Mac Pro Gaming - Page 5 - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 11, 2013, 01:55 PM   #101
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
As a side note, what's the point of 2 AMD GPUs if they are not connected with crossfire ? Is there a different/equivalent connectivity implemented ?
OpenCL.
More TB2 connections?
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 02:21 PM   #102
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
OpenCL.
More TB2 connections?
Hm...so my hope of connecting a monitor on one of its hdmi ports and take advantage of both GPUs power combined, for every graphics intensive application (including games) is out of discussion, then ? It's not like they will work together as one ? (I mean something like Crossfire/SLI)
antonis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 02:38 PM   #103
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
Hm...so my hope of connecting a monitor on one of its hdmi ports and take advantage of both GPUs power combined, for every graphics intensive application (including games) is out of discussion, then ? It's not like they will work together as one ? (I mean something like Crossfire/SLI)
I don't actually know but for that information you need to look at the specifications for OS X 10.9 on Apple's dev site.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 02:54 PM   #104
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
I don't actually know but for that information you need to look at the specifications for OS X 10.9 on Apple's dev site.
Ah I see, regardless the h/w, the operating system should support such connectivity, for this to happen.

There are lots of unanswered questions regarding this machine by lots of people. I guess we'll have to be patient for a little longer.
antonis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 08:29 PM   #105
Erasmus
macrumors 68020
 
Erasmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
I'm just going to hope that Apple implements their own version of Crossfire that is more transparent and robust. Kind of like what they did with graphics switching on the MBPs. Optimally, it would detect what was being displayed on each monitor, and shunt the power around accordingly.

Just as long as Apple make Windows drivers for it this time though
__________________
Had: 450 MHz G4 Cube, then 15" Dual 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro
Have: 17" Quad 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro, Home-built Windows 4.2 GHz, SLI 780 PC
Want: 2014 Retina iPad Mini
Erasmus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 10:34 PM   #106
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
Ah I see, regardless the h/w, the operating system should support such connectivity, for this to happen.

There are lots of unanswered questions regarding this machine by lots of people. I guess we'll have to be patient for a little longer.
Windows will most likely allow crossfire even if OS X only uses both cards for OpenCL and extra display ports. Personally this is just fine for what I do as I don't ever intend to 'game' in OS X. I am also not in the market for a new Mac. But if I was, this would not deter me. OS X gaming ports have more to worry about than trying to get SLI and Crossfire working. Like using the currently available power without crapping out at 50% the FPS Windows enjoys. That and mouse acceleration retardation. I only play the least demanding games in OS X if I HAVE to. Probably run the new Shadowrun in OS X and enjoy it. Nothing too demanding or requiring precision.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 12:09 AM   #107
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
Windows will most likely allow crossfire even if OS X only uses both cards for OpenCL and extra display ports. Personally this is just fine for what I do as I don't ever intend to 'game' in OS X. I am also not in the market for a new Mac. But if I was, this would not deter me. OS X gaming ports have more to worry about than trying to get SLI and Crossfire working. Like using the currently available power without crapping out at 50% the FPS Windows enjoys. That and mouse acceleration retardation. I only play the least demanding games in OS X if I HAVE to. Probably run the new Shadowrun in OS X and enjoy it. Nothing too demanding or requiring precision.
Yes, they do have bigger problems to solve on the gaming section, but these are more long-term problems. Regardless, it would be kind of disappointing if the new Mac Pro houses 2x of these beasts (which will probably won't be upgradeable as well) but be unable to combine them in a crossfire-like implementation.

Well, it seems like the new Mac Pro is not going to kill its professional side after all. I suspect it is going to kill its gaming side.
antonis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 05:08 AM   #108
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
Yes, they do have bigger problems to solve on the gaming section, but these are more long-term problems. Regardless, it would be kind of disappointing if the new Mac Pro houses 2x of these beasts (which will probably won't be upgradeable as well) but be unable to combine them in a crossfire-like implementation.

Well, it seems like the new Mac Pro is not going to kill its professional side after all. I suspect it is going to kill its gaming side.
I think it is possible that Apple will get crossfire working with the new Mac Pro, but I kind of doubt it. I also think that not having crossfire would be a terrible, terrible mistake on their part.

We'll see!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
OpenCL.
More TB2 connections?
Can't Radeons do 6 monitors each? How many monitors do you need, man?
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 11:03 AM   #109
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by slughead View Post
Can't Radeons do 6 monitors each? How many monitors do you need, man?
No idea. For me personally I think 3 is ideal. Two 24" dudes for the work area and something like a 15" (A4) touch display with a fine resolution digitizer layer - which is good for navigating some tool interfaces and also art touchups, drawing, and etc. But that's just me.

In the past few months here I've noticed people using 8 and more displays and this has been going on for years now! WTF for? Beats me. IMO the frames around any and all of the monitors I've ever seen are too thick to make a wall sized display out of them. We need monitor models which can be placed edge to edge with less than a 1mm gap in order for that kind of arrangement to work. I've even played with running the panels separate from their housing and encased electronics and still there's too much of a gap. So why anyone would want more than 3 or 4 is beyond me personally - but they do. <shrug>
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 11:11 AM   #110
sbarton
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by slughead View Post
I think it is possible that Apple will get crossfire working with the new Mac Pro, but I kind of doubt it. I also think that not having crossfire would be a terrible, terrible mistake on their part.

We'll see!

----------



Can't Radeons do 6 monitors each? How many monitors do you need, man?
I didn't see any crossfire interconnect headers on the mac pro images. they still require that correct?
sbarton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 11:22 AM   #111
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbarton View Post
I didn't see any crossfire interconnect headers on the mac pro images. they still require that correct?
They require a physical connection but Apple could do that, if they wanted, somewhere else. Current location of the interconnect serves the in-line PCI tower form factor. On a custom PCB it could be anywhere. On the dual cards (7990, GTX 690) they have the connect elsewhere too.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 01:21 PM   #112
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Crossfire is buggy and problematic even in Windows, where it has had years to mature. I cannot imagine it working well in OS X.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 01:34 PM   #113
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I just watched a part of MARI demo presentation, especially the part referencing to the new Mac Pro. When the talk came to the dual GPUs, the word used was "combined", in a way that gave the impression he was talking about 2 GPUs that combine power (he actually also said that this was used till now only for gaming, and that this was possible on the new Mac Pro thanks to some new OpenGL libraries). It might be crossfire or something else (a new custom implementation ?) but it looks like that the new Mac Pro will be able to use both GPUs combined for gaming.
antonis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 01:43 PM   #114
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
I just watched a part of MARI demo presentation, especially the part referencing to the new Mac Pro. When the talk came to the dual GPUs, the word used was "combined", in a way that gave the impression he was talking about 2 GPUs that combine power (he actually also said that this was used till now only for gaming, and that this was possible on the new Mac Pro thanks to some new OpenGL libraries). It might be crossfire or something else (a new custom implementation ?) but it looks like that the new Mac Pro will be able to use both GPUs combined for gaming.
Sounds pretty groovy. I can imagine a lot of different ways to get two cards to co-operate so that certainly is a possibility.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 10:09 PM   #115
Blaine
macrumors 6502a
 
Blaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Abilene TX
Bleh, I just wish we knew more.

Patience is difficult. :P
Blaine is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 01:33 AM   #116
Erasmus
macrumors 68020
 
Erasmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Sounds pretty groovy. I can imagine a lot of different ways to get two cards to co-operate so that certainly is a possibility.
Hopefully many ways that are more low level, transparent and robust than GPU 1 saying to GPU 2 "I'll do this half, you do that half."
__________________
Had: 450 MHz G4 Cube, then 15" Dual 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro
Have: 17" Quad 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro, Home-built Windows 4.2 GHz, SLI 780 PC
Want: 2014 Retina iPad Mini
Erasmus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 09:00 PM   #117
Blaine
macrumors 6502a
 
Blaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Abilene TX
I just hope we know pricing and config info before the new retina MacBook Pros are released. Otherwise, I will buy the laptop.

I really would like a Mac Pro for gaming though as long as the base model is around 2k and is good for gaming.
Blaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2013, 12:10 PM   #118
Blaine
macrumors 6502a
 
Blaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Abilene TX
Well this thread died :/
Blaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2013, 12:19 PM   #119
N19h7m4r3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaine View Post
Well this thread died :/
Nah, I' actually planning on moving to a 5,1 for my gaming. :P

I have a GTX 660 3GB in the house that want's a new home.
I'll then add in some SSD's, a USB3 PCIe card and get going.
__________________
6,1 Mac Pro - 3.50GHz Hex Core - 32 GB RAM - Dual FirePro D700 6GB
N19h7m4r3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2013, 08:35 PM   #120
MagicThief83
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaine View Post
Well this thread died :/
I don't think it died, I think people just realized it's more productive to do something with their time (such as revitalizing a old gen Mac Pro or building a Hackintosh), instead of wasting time talking about the new Mac Pro lol
__________________
MBA (2012, 11", 2.0GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD)
iPad (3rd Generation, 64GB, Black, Wi-Fi only)
iPhone 5 (64GB, Black, AT&T)
MagicThief83 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2013, 01:53 PM   #121
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
I think it's just that everyone said what they wanted to say. What else is left? I suppose we could all say it again. We seem to do that in some threads.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2013, 10:04 AM   #122
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erasmus View Post
I'm just going to hope that Apple implements their own version of Crossfire that is more transparent and robust. Kind of like what they did with graphics switching on the MBPs. Optimally, it would detect what was being displayed on each monitor, and shunt the power around accordingly.

Just as long as Apple make Windows drivers for it this time though
Crossfire has been "maturing" in windows machines for years and is only now starting to become useable. NVidia's SLI implementation is vastly superior.

I highly doubt that even if Apple can create a crossfire for mac that it'll be worth a darn for a good long while. And as far as a brand new type of Crossfire/SLI that would be specific to the Mac Pro, that's a gigantic investment that I could not be more skeptical of.

I could definitely see an openCL implementation that would be good for certain applications, but I would have huge doubts as to the scalability of adding a second card out of the gate. Again, just based on the history of multi-GPU implementations.
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 12:47 AM   #123
OS6-OSX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
I think it's just that everyone said what they wanted to say. What else is left? I suppose we could all say it again.
It will all be said again!
Mac Pro Gaming-"I just got the 6,1, anyone using it for games?"
4K Apple Displays-"Anyone try the new NEC on their 6,1 yet?"
Thunderbolt slots vs PCIe slots-"I knew thunderbolt on the 6,1 would be too slow!" and "I don't miss my PCIe slots at all since I got the 6,1!"
How Will The New Mac Pro Be Launched?-"I knew Apple would only advertise on their website!" and "I was totally surprised to see an ad on tv about the 6,1!"
Mac Pro GeekBench-What's Your Score?-"My geekbench for my 6,1 is disappointing!" and "WOW, look at my 6,1 geekbench score!"
Hard Drive Cloning-"Anyone know how to clone the data in the 6,1?"
I Found A Mac Pro On The Street-"I checked again and it was a 6,1!"
Many of the current threads will continue with 6,1 talk once it comes out. Pro and Con!
__________________
MacPro 2008 3,1 | 26GB Ram | Quadro 4000 | MC6.0 | OS 10.6.8 | MOTU HDX-SDI | ATTO R644 | LaCie 324

Last edited by OS6-OSX; Aug 28, 2013 at 12:57 AM. Reason: update
OS6-OSX is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anybody tried gaming on the new Mac Pro? solid.sal Mac Pro 2 Jan 18, 2014 12:01 PM
Mac Pro for Gaming darnovo Mac Pro 5 Dec 24, 2013 08:03 PM
OS X: New Mac Pro for Gaming? in2tech Mac and PC Games 25 Oct 9, 2013 02:05 PM
Gaming on Mac Pro The B0ss Wasteland 37 Aug 15, 2012 09:55 PM
Is the new MacBook Pro better than the Mac Pro for gaming? vocaro Mac and PC Games 5 Jun 11, 2012 09:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC