Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:56 AM   #1
Wicked1
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
What is the Default Settings you use when encoding Movies

I struggle with which one is best since I have Apple TV1 and TV2's. So far I have used Handbrake to Encode via ATV1 settings and it works well for large and smaller tv's but what is everyone else doing.
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:40 AM   #2
BigAudio
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked1 View Post
I struggle with which one is best since I have Apple TV1 and TV2's. So far I have used Handbrake to Encode via ATV1 settings and it works well for large and smaller tv's but what is everyone else doing.
If you use the ATV2 Preset, it will lock up you atv 1. So use atv1 preset for now. You can change the resolution settings to a max of 1280X720, but the atv 1 usually stutters a bit at the beginning of the movie. My advice. Retire the ATV 1, and get a new ATV3. Airplay, netflix, and way more capable of playing large files. Yes, you lose the hard drive, and analog outputs, but there are ways around the output problems, and the benefits of a hard drive dont outweigh the negatives of the slowness, and heat generated (not to mention power consumed) by the old ATV1 ..

IMO.
BigAudio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:41 AM   #3
dgalvan123
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I encode for ATV3 pre-set for everything. I own two ATV2's, but expect to upgrade to ATV3's at some point and don't want to have to re-encode to get the best quality.
dgalvan123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:38 PM   #4
designs216
macrumors 65816
 
designs216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Down the rabbit hole
Quote:
Originally Posted by wicked1 View Post
i struggle with which one is best since i have apple tv1 and tv2's. So far i have used handbrake to encode via atv1 settings and it works well for large and smaller tv's but what is everyone else doing.
atv3
designs216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:41 PM   #5
Wicked1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
I know, I have ATV and ATV2, just that my ATV is in perfect condition and use it when I go away, but it is time to cut the cord and just go ATV2 all around, however selling my 2011 Mini put a damper on the streaming part, so now I will have to by a new Base Mini from 2012
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Encoding Movies Jack Tripper iPad 4 Oct 31, 2013 11:50 PM
Encoding settings for Apple TV (Gen 2 & 3) andboom Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Dec 30, 2012 11:16 PM
Settings for ripping/encoding 7th Gen Nano videos? Errk! iPod 1 Oct 19, 2012 08:26 AM
changing default mail app text encoding patent10021 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 1 Oct 2, 2012 08:13 PM
Encoding DVD Movies Major.Robto iMac 0 Jul 1, 2012 12:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC