Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 21, 2010, 04:11 PM   #1
littlec7821
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: philadelphia
Canon Vixia HF M31

My mom just bought this camera and I'm supposed to help her edit all her clips on my macbook. I just tried testing it, taking some random clips and I'm trying to upload them onto my computer now and I'm having a lot of trouble...

I have a Macbook pro so I can use the memory card reader. I tried doing that first (after making sure I recorded it onto the card, which I did) but when I put it into my computer I couldn't upload it anywhere... like if I opened iMovie there wasn't any kind of file on the memory card that could be read by my mac i guess.

I tried using the USB cord but my computer didn't even read anything when that came up, like it didn't recognize that anything was connected at all. I tried both USB ports on my macbook a couple times and it wasn't working.

Do I need some other program to upload videos from this camera? or is there some way to do it without installing anything else?

The camera came with a program called Pixela, but it says its for Windows, and when I put the disc into my mac it didn't autostart and none of the icons worked so I'm assuming it only works for PC...

if you haven't been able to tell I'm a little technologically retarded haha but please help!!
littlec7821 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 06:11 PM   #2
CaptainChunk
macrumors 68020
 
CaptainChunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Hmmm....

According to Canon, that camera is supposed to work with iMovie right out of the box. When connecting the camera to your Mac, are you sure that the "computer" mode switch is selected on the camera itself? If not, the camera won't know to mount to the computer and thus iMovie will see nothing.

It appears that the camera records video to an H.264 codec, so another method would be this:

1. Physically copy the files from the SD card to the computer using Finder.

2. Use MPEG Streamclip (it's free) to convert the H.264 files to AIC (Apple Intermediate Codec). Note that iMovie doesn't edit H.264 natively and will automatically transcode to AIC if you were importing straight from the camera.

3. Import the new video files (they will have Quicktime .mov file containers) into iMovie.


Since the video would need to be transcoded (AIC files are much larger) with either method, it's wise to consider purchasing an external FW hard drive to use for editing.
__________________
MP 8x2.8GHz, 16GB RAM, flashed 8800GT; Early '08
15" MBP 2.6GHz, 4GB RAM; Early '08 (RIP)
13" MBP 2.3GHz, 8GB RAM; Early '11
CaptainChunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 04:55 AM   #3
foshizzle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I have an hf 20, from a couple years back. It records to AVCHD. First, be sure that the record source is the card you're sticking into the Mac and not internal memory. Second, when plugging the camera in over USB you MUST Plug the cameras power cord in and then open the LCD to see the option that shows up. Choose the computer option, not DVD.

Imove will read these files no problem.
foshizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 05:50 PM   #4
Flyer1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I just got the HF M31....I can't find how to change the setting to computer and not DVD. Any help would be very helpful.
Flyer1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 04:09 AM   #5
foshizzle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
It shows up when you plug the camcorder into your computer over USB. Open the LCD screen and it'll be there if the camera power is plugged in and you have turned power to on. Otherwise, it doesn't show up.
foshizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2010, 10:12 PM   #6
Rhawkin4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Uploading struggles

I plugged my canon vixia hf m31 into its power source, turned on the camera, and connected it to my mac OS X and nothing happened, not even a faulty icon.

Can anyone rationalize my problem?

thanks,
potential pc advocate & mac opponent
Rhawkin4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2010, 11:07 PM   #7
xStep
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lost in Minneapolis
The first thing to do is to confirm that the Mac is seeing the inserted USB device. Open System Profiler in the Utilities folder after inserting the device, camera powered up of course. Under Hardware click the USB entry for a list of connected devices. Note: View-->Refresh is available to renew the list.

Last edited by xStep; Nov 24, 2010 at 11:25 PM.
xStep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2010, 05:38 PM   #8
foshizzle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
After you turned the camera on, did you open the LCD and select connect to computer? It's usually the simple step that most people miss.
foshizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2010, 07:39 PM   #9
jackrumorz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
HELP IS HERE. I JUST BOUGHT A CANON HF M31 and IT WORKS

Alright guys, here's how I made it to work right out of the box. I just purchased a CANON Vixia HF M31 with 32gb internal memory. I have a Macbook Pro (mid 2010) with latest software updates (10.6.5 OS X).

There are two ways this camcorder connects to the mac.

1. WITH EXTERNAL POWER TO THE CAMCORDER:
*You MUST connect external power to the camcorder.
*Then connect USB from camcorder to MAC.
*Open the LCD on camcorder, Power ON the camcorder.
*Press the round button next to (DISP Button) on the camcorder. (There are only two round buttons on the body, its the one on the right hand side when you are looking in to the camcorder body)
*It will ask you if you want to connect to a printer or computer.
*Click "Computer" on the display touchscreen.
*iPhoto and iMovie will automatically open and detect photos and videos.

2. WITHOUT EXTERNAL POWER TO THE CAMCORDER:
*Connect USB from camcorder to MAC (DO NOT CONNECT POWER TO CAMCORDER)
*Open the LCD on camcorder, Power ON the camcorder.
*Press the round button next to (DISP Button) on the camcorder. (There are only two round buttons on the body, its the one on the right hand side when you are looking in to the camcorder body)
*It will ask you if you want to connect to a printer or computer.
*Click "Computer" on the display touchscreen.
*Open "FINDER" and you will see the Internal Memory and SD Card (If inserted into the camcorder).
*You can ONLY VIEW the files in this mode. It will not let you delete it from the camcorder. You can copy it to your mac.

Hope this helps.
jackrumorz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2010, 12:26 PM   #10
littlec7821
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: philadelphia
ok... i need help again

i definitely got this to work after reading the responses... once i selected computer or whatever it could read it fine. and everything uploaded and i had no problems.

now im trying again and doing everything right but i cant get it to upload... i selected computer and my computer is reading the camera, but only iphoto is opening automatically. so when i open imovie manually after the computer is able to read the camera, i cant find out how to import anything.
im really really confused and this is so frustrating, please help
littlec7821 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 05:51 PM   #11
nanette0269
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackrumorz View Post
Alright guys, here's how I made it to work right out of the box. I just purchased a CANON Vixia HF M31 with 32gb internal memory. I have a Macbook Pro (mid 2010) with latest software updates (10.6.5 OS X).

There are two ways this camcorder connects to the mac.

1. WITH EXTERNAL POWER TO THE CAMCORDER:
*You MUST connect external power to the camcorder.
*Then connect USB from camcorder to MAC.
*Open the LCD on camcorder, Power ON the camcorder.
*Press the round button next to (DISP Button) on the camcorder. (There are only two round buttons on the body, its the one on the right hand side when you are looking in to the camcorder body)
*It will ask you if you want to connect to a printer or computer.
*Click "Computer" on the display touchscreen.
*iPhoto and iMovie will automatically open and detect photos and videos.

2. WITHOUT EXTERNAL POWER TO THE CAMCORDER:
*Connect USB from camcorder to MAC (DO NOT CONNECT POWER TO CAMCORDER)
*Open the LCD on camcorder, Power ON the camcorder.
*Press the round button next to (DISP Button) on the camcorder. (There are only two round buttons on the body, its the one on the right hand side when you are looking in to the camcorder body)
*It will ask you if you want to connect to a printer or computer.
*Click "Computer" on the display touchscreen.
*Open "FINDER" and you will see the Internal Memory and SD Card (If inserted into the camcorder).
*You can ONLY VIEW the files in this mode. It will not let you delete it from the camcorder. You can copy it to your mac.

Hope this helps.
thanks! i dont know why the documentation completely ignores mac...so this really helped!
nanette0269 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 01:56 PM   #12
JerseyLightning
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Also having trouble uploading

Hi! I'm new to this forum and am having the same problems as some other users. I found the information posted here extremely helpful and managed to get a few steps closer to my goal of uploading videos from a Canon HF M31.

I did use the round button to find the option for computer output. However, neither iMovies nor iPhoto automatically start. When I manually start them, they cannot see the camera. When I open the camera files using the Canon software (not Pixela; the Vixia startup disk), I can see files but none of them have extenders that are recognizable (.mpl, .bdm). I can't drag and drop anything into iMovies.

Also, the LCD display has a message reading: PC Connection (USB symbol) Do not disconnect the USB cable or the power source until you safely end the connection from the computer.

After some hunting around, I did find information on ejecting but after I do File>Eject Canon, I still get an error message on my computer that the disk was not ejected properly.

I'm running a Macbook. Any ideas on how to get it see the files and actually open them?

Thanks for any assistance on this!
JerseyLightning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 04:09 PM   #13
JerseyLightning
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Later the same day ...

Okay, so, after 7 hours of wrestling with the beast, I finally got the Canon HF M31 to download and play videos ... to an Asus Eee PC netbook. The MacBook is a complete washout. I did finally get it to display an error message upon initial point of contact with the camera, the message reading something along the lines of there was no media detected.

Unfortunately, Canon software is PC only, which makes no sense in my mind, but there you are.

At least I ascertained that the Canon camera and related software do work -- it is just not happy with the Mac. Which I bought specifically to use for photo and movie work, having always had PCs in the past.

Any thoughts on making this thing play nice with the MacBook?

Thank you!
JerseyLightning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2011, 01:11 PM   #14
Captainidontno
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
i just got a m30 and had a similar problem.
heres how:
1. connect the camcorder to power supply
2. turn on the camera and go into the view mode where you see the videos already recorded.
3. connect the camera to your computer.
4. on the camera lcd there should be a message asking what your connecting to. Select printer/computer.
5. once the drive shows up on your desktop, open imovie and go to File> Import from Camera. your camcoder should show up and you will beable to import movies.
Captainidontno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 01:10 PM   #15
uberhoudini
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Does anyone know a faster way to download from HF M31? Just did first download via USB and it took >12 hours to download 41 minutes onto my 2010 Mac Mini. iMovie seemed to work fine, but that was really painful.
uberhoudini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 05:04 PM   #16
Captainidontno
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
the sd card might be faster...?
Captainidontno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 11:16 PM   #17
ltapd204
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: West Texas
Are there any differences in the way the HF M31 uploads vs the HF S11 or HF S200? I have a 2007 MacBook Pro with OSX 10.6.6 and iMovie '09 version 8.0.6 (821) and have no problems uploading video from either camera or directly from the SDHC card via a SDHC card reader.

Several previous post correctly explain how to attach the camera to the Mac to import the video (Note: I have not been able to upload video from the camera unless the camera was plugged into power).

To upload from a SDHC card reader first launch iMovie then simply plug your SDHC card into a SDHC compliant card reader (some older SD card readers may not work). If this doesn't work, you can mount the SDHC card first then launch iMovie and from the menu bar choose File>Import from camera or choose the camera icon about mid way down the screen between the Project Library and event Library.

Hope I explained this in an understandable way. If not let me know and I will create a step by step guide and post it.
ltapd204 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2011, 03:52 PM   #18
nightwolf
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlec7821 View Post
i definitely got this to work after reading the responses... once i selected computer or whatever it could read it fine. and everything uploaded and i had no problems.

now im trying again and doing everything right but i cant get it to upload... i selected computer and my computer is reading the camera, but only iphoto is opening automatically. so when i open imovie manually after the computer is able to read the camera, i cant find out how to import anything.
im really really confused and this is so frustrating, please help
I have used video files that went to iphoto. Once there, compress them to the .mov file. it's all song and dance from there.
__________________
____________________________________
C students rule the world and thats a fact!
nightwolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2011, 03:45 PM   #19
hanabee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
be sure to switch the MODE of the camcorder to Dualshot(AUTO) instead of M or it won't read!
hanabee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2011, 10:32 AM   #20
mevans7
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Try removing sd card

I recorded video to the camera memory. But when I plugged in the camera, iMovie wouldn't recognize it. WHEN I REMOVED THE SD CARD, IMOVIE *DID* RECOGNIZE THE CAMERA!!

Of course, you have to plug in the USB cable, press the "playback" button on the camera (little camera icon/triangle icon). I had to quit iPhoto as that came up by default. I ran iMovie, then (with SD card removed), it finally recognized the camera.
mevans7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2011, 06:02 PM   #21
Chance-Keeper
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I've read all the replys without problem being addressed

I've read all the replys. The computer recognizes the camera, I see.mts and .jpg files. The Mac does not seem to recognize the .mts files. I have been using this camera on a PC for over a year, have never been able to use it with a Mac. I can play the files on the Mac using a program called VLC Media Player. I have used the program on a PC to convert file types, but can not find that option. I'm assured that the camera is Mac compatible, but not for me. Can someone help me? I would like to use iMovie, but have had no luck. Thank you for all replys.
Chance-Keeper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 11:22 PM   #22
nannymoo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
This connecting business drives me crazy

I've had a Canon Vixia HFM 30 for years. It would start out downloading just fine when plugged in. Then I had trouble getting the camera to connect to my old iMac, so I took it back to the camera store (a place where they know their cameras) and they sent it back to Canon for fixing. What would happen was that, when I connected, I would get a "thumbnails being created" screen, and then it would warn me about not disconnecting power. And it was frozen at that point.
When I got it back it worked like normal: plug it in and connect it to the computer and it starts downloading--no problems.

Then again for some reason it won't do it--doesn't recognize the computer and freezes. Can't turn it off, can't turn it back to camera mode--nothing. Over this year I downloaded a lot of video (several trips) and had no problems. Now it freezes, and none of the series of steps in these posts is helping. And when I click on the camera icon in iMovie, I get the iMac's (new iMac, BTW) built-in camera.Is it something I am doing wrong, or is there a really annoying glitch in this camera?
nannymoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS Rebel T4i vs. Canon Mark 5D dvoros Digital Photography 26 Feb 21, 2014 10:16 AM
Mono/Stereo audio recording from Canon Vixia HF G10 InternetDude08 Digital Video 0 Feb 2, 2014 02:22 PM
Resolved: Known refresh cycle of Canon Vixia G Series? rhp2424 Digital Video 0 Nov 5, 2013 11:14 PM
VIXIA HF R30 import blues Supernerd Digital Video 11 Jan 3, 2013 11:45 PM
Final Cut Express 4 Canon Vixia HFS10 and Zoom Q3HD H.264 questions groovehound Digital Video 5 Dec 8, 2012 12:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC