Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 6, 2013, 10:22 PM   #26
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Just WOW. I'm not saying that I want that setup but it is extreme.

Last edited by brand; May 6, 2013 at 10:39 PM.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2013, 10:58 PM   #27
CaptainChunk
macrumors 68020
 
CaptainChunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
3 of those displays are Dell's. That sucks. Then again, Apple Display's kind of suck too. Not my cup of tea. Day trader wank-fest right there. Complete with the pony-tail.
Rather have 1 Eizo CG276. Or 2
Hah...well only graphics and design people really buy Eizos, let alone know what they are. To me, they're even a bit overkill for video editors because broadcast and film doesn't live in RGB land. A Blackmagic or AJA capture card running out to a calibrated broadcast monitor makes a lot more sense in those situations and you just don't need that level of accuracy at the GUI level.

To each their own, I guess.
__________________
MP 8x2.8GHz, 16GB RAM, flashed 8800GT; Early '08
15" MBP 2.6GHz, 4GB RAM; Early '08 (RIP)
13" MBP 2.3GHz, 8GB RAM; Early '11
CaptainChunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2013, 11:23 PM   #28
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
Just WOW. I'm not saying that I want that setup but it is extreme.
I could go for 5x3... that Quake one is using 8x3. But I would only want to if/when LCDs become available without border flanges. I almost think a projector might be better tho - dunno, never tried to game on a decent projector. <shrug>
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2013, 11:40 PM   #29
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainChunk View Post
Hah...well only graphics and design people really buy Eizos, let alone know what they are. To me, they're even a bit overkill for video editors because broadcast and film doesn't live in RGB land. A Blackmagic or AJA capture card running out to a calibrated broadcast monitor makes a lot more sense in those situations and you just don't need that level of accuracy at the GUI level.

To each their own, I guess.
Yeah. If you are going to do it. Do it. Auto calibration and A-TW polarizers for VA like black depths should be looked at for film people as well. Super fast switching times to boot.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 12:03 AM   #30
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainChunk View Post
Hah...well only graphics and design people really buy Eizos, let alone know what they are. To me, they're even a bit overkill for video editors because broadcast and film doesn't live in RGB land. A Blackmagic or AJA capture card running out to a calibrated broadcast monitor makes a lot more sense in those situations and you just don't need that level of accuracy at the GUI level.

To each their own, I guess.
Perhaps add in a waveform deck.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2013, 02:52 AM   #31
CaptainChunk
macrumors 68020
 
CaptainChunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
Perhaps add in a waveform deck.
Indeed.
__________________
MP 8x2.8GHz, 16GB RAM, flashed 8800GT; Early '08
15" MBP 2.6GHz, 4GB RAM; Early '08 (RIP)
13" MBP 2.3GHz, 8GB RAM; Early '11
CaptainChunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 04:53 PM   #32
maclover69
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Thought you guys would like it. I thought it was amazing.

Rest of his room is pretty nice too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9hnayr3-1p4
maclover69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display Setup on Mac Pro jakesaunders27 Mac Pro 2 Feb 19, 2014 10:21 AM
What's my Mac Pro setup worth? comatory Buying Tips and Advice 1 Feb 13, 2014 04:41 AM
My New Homebuilt PC + Mac setup (inspired by the New Mac Pro) slughead Community Discussion 28 Nov 9, 2013 03:39 PM
Photography Setup: Retina MacBook Pro vs. 2013 Mac Pro Blue Hour Buying Tips and Advice 13 Oct 28, 2013 08:24 AM
Mac Pro RAID setup gmehje Mac Pro 1 Sep 4, 2012 11:37 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC