Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 20, 2013, 05:00 AM   #1
Adam1988
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Having problems with my Master Name and Password

Hello everyone,

i have been having alot of problems with my "MASTER NAME AND PASSWORD"
under Groups>Accounts>left task pane shows the "ADMINISTRATOR and Guests Accounts" under the my picture back then use to say ADMIN since i wanted to change the name of the ADMIN. I clicked under the Admin account (ME) and "RIGHT CLICKED IT" and it showed me "ADVANCED SETTINGS" So i clicked it and changed where it said "NAME" and changed my name under the one that is Currently showed in the image below "Nestor Gonzalez" now everytime i want to actually give permission to a software installation it gives me an error because the "NAME IS WRONG NOT THE PASSWORD"
This is really frustrating me because under the left task pane where it shows the images of the accounts it doesnt say ADMIN anymore it says STANDARD.

I am sorry i barely have 2 years with an iMac and i do not know how to make it go back to the "DEFAULT SETTINGS without loosing my DATA."

(IMAC LATE 2010) (SNOW LEOPARD 10.6.8) 500gigs HDD, 4gigs Ram

Thanks so much for your time any moderator i am greatly appreciated with all this hard effort and time you give to people

God Bless!

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot 1.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	112.7 KB
ID:	403486   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot 2.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	127.4 KB
ID:	403487   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot 3.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	127.1 KB
ID:	403488  


Last edited by Adam1988; Mar 20, 2013 at 05:25 AM.
Adam1988 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 03:40 PM   #2
techound1
macrumors 68000
 
techound1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
This is why the "advanced options" comes with the scary warning that making changes can potentially damage the account.

This should help you create an admin account and then restore admin privileges to your current account: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1278
techound1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 02:53 AM   #3
Adam1988
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by techound1 View Post
This is why the "advanced options" comes with the scary warning that making changes can potentially damage the account.

This should help you create an admin account and then restore admin privileges to your current account: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1278
Well the problem here is that my imac is with the OSX Snow leopard i dont have leopard its snow leopard so im looking for utilities but it doesnt appear i went to applications and then utilities but that directory ur talking about i dont see it anywhere
Adam1988 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 06:25 AM   #4
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Try following the steps here to change your account from standard back to admin.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 02:06 AM   #5
Adam1988
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Try following the steps here to change your account from standard back to admin.
Will it help if i make a back up of everything and than save it to my external HDD and then restore back to default settings like it says and then fix the Username and Password? Will it work like that? please guys i really need to install softwares for my school college classes and im going nuts with this stupid master password is effin killing me =,[
Adam1988 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 04:36 AM   #6
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam1988 View Post
Will it help if i make a back up of everything and than save it to my external HDD and then restore back to default settings like it says and then fix the Username and Password? Will it work like that? please guys i really need to install softwares for my school college classes and im going nuts with this stupid master password is effin killing me =,[
You should be able to just run the commands in the article I linked without moving anything to the external drive. Just do it with everything in place.

You should backup first just to be safe.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 01:11 PM   #7
Adam1988
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
You should be able to just run the commands in the article I linked without moving anything to the external drive. Just do it with everything in place.

You should backup first just to be safe.
Well lets say i make all those things in the time capsule and make my back ups but the thing that im super super scared of is actually opening the imac honestly i really want to do all this things but i really realllyyyyy dont want to... Btw i dont have rams but i do have external drives one tb maybe thats fine but is it fine if i just manage all this without opening the rams and stuff? Right now im in (standard mode) im not in administrator mode i want to go back to administrator mode but i cant recall my name neither password

So is it fune fine if i just do everything without the opening and exchanging the rams? :S

Weaselboy i really thank u for ur help it is truthful indeed helping me alot
Adam1988 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 01:47 PM   #8
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam1988 View Post
Well lets say i make all those things in the time capsule and make my back ups but the thing that im super super scared of is actually opening the imac honestly i really want to do all this things but i really realllyyyyy dont want to... Btw i dont have rams but i do have external drives one tb maybe thats fine but is it fine if i just manage all this without opening the rams and stuff? Right now im in (standard mode) im not in administrator mode i want to go back to administrator mode but i cant recall my name neither password

So is it fune fine if i just do everything without the opening and exchanging the rams? :S

Weaselboy i really thank u for ur help it is truthful indeed helping me alot
Open Terminal app and type in "ls /Users" (without the quotes) and that will show Shared and then your user name.

I'm not clear what you mean by removing RAM. You don't need to do anything with your RAM to fix this. I think what you may have read about is removing RAM on older Macs to reset the firmware password, and that is not the same thing as the user password we are dealing with here.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 01:57 PM   #9
Adam1988
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Open Terminal app and type in "ls /Users" (without the quotes) and that will show Shared and then your user name.

I'm not clear what you mean by removing RAM. You don't need to do anything with your RAM to fix this. I think what you may have read about is removing RAM on older Macs to reset the firmware password, and that is not the same thing as the user password we are dealing with here.

Omg so if im on snow leopard idont have to go on SUM mode? And not remove the rams its cause there a link about that... So all this can be done without doing the rams? All this can be done by the terminal or by the cmd + S on the startup screen? WOW OMG IF THATS THE CASE ILL DO IT IN NO TIME!!! I was completely scared to open the imac late 2010 (snow leopard 10.6.8) and remove the rams and change them for the amount idk but i just follow the steps without removing anything? I just follow the steps without removing the rams right? THANK U!!! Ill give it a try and if it works ill post the suffix as resolved and i would completely reply and say it worked

Thank u so much!! Lemme guve it a try!
Adam1988 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 01:35 AM   #10
Adam1988
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Open Terminal app and type in "ls /Users" (without the quotes) and that will show Shared and then your user name.

I'm not clear what you mean by removing RAM. You don't need to do anything with your RAM to fix this. I think what you may have read about is removing RAM on older Macs to reset the firmware password, and that is not the same thing as the user password we are dealing with here.
Hey weaselb

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Open Terminal app and type in "ls /Users" (without the quotes) and that will show Shared and then your user name.

I'm not clear what you mean by removing RAM. You don't need to do anything with your RAM to fix this. I think what you may have read about is removing RAM on older Macs to reset the firmware password, and that is not the same thing as the user password we are dealing with here.
Hey weaselboy i did everything and it says im in SUM MODE but the bad thing is that, on the black screen i get the SUM locked mode so i think i have to actually upgrade to lion? Or do i need to take out the rams like it says in the tutorial? oh heres some pictures btw
Adam1988 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 11:24 AM   #11
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam1988 View Post
Hey weaselboy i did everything and it says im in SUM MODE but the bad thing is that, on the black screen i get the SUM locked mode so i think i have to actually upgrade to lion? Or do i need to take out the rams like it says in the tutorial? oh heres some pictures btw
Do not try to take the RAM out. That is for the firmware password, and has nothing to do with your issue.

I don't know what else to tell you to get that account sorted out.

At this point, I think the best thing for you to do is get an external drive and manually move any documents/files you want to keep to that drive, then erase your entire internal drive and reinstall Snow Leopard if you have the install DVD. Then setup a new admin account afterward and manually move your data back.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 03:17 PM   #12
Adam1988
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Do not try to take the RAM out. That is for the firmware password, and has nothing to do with your issue.

I don't know what else to tell you to get that account sorted out.

At this point, I think the best thing for you to do is get an external drive and manually move any documents/files you want to keep to that drive, then erase your entire internal drive and reinstall Snow Leopard if you have the install DVD. Then setup a new admin account afterward and manually move your data back.
Well thank you weaselboy this really helped me alone idk why it said i was locked in sum mode but well i did it all and nothing worked maybe i suck and not good in the terminal but i know my plist was missing and i couldnt run it but anyways im gonna do a full back up upgrade to lion, then upgrade to mountain lion than make the restore thank you ^^
Adam1988 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 03:20 PM   #13
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam1988 View Post
Well thank you weaselboy this really helped me alone idk why it said i was locked in sum mode but well i did it all and nothing worked maybe i suck and not good in the terminal but i know my plist was missing and i couldnt run it but anyways im gonna do a full back up upgrade to lion, then upgrade to mountain lion than make the restore thank you ^^
You can go straight from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion without installing Lion first.

Last edited by Weaselboy; Mar 28, 2013 at 03:29 PM. Reason: typo... sorry
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 03:22 PM   #14
Adam1988
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
You can go straight from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion with installing Lion first.
So in this case i just install lion instead of snow leopard?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
You can go straight from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion with installing Lion first.
Or u meant without installing lion first? Cause i believe it says lion first? Im confused sorry :S
Adam1988 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 03:30 PM   #15
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam1988 View Post
So in this case i just install lion instead of snow leopard?

----------



Or u meant without installing lion first? Cause i believe it says lion first? Im confused sorry :S
I am so sorry... I meant to type without installing Lion. You can go straight from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 03:35 PM   #16
Adam1988
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
I am so sorry... I meant to type without installing Lion. You can go straight from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion.
Woooh omg are you serious? Yaaaay than i shall do that this afternoon cant wait thank you thank you!!! >____<
Adam1988 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! server password problems Alpaca21 MacBook Pro 3 Feb 27, 2014 09:19 AM
Time Capsule password problems MacDuster Mac Peripherals 6 Dec 20, 2013 06:18 AM
Problems with 10.8 password and memory geta OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Jul 24, 2013 05:51 PM
Master Password Reset dubina Mac Pro 2 May 16, 2013 07:48 AM
password & keychain problems Franny4321 Mac Basics and Help 0 Dec 10, 2012 04:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC