Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 6, 2012, 02:22 PM   #1
Mr.MacJr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Parallels Stop or Suspend?

Hello all,

Couple questions regarding how Parallels works. My current setup is the MBPr 512gb SSD 2.3ghz 8gb RAM... Currently have 2 CPU's and 3GB RAM designated to Parallels (and run it mostly in Coherence). From what I understand, the CPU's and RAM are only designated to Parallels when I have it running, correct? When it's not, my computer is getting the full amount of memory and CPU's? Also, what's the difference between when exiting out of Parallels, stopping or suspending it? I assume stopping completely quits it out? While suspending pauses it? But what power is lost/gained when doing so? Any help would be great, I'm obviously new to the Parallels game. Thanks

Also, anyone experienced with Parallels who has tips or tricks that are useful, feel free to spread the wealth.

Last edited by Mr.MacJr; Nov 6, 2012 at 04:44 PM.
Mr.MacJr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 12:00 PM   #2
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Suspending a VM saves its state so it can resume right from where you left off. Think of it like putting your computer to sleep.

Stopping a VM is equivalent to shutting it down. You will have to go through the boot sequence next time you want to use it.

In both cases, the memory and CPU are allocated back to your Mac. I would recommend the latter if you're virtualizing a boot camp partition.
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 12:54 PM   #3
Mr.MacJr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Stoobie, so from what you said I'm getting that both Suspend and Stop will allocate all computing power/memory to my Macbook? I'm not running the VM on a Bootcamp partition. I'm pretty much just using Parallels for a couple programs for work that will not run on OS X. I assume then Suspend would make the most sense?
Mr.MacJr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 01:16 PM   #4
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
That is correct. If you go to Activity Monitor, you should see that the VM is no longer taking resources when it's suspended.

Also, I was talking about one of the features Parallels has regarding boot camp. If you set up a boot camp partition, you can use Parallels to *convert* it to a VM and access it both through Parallels and by booting into it separately from OS X. The only caveat to this is that if you suspend it in Parallels, it can cause issues if you try to boot into the partition itself. Otherwise, it's pretty neat.
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temporary suspend AT&T Wediafom iPhone 5 May 17, 2014 12:09 PM
Mavericks and moving window after suspend juju4 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Feb 16, 2014 04:51 PM
Mac OS suspend on update myokicrystal OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Jul 10, 2013 06:25 AM
Retina Macbook crashing on resume from suspend exito MacBook Pro 2 Aug 8, 2012 08:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC