Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery > UI Customization

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 15, 2009, 01:52 AM   #76
wingnut8
macrumors 65816
 
wingnut8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by VSMacOne View Post
Yeah, so until somebody puts together comprehensive a step by step guide on how to get things working right, instead of bits and pieces here and there, I'm not getting into this whole mess... I just installed Geektool and attempted a couple of commands, but no luck... I don't know if it's because it's so late, or what, but I'm giving up and saving it for another day...
so for now, i'll be a spectator haha..
Did you change the font size/color?
__________________
13" MacBook Air| 13" MacBook Pro | 17" MacBook Pro | 32GB iPhone 4| 64GB white Verizon iPad 2
wingnut8 is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2009, 02:42 AM   #77
si77hay
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Stirling
Send a message via Skype™ to si77hay
Quote:
Originally Posted by VSMacOne View Post
Yeah, so until somebody puts together comprehensive a step by step guide on how to get things working right, instead of bits and pieces here and there, I'm not getting into this whole mess... I just installed Geektool and attempted a couple of commands, but no luck... I don't know if it's because it's so late, or what, but I'm giving up and saving it for another day...
so for now, i'll be a spectator haha..
Try this guide. A 17 year old wrote it

Or this one is an absolute corker.

And have a look here for some inspiration! Snapshots of what Geektool can do
__________________
27" iMac 3.4GHz 27" Thunderbolt 15" MBP | 2.66GHz
si77hay is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2009, 08:26 AM   #78
VSMacOne
macrumors 68030
 
VSMacOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by si77hay View Post
Try this guide. A 17 year old wrote it

Or this one is an absolute corker.

And have a look here for some inspiration! Snapshots of what Geektool can do
OK... you made me reconsider Oh boy today is going to be fun!!!!! I'll post my results later. Wish me luck!
__________________
iBelong to Jesus
VSMacOne is online now   0
Old Jan 15, 2009, 08:50 AM   #79
YMark
macrumors 6502a
 
YMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by VSMacOne View Post
Yeah, so until somebody puts together comprehensive a step by step guide on how to get things working right, instead of bits and pieces here and there, I'm not getting into this whole mess... I just installed Geektool and attempted a couple of commands, but no luck... I don't know if it's because it's so late, or what, but I'm giving up and saving it for another day...
so for now, i'll be a spectator haha..
This "tool" does take some time playing around with it to figure it out. Documentation is nonexistent. Personally, I think it's kind of cool, but isn't worth me spending the time to figure it out.
__________________
Mark
27" iMac, 11" Macbook Air, iPhone 5S (T-Mobile)
YMark is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2009, 09:43 AM   #80
VSMacOne
macrumors 68030
 
VSMacOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by si77hay View Post
Try this guide. A 17 year old wrote it

Or this one is an absolute corker.

And have a look here for some inspiration! Snapshots of what Geektool can do
Quote:
Originally Posted by YMark View Post
This "tool" does take some time playing around with it to figure it out. Documentation is nonexistent. Personally, I think it's kind of cool, but isn't worth me spending the time to figure it out.
The links provided just above are looking pretty good. I'm about to start messing with it a little bit... We'll see how it comes out
__________________
iBelong to Jesus
VSMacOne is online now   0
Old Jan 15, 2009, 06:17 PM   #81
sumskateborder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
I do not understand how to get the Weather Script working. I installed Lynx and it's in my Applications folder, and I did all the steps but it isn't showing up.
sumskateborder is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2009, 06:25 PM   #82
EV0LUTION
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumskateborder View Post
I do not understand how to get the Weather Script working. I installed Lynx and it's in my Applications folder, and I did all the steps but it isn't showing up.
try this:

Conditions:
Code:
lynx -dump http://printer.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=YOURZIPCODE|awk '/Cond/ && !/Fore/ {for (i=2; i<=10; i++) printf $i " " }'
Weather:
Code:
lynx -dump http://printer.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=33704|awk '/Temp/{printf $2, ": "; for (i=3; i<=3; i++) printf $i " " }' |awk '{print $1}'
__________________
My Portfolio: JonathanHLogan.com
My first MBP died when I tried to simulate the universe
EV0LUTION is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2009, 07:21 PM   #83
sumskateborder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by EV0LUTION View Post
try this:

Conditions:
Code:
lynx -dump http://printer.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=YOURZIPCODE|awk '/Cond/ && !/Fore/ {for (i=2; i<=10; i++) printf $i " " }'
Weather:
Code:
lynx -dump http://printer.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=33704|awk '/Temp/{printf $2, ": "; for (i=3; i<=3; i++) printf $i " " }' |awk '{print $1}'
Nothing is showing up.

Did I install Lynx wrong? In my applications folder it is still as lynx.command, do I have to do anything else to it?
sumskateborder is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2009, 07:39 PM   #84
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumskateborder View Post
Nothing is showing up.

Did I install Lynx wrong? In my applications folder it is still as lynx.command, do I have to do anything else to it?
Try launching Lynx and going to that website in the code.
If that doesn't work, its probably a problem with how you installed it.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2009, 10:18 PM   #85
si77hay
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Stirling
Send a message via Skype™ to si77hay
What happens if you launch Terminal and type "Lynx"?

I installed Lynx twice from websites/packages that turned out to be incorrect. I eventually got a good install of Lynx by installing from the Apple web site. Contained within the DMG is a 'README' RTF. Follow the instructions exactly.
__________________
27" iMac 3.4GHz 27" Thunderbolt 15" MBP | 2.66GHz
si77hay is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2009, 11:25 PM   #86
ill0gical0ne
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
With Lynx, it must actually be installed, unlike other applications, as it is run by the terminal. Simply launch the install.command (as an administrator, or a user that has sudo properties) that comes with the .dmg, type in your password, and it will install.
__________________
Mac Pro | 2x2.8 GHz Quad-Core Xeon | 3x2TB HDDs & 74GB WD Raptor HDD (Boot) | 10GB RAM
Macbook Pro 13" | 2.4 GHz C2D | 250GB HDD | 4GB RAM
iPod Touch | 32GB
iPad | 16GB
ill0gical0ne is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2009, 01:52 PM   #87
Mikey-
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England
Does anyone know where I can find a tutorial on how to put the date and time onto my desktop using GeekTool?
__________________
Aluminum iMac 20"
iPod Nano 16BG (4th Generation)

Mikey- is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2009, 03:00 PM   #88
ethical
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey- View Post
Does anyone know where I can find a tutorial on how to put the date and time onto my desktop using GeekTool?
Install GeekTool
Open it in the preferences window.
New > Shell
Paste in one of the codes posted on this website for whatever you want.
e.g. for the time paste in "date +%l:%M" minus the quotation marks
Hit enter, you will see it appear on your desktop.
Move the box around to wherever you like.
Go to Colours/Font and tweak the colour of the background/text and the font of the text to what you like best.
Make a new shell entry for each piece you want on your desktop. (date, time, month, day etc)
Hope this helps.
__________________
"MacRumors IRC....it's like a conversation gangbang." - Leareth
Join the fun
irc.krono.net, #macrumors
ethical is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2009, 11:15 PM   #89
tecknical
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
nothing special.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.jpg
Views:	3383
Size:	830.4 KB
ID:	153473  
__________________
17" MBP C2D 2.5 GHz 500GB HDD 4GB RAM
tecknical is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2009, 01:02 PM   #90
EV0LUTION
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by tecknical View Post
nothing special.
Very nice! I like the mix of colors.
__________________
My Portfolio: JonathanHLogan.com
My first MBP died when I tried to simulate the universe
EV0LUTION is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2009, 06:54 PM   #91
VSMacOne
macrumors 68030
 
VSMacOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tecknical View Post
nothing special.
This is a little off topic... But 2 questions for you.

What app did you use to take a snapshot of your desktop? It's very clear...

and how were you able to upload such a large picture to the thread? When I try to do it it tells me it has to be under a certain size...

Thanks.
__________________
iBelong to Jesus
VSMacOne is online now   0
Old Jan 18, 2009, 09:27 PM   #92
tecknical
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Cmd+Shift+3

it usually saves it as a .png which is way too big for this site, so i open it in photoshop and save it as a .jpg

hope that helps
__________________
17" MBP C2D 2.5 GHz 500GB HDD 4GB RAM
tecknical is offline   0
Old Jan 18, 2009, 10:07 PM   #93
VSMacOne
macrumors 68030
 
VSMacOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tecknical View Post
Cmd+Shift+3

it usually saves it as a .png which is way too big for this site, so i open it in photoshop and save it as a .jpg

hope that helps
i knew about that command but didn't know ab the .jpg tip.
i'll give it a shot. Thanks dude
__________________
iBelong to Jesus
VSMacOne is online now   0
Old Jan 19, 2009, 06:28 PM   #94
jonbravo77
macrumors 6502a
 
jonbravo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Not extremely exciting, but I like it. The wallpaper came with Crystal Clear app.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.jpg
Views:	1451
Size:	338.4 KB
ID:	153770  
jonbravo77 is offline   0
Old Jan 19, 2009, 08:35 PM   #95
tecknical
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
woa that's majorly trippy.
__________________
17" MBP C2D 2.5 GHz 500GB HDD 4GB RAM
tecknical is offline   0
Old Jan 19, 2009, 09:04 PM   #96
Ljohnson72
macrumors 6502a
 
Ljohnson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan/SoCal
Changed color and moved weather to bottom right corner..


cllicky

Thumb resize.
__________________
30" ACD; Mac Pro, 2.8GHz Twelve-Core, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 2TB
Retina Macbook Pro, 2.6GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB flash
16GB 3rd gen. iPad
32GB iPhone 4S
Ljohnson72 is offline   0
Old Jan 19, 2009, 10:43 PM   #97
MSTRKRFT
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
the apple link won't let me download lynx. Help Please.
MSTRKRFT is offline   0
Old Jan 19, 2009, 10:57 PM   #98
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
I've figured out how to put temp and conditions, but what is the command for wind and clouds? I'm confused
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   0
Old Jan 19, 2009, 11:55 PM   #99
hatehereyes
macrumors 6502a
 
hatehereyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca
Send a message via AIM to hatehereyes Send a message via MSN to hatehereyes
I've got all my scripts working right and everything. They show up on my desktop fine but whenever i open up geektools again to edit something i press enter and it just disappears.

does this happen to anyone else?
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate: Core i5 750@2.67ghz Overclocked to 3.50ghz 12gbram OCZ Agility 3 120gb
hatehereyes is offline   0
Old Jan 20, 2009, 01:39 PM   #100
ucsdmac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurd111 View Post
I really like this program.
Ditto on the link to the dock. Looks good. Thanks
__________________
Macbook Pro Penryn 2.4GHz 4GB
Retina Macbook Pro 2.4Ghz 8GB
iphone 5 16GB
ucsdmac is offline   0


Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery > UI Customization

Tags
background, desktop, geektool, time, wallpaper

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geektool: Help with GeekTool? codyd51 UI Customization 0 Dec 6, 2013 07:01 PM
Geektool bodhi9 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Apr 1, 2013 12:30 AM
Geektool: Your Geektool scripts (II) brenm666 UI Customization 10 Dec 5, 2012 10:55 AM
GeekTool Tander Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Dec 4, 2012 10:05 AM
Geektool on rMBP LeGacY X MacBook Pro 6 Jun 30, 2012 11:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC