Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 15, 2008, 11:46 AM   #101
Cave Man
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
It requires AnyDVD HD. Some have reported success with Parallels and Fusion, but I couldn't get it to work with either. I use Boot Camp with Sony's SATA Blu-ray ROM drive retail package in an external USB2 enclosure. It works with about half the Blu-ray discs that I've tried.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 06:49 PM   #102
mmccaskill
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Send a message via AIM to mmccaskill
Quote:
Originally Posted by northy124 View Post
It can
Sweet! I'll attempt to use the PS3 w/ Ubuntu to generate an ISO using dd.
__________________
Early 2011 MBP 17" 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
mmccaskill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 07:56 PM   #103
hitekalex
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmccaskill View Post
Sweet! I'll attempt to use the PS3 w/ Ubuntu to generate an ISO using dd.
Let us know that that goes! I have a PS3, which I only use for Blu-ray playback.. Haven't played with Ubuntu or anything else.

How difficult of a process is it to make an ISO image on PS3 and transfer it onto a PC/Mac? Would love to save the hassle of buying a BR-ROM drive.
hitekalex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 09:32 AM   #104
Cave Man
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
I've updated the first post to reflect the demise of VisualHub and the rise of Handbrake!
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 10:32 AM   #105
northy124
macrumors 68020
 
northy124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Cave Man your updated guide is much better to understand (From my point of view) than your old one with VH (Maybe I just didn't get VH)

Well what ever it was your guide is great
northy124 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 10:55 AM   #106
heyp
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitekalex View Post
Let us know that that goes! I have a PS3, which I only use for Blu-ray playback.. Haven't played with Ubuntu or anything else.

How difficult of a process is it to make an ISO image on PS3 and transfer it onto a PC/Mac? Would love to save the hassle of buying a BR-ROM drive.
i'm wondering the same... it sounds like making the iso image isn't too difficult, but you would have to put it on an external drive since the ps3 internal drive is fat32 formatted... then i think you'd have to hook the external drive with the blu ray iso up to your mac running windows and decrypt it using anydvd... then take the external drive with the decrypted blu ray iso back to the ps3 for playback as i don't think streaming would work very well... i could be very wrong about this
heyp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 12:00 PM   #107
mmccaskill
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Send a message via AIM to mmccaskill
Quote:
Originally Posted by heyp View Post
i'm wondering the same... it sounds like making the iso image isn't too difficult, but you would have to put it on an external drive since the ps3 internal drive is fat32 formatted... then i think you'd have to hook the external drive with the blu ray iso up to your mac running windows and decrypt it using anydvd... then take the external drive with the decrypted blu ray iso back to the ps3 for playback as i don't think streaming would work very well... i could be very wrong about this
I plan on sending it directly to my Mac Pro through the gigabit network. I'm expecting some Blu-ray discs today from Netflix.
__________________
Early 2011 MBP 17" 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
mmccaskill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 12:48 PM   #108
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
For the most part, the info provided here is pretty good; thanks Cave Man for posting and updating this thread. That said, I would still recommend using CQ @ 55-59% rather than ABR @ 6000. It is also important to note that setting the width to 1280 may not work for all sources (if output FPS > 24, or 25 depending on who you ask, the AppleTV will not accept the file).

I use the new AppleTV preset and lower the CQ to 55-57 for my HD encodes.

Last edited by NightStorm; Dec 17, 2008 at 12:55 PM.
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 12:58 PM   #109
rWally
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
It requires AnyDVD HD. Some have reported success with Parallels and Fusion, but I couldn't get it to work with either. I use Boot Camp with Sony's SATA Blu-ray ROM drive retail package in an external USB2 enclosure. It works with about half the Blu-ray discs that I've tried.
Why does it only work with half your Blu-ray discs? DRM? Not sure if I want to go through the trouble of buying all this stuff if it will only work with half my blu-rays.
rWally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 01:00 PM   #110
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by rWally View Post
Why does it only work with half your Blu-ray discs? DRM? Not sure if I want to go through the trouble of buying all this stuff if it will only work with half my blu-rays.
Well, AnyDVD HD has not been updated to deal with the recent upgrade to BD+... this makes it incompatible with some of the new discs out there (both "X-Files" movies immediately to mind, as I have them). The company hopes to have an update out by February 2009.

EDIT: They have a list of movies that are currently imcompatible with AnyDVD HD available at: http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=21985
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 01:21 PM   #111
Cave Man
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
I would still recommend using CQ @ 55-59% rather than ABR @ 6000.
When I tried that a few weeks ago the result was major video blocking that was unacceptable. Unless there's something else to set, that does not work for me.

Quote:
It is also important to note that setting the width to 1280 may not work for all sources (if output FPS > 24, or 25 depending on who you ask, the AppleTV will not accept the file).
I'm pretty sure that for Blu-ray it is 24 fps, thus using the default setting in HB (i.e., whatever the source is) you should get compatible files. All of mine that have been successfully transcoded by HB have sync'd and played on my Apple TV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rWally View Post
Why does it only work with half your Blu-ray discs? DRM? Not sure if I want to go through the trouble of buying all this stuff if it will only work with half my blu-rays.
I suspect the problem are the DTS tracks or the way tsmuxer handles DTS extractions. The only Blu-rays that have been difficult are those with DTS or DTS-HD audio. For instance, just this morning I tried to open the m2ts of Rush Hour 3 (DTS-HD audio) and HB crashed while opening the file. Every Blu-ray with AC3 audio has transcoded without problems.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 01:22 PM   #112
rWally
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
Well, AnyDVD HD has not been updated to deal with the recent upgrade to BD+... this makes it incompatible with some of the new discs out there (both "X-Files" movies immediately to mind, as I have them). The company hopes to have an update out by February 2009.

EDIT: They have a list of movies that are currently imcompatible with AnyDVD HD available at: http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=21985
Thanks for the reply. Doesn't sound like as big of an issue as I thought. I definitely want to move to HD rips for my AppleTV but I think I'm better off waiting a couple months to see what happens with Snow Leopard as far as blu-ray support goes, although I'm not sure it will matter much since there isn't a blu-ray ripper out there for Macs yet.

Who knows, maybe they'll upgrade the AppleTV to support 1080p video as well...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
When I tried that a few weeks ago the result was major video blocking that was unacceptable. Unless there's something else to set, that does not work for me.



I'm pretty sure that for Blu-ray it is 24 fps, thus using the default setting in HB (i.e., whatever the source is) you should get compatible files. All of mine that have been successfully transcoded by HB have sync'd and played on my Apple TV.



I suspect the problem are the DTS tracks or the way tsmuxer handles DTS extractions. The only Blu-rays that have been difficult are those with DTS or DTS-HD audio. For instance, just this morning I tried to open the m2ts of Rush Hour 3 (DTS-HD audio) and HB crashed while opening the file. Every Blu-ray with AC3 audio has transcoded without problems.
Do blu-rays come with a traditional 5.1 dolby digital track as well as a DTS track? I seem to remember most DVD's with DTS also having the DD5.1 track as well.

Last edited by Mitthrawnuruodo; Jan 6, 2009 at 03:21 PM. Reason: Merging, please use MULTIQUOTE to answer more than one post...
rWally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 01:35 PM   #113
Cave Man
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by rWally View Post
Do blu-rays come with a traditional 5.1 dolby digital track as well as a DTS track? I seem to remember most DVD's with DTS also having the DD5.1 track as well.
My experience is they come with one or the other (AC3/True-HD or DTS/DTS-HD). The exception that I can recall is Live Free or Die Hard, which had both.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 02:04 PM   #114
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Do blu-rays come with a traditional 5.1 dolby digital track as well as a DTS track? I seem to remember most DVD's with DTS also having the DD5.1 track as well.
The Bluray spec mandates either at least one Dolby Digital, DTS, or linear PCM soundtrack; True-HD and DTS-HD are optional codecs.

Last edited by NightStorm; Dec 17, 2008 at 02:15 PM.
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 02:34 PM   #115
rWally
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
When I tried that a few weeks ago the result was major video blocking that was unacceptable. Unless there's something else to set, that does not work for me.



I'm pretty sure that for Blu-ray it is 24 fps, thus using the default setting in HB (i.e., whatever the source is) you should get compatible files. All of mine that have been successfully transcoded by HB have sync'd and played on my Apple TV.



I suspect the problem are the DTS tracks or the way tsmuxer handles DTS extractions. The only Blu-rays that have been difficult are those with DTS or DTS-HD audio. For instance, just this morning I tried to open the m2ts of Rush Hour 3 (DTS-HD audio) and HB crashed while opening the file. Every Blu-ray with AC3 audio has transcoded without problems.
So is the problem with just DTS-HD tracks or DTS as well? There's no point in using a DTS-HD track if you're just going to encode it with Handbrake, right?
rWally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 02:52 PM   #116
Cave Man
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by rWally View Post
So is the problem with just DTS-HD tracks or DTS as well? There's no point in using a DTS-HD track if you're just going to encode it with Handbrake, right?
There's no point in having DTS-HD (or True-HD) since Mac and Apple TV optical ports don't have the bandwidth to support it.

Only AC3 or DTS (up to 7.1 compressed audio) can go through the optical port (and only a Mac can do DTS in conjunction with Plex). I always extract AC3 from True-HD and DTS from DTS-HD cores with tsmuxer. HB can then handle those with AC3 (and some, but not all, with DTS). You can thus get AC3 Dolby Digital for the Apple TV by passthrough, but if HB reads the DTS track it will only generate Dolby Pro Logic II 5-channel analog for the Apple TV. There is no passthrough of DTS with Handbrake (yet).

However, for those DTS movies where audio is important (i.e., 5.1 digital), I just leave it as an m2ts file with the DTS digital because Plex on my Mini can passthrough DTS. Unfortunately, iTunes and the Apple TV do not accept files with DTS.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 08:18 PM   #117
mmccaskill
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Send a message via AIM to mmccaskill
Well I can't figure out how to get the ps3 to mount anything from the Mac Pro. I found a netatalk compile guide but I don't think netatalk is a afp client/server, just a server.

So I might have to buy that LG Blu-Ray drive. I guess I could get an enclosure for the 500GB drive I have but I can only assume that ext2fsx still works for OS X.
__________________
Early 2011 MBP 17" 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
mmccaskill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2008, 09:07 PM   #118
hitekalex
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmccaskill View Post
Well I can't figure out how to get the ps3 to mount anything from the Mac Pro. I found a netatalk compile guide but I don't think netatalk is a afp client/server, just a server.
Did you try mounting to an SMB share on your Mac?
hitekalex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 06:54 AM   #119
mmccaskill
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Send a message via AIM to mmccaskill
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitekalex View Post
Did you try mounting to an SMB share on your Mac?
Doh! I guess I didn't think about it. Would that be kinda slow on a gigabit network?
__________________
Early 2011 MBP 17" 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
mmccaskill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 08:21 AM   #120
mmccaskill
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Send a message via AIM to mmccaskill
Cave Man, you have a 2X BD drive. 35-40 GB disc must take ages to run through AnyDVD.
__________________
Early 2011 MBP 17" 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
mmccaskill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 09:43 AM   #121
Cave Man
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Typically 60-90 min. Fortunately, I don't do it too often.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 10:12 AM   #122
mmccaskill
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Send a message via AIM to mmccaskill
I'm getting ready to get the LG GGC-H20L which is supposed to be 6X so hopefully it won't be 60-90 mins.
__________________
Early 2011 MBP 17" 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
mmccaskill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 10:30 AM   #123
heyp
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmccaskill View Post
I'm getting ready to get the LG GGC-H20L which is supposed to be 6X so hopefully it won't be 60-90 mins.
any luck getting the ps3 to mount using SMB?
heyp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 10:34 AM   #124
bucksaddle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Caveman (and everyone else), just thought i would throw in a few of my experiences of Blu-Ray to Apple TV.
I am currently encoding at 59% CQ with Handbrake and have been through many various settings to hit (what i can tell with my eyes) is the sweet spot.
I did use 6000 ABR but i found that on some movies this can exceed the ATV's max bitrate spikes, even with the movie synced. For example, in the opening song credits of Casino Royale, just as the second chorus of the song kicks in there are a load of fancy graphics on the screen which just stutter my ATV to its knees.
Using VBV Bufsize & Maxrate settings did help control that, but i then found unacceptable image artifacts on my movies. An example of this is Spider-Man 1 when Peter gets on the school bus at the beginning. As he moves down the bus his head is against a white background (bus roof) and you get this nasty orange glow around his head (just like the old oats advert for those of you in the UK and are old enough to remember!).
So, i just find ABR to difficult to control. Using CQ you get better control of bitrate spikes (should be lower by nature) and at 59% i think i get a great image with a controllable file size (on the majority of films) between 4Gb - 6Gb. There are some which are just way to big for my liking so i then drop down to 56 - 57% (Godfather 2, 15Gb - ouch)
These are just my findings and my thoughts and may not work for everyone. But hey, thats the nature of the beast
Cheers
bucksaddle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 10:46 AM   #125
rWally
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Screen Caps

Would anyone be kind enough to post some screen caps of their movies in action? I'm just curious to see how the encodes look.
rWally is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blu-Ray for MacBook Pros - Finally, a 9.5mm Slot-Load Blu-Ray Drive! Prodo123 MacBook Pro 72 Sep 15, 2013 10:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC