Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2013, 11:00 PM   #1
dexum175
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Want to buy Mac Pro but...

I want to buy a Mac Pro and so I've been looking at Apple's website, they have 3 types of Macs..

Quad-Core - One 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processor ($2,499)
Server - One 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processor ($2,999)
12-Core - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon processors ($3,799)


I think I'll buy either the Quad-Core or the Server,... BUT anyone know any big differences between the Quad-Core and the Server? What makes the Server Mac Pro a "server"? Now I'm kinda indecisive [not buying the 12-core due to it's price]
dexum175 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 11:06 PM   #2
Jake0604
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vulcan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexum175 View Post
I want to buy a Mac Pro and so I've been looking at Apple's website, they have 3 types of Macs..

Quad-Core - One 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processor ($2,499)
Server - One 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processor ($2,999)
12-Core - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon processors ($3,799)


I think I'll buy either the Quad-Core or the Server,... BUT anyone know any big differences between the Quad-Core and the Server? What makes the Server Mac Pro a "server"? Now I'm kinda indecisive [not buying the 12-core due to it's price]
All the Mac Pro Server Has is 2Gb of more ram, an extra HDD, and Server.App preinstalled. All of this can be had easily without paying apple the extra $500.
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, Quad-Core, 16GB RAM, GTX 680
Jake0604 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 11:37 PM   #3
dexum175
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake0604 View Post
All the Mac Pro Server Has is 2Gb of more ram, an extra HDD, and Server.App preinstalled. All of this can be had easily without paying apple the extra $500.
Very true, one thing I just noticed.. the Mac Pro Server supports up to 64GB of ram and the Quad does not? Or do both support 64GB's?
dexum175 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 11:50 PM   #4
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Don't forget you can also modify those three types. For example, you can select a single 6-core CPU instead of quad core.

Also, don't overlook the refurbished section of Apple's website. I always look there first, and hope never to buy "brand new" from Apple again.
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 12:03 AM   #5
kohlson
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
If you're segmenting these by CPU, then there are 3: Quad Core, 6-core, and 2x6-core. The quad core is a Nehalem, and the 6-core is Westmere (Intel architectures). Depending on what you plan to do, the 6-core could easily be faster than the dual CPU. But it's a "server" - no graphics card.
kohlson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 06:44 AM   #6
Umbongo
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexum175 View Post
Very true, one thing I just noticed.. the Mac Pro Server supports up to 64GB of ram and the Quad does not? Or do both support 64GB's?
Both support up to 32GB. The 64GB option is listed on the server purchase page because you can change it to a dual-CPU option. If you add it to the cart with a dual-CPU memory choice it will announce the error.
Umbongo is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 08:42 AM   #7
TonyK
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Take a look here. There appear to be some good values available.

http://store.apple.com/us/browse/hom...ls/mac/mac_pro
TonyK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:18 AM   #8
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
buy this


http://store.apple.com/us/product/FC...ore-intel-xeon



use it a while then turn it into this


http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1122551
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 03:25 PM   #9
dexum175
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Woah, thanks a lot guys, will see!

----------

You guys happen to know if a new Mac Pro will be out this year? I have an iMac 27 but It's not powerful enough for my use, if so.. you think I should wait or just go for one now?
dexum175 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:28 PM   #10
MacinJosh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Papua New Guinea
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexum175 View Post
Woah, thanks a lot guys, will see!

----------

You guys happen to know if a new Mac Pro will be out this year? I have an iMac 27 but It's not powerful enough for my use, if so.. you think I should wait or just go for one now?
Well, Tim Cook hinted at a new MP possibly for this year...
__________________
Mac Pro Quad 3.0Ghz - 5770 - 12GB - 120GB SSD - 5TB
MBA 2013 - 11" - 8GB - 128GB
Apple TV3 / iPhone 4S - 16GB / iPhone 4 - 16GB
iPad Mini Retina - 32GB / iPad 3 - 16GB - Black
MacinJosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:31 PM   #11
tevion5
macrumors 6502a
 
tevion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ireland
Those processors are powerful but old. I'm pretty sure the current advice is to postpone until the CPU and GPU's are updated, but if you need it soon then by all means get one!
__________________
13" MacBook Pro, 2.3GHz; 16GB iPhone 4s; 8GB iPod Touch 2G ; 23" ACD ; Power Mac G5, 2GHz DC ; Power Macintosh 8600 ; Macintosh Classic II ; Macintosh 512Ke ; Apple II Plus ; Apple Monitor III
tevion5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:54 PM   #12
Moonjumper
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lincoln, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinJosh View Post
Well, Tim Cook hinted at a new MP possibly for this year...
What Tim Cook said last year was...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Cook
Although we didnít have a chance to talk about a new Mac Pro at todayís event, donít worry as weíre working on something really great for later next year.
I'll be surprised if that doesn't turn into a new Mac Pro this year. Although I suspect it might not be quite as Pro as the current model.
Moonjumper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 05:18 PM   #13
tjlazer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Send a message via ICQ to tjlazer Send a message via Yahoo to tjlazer
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
You can also look into buying a used but good condition 2009 Quad Core Mac Pro and turning it into a six core 3.3GHz for around $600. I bought mine on Craigslist for $700 last month.
__________________
--
Mac Pro 4,1, Hex 3.20 GHz, 16GB, 2TB, ATI 5870 1GB, SL
iMac 24", 2.4GHz, 4GB, 500GB HD, ML
Powerbook G3 Bronze, 333MHz, 512MB, 40GB HD, OS 9.22
tjlazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro questions (to buy or not to buy) snapdragonx Mac Pro 3 Apr 15, 2014 02:39 PM
What brand of Ram can i buy from Best buy for mac book Pro? michael31986 MacBook Pro 12 Nov 19, 2013 11:18 AM
To buy or not to buy, with the new Mac Pro's coming soon? BDM STUDIOS NL Mac Pro 31 Apr 16, 2013 11:44 AM
To Buy/Not Buy A 2008 Mac Pro Acaleus Thor Mac Pro 26 Feb 19, 2013 05:04 AM
second hand mac pro, to buy or not to buy Dinges Mac Pro 2 Oct 21, 2012 05:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC