Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 10, 2012, 10:57 AM   #101
antster94
macrumors 6502a
 
antster94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, UK
I just acquired it for free. Lol at $2k software.
__________________
- Apple MacBook Pro 15" Retina.
- Apple iPhone 5 64GB.

antster94 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 11:05 AM   #102
dbit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Can anyone answer my question? Minimum RAM is listed as 4gigs. In a more detailed program breakdown I saw that certain apps have different minimum ram requirements, such as After Effects being 4gigs. Does this mean if I want to use it on the go with my old MBP that only supports 3 gigs I'm out of luck?
dbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 11:19 AM   #103
Digital Skunk
macrumors 604
 
Digital Skunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my imagination
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbit View Post
Can anyone answer my question? Minimum RAM is listed as 4gigs. In a more detailed program breakdown I saw that certain apps have different minimum ram requirements, such as After Effects being 4gigs. Does this mean if I want to use it on the go with my old MBP that only supports 3 gigs I'm out of luck?
You'll be okay, but your performance will certainly lag. Since AE is going to want to use at least 4GBs, and you only have 3GBs available and your OS and any other apps are going to be using some, AE won't be anywhere near as smooth as you want it to be.

Certain apps may not run, or will flash a warning before it fully loads.
__________________
What do I have?, stuff that I actually use for work! Some old, some new, all effective.
Digital Skunk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2012, 03:45 AM   #104
GaryMumford
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbit View Post
Can anyone answer my question? Minimum RAM is listed as 4gigs. In a more detailed program breakdown I saw that certain apps have different minimum ram requirements, such as After Effects being 4gigs. Does this mean if I want to use it on the go with my old MBP that only supports 3 gigs I'm out of luck?
I'm running CS6 on an 2007 iMac that also has a maximum of 3gig Ram and it's running fine so far. The performance is not as good as my MacPro at work of course but i've not had any warnings, crashes or problems at all. But i have not even tried AE as I never use it. DW PS AI ID are all OK so far.
GaryMumford is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 10:27 AM   #105
sweetie81
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Send a message via MSN to sweetie81
Yes get as much memory as possible. 8Gb at least. I use Lightroom and Photoshop at the same time with 4GB and it runs out of steam. That being said Photoshop has standard memory size allocated to itself.

I could go down but need some speed and memory performance in order to juggle with multiple layers etc.
sweetie81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe Announces New Creative Cloud Apps, Abandons Creative Suite MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 856 Mar 13, 2014 06:02 PM
Adobe Creative Suite vs Creative Cloud firedept Mac Applications and Mac App Store 8 May 31, 2013 09:03 AM
Adobe Drops Creative Suite, It's All In The Cloud cambookpro Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 3 May 6, 2013 12:51 PM
[Update] Adobe Creative Suite CS2 Premium for free on Adobe website. leez Design and Graphics 35 Apr 3, 2013 02:33 PM
SVG Kit for Adobe Creative suite AnastasiyaYaz Design and Graphics 1 Jan 18, 2013 03:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC