Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 20, 2012, 04:33 PM   #1
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
5770 ROM Version HELP!

I have two ATI 5770's that are stock Apple cards.

Both are from new Mac Pro's but they are both on different ROM revisions?!?!

One is on 113-C0160C-180

and the other 113-C0160C-155

How can I update the ROM? I doubt it matters much but for reasons of completeness and crossfire under Windows I'd like matching cards.
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 05:23 PM   #2
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Don't think it matters.

Probably a small revision.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 05:27 PM   #3
All Taken
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Does anyone have any info on this? As said, I don't care if it's a tiny revision, i'd like matching cards.
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 05:33 PM   #4
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Did you try CrossFire? If it works, then does it matter?

Seems like it's pretty much the same, but a small revision.

Also I'm sure there's a way to inject the ROM, but aren't you worried about the possible downsides of messing up the card ?
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 05:50 PM   #5
All Taken
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
Did you try CrossFire? If it works, then does it matter?

Seems like it's pretty much the same, but a small revision.

Also I'm sure there's a way to inject the ROM, but aren't you worried about the possible downsides of messing up the card ?
Crossfire has issues with the latest drivers, I have tried the older 10.XX version and it works to a degree. Now I know crossfire is not a sure thing on a Mac Pro but the revision not matching is something that I'd like to get sorted if anyone knows. Anyway of copying the ROM from the latest revision card in my machine and flashing it to the second card?
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 01:06 PM   #6
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by All Taken View Post
Anyway of copying the ROM from the latest revision card in my machine and flashing it to the second card?
The easiest way is to run ATI Winflash Utility under Windows. That's how I saved the original rom and later reflashed the EFI version to a Radeon 6870 card. Just click the save button to save the rom file, then load it and click program button to flash.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC