Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 10, 2008, 04:58 AM   #1
pouttu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Football manager 1280x800 display problem

Hello, my first post on these forums

One month ago I bought a new macbook and football manager 2008 to have something to play on it.

The game is working like a charm, but im having problems with the resolution because if I run it fullscreen i have these two black columns on each side of the screen which really bother me, and if i run it in windowed mode some of the window is out of my desktop because the "taskbar" (or whatever the mac version is called ) in the top of the screen blocks me moving it all the way up. Also a weird thing is that if i select windowed mode the window is suddenly 1280x800 instead of the 1024x800 of fullscreen >:s

I have been googling my ass of for the past week and found nothing on any forum about this problem on mac+fm08, hard to believe i'm the only one with this problem...

Anyway, in windows the solution seems be to put commands like
-windowed -small_screen or -fullscreen -resolution_1280x800 in the shortcuts properties, i was wondering if in mac os x leopard you could put some similar commands in some startup script somewhere?

Thought this to be the appropriate place to ask because the sports interactive mac support forums seem quite deserted

Thanks beforehand
pouttu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2008, 06:49 AM   #2
lindstrom
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I am not sure if you can stretch the window. I have just accepted that now play it in regular windowed mode. The skin I use doesn't show any info at the bottom that is cut off, so I don't miss anything really.

You could always run FM in windows via Bootcamp/Fusion/Parallels =).
lindstrom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2008, 08:06 AM   #3
pouttu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Thanks a lot, seriously i haven't even thought about changing the skin. Wouldn't have propably come up wih that in million years...
pouttu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2008, 08:10 AM   #4
MacBoobsPro
macrumors 603
 
MacBoobsPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to MacBoobsPro
Yeh it doesnt fit well on a MacBook. I usually run it in windowed mode and just about manage to get around.

FM (especially on a mac) is one of the most buggiest apps out there and always has been. The guys that make it aren't very professional either. Shame its so damn addictive!
MacBoobsPro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2008, 06:35 PM   #5
dual
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: England
Your along the right lines with the command line codes, though that is more windows based.
Funnily enough though, there are some instructions to get it to be a true, widescreen, rather than windowed mode, hidden away on the sigames website. Its quite simple. Simply download this file, and place it within your football manager folder with the .app. Its only a .txt file btw.

Heres what you should get

http://img362.imageshack.us/img362/4295/picture2bd9.jpg
dual is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2008, 05:22 AM   #6
pouttu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
For some reason the command_line.txt doesn't seem to work for me... maybe i'm doing something wrong but i don't think so, i placed it in /applications/football manager '08 where my .app is, didn't help

After trying that i did some digging up in the sigames support that you mentioned and actually found out how to run the game with command line options:

"
The Mac application is a bundle, which is essentially a special kind of folder.

To run FM with command line options, you need to run the game from the command line (Terminal, in Mac OS X).

Navigate to the main FM application file, usually by using the following command:

cd /Applications/Sports Interactive/Football Manager 2007/
Press return. Then you need to navigate into the actual application bundle:

cd fm.app/Contents/MacOS/
Press return again; now run the FM command line application with the command line options you like, e.g:

./fm --windowed
You must include the "./" otherwise the system will display an error.
"

from http://www.sigames.com/sibase.php?type=view&id=200

so after ./fm --fullscreen_widht=1280 --fullscreen_height=800 i got the game to run in fullscreen 1280x800, although the only way to do this is to run it from the command line every time. too bad i didn't get the --small_screen to work with --windowed...

also after trying out the command line options now every time i select "windowed" ingame, instead of the 1280x800 window it used before it now shows the 1024x762 window (i have no idea why), which makes the windowed mode much more usable
pouttu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 02:43 PM   #7
dual
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: England
Ok, if that didnt work, your best bet is create your own. Running it everytime before a game is a right pain in the arse

The two help pages needed are:

http://www.sigames.com/sibase.php?type=view&id=174
http://www.sigames.com/sibase.php?type=view&id=180

They do apply to FM08 even though SI dont state this.
dual is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 11:09 PM   #8
aritwik
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Duals file above works. You only need to remove the "_" from the file name. No need for the long drawn command line process.
aritwik is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Football Manager 2014 Sanatogen Mac and PC Games 4 Nov 4, 2013 05:09 AM
30" cinema hd display only in 1280x800? mountainmaster Mac Peripherals 6 Oct 18, 2012 09:08 AM
Does Football Manager come out on Mac? Risco Mac and PC Games 3 Sep 10, 2012 09:04 AM
external display only goes to 1280x800?!?! gentlefury MacBook Pro 8 Aug 18, 2012 08:59 AM
1280x800 plugged into Cinema Display gentlefury MacBook Pro 2 Aug 3, 2012 12:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC