Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 21, 2011, 01:33 PM   #1
ICEBreaker
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
SPACES - How to 1. Use with dual monitors 2. Use in full screen videos 3. Disable it

Dear Lion users,

1. How to manage desktops on dual monitors independently
I never used Spaces in Leopard, so I don't know if this is a new feature or not. Anyway, in the new Lion OS, Spaces syncs each desktop across every monitor. That is, if the primary monitor shifts to desktop 2, the secondary monitor is also forced to shift to desktop 2. I can understand that some people like this feature but it makes it impossible to keep some important background applications running on a secondary monitor. Examples such as stock trading platforms, Remote Desktop Connection, Vmware Fusion, iTunes, Quicktime, MSN, Face Time, etc. come to mind. So basically, I want to keep desktop 1 running on a secondary monitor, while working on other desktops on the primary monitor.

2. Stop full screen videos from running in its own desktop
Snow Leopard used to run videos in the existing desktop even in full screen mode. This was useful because it allowed one to leave the video running in the background and work on something temporarily in the foreground, such as replying to MSN messages, or jotting down notes on Textedit. In Lion, all full screen videos run in their own desktop which cannot be shared with any other applications. This essentially makes it impossible to multitask (even for those with dual monitors - see point 1) when a full screen video is running. So basically, I want full screen videos to play the same way it did in Snow Leopard, i.e. in its own desktop.

3. Disable Spaces
Instead of complaining about Spaces, one could simply choose to disable it in Snow Leopard. I can't find the option to do this in Lion. Did I miss the option or something?

Solving ANY of the above would make the other two points unnecessary. Can anyone help? Anyone else frustrated by this? Thanks in advance for your advice.
ICEBreaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 02:16 PM   #2
Steve's Barber
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
The short answer is you're screwed on all 3 points.

Sorry.
Steve's Barber is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 06:04 PM   #3
robgendreau
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Well, sorta screwed.

Many of us have complained about the new Spaces; sent a note to Apple feedback.

Meanwhile, you can display an application on every space; there's a "Assign to This Desktop" in Options… in the Dock. I use it to keep some stuff on the second monitor in certain spaces. Or you can assign it to all spaces. The problem is that desktops sorta move around.

I hope Apple (or a developer) makes a utility to make this more flexible. The "full screen" feature is especially stupid.

Rob
robgendreau is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 09:16 AM   #4
ICEBreaker
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
That's very disappointing. It's hard to imagine why they would do something like this. While I won't go as far saying I want to reinstall Snow Leopard over this, I do feel as if Lion has really hampered my productivity. And this isn't what a good company should want to hear from their customers.
ICEBreaker is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 09:41 AM   #5
talmy
macrumors 68040
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
I'm frustrated by most of Lion's new fullscreen/spaces dual monitor fiasco. However it isn't like Lion screws you completely on this. However, do send feedback to Apple: http://www.apple.com/feedback/macosx.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by ICEBreaker View Post
1. How to manage desktops on dual monitors independently
Snow Leopard didn't do this either. Not your question, but spaces did allow moving windows between monitors which Lion doesn't allow.

Quote:
2. Stop full screen videos from running in its own desktop
Two solutions here. You can either not run full screen or you can use another app to play the videos that doesn't use Lion's full screen app API. AFAIK that's every video player except Quicktime X.

Quote:
3. Disable Spaces
Instead of complaining about Spaces, one could simply choose to disable it in Snow Leopard. I can't find the option to do this in Lion. Did I miss the option or something?
It doesn't need an option. There's only one space unless you add additional spaces, so it is off by default. You will need to click the box so that Dashboard is overlaid rather than in it's own space, like it was in Snow Leopard. And, of course, don't run anything full screen since that will temporarily create a space for it.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV.
talmy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2011, 08:12 AM   #6
ICEBreaker
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Hi Talmy, thank you for your reply. I suppose I could use VLC then instead of Quicktime. Cool! As for disabling Spaces, I see your point. I was just hoping that if I "disabled" Spaces, then QT fullscreen videos wouldn't create a new desktop.

Well, I think I can consider this problem "solved". Simply not use Spaces, and to use VLC instead of Quicktime. I am off to download VLC then.
ICEBreaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2011, 05:44 PM   #7
mrblack927
macrumors 6502a
 
mrblack927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by robgendreau View Post
Meanwhile, you can display an application on every space; there's a "Assign to This Desktop" in Options… in the Dock. I use it to keep some stuff on the second monitor in certain spaces. Or you can assign it to all spaces.
I did this in Snow Leopard and it worked great. The problem I'm having in Lion is that when you switch spaces, the window disappears temporarily and then reappears moments later in the new space. It's really annoying. In SL the applications just "stuck" to the screen and never moved at all. Anyone found a way to restore that functionality?
mrblack927 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2011, 05:57 PM   #8
QuarterSwede
macrumors 604
 
QuarterSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This thread is a great explanation for those who love Mission Control and don't understand why I say it's a half baked implementation of Spaces & Exposé.

To make it actually useful Apple needs to:
1. Add true dual monitor support
2. Allow Desktops to be reorganized by the user
3. Not MC specifically but stop crashed applications from taking focus when relaunching using the crash dialog box (ignore, report or relaunch). That drives me absolutely freaking crazy.
__________________
“In a world of idiots, the average man is king."

"Next to the Word of God, the noble art of music is the greatest treasure in the world." -- Martin Luther

Last edited by QuarterSwede; Sep 6, 2011 at 06:06 PM.
QuarterSwede is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2011, 08:39 PM   #9
srf4real
macrumors 68030
 
srf4real's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: paradise beach FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuarterSwede View Post
This thread is a great explanation for those who love Mission Control and don't understand why I say it's a half baked implementation of Spaces & Exposé.

To make it actually useful Apple needs to:
1. Add true dual monitor support
2. Allow Desktops to be reorganized by the user

3. Not MC specifically but stop crashed applications from taking focus when relaunching using the crash dialog box (ignore, report or relaunch). That drives me absolutely freaking crazy.
Preaching to the choir, brother! Of all the ridiculous things to implement in a current operating system, when today's workstation is commonly equipped with dual screens precisely to allow greater productivity- cripple one under full screen ?????????


I don't think Apple thought Lion out very well, they just wanted to wow the iOS crowd with eye candy..
__________________
iSurf. For real.
srf4real is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2011, 10:38 PM   #10
hayesk
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
To turn off spaces in Lion, just don't make any spaces - why does it need a switch?

I use multiple monitors so I understand that full screen is useless with multiple monitors, but SL didn't even have this feature, so it's not worse - it's just not finished.
hayesk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2011, 02:04 AM   #11
Nelchael
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
For the record, VLC was updated about a month ago... to take advantage of the new full screen API. You can disable this by going to Preferences - Video - uncheck "black screens in fullscreen mode".

If you don't see the option, make sure you're running the latest VLC, then head into preferences, switch from "Basic" to "All", Interface - Main Interfaces - macosx - uncheck "black screens in fullscreen mode".

This is _still_ worse than pre-update, though, because working actively in the secondary monitor will bring up menu bar and dock above your VLC video window in the primary monitor... in other words, normal fullscreen mode only works in secondary monitors (that don't have dock/menu).

Quote:
Originally Posted by ICEBreaker View Post
Hi Talmy, thank you for your reply. I suppose I could use VLC then instead of Quicktime. Cool! As for disabling Spaces, I see your point. I was just hoping that if I "disabled" Spaces, then QT fullscreen videos wouldn't create a new desktop.

Well, I think I can consider this problem "solved". Simply not use Spaces, and to use VLC instead of Quicktime. I am off to download VLC then.
Nelchael is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2011, 06:30 AM   #12
blackomega31
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

I have a simple solution for all of you. Upgrade your computer to snow leopard and forget that lion ever existed. The world will be a better place once lion is purged from all macs
blackomega31 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2011, 09:09 AM   #13
talmy
macrumors 68040
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayesk View Post
I use multiple monitors so I understand that full screen is useless with multiple monitors, but SL didn't even have this feature, so it's not worse - it's just not finished.
It is worse. There have always been full screen applications, even from Apple (thinking here of Aperture, recent iLife and iWorks). Lion is just the first to have it integrated with its Spaces/Mission Control feature in that full screen creates a new space. The problem is with apps that have had full screen before but have now switched to Lion's API. Aperture's full screen takes several times longer to enter and leave (and is ugly doing so) and while it has always been able to use multiple monitors it now doesn't allow using additional monitors for other than Aperture. Only solution is not to have performed the recent Aperture upgrade.

The new Parallels 7 has many irate posts to their forum because it adopted the new Lion full screen. Many people, myself included, use Parallels in full screen mode on the secondary monitor. It's no longer possible, and they have promised in the next revision to restore the old functionality. I, for one, won't upgrade until they do. For similar reasons I hope Microsoft Remote Desktop doesn't follow suit in using Lion's full screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackomega31 View Post
I have a simple solution for all of you. Upgrade your computer to snow leopard and forget that lion ever existed. The world will be a better place once lion is purged from all macs
Not a solution -- there are many nice features of Lion that I don't want to give up just for good multi-monitor support. May take a while, but I'm sure Apple will fix this up like they have with major goofs in the past. Just let them know with feedback that you are not satisfied. I've done so for Lion and Aperture as well as reporting other bugs I've found. I've done upgrades to Tiger, Leopard, Snow Leopard, and now Lion, and this was not the worst -- going to Leopard caused severe LAN problems that I had to back off and Snow Leopard killed the most applications I was using.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV.
talmy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2011, 09:57 AM   #14
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by talmy View Post
Snow Leopard didn't do this either. Not your question, but spaces did allow moving windows between monitors which Lion doesn't allow.
Uh ? Lion allows me to move Windows between monitors, what are you talking about ? Basically, Spaces works the same as it did before, except for Full screen apps. Same with dual monitor support. Apple didn't break anything, they just forgot about it when implementing the full screen stuff.

Solution : Don't use fullscreen apps.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2011, 03:08 PM   #15
Doe1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Hey ppl,

I am using Snow Leopard 10.6.8 . I have recently got an external monitor LG E2251VR.

I had the same fullscreen mode problem as you but interestingly I am not using lion. When one monitor is in fullscreen mode and the other monitor is not usable.

In flash videos, like youtube, the content of the other monitor is visible and as soon as I click it the other one exits the fullscreen mode.

In VLC, the other screen is blacked out and again when i click it exits the full screen mode.

The interesting thing is that, people on the forum say that they did not have this problem with snow leopard and started to have it with lion. I am still using snow leopard and don't get why i have this problem.

I am wondering if there is a solution for this problem in snow leopard. Quick replies will strongly be appreciated.

Thanks very much,
D
Doe1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2011, 04:20 PM   #16
WSR
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doe1 View Post
Hey ppl,

I am using Snow Leopard 10.6.8 . I have recently got an external monitor LG E2251VR.

I had the same fullscreen mode problem as you but interestingly I am not using lion. When one monitor is in fullscreen mode and the other monitor is not usable.

In flash videos, like youtube, the content of the other monitor is visible and as soon as I click it the other one exits the fullscreen mode.

In VLC, the other screen is blacked out and again when i click it exits the full screen mode.

The interesting thing is that, people on the forum say that they did not have this problem with snow leopard and started to have it with lion. I am still using snow leopard and don't get why i have this problem.

I am wondering if there is a solution for this problem in snow leopard. Quick replies will strongly be appreciated.

Thanks very much,
D
In Snow Leopard Full-screen mode is very app dependent.

Itunes: blanks 2nd monitor.

Sarfari-youtube: doesn't blank 2nd monitor, but any selection of another app, even the desktop, will take youtube out of Full-screen mode.

Quicktime & MPlayer: app can be put into Full-screen mode and you can work with other apps without it leaving Full-screen mode. ( I thought I use to be able to do this with VLC. So you might check the preferences to see if there is an option to blank or not blank other monitor. )
WSR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2011, 07:12 PM   #17
Doe1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thanks very much for the information WSR. I just cannot believe that apple did this, and they did not fix it in lion.

People talk about going back to snow leopard from lion because of this issue. I thought snow leopard was ok..
Doe1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2012, 07:57 AM   #18
billpennock
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I'm really glad I found this thread

I have not updated to Lion since Snow Leopard is working fine for me. But there is always the thought in the back of my mind that I might someday take the plunge. Now I know I will absolutely not and will probably not buy a new MAC till they give back spaces like it was in Snow Leopard. I use it every day, all day, it is a MASSIVE help in my productivity and to loose it would be as catastrophic as a computer feature thing can be. Which compared to war, pestilence and disease isn't all that bad but still. Just Say No to Lion
billpennock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2012, 08:13 AM   #19
matrix07
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ICEBreaker View Post
2. Stop full screen videos from running in its own desktop
..This was useful because it allowed one to leave the video running in the background and work on something temporarily in the foreground, such as replying to MSN messages, or jotting down notes on Textedit..
This I find I don't have problem with it at all. I just use multi-fingers swipe back and forth between multitask and watching video. I find full screen behavior in app like VLC a bit annoying since it hid everything behind.

Last edited by matrix07; Apr 11, 2012 at 08:35 AM.
matrix07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 02:27 PM   #20
MacMass
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Common guys, nobody made a tweak for that? I don't belefe anymore that will make OS X to a open and working system again. It's all pointing in direction to the iOS. That's a shame. So it's on us to keep it alive.
MacMass is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spaces/Desktops mixed randomly on dual-monitors like playing cards? dza MacBook Pro 2 Apr 1, 2014 11:04 PM
Dual Monitors: Can't fullscreen one screen and work on the other Spitfir3x MacBook Pro 5 Apr 22, 2013 02:59 PM
Safari Full Screen and Spaces GrandPhrase Mac Basics and Help 0 Jan 22, 2013 03:51 PM
Is it possible to multi-task in full-screen across two monitors? ivbaseball06 iMac 2 Jan 4, 2013 11:19 PM
Full screen mode (Lion10.7) with Screen Sharing with Multiple Monitors? deansawyer Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Aug 23, 2012 05:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC