Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacRumors News Discussion (archive)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 2, 2004, 03:50 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Java 1.4.2 Released

Apple released Java 1.4.2 today:

Quote:
In addition to providing support for Sun's Java 1.4.2 APIs, this release includes enhancements to drawing performance and stability for both Java applications and Java applets.

Note : This installer will replace your current installation of Java 1.4.1.

For more details on this update, please visit: thtp://www.apple.com/java/
MacRumors is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 03:55 PM   #2
BillClinton
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
I'll Wait for everyone else to install before I commit to the leap

Last edited by arn; Feb 2, 2004 at 04:00 PM.
BillClinton is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 04:04 PM   #3
MasterMac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally posted by BillClinton
I'll Wait for everyone else to install before I commit to the leap
No problems for me... yet

Thank god for backups though
__________________
<insert signature here>
MasterMac is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 04:23 PM   #4
PGant
As Seen on TV (apple.com/switch)
 
PGant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
So far so good for me. I'm testing S1.2 on a forms page right now...
PGant is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 04:26 PM   #5
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Seems smoother for me. Java applications seem to start quite a bit more quickly. I'm interested in some of the JVM performance after it's been running quite a while.
bousozoku is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 04:39 PM   #6
iJed
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Sussex, UK
Nice to see Apple get up-to-date with Java again. Hopefully when Sun release Java 1.5 it won't take Apple as long to catch up as it did for 1.4. I'm really looking forward to some of the new language features in 1.5.
iJed is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 04:50 PM   #7
pianojoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: N 49.50121 E008.54558
Send a message via AIM to pianojoe
ThinkFree Office is broken on one of my machines. Maybe this helps.
pianojoe is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 05:06 PM   #8
celaurie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland.
Send a message via AIM to celaurie
Smooth as a baby's bum...

Internet Banking here we come!
__________________
To see tomorrow's PC, look at today's Macintosh.
- BYTE Magazine
celaurie is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 05:17 PM   #9
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally posted by pianojoe
ThinkFree Office is broken on one of my machines. Maybe this helps.
My ThinkFree Write hasn't worked since Panther but everything else is still working and started more quickly.
bousozoku is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 05:20 PM   #10
Spyky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Update messed up documentation

This update hammered the Java documentation. Now 1.4.1 J2SE documents are missing entirely and there is no 1.4.2 to replace them.

Argh

-Spyky

EDIT: found the "developer" version on ADC which includes all the documentation. <rant>It would have been nice if software update could have figured out that I had the documentation installed, so it should install again, instead of randomly overwriting the old docs. Or at least pop up a dialog so I could have selected.</rant>

Last edited by Spyky; Feb 3, 2004 at 09:00 AM.
Spyky is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 05:53 PM   #11
john123
macrumors 68000
 
john123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Breaks acqlite, which when you start up asks for Java 1.4.1 and doesn't realize you have a later version installed.
john123 is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 05:54 PM   #12
Stella
macrumors 603
 
Stella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Looks like a good update.

Torque now generates code when there are > 40 tables in your schema without throwing exceptions.

torque wouldn't work with Java 1.3 and 1.4.x until now! :->
__________________
Hardware / Software: The right tools for the job - be it Apple or otherwise.
Stella is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 05:54 PM   #13
dabeatles
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Send a message via AIM to dabeatles
JBoss

JBoss 1.0.1 also appeared when I ran it on Server 10.3.2. It updates JBoss to function with Java 1.4.2. So far, it's running with no problems...
dabeatles is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 07:43 PM   #14
pgh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
For those of us who installed JBoss via the Developer CD , you can fix it to work with Java 1.4.2 by editing:
/Library/JBoss/3.2/bin/run.conf

Alter the JAVA environment variable to:
JAVA=/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.4.2/Home/bin/java
pgh is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 07:51 PM   #15
cplim
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Does anyone know if Eclipse v3.0 M5/M6 still works with this update? I've updated the JavaVM to v1.4.2 on my Windows box (I know, I know , and Eclipse hasn't worked properly since. Bit hesitant to update and break my development environment at the moment. Any feedback will be most welcome!
cplim is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 08:08 PM   #16
geerlingguy
macrumors 6502a
 
geerlingguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The Midwest, USA
Send a message via ICQ to geerlingguy
I've noticed a lot of internet applets working MUCH better (and MUCH faster ) after this update. Good job Apple!
__________________
Midwestern Mac, LLC | Life is a Prayer.com
MacBook Air 11" + iPad + iPhone + Apple TV
geerlingguy is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 08:10 PM   #17
cng3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
yahoo games

I tried playing the java hearts game at games.yahoo.com but the text is illegible. anyone else with this problem?
cng3 is offline   0
Old Feb 2, 2004, 09:49 PM   #18
gregorypierce
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
There are a variety of assorted bugs that made it into the update unfortunately. Maybe there will be a service release that will fix them up. This puppy was not 100% ready for prime time.
gregorypierce is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2004, 04:22 AM   #19
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Re: yahoo games

Quote:
Originally posted by cng3
I tried playing the java hearts game at games.yahoo.com but the text is illegible. anyone else with this problem?
Just tried it, same problem.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2004, 05:03 AM   #20
Curmudgeony
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Send a message via ICQ to Curmudgeony Send a message via Yahoo to Curmudgeony
Just attempted to play a game on Yahoo called "Rocket Mania". A notice states that the game cannot be played on UN*X or Macintosh computers. However...doesn't seem to be a problem playing it except for the fact that I don't have sound.

Also, no problems with text when running "Hearts". Everything looks and plays well, including sound -- aside from the fact that I'm lousy at the game.

Last edited by Curmudgeony; Feb 3, 2004 at 05:25 AM.
Curmudgeony is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2004, 08:03 AM   #21
vanmonkey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Send a message via AIM to vanmonkey Send a message via Yahoo to vanmonkey
Anybody Try Yahoo Chess yet?
I know last time there was a jav update I couldn't read anything on the game. People whould chat with me and all I saw were boxes with "X"'s in them!
I'm a chess geek, and I won't install this update if I can't pay it anymore!
vanmonkey is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2004, 10:02 AM   #22
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
I don't even bother with Yahoo! games since they don't usually work right on non-Windows systems. Try http://www.gamehouse.com/ The games always seem fine.
bousozoku is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2004, 02:01 PM   #23
vanmonkey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Send a message via AIM to vanmonkey Send a message via Yahoo to vanmonkey
Yeah, but there's no chess at gamehouse!
vanmonkey is offline   0
Old Feb 3, 2004, 05:14 PM   #24
fortgreen1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fortgreen brooklyn ny
xslt processor strange in java1.4.2??

after installing, 1.4.2
my java site generator started having problems.
I generate site in the terminal using that java site builder thing.


I am guessing that now I have different version of xslt processor installed?
It seems that this version does not like the attribute names that starts with numbers,, in xsl,

so I can't parse
<xsl:template name="3d_Anim">

but i can do
<xsl:template name="THREE_D_Anim">
...
am I right???
or is there other way to fix this???
thanks
fortgreen1 is offline   0
Old Feb 4, 2004, 12:18 PM   #25
Omad0n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Gamehouse is cool. but I'm looking to fix yahoo so I can play Go from home.
__________________
Curious about a mans hunt for love? Come check out my blog Steveabroad.wordpress.com Updated twice weekly.
Omad0n is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacRumors News Discussion (archive)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java 6 or Java 7 for OSX Mavericks for your Macbook Pro? Starfyre MacBook Pro 3 Dec 22, 2013 03:49 PM
Java 6.x security risk (?) vs Java 7.x and broken apps w/ v7.x installs? mgiamo Mac Basics and Help 1 Dec 15, 2013 03:48 PM
Java SE 8 Developer Preview released by Oracle wrldwzrd89 Current Events 0 Sep 13, 2013 12:10 PM
Chrome on OS X -- Java plugin / Java 7 vs Java 6 Issue booyahbooyah Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 May 31, 2013 09:13 AM
Installed Java 7.07 but doesn't show up in Java preferences? -mattias- OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 21 Aug 31, 2012 04:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC