Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 24, 2013, 12:41 PM   #1
JonL12345
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Automator workflow - image manipulation

I want to drag and drop an image onto an Automator application. This will create two image files, each of different size and filename.

How would you go about that?

I can do it with one file ok, but not sure how to create the two different sizes.

Thanks,

Jon
JonL12345 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2013, 03:40 PM   #2
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonL12345 View Post
I want to drag and drop an image onto an Automator application. This will create two image files, each of different size and filename.

How would you go about that?

I can do it with one file ok, but not sure how to create the two different sizes.

Thanks,

Jon
Use variables. Example working on Leopard :
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.png
Views:	24
Size:	284.8 KB
ID:	413642   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 3.png
Views:	12
Size:	55.3 KB
ID:	413643   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 4.png
Views:	15
Size:	53.2 KB
ID:	413644  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 5.png
Views:	14
Size:	99.4 KB
ID:	413645  
__________________
Space Corps Directive 34124
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2013, 07:03 AM   #3
JonL12345
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Thanks very much for that! I will have a play around with it. Not quite sure how variables work with automator yet but I'm sure it will make more sense when I run through a few examples.

Automator is one of the big appeals of OSX. I hope they keep adding features to it. Do they tend to add features with each OSX upgrade or has it remainded static for years? When was it introduced?
JonL12345 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2013, 03:04 PM   #4
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
With each OS X upgrade Automator tends to get a few new features but it could use a little more love from Apple. I believe it was first released with OS X Tiger 10.4.

Info : macosxautomation
Automator
__________________
Space Corps Directive 34124
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2013, 07:29 AM   #5
JonL12345
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
It would be nice if it had a few more webpage features, like being able to log into sites, click links etc.
JonL12345 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2013, 06:34 PM   #6
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonL12345 View Post
It would be nice if it had a few more webpage features, like being able to log into sites, click links etc.
Perhaps that functionality will be added in the next OS X upgrade. I highly doubt it but one can only hope. If you want to do that now I suggest you take a look at Applescript GUI scripting.
__________________
Space Corps Directive 34124
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC