Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2013, 12:57 AM   #51
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
You get even better bang for your buck by leaving the standard 1TB drive and adding an SSD via Thunderbolt externally.
wait how if the 1TB would hold the OS not the external SSD
WhiteIphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 02:11 AM   #52
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteIphone5 View Post
wait how if the 1TB would hold the OS not the external SSD
By installing the OS on the external SSD, like many of us (myself included) have done.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:04 PM   #53
laryenhilllvr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In the middle of nowhere
for some reason i thought the 3tb would be rather popular, but i guess i'm in the minority. coming from mbp i was tired of not having all my files on the HD, so i was very interested in the larger storage spaces. also, i have a tb worth of media and was not going to fill my hd the moment i got it. so now i have a good amount of wiggle room and very little cable clutter...it feels so liberating.
__________________
I'm living the iLife, but it's time to upgrade all my products.
laryenhilllvr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:30 PM   #54
luminouslight
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I too went for 3 TB Fusion Drive, 1 TB is just not enough for these days, at least for me. I have a huge music library and I'm starting to build a digital movie library so it's nice not having to worry about a external hard drive, just another cable to worry about.
luminouslight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:38 PM   #55
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
By installing the OS on the external SSD, like many of us (myself included) have done.
Can you briefly explain please. I'm not trolling is just that I'm a bit short on cash and if I can save by adding ssd later I would be happy!
WhiteIphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:56 PM   #56
bembol
macrumors 6502a
 
bembol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: iCloud
I have about 2TB of Movies & TV Shows.

I hate dealing with External Drives, don't need the clutter on my desk.
__________________
SHIFT_
27" iMac Late-2012 Base w/32GB RAM & 3TB Fusion | White Samsung Galaxy S5 64GB Space Grey iPad Air LTE
bembol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:50 PM   #57
seanm9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteIphone5 View Post
Can you briefly explain please. I'm not trolling is just that I'm a bit short on cash and if I can save by adding ssd later I would be happy!
Plug external drive in... Install OS onto drive (or create bootable clone of your internal with third party software (superduper, carbon copy cloner) ) reboot while holding down the option key and select the external drive... You can make the selection permanent with the startup disk prefenence in system preferences
seanm9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 12:34 AM   #58
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteIphone5 View Post
Can you briefly explain please. I'm not trolling is just that I'm a bit short on cash and if I can save by adding ssd later I would be happy!
Many of us are using Thunderbolt SSDs. You just install the OS to the SSD, and away you go. I've been running like this for 2+ months now. Works great, and is super speedy. You definitely don't need to spend any extra money right now if you want to add an SSD later.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 07:12 AM   #59
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Many of us are using Thunderbolt SSDs. You just install the OS to the SSD, and away you go. I've been running like this for 2+ months now. Works great, and is super speedy. You definitely don't need to spend any extra money right now if you want to add an SSD later.
So no problems so far? Wouldn't slow it just a bit at startup since the imac has to detect the ssd then load it?
WhiteIphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 10:41 AM   #60
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteIphone5 View Post
So no problems so far? Wouldn't slow it just a bit at startup since the imac has to detect the ssd then load it?
Nope. None that I've noticed.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 10:55 AM   #61
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Nope. None that I've noticed.
Oh ok I just wish they included the fusion, I'm already spending 2k. Dam Apple lol
WhiteIphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:21 AM   #62
ssls6
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bembol View Post
I have about 2TB of Movies & TV Shows.

I hate dealing with External Drives, don't need the clutter on my desk.
How do you backup?
ssls6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:59 AM   #63
bembol
macrumors 6502a
 
bembol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: iCloud
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssls6 View Post
How do you backup?
iCloud & External HDD.

My last iMac Mid-2008 only had 1TB. I still back up but it was a PITA deciding & transferring files which to keep in my iMac.
__________________
SHIFT_
27" iMac Late-2012 Base w/32GB RAM & 3TB Fusion | White Samsung Galaxy S5 64GB Space Grey iPad Air LTE
bembol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 02:04 AM   #64
Mbzamg32
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
I was asking myself the same question, i went with the 3TB fusion as i keep my media library local on my machine and backup all my data to a 3TB USB3 external. If i got the 1TB option i would need 2 externals hanging off it, one for data and one for backup. Im sure Apple will release a fix for Bootcamp on the 3TB FD.
I was thinking of getting the 1tb FD then a Lacie D2 thunderbolt/USB 3.0 3tb HDD for time machine back ups and for storing all my photos/catalogs from Lightroom 4. Is this not possible? Do I need 2 seperate externals to do this?

If that's the case I think I'll just do the same as you did.
Mbzamg32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 02:38 AM   #65
MacFro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
OSX in version10.8.3 now supports 3TB drives.

I went with the 3tb fusion. Nice to have the extra space for media etc.
MacFro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 02:38 AM   #66
Ice-Cube
macrumors 6502a
 
Ice-Cube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
I ordered a 3TB too. Hate plugging in different drives to get different stuff. And not to mention I only need to backup to one external drive rather than have 2 external drives backing up each other.
__________________
sent from my iPhone.
Ice-Cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 04:36 AM   #67
smiddlehurst
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Another 3Tb Fusion user here (and it's coming today! ) for one very simple reason: Bootcamp. This is going to be my main desktop for at least three years and I have an extensive Steam library on Windows that needs at least 500Gb to install. The 1Tb option would have left me scratching for space on the OS X side, especially as I'm now taking the bulk of my photos as RAW files rather than JPEG's.

Secondary reason was to preserve as many expansion options for the future as possible. By having 3Tb of internal storage space I save myself either a Thunderbolt or USB3 port now. As I've already got a backup drive and Blu-ray player hooked in that only leaves me 2 USB3 ports to handle memory sticks, hard drives, cameras etc. As much as I'd love to go Thunderbolt I couldn't afford that and the iMac at the same time so this actually worked out the better option for the time being.
smiddlehurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 05:35 AM   #68
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I can get two 4TB USB 3 ext HDDs for an upgrade price to 3TB.

Just think about it.
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between 1TB vs. 3TB Fusion Drive? Tofray iMac 8 Oct 19, 2013 06:53 AM
1TB Fusion vs. 3TB Fusion ajkr711 iMac 13 Dec 31, 2012 10:53 AM
Fusion confusion. Why no bootcamp on 3TB Fusion but OK on 1TB Fusion inscrewtable OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Dec 11, 2012 10:21 PM
3TB Fusion or 1TB Fusion - surely 3TB? jackofharts iMac 33 Dec 11, 2012 03:51 AM
Should I get 1TB Fusion or 3TB non Fusion? frocco iMac 9 Dec 6, 2012 09:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC