Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2012, 06:29 PM   #1
TarHeelBlue
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Getting an iPhone 5 in Spain, please help!

I'm from the states and I'm tired of my iPhone 3G.

I have read that most places in Europe won't have 4g or even 4 glte...

So if I am planning to stay here, the iPhone surely would be faster than my old 3G right?

Thanks,

I'm considering going with movistar
TarHeelBlue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 06:45 PM   #2
LoloBond
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by TarHeelBlue View Post
I'm from the states and I'm tired of my iPhone 3G.

I have read that most places in Europe won't have 4g or even 4 glte...

So if I am planning to stay here, the iPhone surely would be faster than my old 3G right?

Thanks,

I'm considering going with movistar
it will blow you 3g away...
LoloBond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 03:18 AM   #3
TarHeelBlue
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoloBond View Post
it will blow you 3g away...
Lol it has to be able to! I can barely snap photos or surf the web with the 3G. But that thing has been a tank for me. I'm gonna keep it as a jail broken phone...

Which leads me to my final question: by buying it from movistar, which frequency would I be buying it from and if I ever brought it back to USA

Would it work with the 4g or 4g lte ?


Thanks
TarHeelBlue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 03:29 AM   #4
iDutchman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by TarHeelBlue View Post
Lol it has to be able to! I can barely snap photos or surf the web with the 3G. But that thing has been a tank for me. I'm gonna keep it as a jail broken phone...

Which leads me to my final question: by buying it from movistar, which frequency would I be buying it from and if I ever brought it back to USA

Would it work with the 4g or 4g lte ?


Thanks
I'm currently residing in Spain for a few months as well (although I'm Dutch). I bought an iPhone 5 on launch day in an Apple Store. The iPhones sold in Spain, or in most European countries, are factory unlocked models.

Why? Because, although not advertised and important here, the Iphones 5's sold in Europe are the GSM/CDMA (International Version) versions.

Only the Verizon iPhone model sold in the states and Japan is the phone that's truly a world phone supporting all frequencies.

The European iPhone 5 (International GSM version) supports more frequencies that the AT&T model and will therefore work everywhere for calling and 3G. But for 4G/LTE, it works on the Verizon network but I'm not sure about AT&T. AT&T uses specific channels not used elsewhere..


Bottomline: iPhone 5 bought in EU/Spain will work all around the world and will have 3G everywhere. But 4G/LTE only on the Verizon network in the states (AT&T I have my doubts).

Most iPhones in Europe all sold unlocked. (purchased with or without carrier)
__________________
13" rMBP - 27" iMac - Iphone 6+ (and all others..)

Last edited by iDutchman; Nov 5, 2012 at 04:51 AM.
iDutchman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 04:35 AM   #5
propalitet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDutchman View Post
All iPhones in Europe all sold unlocked. (purchased with or without carrier)
Not everywhere in europe, if you buy from a carrier in some countries they will be locked.
propalitet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 04:44 AM   #6
rogerbarrett
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Goto Apple official website and check the specs and features of iPhone 5.
__________________
Iphone Spy
rogerbarrett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 04:46 AM   #7
iDutchman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by propalitet View Post
Not everywhere in europe, if you buy from a carrier in some countries they will be locked.
And that's why I can answer this question for Spain (or France, Italy, UK, Holland, Germany).

See picture.

A1428 = AT&T Model.
A1429 CDMA = Verizon Model
A1429 GSM = International Model.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Schermafbeelding 2012-11-05 om 10.52.21 AM.png
Views:	21
Size:	65.6 KB
ID:	375129  
__________________
13" rMBP - 27" iMac - Iphone 6+ (and all others..)

Last edited by iDutchman; Nov 5, 2012 at 04:54 AM.
iDutchman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 07:00 AM   #8
propalitet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Not sure what you mean by that, it's a screenshot from specs, frequencies to be exact. Nothing about lock status. Anyways, if bought from t-mobile, it will be locked to t-mobile. Same for 3 UK, and others.
But yes, A1429 CDMA and A1429 have same european LTE and GSM frequencies.

Anyways, back on topic, if you look here: http://ltemaps.org/
it seems that movistar doesn't have lte, here more : http://www.totaltele.com/view.aspx?ID=467479

But, iPhone 3g supports only 3.6 Mbps HSDPA, while iPhone 5 supports 42Mbps HSPA+, which movistar seems to have : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_HSPA%2B_networks

So yes, you should see big speed increase with iPhone 5.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by TarHeelBlue View Post
Lol it has to be able to! I can barely snap photos or surf the web with the 3G. But that thing has been a tank for me. I'm gonna keep it as a jail broken phone...

Which leads me to my final question: by buying it from movistar, which frequency would I be buying it from and if I ever brought it back to USA

Would it work with the 4g or 4g lte ?


Thanks
It won't work with verizon or AT&T LTE, they use different bands, european supports only 1,3,5.
Here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks
But you can use it on t-mobile and AT&T, with hspa+
propalitet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 06:30 PM   #9
TarHeelBlue
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
So the best thing to do, is to get a Verizon phone and bring it and use it in Spain? Just in case one day I go back to the states?

Thanks
TarHeelBlue is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I buy iPhone 5s Verizon and I am from Spain. ylly77 iPhone 3 Dec 3, 2013 07:21 AM
If I bought an iPhone 5 in Spain, could I.... JackSpearo iPhone 6 Nov 27, 2012 05:18 PM
How much does the iPhone 5 cost unlocked in Spain? Ramius iPhone 2 Sep 30, 2012 11:40 AM
Question re iPhone in Spain segovius iPhone 2 Sep 15, 2012 09:55 AM
iPhone: iPhone 4S 16gb Black IMEI Blocked in Spain Japanx Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Sep 1, 2012 04:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC