Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 29, 2013, 02:44 PM   #26
bembol
macrumors 6502a
 
bembol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: iCloud
I'm not surprised and knew 8GB is more than enough.

I'm only using about 5GB. LOL

I could've just bought a set of 16GB but it was on sale and wanted to take advantage of it
__________________
SHIFT_
27" iMac Late-2012 Base w/32GB RAM & 3TB Fusion | 16GB iPhone 5S Gold 32GB Black LG G3 64GB Space Grey iPad Air LTE
bembol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 10:10 AM   #27
itsamacthing
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I had 32, was bad and returned it and am using 8GB right now till I get my new 32 and its almost the same... but when I have a bunch of stuff open, it's not as snappy. Can't wait to have 32GB again
itsamacthing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 07:25 PM   #28
Eduardot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Imac 27 2011 32 gig RAM

I have a imac 2011 i5 3.1 working fine since a few months with 32gig ram of crucial memory.
The little ball of colors has disappeared since i have so much memory, also i do not get any page outs.
I would say being the prices of ram so low, it is a must.
Eduardot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 07:40 PM   #29
bill phillips
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
got the i7 and ssd too also got 4 sticks of 8gb each to make it 32gb corsair vengeance laptop memory running here as well, can have every program open and then some no prob, if you got the money then do it for sure, if for no other reason just to say you got it lol.
bill phillips is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2013, 03:08 PM   #30
Bowcaps
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cornwall, UK
I can't say I have noticed a speed increase for day to day operations, however using premier and after effects cs6 for editing video, the rendering time has reduced to around 15 minutes from about an hour with 16gb for a 40 minute clip.

Incidentally my previous Dell XPS quad core 2.4ghz with 12gb ram would take around 2 - 3 hours for the same clip rendering time.

HTH
__________________
2012 iMac 27" i7 | 2012 MBA 13" i7 | 2013 rMBP 13" i7 | iPad 2 | iPhone 5 | TV3
Bowcaps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2013, 01:25 AM   #31
jpmorais
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CT, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to jpmorais
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanm9 View Post
that is what apple specs the machine at, but as every one knows apple only specs the machine at the available ram sizes when they are released (right now 8GB per slot) and never updates the spec the 2011 models can only have 16Gb (4 GB per slot) but plenty of people have put 32 GB into the 2011 model since the 8GB sticks came out… OWC and Everymac.com have plenty of stories of these facts… when 16GB sticks come out it is possible that all 4 will work just fine...
Yeah i know apple did this on the past, but not the case with the 2012 imac

Go to this intel specs sheet! for the I7 3770

http://ark.intel.com/products/65719/

The I7 3770 has a bult in memory controller that can only support a max of 32GB.

So this time apple is telling the truth

UnLike newer xeon E7 processors that can go up to 4096gb of ram, belive or not lol

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...tml?proc=53580

Last edited by jpmorais; Apr 1, 2013 at 01:45 AM.
jpmorais is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 01:56 PM   #32
stevefo
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Running 32GB Ram now. I know its overkill and a waste of money but things seem a little bit more snappy. Is it me just wanting to justify my purchase? probably. Whats your experience going up to 32GB?

----------

512 SSD will be the next upgrade! That should do it for a couple years.
stevefo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 02:25 PM   #33
eattherich
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Berlin
While 32GB isn't that expensive it really is a waste of money for the majority of users. There's probably some placebo effect in which users feel like it's useful but for most people, in my opinion, you rarely need more than 8GB. I've hit the limit of the 8GB in my MacBook Pro a few times and see some page outs when running multiple VMs but other than that I can't imagine going much further. That said, of course there are people doing things that can utilise the full 32GB but it's just typically not your average user. I have 16GB in my late 2012 27" iMac and I'm happy with that and pretty sure I'll never need any more.
eattherich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 01:51 PM   #34
macthefork
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
32 GB RAM from OWC works perfectly. I always upgrade to the max memory, simply because in the future, the OS and programs tend to take more RAM as they add to them, and I'll aready have it. 32GB does increase the speed over the standard 8GB. But, my iMac is super snappy now, not so much because of the RAM, but because of the SSD that I boot off of and have all my Applications on. I rarely use over 12 GB of the RAM using photoshop, and a few other similar programs.
__________________
iMac 27" 12,2 (2011) 2.7 GHz i5, 32 RAM, 480 GB SSD & 1TB HDD
iMac 27" 13,2 (late 2012) i7 32 RAM, 1.1 GB Fusion Drive
Mac Pro 1,1 (2) 2.66GHz Xeon 5150, 12GB RAM, 27" NEC Graphics Monitor
macthefork is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 01:55 PM   #35
Brian Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by EATTHERICH View Post
While 32GB isn't that expensive it really is a waste of money for the majority of users. There's probably some placebo effect in which users feel like it's useful but for most people, in my opinion, you rarely need more than 8GB. I've hit the limit of the 8GB in my MacBook Pro a few times and see some page outs when running multiple VMs but other than that I can't imagine going much further. That said, of course there are people doing things that can utilise the full 32GB but it's just typically not your average user. I have 16GB in my late 2012 27" iMac and I'm happy with that and pretty sure I'll never need any more.
It just gives me flexibility. I often run 5-6 virtual machines simultaneously (which the i7 + ssd is capable of). With 32GB, I can give each VM 4GB of RAM, which massively increases the performance of them) and still have 8GB left for the OS + other apps + overhead.
Brian Y is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 02:06 PM   #36
Nightarchaon
macrumors 65816
 
Nightarchaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
32GB was the 1st upgrade i did on purchase, so i can have my Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows XP, Ubuntu, Mint and Mac os Snow Leopard, Lion and Mountain Lion VMs all open at once along with my usual day to day software.

Makes trouble shooting and accessing bespoke software a breeze.
__________________
iWatch in action http://media.joe.ie/wp-content/uploa...ael-Knight.jpg
MacBook Pro/iPad Mini/TV1/iMac/iPhone5
Nightarchaon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 05:00 AM   #37
turtlez
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I had 24 up until last week. Thought I would be okay with 24 but my after effects project began paging out a few times. $100 is nothing to boost it to 32 and extend its life (i plan on owning this machine for 5-6 years).

So my plan was stick with 24 and just monitor it, if I needed the extra just buy it later (no loss). When I work on large psds inside photoshop i usually hit around 10-12gb of memory usage mark so I am sure 24gb is enough if you are not planning on HD+ video files, maybe audio? (never worked to much with audio) and large file 3d rendering.

edit: or if you have a bunch of things running at once like the poster above with the VMs
turtlez is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best use for 32GB RAM in 2013 iMac benjai iMac 17 Apr 4, 2014 08:12 AM
2011 MP 2.2 i7 16 gb ram vs 2012 iMac 2.9 i5 32gb ram absoluteelsewhe iMac 3 Feb 8, 2014 03:03 PM
Used iMac 27" with 32GB RAM - Worth it? Tofray iMac 7 Oct 7, 2013 05:47 PM
32GB RAM for new iMac from Komputerbay? jigsb007 iMac 1 Jan 17, 2013 02:09 PM
New 27" iMac What's the best buy for 32GB RAM? gorf37 iMac 39 Dec 26, 2012 12:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC