Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 2, 2013, 06:59 AM   #1
bp1000
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
3G software bug or network fault?

Hi all

Recently i've been having an annoying 3G bug on my iphone 5.

At home 3G is good, coverage fine, but 2 miles down the road it is a service black spot, no coverage at all, not even 2G.

When i return from this no service blackspot i get my signal back but no 3G data and no 3G symbol. Toggling airplane mode / mobile date / mobile networks makes no difference, i have to reboot my phone to get 3G back.

I have tried resetting network settings and also a hard reset right after the issue has happened. It happens every time and frustratingly i have to drive through the black spot and even when going back into an area i know has good 3G coverage i have to reboot my phone!

Is this an iphone problem or a network problem?

My last resort is to set up the phone as a new phone but i'm not sure if it's worth going through the hassle.

thanks
__________________
#applechat
bp1000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 07:26 AM   #2
jonasdamn
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bp1000 View Post
Hi all

Recently i've been having an annoying 3G bug on my iphone 5.

At home 3G is good, coverage fine, but 2 miles down the road it is a service black spot, no coverage at all, not even 2G.

When i return from this no service blackspot i get my signal back but no 3G data and no 3G symbol. Toggling airplane mode / mobile date / mobile networks makes no difference, i have to reboot my phone to get 3G back.

I have tried resetting network settings and also a hard reset right after the issue has happened. It happens every time and frustratingly i have to drive through the black spot and even when going back into an area i know has good 3G coverage i have to reboot my phone!

Is this an iphone problem or a network problem?

My last resort is to set up the phone as a new phone but i'm not sure if it's worth going through the hassle.

thanks
I had not officially supported by Apple carrier on my iPhone 5, had a lot of issue. Went to official carrier- issues disappeared. So mostly it is your carrier problem
jonasdamn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 08:21 AM   #3
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgabimbam View Post
I had not officially supported by Apple carrier on my iPhone 5, had a lot of issue. Went to official carrier- issues disappeared. So mostly it is your carrier problem
I read this 6 times and it still doesn't make sense. Are you telling him it's carrier related or OS related. You contradict yourself.
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 09:37 AM   #4
jonasdamn
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dictoresno View Post
I read this 6 times and it still doesn't make sense. Are you telling him it's carrier related or OS related. You contradict yourself.
emmm where i have mentioned anything about OS? o.O
jonasdamn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 09:50 AM   #5
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgabimbam View Post
emmm where i have mentioned anything about OS? o.O
Don't give me the googly eyes, your post made no sense whatsoever. And around here, when people talk about something being "not official carrier" or whatever, it makes it sound like its a non carrier supported OS.....which is what your jumbled words sound like you meant. I don't know what an unofficial or official carrier is, and I'm sure no one else does. You need to do a little better with your explanation if you want to convey your ideas better. Use good translate if necessary.

The best I got from your post was that you were using iOS 7 and ran into problems so you reverted back to iOS 6 which fixed it.
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 11:58 AM   #6
ValerieDurden
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bp1000 View Post
Hi all

Recently i've been having an annoying 3G bug on my iphone 5.

At home 3G is good, coverage fine, but 2 miles down the road it is a service black spot, no coverage at all, not even 2G.

When i return from this no service blackspot i get my signal back but no 3G data and no 3G symbol. Toggling airplane mode / mobile date / mobile networks makes no difference, i have to reboot my phone to get 3G back.

I have tried resetting network settings and also a hard reset right after the issue has happened. It happens every time and frustratingly i have to drive through the black spot and even when going back into an area i know has good 3G coverage i have to reboot my phone!

Is this an iphone problem or a network problem?

My last resort is to set up the phone as a new phone but i'm not sure if it's worth going through the hassle.

thanks
What service do you have? it's most likely a carrier issue and not the phone.
__________________
Nexus 5 Kitkat 4.4.4 [Sprint]
ValerieDurden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 12:15 PM   #7
jonasdamn
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dictoresno View Post
Don't give me the googly eyes, your post made no sense whatsoever. And around here, when people talk about something being "not official carrier" or whatever, it makes it sound like its a non carrier supported OS.....which is what your jumbled words sound like you meant. I don't know what an unofficial or official carrier is, and I'm sure no one else does. You need to do a little better with your explanation if you want to convey your ideas better. Use good translate if necessary.
wtf dude. If you didnt hear about unofficial carriers for iPhones then read here:
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1937
In my country there is three carriers and only one is officially supported by Apple.
Furthermore, ofcourse you can use iPhone with unofficial carrier but you may have issues with cellular data or with some features.
Quote:
The best I got from your post was that you were using iOS 7 and ran into problems so you reverted back to iOS 6 which fixed it.
Are you stupid?
/Ignore
jonasdamn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 12:35 PM   #8
bp1000
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValerieDurden View Post
What service do you have? it's most likely a carrier issue and not the phone.
I use Three (3) in the UK

It is an official iPhone carrier.

I am also thinking it is more likely to be a network issue... but just posting here to see if anyone else has had this problem.
__________________
#applechat
bp1000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 02:34 PM   #9
bp1000
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
So the problem is both the network and the phone, but less the phone

Same problem happened on my 4s this afternoon. However airplane toggle cleared the issue and i got 3G back.

Wish the iphone5 did this. It must have different cell software or some type of memory.
bp1000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 06:37 PM   #10
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgabimbam View Post
wtf dude. If you didnt hear about unofficial carriers for iPhones then read here:
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1937
In my country there is three carriers and only one is officially supported by Apple.
Furthermore, ofcourse you can use iPhone with unofficial carrier but you may have issues with cellular data or with some features.

Are you stupid?
/Ignore
yes im stupid, because my posts contain the same horrible grammar and spelling yours did, making it impossible for people to understand what youre talking about.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 6, 128GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 10:36 PM   #11
viperGTS
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dictoresno View Post
I read this 6 times and it still doesn't make sense. Are you telling him it's carrier related or OS related. You contradict yourself.
Made sense to me. He had an unofficial carrier, moved to an officially supported one, and his signal issues disappeared. Where did you even get "OS related" from?
viperGTS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 11:16 PM   #12
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by viperGTS View Post
Made sense to me. He had an unofficial carrier, moved to an officially supported one, and his signal issues disappeared. Where did you even get "OS related" from?
when he said official carrier, i thought he meant official carrier OS, ios 6.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 6, 128GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen issue or Software Bug mattonthemoon MacBook Pro 3 Apr 18, 2014 06:34 AM
Network Settings Bug daxiel22 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 6 Nov 26, 2013 06:59 AM
Software update bug. Apple store couldn't help! Jerrremiiah Mac Basics and Help 15 May 7, 2013 06:49 AM
Is this a hardware fail or software bug? jonsa MacBook Pro 3 Mar 21, 2013 06:03 AM
Bug or feature in newest apple tv software? D-Back Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Aug 13, 2012 05:10 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC