Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 11, 2013, 12:07 AM   #1
Rustin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Redding Ca.
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Rustin
Things I should know before building a MacPro.

Hi I have already posted my introductory tread Mac User from Redding CA!

This thread is about building a new "MacPro," and not buying it new from "Apple."
  1. Is it possible to do it right?
  2. Can I install The latest MacOSX on it and recieve updates from Apple?
  3. Is finding a 2011 or new mother board difficult?
  4. Is there any savings in building one?

I'm hear to learn and I want to be sent to the right direction for parts and the process.
__________________
I own an Early 2011 MacBook-Pro 15 inch with a 500 GB HD, 4 GB of RAM.
I have gone through 4 brand new MacBook Pros in two years!
Rustin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 12:10 AM   #2
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Not worth it

Hi,

By the time you purchase all the parts you will have exceeded the price of a new Mac Pro from Apple. Remember, Apple parts are NOT cheap.. You are best served by buying either a refurbished Mac Pro or a new one, refurb is the way to go if you want somewhat less expensive.

The only Mac Pro which will cost you under 1000 is the 1,1 or possibly 2,1 Mac Pro, but those are over 6 years old and the newer ones 3,1 4,1 and 5,1 all run the latest OS Mountain Lion.
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 12:11 AM   #3
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
You don't built a MacPro, you buy them, or do you mean a Hackintosh, if so the wrong thread.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 12:30 AM   #4
Rustin
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Redding Ca.
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Rustin
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
Hi,

By the time you purchase all the parts you will have exceeded the price of a new Mac Pro from Apple. Remember, Apple parts are NOT cheap.. You are best served by buying either a refurbished Mac Pro or a new one, refurb is the way to go if you want somewhat less expensive.

The only Mac Pro which will cost you under 1000 is the 1,1 or possibly 2,1 Mac Pro, but those are over 6 years old and the newer ones 3,1 4,1 and 5,1 all run the latest OS Mountain Lion.
Ah, OK, Thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
You don't built a MacPro, you buy them, or do you mean a Hackintosh, if so the wrong thread.
No, I'm in the right thread, But thanks to "PPCMacMan" I might be headed in the Hackintosh area. I just don't want to spend a few hours searching!
__________________
I own an Early 2011 MacBook-Pro 15 inch with a 500 GB HD, 4 GB of RAM.
I have gone through 4 brand new MacBook Pros in two years!
Rustin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 12:55 AM   #5
Rustin
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Redding Ca.
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Rustin
How about a link to the Hackintosh area? For some reason I can't find it.
__________________
I own an Early 2011 MacBook-Pro 15 inch with a 500 GB HD, 4 GB of RAM.
I have gone through 4 brand new MacBook Pros in two years!
Rustin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 01:13 AM   #6
7thson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Six Rivers, CA
I found this link some time back, here on MR I believe. It should address your questions.

http://lifehacker.com/5841604/the-al...g-a-hackintosh
7thson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 01:18 AM   #7
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustin View Post
How about a link to the Hackintosh area? For some reason I can't find it.
Should have said wrong site, There's not much here on MR about Hackintosh.
It's easy to find with google, can't say here.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 02:53 AM   #8
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
Surely there'd be 2nd-hand parts on eBay etc for putting together a Mac Pro? Surely? A chassis from a 2009+ model, power supply (or a bigger one?)? Just need a working logic board and CPU daughter card.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 02:56 AM   #9
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustin View Post
How about a link to the Hackintosh area? For some reason I can't find it.
Have you tried the following Hackintosh specific fora and websites yet?
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 05:35 PM   #10
Rustin
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Redding Ca.
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Rustin
Wow!

Thanks for the wealth of information everyone! I will look into this.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottrichardson View Post
Surely there'd be 2nd-hand parts on eBay etc for putting together a Mac Pro? Surely? A chassis from a 2009+ model, power supply (or a bigger one?)? Just need a working logic board and CPU daughter card.
I thought there was, but I have yet to find anything of value. Chassis yes I can find them, Logic boards that are not considered obsolete, the findings are very slim.
__________________
I own an Early 2011 MacBook-Pro 15 inch with a 500 GB HD, 4 GB of RAM.
I have gone through 4 brand new MacBook Pros in two years!
Rustin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 09:03 PM   #11
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Do a search for Tonymacosx86 - There you will find out how to build your franken mac

Snow Leopard runs really great on my Gateway P-7805U FX, and so does Lion with the exception of a few things which I already have alternatives for.. but for some reason ML won't run.

But for my purposes, Snow runs great.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustin View Post
How about a link to the Hackintosh area? For some reason I can't find it.
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 09:09 PM   #12
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottrichardson View Post
Surely there'd be 2nd-hand parts on eBay etc for putting together a Mac Pro? Surely? A chassis from a 2009+ model, power supply (or a bigger one?)? Just need a working logic board and CPU daughter card.
What would be the point? It wouldn't necessarily be cheaper than buying one outright. I don't think you would find a chassis only. You might find one that is not working and sold for parts. A logic board would set you back quite a lot. It's probably a better idea just purchasing a working unit and making upgrades if they are required.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 03:34 AM   #13
fiatlux
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
If you are looking for a Mac Pro at a budget, a good option is to buy a used Mac Pro 4,1. They are virtually identical to the latest 5,1 models, and can be upgraded to 5,1 firmware (see netkas forum), after which you can also upgrade its CPU(s) to W36* or X56* models.

By buying a 4,1 model and possibly upgrading its CPU, you could get a single sixe core Xeon W3680 machine for about 1500$, a dual quad for 1500-2000$ depending on the speed.

You will have a hard time building a better or faster hackintosh for less money (a very high-end case alone can cost a lot of money), but of course the above machine is a second hand one, without warranty.

Note that you can not currently build a Xeon-based hackintosh that is fully compatible with Mac OS X. The highest-end hackintoshs that are fully compatible, including power management, are based on a Core i7 3770k, a quad core desktop CPU. It is overclockable, which means that you can get a lot of power for your money, but it won't match the 12 cores Mac Pro or the 16 cores workstations that would theretically be possible with the latest Xeon CPUs.
__________________
TV1; MacBook3,1; MacPro4,1->5,1; MacMini4,1; 2009 AEBS; 1GB iPod shuffle; 80 GB iPod Classic; 16 GB iPhone 4s; 64GB 3G iPad
fiatlux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 03:44 AM   #14
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
As PowerPCMacMan pointed out it is actually more expensive to buy parts and assemble a MacPro then it is to buy used (and even new where applicable) units. I price this out myself every 18 months or so when I'm bored.

Then of course you may end up like the guy here about a year or so ago who bought all the parts to spec, assembled everything, and it didn't work. I think he spent a whole month racking his brain and asking questions here before he gave up and put the parts back up on e-bay one by one. LOL
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 08:01 AM   #15
comatory
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiatlux View Post
Note that you can not currently build a Xeon-based hackintosh that is fully compatible with Mac OS X. The highest-end hackintoshs that are fully compatible, including power management, are based on a Core i7 3770k, a quad core desktop CPU.
Just one note, you can get extreme edition of Core processor that has six cores. See this video series on YT:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwaW6HR9dw4
comatory is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 03:52 PM   #16
fiatlux
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by comatory View Post
Just one note, you can get extreme edition of Core processor that has six cores. See this video series on YT:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwaW6HR9dw4
Afaik, 6 cores i7 processors use the same socket as entry-level xeons, and need the type of motherboards that are not fully supported.
__________________
TV1; MacBook3,1; MacPro4,1->5,1; MacMini4,1; 2009 AEBS; 1GB iPod shuffle; 80 GB iPod Classic; 16 GB iPhone 4s; 64GB 3G iPad
fiatlux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 09:20 PM   #17
Dnix
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
I once wanted to build my own Mac Pro, with original parts sourced from various places. What a loony idea that was, looking back...
Dnix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 03:20 AM   #18
comatory
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiatlux View Post
Afaik, 6 cores i7 processors use the same socket as entry-level xeons, and need the type of motherboards that are not fully supported.
Oh yeah, that's true. Didnt realize it at the moment.
comatory is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 08:23 PM   #19
Rustin
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Redding Ca.
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Rustin
I want to thank everybody for their input to this thread! I have learned quite a bit. Right now I need to work on my lead foot at the traffic light. My California turns are getting me into trouble with those "d@*&" traffic Cameras!
__________________
I own an Early 2011 MacBook-Pro 15 inch with a 500 GB HD, 4 GB of RAM.
I have gone through 4 brand new MacBook Pros in two years!
Rustin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a superfast TB2 RAM-DAS for MacPro tobcar Mac Pro 2 Jan 12, 2014 02:33 AM
Apple wants me to trade in my macpro 6-core 2010 for a quad new macpro? compute Mac Pro 25 Dec 22, 2013 06:53 AM
MacMini, MacPro 3.2GHz or wait for new MacPro? ddjohns1 Mac Pro 18 Sep 23, 2013 06:53 PM
Can I put the video card from my G5 MacPro in my newer (late2010) MacPro? Antifragile Mac Pro 7 Aug 16, 2013 04:32 PM
Build a 16 core Hakintosh, upgrade a previous MacPro or reluctantly buy new MacPro??? Jaylongeee Mac Pro 24 Jul 13, 2012 02:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC