Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:22 PM   #1
StarQ1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Can I play any windows game on a Mac Pro?

I might buying one really soon and i would love the input!!!
StarQ1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:23 PM   #2
thunderclap
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarQ1 View Post
I might buying one really soon and i would love the input!!!
If you have Windows XP/Vista you can install it using Boot Camp.
thunderclap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:23 PM   #3
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
And thereafter play any Windows game.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:26 PM   #4
StarQ1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
how much is Boot Camp?
StarQ1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:27 PM   #5
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Free with Leopard.

Hang on a tic. What games will you be playing?
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:38 PM   #6
MH01
macrumors 68030
 
MH01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
You sure can.

Do not have a new Mac pro, though i thought u were able to put in another video card into it that windows would use. Something like a 4870 would do wonders
MH01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:38 PM   #7
StarQ1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Left 4 dead and every MMO there is
StarQ1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:43 PM   #8
theLimit
macrumors 6502a
 
theLimit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: up tha holler, acrost tha crick
Depending on the graphics card requirements, it should be the same as on any PC.

If you're buying a Mac Pro for a gaming machine, you should reconsider. Games aren't really meant for workstation class processors, ECC memory slows down game performance, and the graphics card selection is non-existant. For a third of the price, you could get a Windows machine specced for gaming that will outperform a Mac Pro at playing games.

A Mac Pro is more for work tasks, like audio, video, or engineering type stuff. I suggest you do some research before spending that kind of money.
theLimit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 04:57 PM   #9
Scarlet Fever
macrumors 68040
 
Scarlet Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bookshop!
If you want to play games, you'd be better off building your own PC. It'll be a lot cheaper, and you'll get better performance out of it. You can spend the money you save on a Mac Mini or maybe even an iMac.

The Mac Pro is a workstation, not a gaming platform. Gamers don't need 32GB of RAM, but they do need graphical performance, of which the Mac Pro has very limited options.
Scarlet Fever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 05:26 PM   #10
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 604
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
^ double post. but that's ok.

Anyway, the Mac Pro should be sufficient. It will not be the best gaming rig under the sun, but will handle those games without a hitch.
__________________
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 6 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 09:36 PM   #11
Bigpurp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
How about a 3rd gen mac pro with a 280 gtx? (not installed yet)
2 x 2.66 Dual-core xeons

I know most games only use 2 cores so is my comp too crappy for WoW / Left4dead / crysis?
Bigpurp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 10:46 PM   #12
StarQ1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
So what if I buy a maxed out Mac Pro, it wont be good for games, then apple should just place on board graphic card in they're motherboards if its really that bad lol
StarQ1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 01:52 AM   #13
Ploki
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarQ1 View Post
So what if I buy a maxed out Mac Pro, it wont be good for games, then apple should just place on board graphic card in they're motherboards if its really that bad lol
Yes. of course.
Because professional designers (especially 3D) work with handheld calculators nowadays and dont need serious graphic cards!

But seriously...
Its not a gaming computer, its not designed for running games, it has server ram and server cpus in it. > not as fast, but twice as reliable. it also doesnt have fancy stickers on it like "core2 EXTREME" .

however, GTA IV works smoothly maxed out on mine (with 8800GT)
but since GTA IV has just come out and its one of the most resourcehungry games, i think it will last a few more..
Ploki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 01:53 AM   #14
mattlong1978
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Send a message via MSN to mattlong1978
I bought my Mac Pro with the 8800 GT, running BootCamp and Windows XP Service Pack 3 in 1920x1200 I've been playing games such as COD - World At War, Left 4 Dead and Tomb Raider - Underworld just fine, I think I've made a few sacrifices like no v-sync and lower Anisotropic filtering but seriously no issues.

My PC freinds used to give me constant greif until they saw it that soon shut them up so go for it buy a Mac Pro you won't regret it
__________________
2008 Mac Pro Xeon 2.8Ghz, 10GB DDR2, ATI Radeon 5870, 27" LED Cinema Display
mattlong1978 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 08:53 AM   #15
Slimdude22
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
so would you recommend bootcamp or parallels when it comes to games on a mac? and I have vista ultimate sp1 64bit. or is that a bit to much for games?

I find i prefer gaming on a mac pro. first yes an imac and even macbook pro are adequate but they are harder to upgrade so easily. need another HD, no problem thing about a mac pro is that it will do whatever you ask it to...everytime. reliability is a big selling point for me
Slimdude22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 09:36 AM   #16
sporadicMotion
macrumors 65816
 
sporadicMotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Your girlfriends place
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slimdude22 View Post
so would you recommend bootcamp or parallels when it comes to games on a mac? and I have vista ultimate sp1 64bit. or is that a bit to much for games?

I find i prefer gaming on a mac pro. first yes an imac and even macbook pro are adequate but they are harder to upgrade so easily. need another HD, no problem thing about a mac pro is that it will do whatever you ask it to...everytime. reliability is a big selling point for me
Boot Camp is the way to go... Parallels is a virtualization program that creates a virtual machine that you run other operating systems in where boot camp allow you to set up your machine to dual boot your OS's just like on a PC...
__________________
$p = "SELECT * FROM humans WHERE stupid = 1";
$p = mysql_query($p) or die(mysql_error());
while($stupidpeople = mysql_fetch_assoc($p)) { hit $stupidpeople['name'] with 20lbs sledge; }
sporadicMotion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 09:43 AM   #17
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigpurp View Post
How about a 3rd gen mac pro with a 280 gtx?
There is no 3rd-gen Mac Pro.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StarQ1 View Post
So what if I buy a maxed out Mac Pro, it wont be good for games, then apple should just place on board graphic card in they're motherboards if its really that bad lol
The Mac Pro is not a gaming machine. Why would you even think that it is? It's a workstation for professionals (hence the name) to do processor and graphically intensive work.

As has been said before, get an awesome gaming PC for half the price and a Mac Mini or iMac with the money you save.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 09:44 AM   #18
James Craner
macrumors 68000
 
James Craner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarQ1 View Post
how much is Boot Camp?
as someone else said Boot Camp is free, but you will need a full copy of windows to install on your boot camp partition. You will not be able to use a software restore disk that came with a PC.
James Craner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 09:48 AM   #19
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Craner View Post
as someone else said Boot Camp is free, but you will need a full copy of windows to install on your boot camp partition. You will not be able to use a software restore disk that came with a PC.
You can use an OEM update disk, though. Just throwing that out there.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 09:52 AM   #20
pwn247
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West Virginia, USA
Send a message via AIM to pwn247 Send a message via MSN to pwn247 Send a message via Yahoo to pwn247 Send a message via Skype™ to pwn247
Gamers usually go for custom built / home built PCs and not the elite machines like the Mac Pro.

But I dunno; it's personal opinion.

Maybe you like the plastic black case with the plastic black door and a little dinky plastic window so you can see the bright blue lights inside while you try and get sleep. Perhaps it's the ability to buy $20 RAM that fails in less than a month?

Whatever it is, it's personal opinion. I love OS X; and after making the switch I can tell you- for sure- I'm never going back. I own my home business, and I build custom computers- most of which are gaming PCs- and even then I'm not going back.
__________________
Mac Pro, Dual Intel Xeon CPUs at 2.66GHz each, 3GB RAM, ATi HD4870, 500GB + 250GB.
iPod Touch, 2nd Generation, 8 Gigabytes.
pwn247 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 10:37 AM   #21
nightfly13
macrumors 6502a
 
nightfly13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ranchi, India
Send a message via AIM to nightfly13 Send a message via Skype™ to nightfly13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
The Mac Pro is not a gaming machine. Why would you even think that it is? It's a workstation for professionals (hence the name) to do processor and graphically intensive work.

As has been said before, get an awesome gaming PC for half the price and a Mac Mini or iMac with the money you save.
iMac + Windows gaming machine. I thought about it, but here's why I went for a Mac Pro (despite not using any 'Pro' apps that really capitalize on the horsepower).

1) I have a 30" (from MBP days) that the iMac could not run. DisplayPort has changed that, but this was 1.5 years ago.

2) I love screen real estate. I use 3 of my 4 DVI ports (on 2 video cards) and will use a 4th before long. Spaces is a work-around for lesser Macs, and I use it when pressed, but it's no substitute for my 7.3 million pixels I have right now.

3) Way more upgradeable. You can change HDD and go to 4GB on other Macs. You can go nuts with a Mac Pro (I run 5 HDDs and 7GB) and it's the only Mac that enables you to upgrade video cards (people whine about lack of choice, but there's already 2 better cards that I can upgrade to - that's better than the nonexistent upgrade path of any other Mac) and even processors (I'm thinking to go from Dual to Quad Core if/when Snow Leopard makes that beneficial).

4) Will last longer. I was thrilled when I heard about Snow Leopard. My 4 cores rarely hit over 10%. I used to change laptops every 15-18 months. I was at that pace after switching (right after Tiger came out - say mid 2005) but the Mac Pro will last me years. Especially if a better card comes out than the 8800 - but even if it doesn't, I think that'll be good enough for my games (mostly RTS) and the ability to upgrade to 8 cores and have oodles of memory - with Snow Leopard, should be awesome.

Anyway, that's why I went for a Mac Pro.
__________________
27" iMac (i7), SSD+HDD
15" MBP, SSD+HDD
the new iPad, iPhone 4s
nightfly13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 12:06 PM   #22
Runtime
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
StarQ, it will be the best thing you ever did. Definitely put the 8800GT card in.

Honestly, I can't believe I have to defend a Mac for gaming to a bunch of Mac Enthusiasts....I'm used to such defenses against my PC friends, but here I am surprised.

I've been on Apple since AppleIIe, and I also build custom gaming rigs. I've built quad cores with SLI and Raid Arrays...and this machine outperforms them all.

The Mac Pro 8 Core is the best computer I have ever owned and it ROCKS FOR GAMING. I say this 8 months after I've purchased it....usually after 8 months I'm looking for the next best thing.

I will never build myself a custom gaming PC again.

Listen, I am an pro audio guy. I am also a semi pro gamer. This machine handles ALL my needs. From Video editing in After Effects, to Sound recording in Cubase with a Motu-828 to Flash Development. At the end of the day, I boot windows and rock out on some CoD: World at war.

I used to play competitively in CAL and TWL, so I know about changing config files and removing the FPS cap. I had CoD4 getting 350 FPS on this machine on a custom config I wrote.

The only downsides are lack of sound card, and lack of inexpensive installation of Raid drives...but honestly I do not miss them. I am actually thinking of putting in an Audigy-ZS from an older computer knowing it will only work in windows for 7.1.

Don't listen to these guys who say this is for professionals only. Buy one for ALL your needs, you'll be happy you did.
Runtime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 04:28 PM   #23
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by theLimit View Post
Depending on the graphics card requirements, it should be the same as on any PC.

If you're buying a Mac Pro for a gaming machine, you should reconsider. Games aren't really meant for workstation class processors, ECC memory slows down game performance, and the graphics card selection is non-existant. For a third of the price, you could get a Windows machine specced for gaming that will outperform a Mac Pro at playing games.

A Mac Pro is more for work tasks, like audio, video, or engineering type stuff. I suggest you do some research before spending that kind of money.
If ECC memory slows down gaming performance in such a way that it is noticeable, then it would slow down all apps noticeably.
A Mac Pro is an Intel machine that happens to use Xeon processors which are brilliant in gaming, because they simply are fast CPU's.
The GeForce 8800 GT card may not be the most ultra card out there, but it handles every game perfectly, with the exception of all grfx card killers like Crysis.

I do agree with you that if you simply want a gaming rig, then yeah.. of course... get a cheaper PC with an even better grfx card.

But, of you're lucky enough to own a Mac Pro, and have the GeForce 8800 GT card, then it will perform as a brilliant gaming machine next to your professional apps. No need to get a gaming PC too... duh.
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 05:36 PM   #24
trainguy77
macrumors 68040
 
trainguy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Send a message via AIM to trainguy77 Send a message via MSN to trainguy77 Send a message via Yahoo to trainguy77
Quote:
Originally Posted by theLimit View Post
ECC memory slows down game performance,
Thats not true. ECC doesn't slow anything down. What your getting at though is the FB-DIMMS. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fully_Buffered_DIMM

So it has more Latency. This isn't apples fault as the XEON CPUs require it. The dells have the exact same thing. This just allows us to have more RAM.
trainguy77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 06:26 PM   #25
Slimdude22
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runtime View Post

Don't listen to these guys who say this is for professionals only. Buy one for ALL your needs, you'll be happy you did.

here here! it works for us nerds all around (assuming I'm not the only machead in the room )

It really will do whatever you want, yea you may have to put in a new graphics card but it wont quit you after just a few months either. granted if you can build your own computer, and know what your doing and are concerned about price, and dont need extra cores and things like that, go for it. but if you want a reliable machine Mac pro is the way to go
Slimdude22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS-neutral: What sort of game will this mac be able to play? LordDebenex Mac and PC Games 5 Jan 28, 2014 10:23 PM
OS X: What is the simpilest way to play a windows gameo on my mac? GKDAIR Mac and PC Games 7 Apr 28, 2013 07:19 PM
New iPad game: iLogic-Hero -a fun to play Logic-game for all ages CCM2000Games iPad Apps 0 Oct 29, 2012 04:36 PM
This is the last straw. (Mac Pro with Lion won't play DVD-Rs burned on a Mac). StephenCampbell Mac Basics and Help 5 Jul 22, 2012 01:51 PM
How do i play Windows Games on a Mac? MacUserMichael MacBook Air 3 Jul 3, 2012 10:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps