Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2012, 10:04 PM   #1
TheDrizzle-0
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Im getting grayed out audio. No Sound :(

hey guys I just recently did a clean reinstall of Lion and I just got my Swan M10 speakers today. My problem is that I connected the speakers to my late 2008 alum. macbook and im not getting any audio! I tried the "sudo killall coreaudiod" in terminal and no go. There was another post on macrumors some where to mess with the Audio MIDI Setup and change the output to something like 32-bit but mines only goes to 24-bit integer. Can anybody help? Kinda bummed that this would happen when I get the M10's
TheDrizzle-0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 10:12 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Check System Preferences > Sound > Output or OPTION/Alt click the sound/volume icon in the Menu Bar and tell us, what is listed as Output Device.

__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 10:14 PM   #3
TheDrizzle-0
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
when I do that it says its on Digital Output and thats the only option I get
TheDrizzle-0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 10:19 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDrizzle-0 View Post
when I do that it says its on Digital Output and thats the only option I get
Remove the 3.5 mm plug you use to connect the speakers to the Mac from the Mac's audio out port, and see, if there is a red light. If so, repeatedly plug and unplug the 3.5 mm connector until the light goes away, as the red light is the indicator of the digital, optical audio out being enabled, and sometimes it just gets stuck.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 10:46 PM   #5
TheDrizzle-0
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Remove the 3.5 mm plug you use to connect the speakers to the Mac from the Mac's audio out port, and see, if there is a red light. If so, repeatedly plug and unplug the 3.5 mm connector until the light goes away, as the red light is the indicator of the digital, optical audio out being enabled, and sometimes it just gets stuck.
ok I mustve unplugged and replugged the 3.5 mm plug a hundred times and its still not working

----------

IDK if this helps but when I plug my iphone the 2 speakers a sub woofer all put out music when I put the speakers in through my macbook only 2 speakers ouput music

the red light is on right now but I still get now audio

Last edited by TheDrizzle-0; Jan 5, 2012 at 10:56 PM.
TheDrizzle-0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2012, 04:04 AM   #6
TheDrizzle-0
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
took it to the apple store and they said I have to get the logic board replaced :S
TheDrizzle-0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 07:11 PM   #7
imm22
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Remove the 3.5 mm plug you use to connect the speakers to the Mac from the Mac's audio out port, and see, if there is a red light. If so, repeatedly plug and unplug the 3.5 mm connector until the light goes away, as the red light is the indicator of the digital, optical audio out being enabled, and sometimes it just gets stuck.
That worked for me
__________________
MBP (late 2008)-2.53GHz/4Gb/320Gb Iphone 3GS - 16Gb
imm22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 01:52 AM   #8
bwhli
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDrizzle-0 View Post
took it to the apple store and they said I have to get the logic board replaced :S
Weird! This exact thing happened to my friend today. He also has to get his logic board replaced.
bwhli is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone Stuck In Dock Mode - No sound from speakers t0264 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Mar 14, 2012 12:55 AM
LOGITECH X-530 5.1 Speaker System - no sound + (look for full info) polo3400 iMac 8 Dec 25, 2010 12:15 PM
Build/Compile gets grayed out eddyq Mac Programming 2 Aug 7, 2009 02:46 PM
Brand new MBP - line in audio no sound! (but meter works) - HELP please NickM MacBook Pro 16 Mar 3, 2009 03:23 PM
Dont knwo if im getting most out of my Geforce 4 8thDegreeSavage Mac Help/Tips 1 Oct 2, 2002 06:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC