement comes up.

no matter what tags i use, or if I don't use any tags, it just gives me that identical stupid message. when i add just -smp it says "-smp ignored" and then goes on to explain why i need to use the -smp tag.

So then i tried to install the graphical version again, it just doesn't work. my cpu is idling and fahlog.txt shows nothing other than fah6 client starting up.

what is going on?????

there is almost no support online for issues like this.

why is their mac client so crappy?
theman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2008, 11:21 PM   #2
gotzero
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mid-Atlantic, US
I went the opposite way, I originally tried the console version, and also gave up.

I got the graphical client working through a lot of trial and error, although it does not work graphically...

Install the client, turn it on in the system preferences, and then take a look at things in the terminal:

$ cd ~/Library/Folding@home

$ tail -f FAHlog.txt

This should show you your progress. It works for me. I was never able to get the graphical client or screensaver running, but I stopped caring after my computers got folding.
gotzero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2008, 11:27 PM   #3
theman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
well i tried to go back to the graphical version... but it's not working. it just says "starting FAH client" but never starts working. did i break something?
theman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2008, 12:38 PM   #4
MacBandit
macrumors 604
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
Send a message via AIM to MacBandit
I've had very good luck with Increase though even it has had bugs at times. Typically when Stanford updates the client and Increase doesn't have the correct download link.
__________________
Folding@Home
"Folding FAQ," for more information.
Fold with your PS3. Message me on the Playstation Network ID 'MacBandit'
MacBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2008, 08:04 PM   #5
gotzero
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mid-Atlantic, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by theman View Post
well i tried to go back to the graphical version... but it's not working. it just says "starting FAH client" but never starts working. did i break something?

Nothing is broken. Get rid of the app and all the files, and grab the SMP client again. I had to try a couple of times on each before anything was working correctly.
gotzero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 10:11 AM   #6
theman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
ok, i got the graphical version to work by making sure everything was deleted. i let it run for a day, and it got about 20% of the wu finished. but when i got up in the morning it said 5%, so i checked the log and i got this:

[23:05:06] - Checksums don't match (work/wudata_01.xtc)
[23:05:07] Premature end of file when checksumming (162224 bytes left)
[23:05:07] - Could not calculate checksum (work/wudata_01.xtc)
[23:05:08] Checksum not what expected.
[23:05:09]
[23:05:09] Folding@home Core Shutdown: FILE_IO_ERROR
[23:05:14] CoreStatus = 75 (117)
[23:05:14] Error opening or reading from a file.
[23:05:14] Deleting current work unit & continuing...

what the heck is that about? argh. so far i've given 5 whole days of work for absolutely nothing. this is so frustrating.
theman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:52 PM   #7
theman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
just checked my log again tonight, and it had 10-20% into about 6 different work units before it had some dome IO error. so after 6 days, i've managed to get no WU's done. i guess i'll never be able to run folding on my mac. i'm stuck with my 2 old crappy PC's.

darn it.
theman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:55 PM   #8
MacBandit
macrumors 604
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
Send a message via AIM to MacBandit
Quote:
Originally Posted by theman View Post
ok, i got the graphical version to work by making sure everything was deleted. i let it run for a day, and it got about 20% of the wu finished. but when i got up in the morning it said 5%, so i checked the log and i got this:

[23:05:06] - Checksums don't match (work/wudata_01.xtc)
[23:05:07] Premature end of file when checksumming (162224 bytes left)
[23:05:07] - Could not calculate checksum (work/wudata_01.xtc)
[23:05:08] Checksum not what expected.
[23:05:09]
[23:05:09] Folding@home Core Shutdown: FILE_IO_ERROR
[23:05:14] CoreStatus = 75 (117)
[23:05:14] Error opening or reading from a file.
[23:05:14] Deleting current work unit & continuing...

what the heck is that about? argh. so far i've given 5 whole days of work for absolutely nothing. this is so frustrating.
That happens occasionally for no apparent reason. Even so check to make the computer isn't set to sleep.
__________________
Folding@Home
"Folding FAQ," for more information.
Fold with your PS3. Message me on the Playstation Network ID 'MacBandit'
MacBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 12:42 AM   #9
MacBandit
macrumors 604
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
Send a message via AIM to MacBandit
Quote:
Originally Posted by theman View Post
just checked my log again tonight, and it had 10-20% into about 6 different work units before it had some dome IO error. so after 6 days, i've managed to get no WU's done. i guess i'll never be able to run folding on my mac. i'm stuck with my 2 old crappy PC's.

darn it.
Forgot to mention that I went through a period of time with both my MacBook at one time and my PS3 at another where I went several days without a successful unit. It had something to do with Standford and not my machines however.
__________________
Folding@Home
"Folding FAQ," for more information.
Fold with your PS3. Message me on the Playstation Network ID 'MacBandit'
MacBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 02:42 PM   #10
theman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
my computer was set not to sleep. i don't know what the deal was. i'm just going to wait for the next beta.
theman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 09:07 PM   #11
MacBandit
macrumors 604
 
MacBandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
Send a message via AIM to MacBandit
Quote:
Originally Posted by theman View Post
my computer was set not to sleep. i don't know what the deal was. i'm just going to wait for the next beta.
I would continue to let it run. I find that these problems typically resolve themselves.
__________________
Folding@Home
"Folding FAQ," for more information.
Fold with your PS3. Message me on the Playstation Network ID 'MacBandit'
MacBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to folding - few questions COrocket Distributed Computing 21 Sep 18, 2013 09:13 PM
Folding bike / bicycle? Consultant Community Discussion 4 Jun 2, 2013 08:47 PM
Xserve for Folding phoenixsan Distributed Computing 7 Mar 31, 2013 08:27 PM
CPU Temp When Folding huntermaclean Distributed Computing 5 Mar 4, 2013 07:12 PM
Can't get Folding Working on PowerPC MisterKeeks Distributed Computing 3 Dec 29, 2012 11:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC