Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2013, 08:22 PM   #1
NMF
macrumors 6502a
 
NMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Can't use Time Machine with external HDD on a networked Mac?

I have several Macs in my house and am trying to set up the Mac mini as the centralized Time Machine location for all of them. I've assigned the Mini a static IP (from my router) and have disabled DHCP. Everything seems to work fine and I can connect to the shared drive with no issues.

Problem is, Time Machine won't work on it. I set the networked drive as the TM location and it never makes it past the "preparing backup" stage. I always get some error, either Error 60 or Error 16.

What's going on here? I've read many accounts online of people doing their TM backups this way. What am I doing wrong? Both machines are connected via Ethernet.
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2013) Mac mini (2011) OS X Server + Drobo 5D
AirPort Time Capsule (2013) iPhone 5 TV 3
NMF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 11:21 PM   #2
phoenixsan
macrumors 65816
 
phoenixsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Regarding to....

the error codes you are getting, maybe these links are helpful:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

http://pondini.org/TM/Troubleshooting.html

__________________
Mac Pro 2012 3.06 Westmere version, 12 Core 64 GB RAM, 4 TB , iPhone 5 (black), Moto G 8 GB (black)
phoenixsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 12:17 AM   #3
NMF
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
NMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I appreciate the response, but that's all pretty basic, common sense stuff. I also don't want to waste hours pouring over Apple Community threads and tinkering endlessly with stuff. If I wanted to do that I wouldn't be using Macs. This Time Machine stuff should "just work." I'm super pissed that it doesn't, to be honest.

I posted here hoping that someone else might have gone through this already and could tell me what to do. I've already spoken to AppleCare about it and they're completely useless. I've pretty much exhausted the amount of my time that I'm willing to give up to troubleshoot this. I really need someone to just tell me how to make it work.
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2013) Mac mini (2011) OS X Server + Drobo 5D
AirPort Time Capsule (2013) iPhone 5 TV 3
NMF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 09:30 AM   #4
adam9c1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Using a network drive as a TM is not officially supported by Apple.

If you directly attach a drive to your Mac Mini and run OS X Server on it, you can then set the server as a TM location for your clients.
The drive will have to be local to the Server machine.
adam9c1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 11:53 AM   #5
NMF
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
NMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam9c1 View Post
Using a network drive as a TM is not officially supported by Apple.

If you directly attach a drive to your Mac Mini and run OS X Server on it, you can then set the server as a TM location for your clients.
The drive will have to be local to the Server machine.
If it's not supported then why does it let me select a network drive as a TM disk? If I wasn't supposed to be doing it then Apple wouldn't let me do it. That's how they roll.

This is so frustrating.
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2013) Mac mini (2011) OS X Server + Drobo 5D
AirPort Time Capsule (2013) iPhone 5 TV 3
NMF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 12:46 PM   #6
adam9c1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicagoland
you can run TM on a Time Capsule
adam9c1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 01:11 PM   #7
NMF
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
NMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam9c1 View Post
you can run TM on a Time Capsule
I realize that. However, I already have a router. And a Mac Mini.
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2013) Mac mini (2011) OS X Server + Drobo 5D
AirPort Time Capsule (2013) iPhone 5 TV 3
NMF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 06:55 PM   #8
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
okay

Quote:
Originally Posted by NMF View Post
I appreciate the response, but that's all pretty basic, common sense stuff. I also don't want to waste hours pouring over Apple Community threads and tinkering endlessly with stuff. If I wanted to do that I wouldn't be using Macs. This Time Machine stuff should "just work." I'm super pissed that it doesn't, to be honest.

I posted here hoping that someone else might have gone through this already and could tell me what to do. I've already spoken to AppleCare about it and they're completely useless. I've pretty much exhausted the amount of my time that I'm willing to give up to troubleshoot this. I really need someone to just tell me how to make it work.
Hire a third-party tech to help you out.

Not to be a dick, but you're asking for help with a fairly complicated issue, and you've already said you're unwilling to do the work required to figure it out.

I've only seen Time Machine work with a networked drive (Airport Extreme with attached HD or Time Capsule) or directly attached via usb.

You're breaking new ground.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 08:30 PM   #9
NMF
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
NMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhurst View Post
You're breaking new ground.
It doesn't seem that way... there's a bunch of people in the Apple TV forum who talk about using Mac minis as iTunes servers and centralized Time Machine locations.

Anyway, screw Time Machine. Broken piece of junk. CarbonCopyCloner did a full backup up to a disk image on the remote drive in under 15 minutes. I couldn't believe how fast and easy it was. Apple clearly doesn't give a damn about Time Machine anymore.
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2013) Mac mini (2011) OS X Server + Drobo 5D
AirPort Time Capsule (2013) iPhone 5 TV 3
NMF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 11:46 PM   #10
jhiesey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
I use an external hard drive attached to an old Macbook Pro for time machine backups across the network and it works fine. I don't know why it isn't working for the OP, but it is certainly possible to get it to work.

And this IS an officially supported setup, as long as the server (the mac mini in the OP's case) is running OS X Server and you enable Time Machine Server. It's even listed on the OS X server features page: https://www.apple.com/osx/server/features/#time-machine

It is true that other network drives, except the Time Capsule, aren't officially supported though.
jhiesey is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 09:44 AM   #11
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhiesey View Post
I use an external hard drive attached to an old Macbook Pro for time machine backups across the network and it works fine. I don't know why it isn't working for the OP, but it is certainly possible to get it to work.

And this IS an officially supported setup, as long as the server (the mac mini in the OP's case) is running OS X Server and you enable Time Machine Server. It's even listed on the OS X server features page: https://www.apple.com/osx/server/features/#time-machine

It is true that other network drives, except the Time Capsule, aren't officially supported though.
Might be the issue. The OP doesn't mention that OS X Server is installed.

I do the samething with my 2010 Mac mini. I have OS X Server on it and TimeMachine enabled. Works flawlessly.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 11:38 AM   #12
NMF
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
NMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwhities View Post
Might be the issue. The OP doesn't mention that OS X Server is installed.

I do the samething with my 2010 Mac mini. I have OS X Server on it and TimeMachine enabled. Works flawlessly.
I do not currently have OS X Server installed, as I honestly don't understand what it is. It seems to be for businesses I guess? I want stuff like contacts, calendars (etc) to by synced to the cloud, not a home server. It also seems like OS X Server is broken and causes a bunch of problems... nearly all of the reviews are negative.

However, if it will fix my issue then I'll buy it, but I was under the impression that it only let you set the internal storage of the Mac mini as the Time Machine location. I would want the backups stored on an external hard drive connected via USB3. Also, can OS X Server be used like a regular computer as well? This Mac mini is acting as a home server but it's also used from time-to-time for email and web browsing.
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2013) Mac mini (2011) OS X Server + Drobo 5D
AirPort Time Capsule (2013) iPhone 5 TV 3
NMF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 11:49 AM   #13
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Attached is a screen shot of my backup using the Server.app.

The TimeMachine ON your system is to back up THAT system to a drive that's internal, external, or networked.

The TimeMachine in OS X Server is so that other systems can use that (your mac mini) as the backup device. You can setup your external USB3 or any other external drive (that's shared from the mac mini with OS X Server installed) as the share point and when you setup TimeMachine on a different system, you can use the external on your mac mini.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 11.41.14 AM.png
Views:	39
Size:	49.9 KB
ID:	402009  
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 02:46 PM   #14
AshMan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
I also think one answer here overlooked is the time machine share should not be mounted on the computer. Time machine will mount it as needed.

I have used time machine on a networked hard drive with no issues except when it was mounted as a shared drive first it would not work.

But I have never tried it not using osx server. But there are some ways to have it work by enabling support through terminal commands. Just not sure what They are. Used this method to do it once over ambient networked to a windows box with freenas in a virtual environment and it worked fine.
AshMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 03:12 PM   #15
NMF
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
NMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwhities View Post
Attached is a screen shot of my backup using the Server.app.
I bought OS X Server and set it up. Time Machine is working perfectly with it now. It still takes about 2x as long as CCC, but I suppose that is to be expected with real versioning. TM did the initial backup of my MBP (about 85 GB) in just under 40 minutes. That's what I'm talking about. With all the negative reviews and comments I don't dare mess with anything else in OS X Server, but at least Time Machine appears to be working as intended now.

Do I need to keep Server.app running on the Mac Mini at all times? Also, what happens if I have to restart the machine?
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2013) Mac mini (2011) OS X Server + Drobo 5D
AirPort Time Capsule (2013) iPhone 5 TV 3
NMF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 06:36 PM   #16
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Quote:
Originally Posted by NMF View Post
I bought OS X Server and set it up. Time Machine is working perfectly with it now. It still takes about 2x as long as CCC, but I suppose that is to be expected with real versioning. TM did the initial backup of my MBP (about 85 GB) in just under 40 minutes. That's what I'm talking about. With all the negative reviews and comments I don't dare mess with anything else in OS X Server, but at least Time Machine appears to be working as intended now.

Do I need to keep Server.app running on the Mac Mini at all times? Also, what happens if I have to restart the machine?
No, you can close the app. The Server runs in the background. When you restart, the Server service will restart.

Also, at home, I only use TimeMachine, DNS, File Sharing, and VPN. (Comcast business with statics.)
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 03:25 AM   #17
jhiesey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Good to see you got it working!

One last thing to note is that you should make sure that either your WiFi network has encryption/a password on, or that you encrypt the Time Machine backups by checking the box in Time Machine (or both).

Otherwise anyone nearby with a laptop can see all of your files as they are backed up. I inadvertently had my system set up like this for a little while when Lion didn't support encrypting network backups.
jhiesey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 12:18 PM   #18
NMF
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
NMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhiesey View Post
Good to see you got it working!

One last thing to note is that you should make sure that either your WiFi network has encryption/a password on, or that you encrypt the Time Machine backups by checking the box in Time Machine (or both).

Otherwise anyone nearby with a laptop can see all of your files as they are backed up. I inadvertently had my system set up like this for a little while when Lion didn't support encrypting network backups.
My WiFi network has a WPA2 password set up. Would that be enough?
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2013) Mac mini (2011) OS X Server + Drobo 5D
AirPort Time Capsule (2013) iPhone 5 TV 3
NMF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2013, 11:46 PM   #19
jhiesey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by NMF View Post
My WiFi network has a WPA2 password set up. Would that be enough?
That should be fine. (I know it's been a while since you asked...)
jhiesey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 07:26 PM   #20
mwalsh8
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhiesey View Post
That should be fine. (I know it's been a while since you asked...)
I use the same setup... A Mini Server with attached RAID box for network backups. It has worked flawlessly for years backing up 3 clients, and the server itself. Now i want to move the backups to a larger capacity RAID box to extend the backup set. How would i go about copying the data to the new drive. Apple mentions adding additional drives, but not moving existing data.
mwalsh8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 09:15 PM   #21
dimme
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SF, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwalsh8 View Post
I use the same setup... A Mini Server with attached RAID box for network backups. It has worked flawlessly for years backing up 3 clients, and the server itself. Now i want to move the backups to a larger capacity RAID box to extend the backup set. How would i go about copying the data to the new drive. Apple mentions adding additional drives, but not moving existing data.
I did it a while ago with superduper, worked great. Besure to turn off tim machine in the server app first. and clients.
__________________
dimme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 06:44 PM   #22
mwalsh8
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimme View Post
I did it a while ago with superduper, worked great. Besure to turn off tim machine in the server app first. and clients.
I have used both CCC (currently and forever) and SuperDuper (a while back). for cloning drives. CCC supports block level copying of TM drives due to hard links in the file structure. I tried it as a test but it was taking forever (I stopped it at about 20 hours, halfway thru the verify process). It reformatted the drive and reported failure.
mwalsh8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restore External HDD Time Machine backup to another External HDD Pistol Peto OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Jan 18, 2014 09:43 PM
Time Machine to Back UP Networked External HDD? Zipforia Mac Peripherals 2 Oct 27, 2013 03:37 PM
External HDD and Time Machine irDigital0l Mac Peripherals 9 Jul 13, 2013 08:28 PM
Use external HDD on Mac Pro for MacBook Time Machine backup over network? SSD-GUY MacBook Pro 6 Jan 9, 2013 10:58 PM
How do you format an external HDD for Mac, Time Machine & PC? Minxy Mac Basics and Help 3 Dec 11, 2012 02:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC