Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:16 PM   #1
britt0289
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Time Machine

Hello all,

I am running ML (after upgrading from SL). I am trying to back up the bootup drive so I can repair the disk by a clean install. I have a 1TB that I initially used for my movies, music etc...but since this issue arose, I purchased a 500GB to use as a backup. I formatted it to Mac Journaled and had TM have a spin with it. It said the total back up should be 126GBs. Cool. It estimated that'll take about 4 hours to do. cool. I take a nap wake up and see its completed. It says that 403 out of 500 GBs is available.

Huh?

How is this possible? Is it not enough space? It didn't shoot me any error messages when I checked. I tell it to back up and it only does small portions but the space stays the same. Am I missing something?? I need this done like yesterday :-(
britt0289 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:40 AM   #2
vmachiel
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Holland
Launch the time machine app with the back up disk plugged in. Is there more than one backup?
__________________
2010 MBP, 2.4 GHz i5, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD; 32GB Silver iPhone 5S; 32 GB Wifi iPad (3rd gen)
vmachiel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:17 AM   #3
britt0289
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmachiel View Post
Launch the time machine app with the back up disk plugged in. Is there more than one backup?
It is.
And no, there is no back up on this drive. I had a drive fail on me that was my old back up but its trashed so yeah. Now it says 402 of 500 available so...I don't get this. It never done this before on SL.
britt0289 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:37 AM   #4
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by britt0289 View Post
It is.
And no, there is no back up on this drive. I had a drive fail on me that was my old back up but its trashed so yeah. Now it says 402 of 500 available so...I don't get this. It never done this before on SL.
So I understand... you are saying the TM backup is only using about 98GB of space on the backup drive? How much disk space is shown in use on the Mac if you click the Apple at the top left then, about this mac/more info/storage?

There are some swap and cache files that TM does not backup, so that would account for some of the difference.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 07:22 AM   #5
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by britt0289 View Post
It is.
And no, there is no back up on this drive. I had a drive fail on me that was my old back up but its trashed so yeah. Now it says 402 of 500 available so...I don't get this. It never done this before on SL.
Certain files will not be backed up. You can yourself choose folders that will not be backed up. Applications can tell Time Machine to not backup things like cached files, or files that are created by an app while it does its work that can be thrown away without any loss. I haven't tested it, but your Trash folder may not get backed up, so if you have 30 GB in your Trash without emptying it, that would explain the difference.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 11:46 AM   #6
britt0289
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
So I understand... you are saying the TM backup is only using about 98GB of space on the backup drive? How much disk space is shown in use on the Mac if you click the Apple at the top left then, about this mac/more info/storage?

There are some swap and cache files that TM does not backup, so that would account for some of the difference.
Yes! It said the backup would be about 126GBs but it only did 97GBs. And the storage says 89.18 out of 249GBs free.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gnasher729 View Post
Certain files will not be backed up. You can yourself choose folders that will not be backed up. Applications can tell Time Machine to not backup things like cached files, or files that are created by an app while it does its work that can be thrown away without any loss. I haven't tested it, but your Trash folder may not get backed up, so if you have 30 GB in your Trash without emptying it, that would explain the difference.
My trash can has been deleted. And how would I do this? TM has such a basic set up :-/
britt0289 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 12:08 PM   #7
ZMacintosh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Time machine does not back-up files in the trash nor does it back up alot of system files. you can add those to the inclusion list of time machine in time machine preferences.

I would erase the disk using disk utility and when it becomes available again and OS X prompts you to use it as back-up disk Say yes and let it back-up and see if its any different. if not then theres a large system file that isnt being backed up
ZMacintosh is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:11 PM   #8
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by britt0289 View Post
Yes! It said the backup would be about 126GBs but it only did 97GBs. And the storage says 89.18 out of 249GBs free.
That does sounds like a bid difference to just be cache and swap files not backed up. You might try using OmniDisksweeper to look at your drive and see if anything big jumps out at you that does not normally belong there.

Have you done anything to the system at all lately that may have caused extra swap files?
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Tags
external hdd, macbook pro, mountain lion, time machine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine problem: how can I manually transfer my Time Machine files to a new user Lucagfc OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Apr 17, 2014 02:44 PM
Time Machine SuperDuper - incremental backups taking an exxcessive amount of time sputacus Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 27, 2013 06:44 AM
New airport time capsule, can the initial time machine backup done via USB? riverwater Mac Peripherals 4 Jun 17, 2013 09:14 AM
Trouble adding new MacBook to existing Time Machine (Time Capsule) Cowboy59 Mac Peripherals 1 Oct 14, 2012 06:20 AM
Time Machine Preference In Time Machine, macswitcha2 Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 2, 2012 05:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC