Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 20, 2012, 06:43 PM   #1
annab921
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
New iMac - but Apple remote doesn't work

Hi I bought a new imac yesterday. I have an apple remote - it dos not work with the new machine. I was replacing a 2007 model that came with a remote.

The free remote app I got for my ipad will change volume on itunes, but will not allow me to advance watching a dvd, turn up the overall volume if I'm watching Hulu or netflix, etc. So I can't use an iphone, etc to change internet based media, overall volume/advance dvds, etc

do any of you know a way around this? I don't want to carry the keypad everywhere. seems like a strange design flaw.

Any ideas would be appreciated.
annab921 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 06:50 PM   #2
Snoosedaddy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
There is no IR on new iMac.
Snoosedaddy is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 07:32 PM   #3
FlatlinerG
macrumors 6502a
 
FlatlinerG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
Above post is accurate. The iMac no longer has an IR built in and therefor doesn't work with the remote.
__________________
Late 2011 MBP 13"
2TB Time Capsule, 2nd Gen AppleTV
16GB Black iPhone 5, 32GB Black iPad 2
...and many more.
FlatlinerG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 09:03 PM   #4
VAvW
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Just wanted to throw in my 2 cents and note that the two posts above are accurate.

__________________
Desktop computer | Laptop computer | Tablet | Phone | Small black device attached to television
VAvW is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 11:32 PM   #5
Arman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by annab921 View Post
Hi I bought a new imac yesterday. I have an apple remote - it dos not work with the new machine. I was replacing a 2007 model that came with a remote.

The free remote app I got for my ipad will change volume on itunes, but will not allow me to advance watching a dvd, turn up the overall volume if I'm watching Hulu or netflix, etc. So I can't use an iphone, etc to change internet based media, overall volume/advance dvds, etc

do any of you know a way around this? I don't want to carry the keypad everywhere. seems like a strange design flaw.

Any ideas would be appreciated.
Even though remote doesn't work check the App Store for alternatives. I use remote hd and it works very well.
Arman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 07:32 AM   #6
mac-monkey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Unhappy

I've just got off the phone to Apple support, having spent 40 minuters trying to get my Apple remote working - the support person was unable to check if the 2012 iMac actually includes an IR receiver.

Wish I had read this first
mac-monkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 07:49 AM   #7
harcosparky
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
The IR hasn't worked properly in iMac's for quite sometime .... even where there was still an IR receiver in them.

I forget what version of OSX it was but at some point support for that program the remote would fire up was more or less deleted.

I remember using mine and when I fired it up, it was only partially there.

For the life of me I cannot remember what that program was called but it allowed the remote to be used to access Movies, Music, Pictures and such.

EDIT: Though it does not start up that program I was referring to, I just pointed my old remote at my LATE 2011 27" iMac and it fired up ITUNES !!!!!!!

Cool, I didn't think that would work.

But it has LIMITED functionality .... so that isn't so cool after all!
__________________
Awwwwwww!

Last edited by harcosparky; Dec 24, 2012 at 07:54 AM.
harcosparky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 07:57 AM   #8
mushroomtip
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac-monkey View Post
I've just got off the phone to Apple support, having spent 40 minuters trying to get my Apple remote working - the support person was unable to check if the 2012 iMac actually includes an IR receiver.

Wish I had read this first
Thats pretty disturbing . how can Apple Support not know that the new iMacs do not have an IR receiver ?
__________________
Once You Go Mac, You Never Go Back !
mushroomtip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 08:43 AM   #9
MeFromHere
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by harcosparky View Post
The IR hasn't worked properly in iMac's for quite sometime .... even where there was still an IR receiver in them.

I forget what version of OSX it was but at some point support for that program the remote would fire up was more or less deleted.

I remember using mine and when I fired it up, it was only partially there.

For the life of me I cannot remember what that program was called but it allowed the remote to be used to access Movies, Music, Pictures and such.

EDIT: Though it does not start up that program I was referring to, I just pointed my old remote at my LATE 2011 27" iMac and it fired up ITUNES !!!!!!!

Cool, I didn't think that would work.

But it has LIMITED functionality .... so that isn't so cool after all!
You're thinking of Front Row. That program was dropped in Lion, but some people got it working by copying files from Snow Leopard. Apparently it doesn't work at all in Mountain Lion.

http://9to5mac.com/2011/07/19/os-x-l...o-get-it-back/
MeFromHere is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 09:09 AM   #10
talmy
macrumors 68040
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Infrared is going away. Not in the new iMacs, not in the MBPR, not in the MBA. This is probably why they dropped Front Row. They want you to use an Apple TV or iOS device for entertainment, apparently.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV.
talmy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 01:13 PM   #11
Chupa Chupa
macrumors G3
 
Chupa Chupa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by mushroomtip View Post
Thats pretty disturbing . how can Apple Support not know that the new iMacs do not have an IR receiver ?
Apple support isn't that smart, especially the 1st tier that answers the phone. All they do is look stuff up on the web just like you and I and try to push you off the phone. If they are not good researchers you'll get the wrong answers. Unlike the Geniuses at Apple Stores -- who have their own flaws -- the 1st level support staff have very little to no Mac experience or love for the product. They aren't fans, it's just a job to them, like a cashier at the grocery store. 99% of the people on the forum are more Mac savvy than them.
__________________
Walled Garden ≠ Prison:
"People who use Apple products considered their options, and chose Apple. If they regret their decision, they can dump it at any time." -- Harry McCracken, Technologizer.com
Chupa Chupa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 01:29 PM   #12
DerekS
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
As a workaround, why not try the Remote app for your iPhone?
DerekS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 04:43 PM   #13
mac-monkey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekS View Post
As a workaround, why not try the Remote app for your iPhone?
Note sure about the OP, but I run Plex and it's convenient to use a remote sometimes
mac-monkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 06:11 PM   #14
MCCM
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac-monkey View Post
Note sure about the OP, but I run Plex and it's convenient to use a remote sometimes
Agreed! Had plex set up working nicely with my harmony remote. Now not sure what I can do...
MCCM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 02:22 PM   #15
BaNkIck
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Angry Just received my new iMac. Just hating Apple.

Remote apps sucks. You cannot feel the buttons and I don't want to be looking the phone all the time while browsing my TV Shows or Movies or looking for the right subtitle.

Hating Apple right now for this. I can live without firewire (there are some thunderbolt adaptors out there), but not without IR Receiver.
BaNkIck is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 02:37 PM   #16
HenryDJP
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by BaNkIck View Post
Remote apps sucks. You cannot feel the buttons and I don't want to be looking the phone all the time while browsing my TV Shows or Movies or looking for the right subtitle.

Hating Apple right now for this. I can live without firewire (there are some thunderbolt adaptors out there), but not without IR Receiver.
Not bragging...but sort of am. This is just one of the reasons I'm glad I received my 2011 iMac before the new ones came out. Mine works perfectly with the Apple Remote.
HenryDJP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 02:42 PM   #17
jmcgeejr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryDJP View Post
Not bragging...but sort of am. This is just one of the reasons I'm glad I received my 2011 iMac before the new ones came out. Mine works perfectly with the Apple Remote.
I would rather have the performance of the new model and just use one of these.

http://twistedmelon.com/mira/hardware.html
jmcgeejr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:59 PM   #18
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chupa Chupa View Post
Apple support isn't that smart, especially the 1st tier that answers the phone. All they do is look stuff up on the web just like you and I and try to push you off the phone. If they are not good researchers you'll get the wrong answers. Unlike the Geniuses at Apple Stores -- who have their own flaws -- the 1st level support staff have very little to no Mac experience or love for the product. They aren't fans, it's just a job to them, like a cashier at the grocery store. 99% of the people on the forum are more Mac savvy than them.
Second level support is not much better. I was having a problem with SMB volumes being ejected when my new iMac woke up from sleep (old one never had the problem) and the first words out of the mouth of the 2nd level "support" person were "we don't support SMB shares".

Idiots.

And... I fixed the issue myself with a workaround. Apple support are clueless.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 04:32 PM   #19
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by BaNkIck View Post
Hating Apple right now for this. I can live without firewire (there are some thunderbolt adaptors out there), but not without IR Receiver.
Looks like you're going to have to live without one, unless you purchase an external one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryDJP View Post
Not bragging...but sort of am. This is just one of the reasons I'm glad I received my 2011 iMac before the new ones came out. Mine works perfectly with the Apple Remote.
Not much of a reason to brag. The 2012 iMac has much greater performance than the 2011 model and a nicer design. Would prefer that over an IR receiver....
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8b2
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 12:42 PM   #20
Htin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
this sucks.. i hope they come out with a bluetooth aluminium remote
Htin is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 12:39 PM   #21
bmcgrath
macrumors 65816
 
bmcgrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, United Kingdom
If you use Plex just download the Plex remote app to your iOS device. Works a charm! And very easy to use when you're selecting a tv/movie you want to watch as you can do it through the remote app.
__________________
iMac, Macbook Pro, iPhone, iPad, Sony Nex7
www.twitter.com/bazmeister
www.flickr.com/bazzymcg/
bmcgrath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 05:23 PM   #22
TheMadBrewer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
The video card on my 2007 iMac died and I just got a 27" iMac. The only thing I used the remote for on the old one was to pause iTunes when I got a phone call. It worked great for that.

So I waste some time trying to pair the remote with new iMac

I supposed I'll get used to fn-F8 but it was so easy to hit pause on the remote with one hand while I picked up the phone with the other...
__________________
27" iMac; Orig MacBook Air + 11.6" Max; 3 Minis (one a HTPC) Ipods: Many; i; iPad: 3G 64GB mini
TheMadBrewer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 06:45 AM   #23
j00b00
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York & Los Angeles
Third Party Remote

One could also get a third party bluetooth remote, such as this one...

http://gizmodo.com/5912949/the-compa...e-wont-give-us
j00b00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2013, 03:12 PM   #24
eternalife
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
One of the main reasons I bought an iMac was for the mirroring with my AppleTV. I was tired of using my MBP for this (wasn't always on, iTunes not running, etc.). I then find out the remote doesn't work with it. How absolutely stupid is that. Most of my TV watching is streaming from the internet via the iMac. When I have to pause something I have to jump up and go to the iMac to pause it. What happened to the Apple ecosystem parts playing so well together?

I called AppleCare and they told me it isn't in the new iMacs because it wouldn't fit. Really Apple? I'm sure it's not that (more like declining technology). If that is the case why wouldn't they ship a BT remote with the AppleTV (right hand not talking to the left).
eternalife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2013, 06:30 PM   #25
iSayuSay
macrumors 68030
 
iSayuSay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
It's the same BS...

There's no way Apple could not make a Bluray USB external drive.

But Apple wants you to buy iTunes movies, musics and concerts instead of physical discs. Well then how about provide a cheap, unlimited 1Gbps internet connection for everyone on earth and then we're talking about these 'cloud' services?

There's no way Apple could not fit a tiny IR receiver into the new iMac chin.

But Apple wants you to use iOS remote app, which battery can't even stand a day after extensive use of it. While a dead simple old school IR remote can stand for YEARS WITHOUT RECHARGE with the same battery.

Yep, definitely one step forward and two steps back on technology.
__________________
The things you own end up owning you.
It's only after you lose everything that you're free to do anything
Sent from Paper Street Soap. Co
iSayuSay is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black screen , HDMI doesn't work , VGA doesn't work Madridista Mac Basics and Help 4 Jun 23, 2014 05:45 PM
New White Apple Remote wont work with Apple T.V. 3rd gen? rossikool Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Sep 13, 2013 09:11 PM
Apple Remote doesn't work Sven11 Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 24, 2013 04:35 PM
iPhone 3GS doesn't work with remote on Sony MDR-1R Headphone Kashika iPhone Accessories 2 Mar 10, 2013 04:19 PM
SSH tunnel to remote CUPS doesn't seem to work? Cubytus OS X 0 Dec 12, 2012 09:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC