Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 24, 2013, 02:07 PM   #51
thanoulas
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyharry50 View Post
Is it your intention that the reviews are primarily a place to review how the game performs with Barrel/Wine? Is that an appropriate place to list added steps for trouble free installation? I wasn't sure if they were meant to review the game itself or how the game runs with Barrel.
Well, the reviews should show the general experience the user had playing the game on his Mac. So I wouldn't expect to see a good review if the game had 5 FPS, but if a game performed well, it would make sense that a user would rate it 5 stars and comment on what a good game it was, if you understand what I mean. Both are acceptable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyharry50 View Post
I'll hold off on a review (do those upload yet?) until I hear from you about the best way to communicate the info I'm talking about here for other users.
Yes, they do upload fine. There is just no interface for showing them yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyharry50 View Post
I did upload the wrapper. I keep forgetting the term you use for them! I'll remember eventually... Creating the account and doing that worked fine. I noticed some options there but I don't see how to get back to them now. It seems like once you upload the option to do so and the rest that goes with it disappears? I forget now what options I saw there with the login. Maybe they only apply when there doing that?
"Recipes", as the wrapper is not actually uploaded anywhere. Just information on how you made it run. You can go to the preferences by going to the application's menu at the top and clicking "Barrel > Preferences"

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
The only thing I had to do before running it, it was to install via winetricks the dx9. Which brings me to my question: The game's installer offered the option to install dx9 included in the game media, but I didn't check it during install. Do you recommend (generally) to choose the dx9 bundled in the game's media or is it better to skip it and install it via winetricks ?
Thanks a lot! You should generally avoid installing the native windows directx libraries, if possible. A game will generally perform better with wine's internal .dll's if they successfully work. Of course, if the game doesn't work with wine's libraries, you should then try native ones.
thanoulas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 08:10 PM   #52
CylonGlitch
macrumors 68030
 
CylonGlitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanoulas View Post
System specs? Any chance you have an ATI graphics card?
MacBook Pro
15-inch, Mid 2010
2.4 GHz Intel Core i5
8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M

Odd thing is that the cut scene which is rendered with the game engine, worked beautifully.

Update : Also tried it with TF2 and that played kinda poorly as well. About 80% of the normal OSX TF2.
__________________
Last edited by CylonGlitch : Tomorrow at 37:05 AM.
MRoogle

Last edited by CylonGlitch; Aug 24, 2013 at 08:20 PM.
CylonGlitch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 09:18 PM   #53
thanoulas
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by CylonGlitch View Post
MacBook Pro
15-inch, Mid 2010
2.4 GHz Intel Core i5
8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M

Odd thing is that the cut scene which is rendered with the game engine, worked beautifully.

Update : Also tried it with TF2 and that played kinda poorly as well. About 80% of the normal OSX TF2.
Unfortunately, our graphics cards (I've got the same mbp) are not exactly cut-out for gaming. Just make sure you don't install directx during the installation. If you don't have a choice and the game automatically installs this for you, go to Advanced Settings > Winetricks > Settings, select alldlls=builtin and run winetricks, and take it from there. And, do lower your graphics settings, wine's 3d performance is normally lower than either native windows or native mac applications
thanoulas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2013, 12:26 PM   #54
CylonGlitch
macrumors 68030
 
CylonGlitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanoulas View Post
Unfortunately, our graphics cards (I've got the same mbp) are not exactly cut-out for gaming. Just make sure you don't install directx during the installation. If you don't have a choice and the game automatically installs this for you, go to Advanced Settings > Winetricks > Settings, select alldlls=builtin and run winetricks, and take it from there. And, do lower your graphics settings, wine's 3d performance is normally lower than either native windows or native mac applications
Tried that and now it starts to launch and then gives me a quick white screen and back to Steam. Yes, it did install direct-x, I'm sure of that. I'll look at WineHQ and see if I can figure out some settings to make it work.
__________________
Last edited by CylonGlitch : Tomorrow at 37:05 AM.
MRoogle
CylonGlitch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2013, 08:31 AM   #55
thanoulas
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Barrel updated

Barrel 0.9 Beta 6 is now available! With Wineskin/Cider/Native support! Put all your games in one place!

New Features:
  • Your games are no longer organised in genres. They were dropped in favour of multiple bundle type support! Which means...
  • Barrel now supports Wineskin, Cider and Native bundles! All your games in one place!
  • The new bundle types also have their own icons in the sidebar now!
  • Launch the Wineskin config tool from within Barrel
  • You can now change the active Wine engine in a bundle!
  • NOTICE!!!! Please close and restart Barrel after the update! It is important so that your library is properly converted!
Bugfixes:
  • Fixed a bug that would cause Barrel to stay unresponsive when cancelling an import and starting a new one
  • Fixed a bug that wouldn't allow the Wine engines to be cached locally
  • Fixed a conflict on macs that also had OpenEmu installed
  • Other minor bugfixes and speed impovements
thanoulas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 12:41 PM   #56
Paulyboy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Is there a way to get a game working with Barrel without the installation executable? I have a few games already installed on my computer in Wine wrappers that no longer work and thought I could get them to work again with Barrel. Could I remove the games from their respective wrappers and then just use them with Barrel somehow?

Great app by the way and keep up the good work!

-PN
__________________
27" iMac I7 (late 2013), 3.2 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB, Mac OS 10.9.2
iPad 3 64GB WiFi/iPhone 4S 32GB
Paulyboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 12:55 PM   #57
thanoulas
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
What kind of wrappers are they? I plan on adding support to convert wineskin wrappers to Barrel.

You could also try creating an empty wrapper, then moving the game's directory inside Barrel's program files. Then point the executable to the game's executable and give it a try!
thanoulas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 01:12 PM   #58
Paulyboy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanoulas View Post
What kind of wrappers are they? I plan on adding support to convert wineskin wrappers to Barrel.

You could also try creating an empty wrapper, then moving the game's directory inside Barrel's program files. Then point the executable to the game's executable and give it a try!
I think they are Wineskin wrappers. I will give that a try when I get a chance and report back here. Thanks.

-PN
__________________
27" iMac I7 (late 2013), 3.2 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB, Mac OS 10.9.2
iPad 3 64GB WiFi/iPhone 4S 32GB
Paulyboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 09:43 AM   #59
atarria
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
about RIFT in Barrel

The Rift's hardware detector meets a fatal error.

It is possible to put Rift into Barrel but when it runs there is a graphics error asking for an update to the AMD driver. The screen remains black while music plays.

So close, but yet so far away.
atarria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2013, 04:56 AM   #60
thanoulas
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by atarria View Post
The Rift's hardware detector meets a fatal error.

It is possible to put Rift into Barrel but when it runs there is a graphics error asking for an update to the AMD driver. The screen remains black while music plays.

So close, but yet so far away.
As per wine's AppDb, (http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...sion&iId=22884) have you tried installing vcrun2008 and d3dx9 in winetricks?
thanoulas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2013, 08:18 AM   #61
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Can someone write an idiots guide to installing ps2 please.
Gav2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2013, 08:38 AM   #62
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav2k View Post
Can someone write an idiots guide to installing ps2 please.
For those of us who don't know, what's "ps2"? When I see that I think of Sony's PlayStation 2.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2013, 08:43 AM   #63
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrldwzrd89 View Post
For those of us who don't know, what's "ps2"? When I see that I think of Sony's PlayStation 2.
Planet side 2
Gav2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2013, 08:43 AM   #64
CylonGlitch
macrumors 68030
 
CylonGlitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrldwzrd89 View Post
For those of us who don't know, what's "ps2"? When I see that I think of Sony's PlayStation 2.
You mean it's not?
__________________
Last edited by CylonGlitch : Tomorrow at 37:05 AM.
MRoogle
CylonGlitch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2013, 05:23 AM   #65
Boobsandbacon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks for this app, hoping it will get better in due time. I'm just having problems installing games. When I install it either fails or it does install but nothing shows up. I'm on the latest version as of November 19th
Boobsandbacon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2013, 03:36 AM   #66
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
@ thanoulas:

Wow. This looks like a brilliant app. I look forward to trying it out soon and want to say thanks!!
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2013, 03:45 AM   #67
moondynejoe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boobsandbacon View Post
Thanks for this app, hoping it will get better in due time. I'm just having problems installing games. When I install it either fails or it does install but nothing shows up. I'm on the latest version as of November 19th
I am having a similar problem i installed raptor (from gog) and it seemed to go ok but nothing is showing up in the library. I also dragged and dropped a few native games but they dont show up either but hey went somewhere because they arent in my app folder anymore. Am i missing something obvious?

In any case this is a great idea and i am looking forward to seeing it elvolve.

Ps. I am using mavericks on a 27" imac with i7 and 680mx in case that info is useful.
moondynejoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2013, 07:04 AM   #68
Lord Hamsa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
I tried Barrel last night, but what I was trying to port in were GOG downloads, which really don't seem to fit the model of disk image or EXE, but rather a collection of installer files. Is there something else I should do, like maybe make an .ISO of the installer files before dropping it into Barrel?
Lord Hamsa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2013, 01:49 PM   #69
Lord Hamsa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Still no dice with GOG downloads (trying Neverwinter Nights as my test application) - I point Barrel to the installer .exe (with the .bin files in the same folder) and I get a message to the effect of no application files to install found.

Also, a second issue - I got a handful of PopCap games to install and run using the manual settings (specifically, using the NoFlicker engine) but when I copy the generated applications to my Applications folder, other accounts on the same machine see them, but they don't work when launched from those accounts. Maybe a permissions issue of some sort?
Lord Hamsa is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you use Wine/Cider/similar to play Windows games? Hackfix21 Mac and PC Games 63 Jun 30, 2014 02:56 PM
Spending on iOS and Google Play Games Now 4X Handheld Console Games MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 132 Jan 20, 2014 11:12 PM
Should I install boot camp so I can play windows games? ugr Mac and PC Games 19 May 10, 2013 10:05 AM
Can you play windows games with parallels? Cjshino MacBook Air 2 Dec 17, 2012 04:18 PM
How do i play Windows Games on a Mac? MacUserMichael MacBook Air 3 Jul 3, 2012 10:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC