Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 22, 2012, 11:20 AM   #26
deepen03
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyjaotkb View Post
You guys might want to check this
http://www.dev.mk/

to figure out if your iPhone is locked or not.
Found the link there
http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...ed-with-no-sim

at your own risks... seems to be working OK though!
works! thanks! I just did the AT&T restore method and this site confirms mine is unlocked!
__________________
Own an iPhone 3G 8GB...
but besides that I hate Apple.
deepen03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 10:41 PM   #27
daihard
macrumors 6502a
 
daihard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via AIM to daihard
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyjaotkb View Post
You guys might want to check this
http://www.dev.mk/

to figure out if your iPhone is locked or not.
Found the link there
http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...ed-with-no-sim

at your own risks... seems to be working OK though!
Thanks! I was wondering about the state of my iPhone 4 after the "unlock" process as iTunes didn't say anything about it. The site says it is unlocked.
__________________
Mobile: Google Nexus 4 / CM 11 (4.4.2) 12-26-2013 Nightly
Laptop: 13" Retina MacBook Pro (2.6/16/512) / Mac OS X 10.9.1
daihard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:31 AM   #28
chanerz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
my phone is factory unlocked too
chanerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2012, 11:18 AM   #29
kzia05
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo1444 View Post
type in the iphone model number and i will repply back with the carrier it's locked too...
md128ll
kzia05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2012, 11:20 AM   #30
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzia05 View Post
md128ll
That method is no longer an accurate way of checking a lock status. It never really was as phones could travel or have multiple carriers per model.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 04:58 PM   #31
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
That method is no longer an accurate way of checking a lock status. It never really was as phones could travel or have multiple carriers per model.
true sorry, use http://www.unlockboot.com/2011/06/fr...tus-fixed.html for free checking
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 05:04 PM   #32
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo1444 View Post
That's checking by IMEI, not model number. Checking by model number is not a good way of checking and is not accurate.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 05:44 PM   #33
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
That's checking by IMEI, not model number. Checking by model number is not a good way of checking and is not accurate.
it also tells you if the phone is locked or not, why don't you try it for youself.

Last edited by SandboxGeneral; Oct 13, 2012 at 11:49 AM. Reason: Clean up
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 05:48 PM   #34
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo1444 View Post
it also tells you if the phone is locked or not, why don't you try it for youself.
You're mixing model number and IMEI. One is the same for a large group of iPhones and cannot be used to determine locked status. The other is unique to each iPhone and can be used to determine locked status. The model number is the one that is shared with many other iPhones. That site does not take model numbers. Attempting to use model numbers to determine locked status is not accurate and is very flawed.

Last edited by Intell; Oct 13, 2012 at 12:40 PM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 05:52 PM   #35
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
You're mixing model number and IMEI. One is the same for a large group of iPhones and cannot be used to determine locked status. The other is unique to each iPhone and can be used to determine locked status. The model number is the one that is shared with many other iPhones. That site does not take model numbers. Attempting to use model numbers to determine locked status is not accurate and is very flawed. Do try to use the proper terminology before insulting others.
I already said in a previous quote that model number searching doesn't determine locked status therefore already helped the OP with an IMEI checker that actually tells you if the phone is locked or not

Last edited by SandboxGeneral; Oct 13, 2012 at 11:51 AM. Reason: Clean up
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 06:00 PM   #36
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo1444 View Post
I already said in a previous quote that model number searching doesn't determine locked status therefore already helped the OP with an IMEI checker that actually tells you if the phone is locked or not

are you dumb?
Do try keep with the more recent posts as well. kzia05 responded by your post number 3, which happens to be incorrect. I responded to kzia05 by saying that checking via the model number, which he gave, is an inaccurate way of checking an unlock status. You at no time ever said that model number doesn't determine locked status, that was me. You have repeatedly stated that a model number can be used to determine a locked status.

Last edited by Intell; Oct 13, 2012 at 12:41 PM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:31 AM   #37
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Do try keep with the more recent posts as well. kzia05 responded by your post number 3, which happens to be incorrect. I responded to kzia05 by saying that checking via the model number, which he gave, is an inaccurate way of checking an unlock status. You at no time ever said that model number doesn't determine locked status, that was me. You have repeatedly stated that a model number can be used to determine a locked status. Once again, read thoroughly and know your stuff before insulting others.
I acknowledged my error right away on my second post and quoted the unlockboot.com website with the free IMEI checker which happens to tell you if the phone is locked or unlocked.

just read my second post that's all you need to do.

Last edited by SandboxGeneral; Oct 13, 2012 at 11:51 AM. Reason: Clean up
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 03:38 AM   #38
ivnj
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Regarding unlocking it is super easy. I unlocked my moms iphone 3gs. Just went to

https://www.att.com/deviceunlock/client/en_US/

and filled out the form. And in 7 days it was unlocked after restore in itunes.

I took it for battery replacement and got a new 3gs for 86 something. Not sure if the new one is unlocked though or not.

If I put in my tmobile sim card what happens? It just says no service or searching? How does that work? Or if I can make a call or get a text then it has to be unlocked?
__________________
Mac mini 2011 2.3ghz i5 2gb ram.
ivnj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 04:53 AM   #39
Mrfatboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivnj View Post

If I put in my tmobile sim card what happens? It just says no service or searching? How does that work? Or if I can make a call or get a text then it has to be unlocked?

I would like to know this as well. I put in a tmobile sim and just got "no service." Is it unlocked and I just happen to be in a crappy coverage for tmobile?

I have a Verizon ip5.
Mrfatboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 05:03 AM   #40
travis.hansen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiuy View Post
I have the iPhone 3GS and was hoping to sell it. How do I know if it is unlocked? (Beside putting in another carrier SIM)
I jailbroken it before though, not sure if it is unlocked.
The phone can be used without the SIM card though.

Can I just also sell it to another ATT user? Will that work too?
Go to iPhoneox.com and type in your imei number. It will show you if it's factory unlocked.
travis.hansen is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Determine if your iPhone 4S is Unlocked? braddick iPhone 10 Nov 18, 2011 10:27 AM
How to know if hard disk is dying aicul MacBook Pro 5 Apr 13, 2011 04:11 PM
iPhone 4 - Yellow Splotches, How to Test if Your iPhone is Susceptible TechWhore iPhone 2 Jun 27, 2010 08:42 PM
How to know if a button is being held McBgnr Mac Programming 9 Jun 15, 2009 05:45 AM
How to know if a volume is mounted with ACL enabled info1686 Mac Programming 3 Apr 8, 2009 06:10 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC