Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 14, 2009, 07:38 AM   #126
Amethyst
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Reupload please !!
__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 8x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 07:42 AM   #127
bumble-bee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Share

Thx
bumble-bee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 08:11 AM   #128
alkar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
yes... and you need 4870 drivers you can find on netkas.org (but remove natit.kext, it's only needed for hackint0shes).
alkar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 08:14 AM   #129
iBug2
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Waiting for results. If PC cards are running without any issues, I'll cancel my order from Apple.
iBug2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 08:21 AM   #130
astrakan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Yes, I'm keeping a close eye on this too. I have a PC version 4870 that I'd like to see in my 2.8 octo. Not doen anything like this with ROMs before though. Hopefully some kind-hearted soul will post a step-by-step-for-newbies guide for us, once they've confirmed it all works?

Also, does the 2.8 octo have appropriate power connectors for the 4870?
astrakan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 08:22 AM   #131
pipomolo42
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I just tried it on my Sapphire HD4870 (the 1st gen one, based on ATI's ref design).

I flashed using freedos and the following command line :
Quote:
atiflash.exe -p -fs -fp 0 4870.rom
note : -fs and -fp are used to ignore SSID and P/N mismatches

And it works!

EFI driver is initialized correctly, (I don't have the leaked MacOSX drivers for this card, so I can't tell if this one works too), and bootcamp stil works (currently writing from GNU/Linux on my 2006 Mac Pro).

Only problem is : only one output is active, no dual-head, it seems (at least using ATI's linux driver)
pipomolo42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 08:49 AM   #132
peskaa
macrumors 68020
 
peskaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipomolo42 View Post
I just tried it on my Sapphire HD4870 (the 1st gen one, based on ATI's ref design).

I flashed using freedos and the following command line :

note : -fs and -fp are used to ignore SSID and P/N mismatches

And it works!

EFI driver is initialized correctly, (I don't have the leaked MacOSX drivers for this card, so I can't tell if this one works too), and bootcamp stil works (currently writing from GNU/Linux on my 2006 Mac Pro).

Only problem is : only one output is active, no dual-head, it seems (at least using ATI's linux driver)
Just to clarify, you only get single head mode in OS X as well?
__________________
rMBP 15"(2012) 2.3 i7 | 16GB | 256GB | 650M
iMac 27"(2011) 3.1 i5 | 8GB | 1TB | 6970M
DS211j 2x2TB
peskaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 08:49 AM   #133
iBug2
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipomolo42 View Post
I just tried it on my Sapphire HD4870 (the 1st gen one, based on ATI's ref design).

I flashed using freedos and the following command line :

note : -fs and -fp are used to ignore SSID and P/N mismatches

And it works!

EFI driver is initialized correctly, (I don't have the leaked MacOSX drivers for this card, so I can't tell if this one works too), and bootcamp stil works (currently writing from GNU/Linux on my 2006 Mac Pro).

Only problem is : only one output is active, no dual-head, it seems (at least using ATI's linux driver)
Can you test after you get the drivers if quartz/opengl accelerations work correctly?
iBug2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:06 AM   #134
netkas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
pipomolo42, I pmed u a link to osx 4870 drivers.
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:12 AM   #135
goin3d
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
netkas, are they the same ones from netkas.org?
goin3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:30 AM   #136
astrakan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
what is the link for the osx 4780 drivers please?
astrakan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:32 AM   #137
netkas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by goin3d View Post
netkas, are they the same ones from netkas.org?
yes, just remove natit kext after installing
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:34 AM   #138
pipomolo42
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Ok, I tested your driver, and it works fine.

So, it seems my first assumption was wrong : dual head DOES work in MacOS X, but analog output does not.

Here is a screenshot of system profiler with both a LCD display, plugged in as DVI, and a TV, plugged in as DVI using the HDMI to DVI adapter that was included in my ATI 4870 box, and both work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image 2.png
Views:	550
Size:	74.1 KB
ID:	162291  
pipomolo42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:36 AM   #139
grue
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipomolo42 View Post
Ok, I tested your driver, and it works fine.

So, it seems my first assumption was wrong : dual head DOES work in MacOS X, but analog output does not.

Here is a screenshot of system profiler with both a LCD display, plugged in as DVI, and a TV, plugged in as DVI using the HDMI to DVI adapter that was included in my ATI 4870 box, and both work.
Whoa whoa whoa. Are you confirming that a 2006/2007 Mac Pro can in fact run the 4870 with the reflash?
__________________
Powered by rage and bitterness, the cleanest of all energy.
grue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:37 AM   #140
peskaa
macrumors 68020
 
peskaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipomolo42 View Post
Ok, I tested your driver, and it works fine.

So, it seems my first assumption was wrong : dual head DOES work in MacOS X, but analog output does not.

Here is a screenshot of system profiler with both a LCD display, plugged in as DVI, and a TV, plugged in as DVI using the HDMI to DVI adapter that was included in my ATI 4870 box, and both work.
Fantastic, means i can scrap my order for Apple's 4870 and use a far cheaper PC version.
__________________
rMBP 15"(2012) 2.3 i7 | 16GB | 256GB | 650M
iMac 27"(2011) 3.1 i5 | 8GB | 1TB | 6970M
DS211j 2x2TB
peskaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:39 AM   #141
grue
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by peskaa View Post
Fantastic, means i can scrap my order for Apple's 4870 and use a far cheaper PC version.
Of equal (if not more?) importance, it means those of us with 2006 and 2007 Mac Pros aren't getting totally hosed.
__________________
Powered by rage and bitterness, the cleanest of all energy.
grue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:40 AM   #142
grue
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
What I'm realllllllly curious about now is if the 1GB card will work or not.
__________________
Powered by rage and bitterness, the cleanest of all energy.
grue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:42 AM   #143
pipomolo42
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by grue View Post
Whoa whoa whoa. Are you confirming that a 2006/2007 Mac Pro can in fact run the 4870 with the reflash?
Well, I didn't run any benchmark yet. And a VGA output won't work. But otherwise, it looks OK.
pipomolo42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:43 AM   #144
Amethyst
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipomolo42 View Post
Ok, I tested your driver, and it works fine.

So, it seems my first assumption was wrong : dual head DOES work in MacOS X, but analog output does not.

Here is a screenshot of system profiler with both a LCD display, plugged in as DVI, and a TV, plugged in as DVI using the HDMI to DVI adapter that was included in my ATI 4870 box, and both work.
Great new, Tommorrow i will go to my local pc store and bought 4870.

ps. anybody with 4850, 4830 flash this rom please.
__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 8x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:43 AM   #145
grue
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipomolo42 View Post
Well, I didn't run any benchmark yet. And a VGA output won't work. But otherwise, it looks OK.
VGA's dead to me, so that's no big deal. Looks like I'll order one on Monday… hopefully by then someone will have tried with a 1GB card so we know if those work, too!
__________________
Powered by rage and bitterness, the cleanest of all energy.
grue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:45 AM   #146
netkas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipomolo42 View Post
Well, I didn't run any benchmark yet. And a VGA output won't work. But otherwise, it looks OK.
u can also try this -
open this rom in RBE and on clocks tab change all ram clocks to 900 (from 850), so your card will run at stock ram speed, not undeclocked
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:47 AM   #147
More
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
There's tons of manufacturers of 4870 cards out there. What's the best 3rd party PC card to buy for use in a 2008 mac pro?

I'm looking at http://www.overclockers.co.uk/produc...d=56&subid=939

Any opinions?
More is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:48 AM   #148
goin3d
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Forgive me for asking but how come we still need to dl the drivers? Does OS X not yet have stable 4870 drivers built in?
goin3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:48 AM   #149
Tastannin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cedar City, UT
Looks like Newegg has a "Weekend Special" on the Sapphire 1GB 4870, only $189 compared to the Sapphire 512MB 4870 which is $179. I'm really tempted to pull the trigger on this one! LOL.
__________________
Hoarder
Tastannin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 09:50 AM   #150
goin3d
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tastannin View Post
Looks like Newegg has a "Weekend Special" on the Sapphire 1GB 4870, only $189 compared to the Sapphire 512MB 4870 which is $179. I'm really tempted to pull the trigger on this one! LOL.
That's what i'm going with Figure i'll get the special now, and if it doesn't work i'll put it in a PC needing an upgrade.
goin3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[free] Space Dump Truck Race Game appsession iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 May 2, 2014 06:13 PM
Contacting members and dead links 4870 ROM npaisnel Mac Pro 2 Dec 8, 2013 05:32 AM
Need a Prototype dump Jaggions Wasteland 6 Dec 26, 2012 10:48 AM
Dump Rom rabidz7 MacBook Pro 0 Dec 19, 2012 09:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC