Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2013, 03:07 PM   #1
mseth
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quad Monitor Setup with GTX 670 / GT 120 on a Mac Pro 4,1?

Hi Folks,

Right now I am using a single 27" 2560x1440 display and moving back to smaller but multiple monitors. I am wondering if my current (see sig) Mac Pro 4,1 with the GTX 670 (ZOTAC) and GT 120 will be able to handle 4 x 1080p displays. I will be using the 4 x 24" monitors in portrait mode until I can get a stand for a 2 X 2 configuration. The monitors support DVI only. I will be using them for multitasking and media work.

I have:
- GTX 670 (2x DVI-D, 1x HDMI, 1x DP)
- GT 120 (1x DVI-D, 1x MDP)
- Will buy MDP -> DVI or DP -> DVI adapter if needed
- NOT WILLING TO BUY ANOTHER GRAPHIC CARD.

Will I be able to drive the 4 displays from which one of these 3 configurations?

CONFIGURATION 1


CONFIGURATION 2


CONFIGURATION 3
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15" - Core i7 2.3GHz - 8GB DDR3 - GT650M - 256GB SSD

Last edited by mseth; Mar 10, 2013 at 04:28 PM.
mseth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:12 PM   #2
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Any of those configurations would work, and my suggestion would be to try config 2 if at all possible (i.e. drive everything from the GTX 670). Config 1 would be the second best choice, followed by config 3.
Asgorath is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:14 PM   #3
mseth
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Any of those configurations would work, and my suggestion would be to try config 2 if at all possible (i.e. drive everything from the GTX 670). Config 1 would be the second best choice, followed by config 3.
Nice! Thanks for the reply. I have put the order in for the displays. I'll definitely try driving everything from the GTX 670. I know the 670 is capable of running 4 monitors (or 3 if they are 3D) in Windows with Nvidia Surround but haven't found any information that can prove they work in OS X. I will put in an order for the DP -> DVI, HDMI -> DVI and a MDP -> DVI for testing.

If they can be driven off the single card, then I might be able to do a bit of gaming with the GTX 670. Otherwise, the 670 is a bit overkill for productivity and media work. I might downgrade to 2 X APPLE GT120 cards (or 2X 5770) a few months from now.

Do you know if it makes a difference if it is DVI or DVI-D? The monitors say they use DVI-D.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15" - Core i7 2.3GHz - 8GB DDR3 - GT650M - 256GB SSD

Last edited by mseth; Mar 10, 2013 at 06:20 PM.
mseth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:33 PM   #4
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
People have definitely confirmed that the Kepler cards can drive 4 displays under OS X using the NVIDIA driver for 10.8.2.

DVI-D means digital only, i.e. you can't drive an analog display from that connector:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface

In your case, that won't matter and DVI-D is just fine since you're driving a digital display.
Asgorath is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:35 PM   #5
mseth
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
People have definitely confirmed that the Kepler cards can drive 4 displays under OS X using the NVIDIA driver for 10.8.2.

DVI-D means digital only, i.e. you can't drive an analog display from that connector:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface

In your case, that won't matter and DVI-D is just fine since you're driving a digital display.
Good to hear that it might work. I assume these would be sufficient.

__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15" - Core i7 2.3GHz - 8GB DDR3 - GT650M - 256GB SSD
mseth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:54 PM   #6
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Yep, those all look fine. Good luck!
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 04:40 PM   #7
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
see vendor information in user profile
Why the 2 different DP to DVI adapters.

Remember that DP has a standard single link dvi feed as part of it's "legacy" component. This is merely passed through via a passive adapter. Only if you need to drive a DVI display beyond 1920x1200 do you need the Dual Link Active one.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 04:47 PM   #8
mseth
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Why the 2 different DP to DVI adapters.

Remember that DP has a standard single link dvi feed as part of it's "legacy" component. This is merely passed through via a passive adapter. Only if you need to drive a DVI display beyond 1920x1200 do you need the Dual Link Active one.
When I tried to order, the active MDP - DVI adapter went out of stock so I just got the passive MDP -> DVI adapter. The other one is a full size display port -> DVI adapter because I would like to try all the configurations.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15" - Core i7 2.3GHz - 8GB DDR3 - GT650M - 256GB SSD
mseth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 11:35 AM   #9
mseth
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
So I got the displays and have three of them running currently in portrait mode. The issue is that the display connected to the GT120 is not working, get a BLACK SCREEN WITH CURSOR. Only works when it is in landscape. Googled it and found out that a lot of people seem to have this issue.

They are connected like this at the moment:
GTX 670: DISPLAY LEFT / DISPLAY CENTER (DVI)
GT120: DISPLAY RIGHT

I have tried to connect the RIGHT display via MDP->VGA but still the same thing. I downloaded the Nvidia driver for Mac and that made things worse (graphical bugs and broken UI), so I uninstalled it.

I just can't seem to get the display connected to the GT120 to work in portrait. I am still waiting on getting the adapters so I can use the RIGHT and FAR LEFT display connected to the GTX670.

Any help appreciated.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15" - Core i7 2.3GHz - 8GB DDR3 - GT650M - 256GB SSD
mseth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 08:37 AM   #10
mseth
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
UPDATE:

Removed the GT120 and have two monitors connected to the GTX670 in portrait via DVI. Works just fine. As for the other two displays, I ordered a HDMI->DVI and a DP->DVI cable. Will test once I receive them.

Driven off the singe GTX670 in the system.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15" - Core i7 2.3GHz - 8GB DDR3 - GT650M - 256GB SSD
mseth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2013, 03:52 PM   #11
mseth
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Got the cables. Works just fine, 4 displays are being driven off the single GTX670.

__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 15" - Core i7 2.3GHz - 8GB DDR3 - GT650M - 256GB SSD
mseth is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Tags
gt 120, gtx 670, mac pro, non-efi, quad monitor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC