Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 26, 2013, 09:15 AM   #51
octatonic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by champ01 View Post
130 plugins still isn't 497 plugins. And why would you even want to have that many plugins. Its insane to have that many plugins. Just use a few and be an expert in them. Never have I been in a studio where they would love 500 plugins on their computer. Its way overkill.
Waves is just one bundle I own, along with Sonnox, McDSP, Sound Toys, Valhalla, Slate, etc etc.
I'm a pro mixer, believe me- most guys mixing for a living have all the major bundles.

You might find it insane, for me it is business as usual.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shagrat View Post
One certainly wonders if all of them, are, how can i put this (without breaking libel laws) er, above board?

Most of the people i knew who used to go on about the size of their plug-in collections, were not exactly "legit."

And as to WHY one would need collections this size, that's another question.

Personally, as all the ones i currently use are only Ez Drummer and Superior Drummer (and i may not even need these with new Logic Drummer, time will tell) and a few others, i am fine with updating, which i will do in a few weeks time, as there is quite a bit of housekeeping i need to do first before updating Logic.

Just wondering how a non-professional (and i admit that is just an assumption here) could afford 500 plug-ins. I certainly can't, as a semi-pro/hobbyist.

Let alone why i would need them all.

YMMV!
Mine are all 100% legit- quite a few are NFR though.
I sold my hardware mixer back in 2006 and went ITB, as have a lot of guys- Tchad Blake comes to mind.

I haven't added it up but costs must be around 30k in plugins, prob another 20k in other software.
It is still a lot less than I've spent on acoustic treatment.

I track via dedicated mic pres direct to Logic or PT and mix using plugins.
It is a workflow that works for me.
__________________
2.8 GHz Quad Mac Pro (10GB, 4TB), 23" Cinema Display ; 2013 13" 1.3 GHz MacBook Air (8GB, 128GB) ; iPad 2 64GB 3G; iPad mini 64GB 3G ; iPhone 5s 64GB ; 2x Apple TV 2.

Last edited by octatonic; Jul 26, 2013 at 09:37 AM.
octatonic is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 09:45 AM   #52
gatearray
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdaboliv View Post
he could also have 200, 300, 400, 500... plugins and so on
Arrrrrr, matey!


Quote:
Originally Posted by mentholiptus View Post
I've been very impressed with LPX. LP9 was great, but this is really something else. Nice work, Apple. Looking forward to Aperture 4 or X or whatever you call it.
Agreed, Logic X is really great, and lets not underestimate the Remote app, either, it's incredibly handy and has near zero latency over your common wifi network which is something I have never experienced before with any of the OSC controllers, etc. I don't know how they did it but it feels like the future!
gatearray is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 09:47 AM   #53
milo
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrlcopy View Post
most apple users are so reliant on presets
Really, just "apple" users use a lot of presets? Seems like there are plenty of people on all DAWs and platforms who use lots of presets.

Glad to see Logic getting an update so fast, looks like the app is more of a priority to Apple again. Now if they can just add openCL support in time for the next Mac Pro release.
milo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 11:13 AM   #54
dastinger
macrumors 6502a
 
dastinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
How much more fanboy-ism can there be
dastinger is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 11:23 AM   #55
milo
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
About what? It's a nice app, can't blame people for liking it.

Also, Vienna just sent out a promotional email touting the fact that VE pro can be used with Logic X to run 32 bit plugins. Personally, the only 32 bit plug I have left is Virtual Guitarist, discontinued so there will probably never be a 64 bit version. But works fine with VEP.

Last edited by milo; Jul 26, 2013 at 11:41 AM.
milo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 12:34 PM   #56
dastinger
macrumors 6502a
 
dastinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
About not blaming Apple for not supporting 32-bit plug-ins. If there was a good enough reason not to, I'd accept it but don't go blaming devs that don't develop 64-bit versions of their plug-ins letting Apple get away. I asked this already but what harm would it make to have 32-bit compatibility? What about those cherished discontinued plug-ins?

If someone goes against Apple, he gets bashed. If someone bashes the guy for no reason, he gets upvotes. I love Apple but let's open our minds here. I don't see a good reason why Apple decided to do things this way.
dastinger is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 12:38 PM   #57
akm3
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonTheSoundMa View Post
Reason is a virtual instrument and basic sequencer, Logic is a DAW. Two different pieces of software for two different uses.

Reason is more used with Logic, not as a standalone product.
I understand that. But Logic also includes many virtual instruments and effects and such. Compared only on those strengths, how would you rate Reason vs Logic? I'm assuming Reason pummels it if you don't care about the DAW aspect and just want to make (virtual) music.
__________________
akm3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 12:59 PM   #58
flipnap
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dastinger View Post
About not blaming Apple for not supporting 32-bit plug-ins. If there was a good enough reason not to, I'd accept it but don't go blaming devs that don't develop 64-bit versions of their plug-ins letting Apple get away. I asked this already but what harm would it make to have 32-bit compatibility? What about those cherished discontinued plug-ins?

If someone goes against Apple, he gets bashed. If someone bashes the guy for no reason, he gets upvotes. I love Apple but let's open our minds here. I don't see a good reason why Apple decided to do things this way.
the reason is because a 64 bit app has a very hard time utilizing 32 bit plugins. its been a problem for some years now with the transition. i went through it with cubase. they had a "bridge" but it crashed all the time. its really problemmatic and on top of it all im sure apple doesnt want their app crashing all the time. youre much better off with 64 bit everything. its just a sign of the times. i had to let go of all my 32 bit plugs. i still use them but for isolated things that i will open up my old 32 bit application and process...
__________________
rMBP 2.6/16/512 and loving every second of it
flipnap is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 02:52 PM   #59
milo
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by dastinger View Post
don't go blaming devs that don't develop 64-bit versions of their plug-ins
Sorry, but any developer who hasn't released 64 bit versions over three years after Logic went 64 bit deserves the blame they get.

With Logic 9.1 they provided a bit bridge and people complained that it wasn't stable enough. When apps like DP and PT went 64 bit and didn't have a bit bridge at all, people praised them for doing it. Can't say I blame apple for going that route as well. Not to mention that it gives that much more incentive to devs to finally do the update.

Supporting 32 bit plugins in a 64 bit app is inherently a hack and is never going to run as well as 64 bit plugins.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
I understand that. But Logic also includes many virtual instruments and effects and such. Compared only on those strengths, how would you rate Reason vs Logic? I'm assuming Reason pummels it if you don't care about the DAW aspect and just want to make (virtual) music.
As he said, the two are radically different apps. You'd have to be more specific what features you're looking for. Personally I think Reason is nice but I'd never be able to use it on its own. If you're happy with an old version of it you'd probably be happy with the latest version, but no way of knowing if you'd like Logic better.
milo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 10:45 PM   #60
TinHead88
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dastinger View Post
About not blaming Apple for not supporting 32-bit plug-ins. If there was a good enough reason not to, I'd accept it but don't go blaming devs that don't develop 64-bit versions of their plug-ins letting Apple get away. I asked this already but what harm would it make to have 32-bit compatibility? What about those cherished discontinued plug-ins?

If someone goes against Apple, he gets bashed. If someone bashes the guy for no reason, he gets upvotes. I love Apple but let's open our minds here. I don't see a good reason why Apple decided to do things this way.
It never ceases to amaze me how ignorant and insular people can be. As has been explained now, 32 bit support is unstable in a 64 bit host. That's why all DAWs are moving to 64 bit only.

None of us here truly know how complicated it is to write the code for 32 bit support in an all 64 bit app. In the past it has been shown to be unstable.

Now, is it really so hard for you to imagine that Apple had good reasons to stop 32 bit plugin support? But no, instead of considering this possibility you decide it's time to go Apple bashing. It's just a very unintelligent post which will illicit criticism.
TinHead88 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2013, 03:32 AM   #61
Detritusdave
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
This may be useful for some people, in respect of using 32 bit plugins in Logic X:

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/logic...ion-found.html

I've not tried it myself as I haven't felt the need as yet.
Detritusdave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2013, 10:34 AM   #62
kokako
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
if you paid for your 32bit plugins then no problem getting 64bit upgrades - most free.
kokako is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2013, 12:46 PM   #63
bedifferent
macrumors Demi-God
 
bedifferent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by champ01 View Post
Why the hell would you need 497 different plugins for. I call BS
I've got quite a few in FCP7 and X, some people use em, to each their own

I'm glad Apple is refocusing on Pro-Apps. I'm not a user of Logic (ha! couldn't resist), but it's good to read the general consensus is positive. After the debacle we faced with FCP 10.0-3 (.8 is finally worthy), many of us were shaky. It's unfortunate so many jumped ship to over platforms in the interim, hopefully they're happier or may find their way back. Overall, the most amazing aspect is having so many choices for OS X when PPC systems and lack of general use kept many versions on Windows systems only. How times change.
__________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
Arthur C. Clarke
bedifferent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2013, 12:55 PM   #64
dastinger
macrumors 6502a
 
dastinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipnap View Post
the reason is because a 64 bit app has a very hard time utilizing 32 bit plugins. its been a problem for some years now with the transition. i went through it with cubase. they had a "bridge" but it crashed all the time. its really problemmatic and on top of it all im sure apple doesnt want their app crashing all the time. youre much better off with 64 bit everything. its just a sign of the times. i had to let go of all my 32 bit plugs. i still use them but for isolated things that i will open up my old 32 bit application and process...
Quote:
Originally Posted by milo View Post
Sorry, but any developer who hasn't released 64 bit versions over three years after Logic went 64 bit deserves the blame they get.

With Logic 9.1 they provided a bit bridge and people complained that it wasn't stable enough. When apps like DP and PT went 64 bit and didn't have a bit bridge at all, people praised them for doing it. Can't say I blame apple for going that route as well. Not to mention that it gives that much more incentive to devs to finally do the update.

Supporting 32 bit plugins in a 64 bit app is inherently a hack and is never going to run as well as 64 bit plugins.



As he said, the two are radically different apps. You'd have to be more specific what features you're looking for. Personally I think Reason is nice but I'd never be able to use it on its own. If you're happy with an old version of it you'd probably be happy with the latest version, but no way of knowing if you'd like Logic better.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinHead88 View Post
It never ceases to amaze me how ignorant and insular people can be. As has been explained now, 32 bit support is unstable in a 64 bit host. That's why all DAWs are moving to 64 bit only.

None of us here truly know how complicated it is to write the code for 32 bit support in an all 64 bit app. In the past it has been shown to be unstable.

Now, is it really so hard for you to imagine that Apple had good reasons to stop 32 bit plugin support? But no, instead of considering this possibility you decide it's time to go Apple bashing. It's just a very unintelligent post which will illicit criticism.
Was it that hard to explain why instead of just bashing? Why not doing that in the first place instead of just blaming people for going against Apple?
dastinger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2013, 03:41 AM   #65
spodlude
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Norwich UK
Can someone explain what a plugin does?
spodlude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2013, 09:04 AM   #66
iLLucionist
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
What do you guys think of Logic vs Propellerhead Reason? I know they serve very different uses, but the solo musician without a lot of physical tracks is where I'm at. I have an old version of Reason I've been using and it's great. Not sure which one (or both) to upgrade to.
I've been using Logic since version 7 and Reason since 1.5 and I find the audio quality MUCH better in Logic. When you have a lot of rack units in Reason, with or without additional compressors, I find that the stereo image becomes very narrow up to the point where it becomes difficult to separate certain frequencies (e.g. drums from piano from guitar) from each other. In contrast, Logic stays clean, warm, and crisp.

The only workaround I know for Reason is to buy an expensive external audio card and use different output channels for different frequency ranges.

But overal, I like Logic's stereo image and sound quality much better.
__________________
15.4" MBP 2.5 GHz; 1GB iPod Shuffle; 1.8 GHz MBA ; 15.4" MBP 2.4 GHz; AirPort Express
iLLucionist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2013, 10:12 AM   #67
pdjudd
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plymouth, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by spodlude View Post
Can someone explain what a plugin does?
A plugin would add functionality to a program by interfacing with it - using the core program as a foundation to do various things. The example I am most familiar with is Photoshop which had plugins available that did various enhancements that simplified various tasks or focused on one particular aspect of editing.

I have also seen plugins for InDesign that just allowed for the ability to import files from Quark and convert them to ID files.

It can really depend.
pdjudd is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2013, 11:44 AM   #68
xnatex
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjudd View Post
A plugin would add functionality to a program by interfacing with it - using the core program as a foundation to do various things. The example I am most familiar with is Photoshop which had plugins available that did various enhancements that simplified various tasks or focused on one particular aspect of editing.

I have also seen plugins for InDesign that just allowed for the ability to import files from Quark and convert them to ID files.

It can really depend.
Yup. In Logic, there are even quite a few plugins that are designed to look like, work like, and sound like a physical piece of equipment.

For example, http://www.ikmultimedia.com/products/amplitube
This plugin recreates real guitar amps, speaker cabinets, mics, and some pedals.

Also, some people have varying views on using plugins instead of physical hardware. Please don't discuss that here. I was merely giving an example of what a plugin is.
xnatex is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2013, 03:52 PM   #69
Ploki
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLLucionist View Post
I've been using Logic since version 7 and Reason since 1.5 and I find the audio quality MUCH better in Logic. When you have a lot of rack units in Reason, with or without additional compressors, I find that the stereo image becomes very narrow up to the point where it becomes difficult to separate certain frequencies (e.g. drums from piano from guitar) from each other. In contrast, Logic stays clean, warm, and crisp.

The only workaround I know for Reason is to buy an expensive external audio card and use different output channels for different frequency ranges.

But overal, I like Logic's stereo image and sound quality much better.
Holy smokes so much misinformation right there.
Reason had non-floating point summing engine and thats just about the only thing reason had problems with. That has been a problem in old versions of Reason...

FYI Logic has 32bit FP summing, still, protools HD had 48bit fixed point and Sonar (allegedly also Reaper) now has 64bit double precision floating point.
Actually just about every other DAW has 32bit FP now.

There is also something called the "pan law", and there are different pan laws that can effect the stereo image.

Otherwise, everything else is huff and puff.
Ploki is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2013, 12:33 PM   #70
Zwhaler
macrumors Demi-God
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Didn't fix the bug where Flex Pitch doesn't work at all and crashes the app. Come on Apple ... your Pro software reeks like amateur mistakes when this type of stuff happens... (also whatever happened to the "Environment" which got all messed up in Logic X?) <- https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
__________________
2x2.93 24GB 25TB 2x1TB 840EVO 2x UAD OCTO, Apollo, 4-710d
Check Out My YouTube Channel~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2013, 02:31 PM   #71
Zwhaler
macrumors Demi-God
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
10.0.1 Flex pitch enabled crashes program every time!
__________________
2x2.93 24GB 25TB 2x1TB 840EVO 2x UAD OCTO, Apollo, 4-710d
Check Out My YouTube Channel~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 03:06 PM   #72
octatonic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zwhaler View Post
10.0.1 Flex pitch enabled crashes program every time!
Works fine here.
__________________
2.8 GHz Quad Mac Pro (10GB, 4TB), 23" Cinema Display ; 2013 13" 1.3 GHz MacBook Air (8GB, 128GB) ; iPad 2 64GB 3G; iPad mini 64GB 3G ; iPhone 5s 64GB ; 2x Apple TV 2.
octatonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logic Pro X Updated With Improved 12-Core Mac Pro Support, App Enhancements and Fixes MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 73 May 23, 2014 10:56 AM
Apple Releases iBooks 1.0.1 for Mac With Bug Fixes, Stability Improvements MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 35 Nov 19, 2013 10:25 AM
Apple Maps Updated in Japan With Bug Fixes and Enhancements MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 14 Mar 12, 2013 02:05 PM
iMovie for iOS Updated with Stability Enhancements and Bug Fixes MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 10 Feb 14, 2013 05:17 PM
Apple Updates Final Cut Pro, Compressor, and Motion with Bug Fixes MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 23 Dec 7, 2012 04:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC